Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Portable Solar Panels

Best Solar Panel for Trekking (2026): 5 Portable Panels Compared

Five portable solar panels for trekking compared on watts per gram, conversion efficiency and weather rating, from a 40W folder to a 396g 20W panel.

Best Solar Panel for Trekking (2026): 5 Portable Panels Compared
On this page

The best solar panel for trekking is a weight decision wearing a wattage costume: every gram rides on your back, and every watt only works while the sun is out and the panel is open. We compared five portable panels on stated power, weight, conversion efficiency and weather rating, using only what each listing publishes. Three publish nearly everything; two publish almost nothing, and their scores say so.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

ELECAENTA 25W HPBC

ELECAENTA 25W HPBC

ELECAENTA9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 25W pocket-size solar panel with 25.4% HPBC conversion, USB-C and USB-A ports and an IP68 rating.

Pros

  • 25W with 25.4% conversion from HPBC cells stated
  • 0.9 pounds in a pocket-size fold
  • IP68 rating stated with ETFE lamination
  • USB-C and USB-A ports charge two devices at once

Cons

  • 12-month warranty is shorter than the BigBlue 2-year term
  • 50% lighter claim has no stated baseline
  • No folded dimensions are stated
  • Flame retardant claim carries no fire certification
Detailed Review

The listing states a 25W HPBC panel with 25.4% conversion, dual USB-C and USB-A output ports for simultaneous charging, a weight of only 0.9 pounds, an IP68 rating with ETFE lamination, and a box containing the panel, 2 climbing carabiners, a USB-C to USB-C cable and a user manual. The 50% lighter and smaller claim names no baseline panel, and absolute durability claims are marketing, not specification. The maker backs it with a 12-month warranty and 24/7 customer support.

Who it's for: hikers who want 25W and IP68 in the lightest pocket-size form. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a longer warranty or stated folded dimensions.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output25W, USB-C and USB-A dual ports
Weight0.9 lbs
Efficiency25.4% conversion stated
In the boxPanel, 2 carabiners, USB-C cable, manual

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 rating stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VTOMAN 40W Foldable Panel

VTOMAN 40W Foldable Panel

VTOMAN9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For trekkers who charge a power station as well as a phone: a 40W folding panel at 1.81 lbs, with USB-C PD30W and 25% conversion.

Pros

  • 40W, the most power in this list
  • 1.81 lbs for that output, a strong ratio
  • USB-C PD30W plus USB-A outputs
  • 25% conversion stated, with an IP67 rating

Cons

  • Folds to about 11 by 12 inches, a real pack footprint
  • Shade or partial coverage may reduce performance by up to 70%
  • 40W is wasted on a phone alone
  • Feeds VTOMAN stations by name; others by USB
Detailed Review

The VTOMAN is the power pick: 40W from a panel that folds to roughly a sheet of paper's footprint and weighs 1.81 lbs. Its outputs cover both trekking loads, a USB-C PD30W port for fast charging and power stations, and a USB-A for everything else. The stated conversion is 25%, the joint highest figure here alongside the ELECAENTA's claim.

The IP67 rating is stated, with an ETFE laminate coating. For a trek where a small power station rides in the pack and everything charges from it at night, this is the panel sized for the system. For a phone-only walker, its watts are more than the job and the 20W panels below are the lighter logic, at a third of the weight in the FlexSolar's case.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 19/25, value 18/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power40W
Weight1.81 lbs
Efficiency25%
OutputsUSB-C PD30W, USB-A

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 rating, so safety scores 7 of 10. 18 Months. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FlexSolar 15W Foldable

FlexSolar 15W Foldable

FlexSolar9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15W three-fold solar charger with USB-A output, smart IC chip and IP67 rating at 0.99 pounds.

Pros

  • 2 year manufacturer warranty stated
  • 0.99 pounds (450g) with a 3-fold iPad-size pack
  • IP67 protection class stated with ETFE lamination
  • Smart IC chip with LED charging indicator

Cons

  • 15W, the lowest output in this comparison
  • USB-A port only, no USB-C
  • Cannot store power; charges only in direct sunlight
  • Junction box is not rated for water exposure
Detailed Review

The listing states a 15W foldable charger with a built-in USB-A (5V/3A max) port, up to 24% conversion from monocrystalline A+ cells with ETFE lamination, an IP67 protection class, a smart IC chip with an LED status light, and overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection. It unfolds to 23.5 x 8.8 x 0.1 inches, folds to 7.8 x 8.8 x 0.7 inches and weighs 0.99 pounds (450g) with 2 carabiners. The listing cautions not to charge through glass and notes the junction box is not rated for water exposure.

Who it's for: minimalists who want the lowest-output entry with a real 2-year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone charging USB-C devices or two gadgets at once.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output15W, USB-A 5V/3A max
Weight0.99 lbs (450g)
Folded size7.8 x 8.8 x 0.7 inches
EfficiencyUp to 24%

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 rating with overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection; junction box not rated for water exposure, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Anker SOLIX PS30 30W Panel

Anker SOLIX PS30 30W Panel

Anker9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 30W foldable USB panel, suited to phones and tablets on the trail; skip it for charging power stations.

