Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Best Solar String Lights for Balcony (2026): 5 Compared

Five solar string lights for balconies compared on length, bulb style, controls, charging and weather rating, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Solar String Lights for Balcony (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

The balcony railing is barely 8 feet long, but it still deserves better than a bare bulb screwed into the wall. The best solar string lights for balcony railings turn a small outdoor space into the room everyone drifts to after dinner. We compared five picks on what each listing states: length, bulb style, controls, charging options and weather rating. The addlon 31-footer leads with a remote, USB backup and a 1-year term, while the btfarm 2-pack states the most total length at 98 feet.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • addlon 31FT String Lights
    Best Overall addlon 31FT String Lights: 31-ft string, 27 bulbs and USB backup charging stated Check price on Amazon
  • btfarm 98FT Globe Lights
    Longest Total btfarm 98FT Globe Lights: 98-ft 2-pack with 100 LEDs and memory stated Check price on Amazon
  • Mlambert 25FT G40 Lights
    Best Dual Charging Mlambert 25FT G40 Lights: 25-ft string with solar plus USB charging stated Check price on Amazon
  • Metaku 20FT Globe Lights
    Best Crystal Globes Metaku 20FT Globe Lights: 20-ft string with 30 crystal globes and 8 modes Check price on Amazon
  • L LAMPOP 9.3FT Globe Lights
    Shortest Pick L LAMPOP 9.3FT Globe Lights: 9.3-ft string with 20 globes and IP65 stated Check price on Amazon

The picks

addlon 31FT String Lights

addlon 31FT String Lights

addlon9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 31-foot string of 25 plus 2 spare G40 bulbs with 1-foot spacing, a remote, timer modes and USB backup charging.

Pros

  • 25 plus 2 spare commercial G40 bulbs at 1-foot spacing for a fuller glow
  • Remote with brightness levels, timer functions and 3 lighting modes
  • Solar plus USB dual charging for cloudy days
  • Shatterproof bulbs and a 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Spec table lists 27 light sources against the title's 25 plus 2 spares; trust the title
  • No IP rating is stated, only a water resistance rating in the spec table
  • No runtime or battery capacity figure is stated
  • Warm white only, with no multicolor option stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 31-foot strand (25 feet of string plus a 6-foot lead) with 25 plus 2 spare commercial G40 LED bulbs at 1-foot spacing, a remote adjusting brightness levels and timer functions across 3 lighting modes, solar plus USB dual charging, dusk-to-dawn auto operation and shatterproof bulbs with a water resistance rating in the spec table. The spec table lists 27 light sources while the title says 25 plus 2 spares, which agree in total but differ in wording, so trust the title. Coverage is 1 year.

Who it's for: balcony and porch owners who want dense 1-foot bulb spacing with a remote and USB backup. Who should skip it: buyers who want an IP rating on the listing or a stated runtime figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length31 ft (25 ft string + 6 ft lead)
Bulbs25+2 G40, 1 ft spacing
ControlsRemote, 3 modes, timer
ChargingSolar + USB, 1-year term

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Shatterproof bulbs and weather resistance stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

btfarm 98FT Globe Lights

btfarm 98FT Globe Lights

btfarm9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Two 49-foot strings totaling 100 crystal globe LEDs with 8 modes, memory and IP65 construction.

Pros

  • 98 feet total across two 49-foot strings, the longest here
  • 100 LED beads with 8 lighting modes and a memory function
  • 6 to 