Pros

  • 30W foldable, 2.2 lb
  • IP65 water- and dust-resistant
  • USB-A and USB-C dual-device charging
  • 18-month warranty stated

Cons

  • 30W, the smallest true panel here
  • No DC output stated
  • Carabiners included; no stand stated
  • 30W suits phones and tablets, not full station charging
Detailed Review

Anker lists the SOLIX PS30 portable solar panel at 30W with USB-A and USB-C ports for phones, tablets and cameras. The panel folds to 10.7 by 8.8 by 1.7 inches, weighs 2.2 lb, and carries an IP65 water- and dust-resistant rating. The box includes two carabiners and a user manual, and the listing states an 18-month warranty.

Who it's for: trail charging of phones and tablets. Who should skip it: anyone charging a power station.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power30W
RatingIP65
PortsUSB-A and USB-C
Weight2.2 lb folded

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 water- and dust-resistant rating is stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 18-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FlexSolar 20W Panel

FlexSolar 20W Panel

FlexSolar9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For the lightest full kit: a 20W ETFE folding panel at 396g, with USB A and C ports at 5V/3A and a smart charging chip.

Pros

  • 396g, the lightest stated weight here
  • 24% conversion from monocrystalline cells
  • Two ports, USB A and USB C at 5V/3A
  • Smart chip matches charge to the device

Cons

  • 20W charges one device well, two slowly
  • It stores no power; sun or nothing
  • The surface is IP67 rated, but the output port is not water-resistant
  • 5V outputs only, no power station feed
Detailed Review

The FlexSolar 20W is the weight pick: 396g for a folding ETFE panel with two 5V ports and a stated 24% conversion. On a long trek, where the panel rides outside the pack all day, that weight is the specification that decides, and this panel wins it outright among the stated figures.

Its limits are plain: 20W at 5V serves phones, GPS, cameras and power banks, and it stores nothing, so charging happens in daylight or not at all. The IP67 rating is stated. For a solo trekker charging a phone and a bank, it is the balanced answer here.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 16/25, value 18/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power20W
Weight396g
Efficiency24%
OutputsUSB A and C, 5V/3A

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 rating, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 years. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Panel Solar Score Power Weight Efficiency Weather rating Amazon
VTOMAN 40W Foldable Panel 9.6/10 40W 1.81 lbs 25% IP67 View on Amazon
FlexSolar 20W Panel 9.4/10 20W 396g 24% IP67 View on Amazon
ELECAENTA 25W Panel 9.7/10 25W Not stated 25.4% IP68
FlexSolar 15W Panel 9.4/10 15W Not stated Not stated IP67
Anker SOLIX PS30 9.5/10 30W Not stated Not stated Not stated

Panel details as published on each listing, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Performance is watts per gram where both are stated, and conversion efficiency for short days. Safety credits the stated IP ratings, IP67 on three panels and IP68 on one. The VTOMAN listing states an 18-month warranty and the FlexSolar 20W listing states 2 years; the other three state no warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
VTOMAN 40W Foldable Panel 9.6 32 19 18 7 2
FlexSolar 20W Panel 9.4 26 16 18 7 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar panel for trekking

Decide what the panel feeds

A phone and a power bank live happily on 15-20W at 5V. A small power station wants the VTOMAN’s 40W and its PD30W port. The panel is the top of a system; size it to the hungriest device you actually carry, not the one you might. The wider panel world, including the rigid and flexible solar panels that stay home, shows what trekking gives up for portability.

Watts per gram is the trekking figure

Where both are stated: the VTOMAN makes 40W at 1.81 lbs, and the FlexSolar 20W makes its power at 396g. The ELECAENTA and the Anker state watts without weight in this data, which for a carrying product is the missing half of the specification. Check the listing’s weight before falling for its watts.

Efficiency is time on a short day

Stated conversion runs from 24% to 25.4%. In full summer sun the difference is minutes; under cloud, trees or a low winter sun, the efficient panel is the one still charging at the edges of the day. Pair any of these with a power bank, since none here stores power for the night.

Sizing Notes

  • Carry the panel outside the pack, open, on the move; a folded panel charges nothing.
  • Charge the power bank by day and the phone from the bank at night.
  • Angle the panel at the sun at stops; ten minutes angled beats an hour flat.
  • Keep cables short: every metre of thin cable wastes a little of a small panel.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many watts does a trekker need?

For a phone and a power bank, 15-20W stated here suffices in decent sun. For a small power station or a laptop, the 40W VTOMAN is the fit.

Which panel is lightest?

The FlexSolar 20W, at a stated 396g. The VTOMAN is 1.81 lbs for twice the power.

Do these panels store power?

No. The FlexSolar listing says so plainly: they convert sunlight as it falls. Storage means a power bank or station of your own.

What weather rating should a trekking panel have?

Four of the five state IP67 or IP68. The Anker listing states no rating in this data.

ELECAENTA 25W HPBC
Still deciding? Our top pickELECAENTA 25W HPBC
Check price on Amazon

More solar reading: best solar charger for hikers, best solar lights for hiking trail and best solar lantern for off grid cabin.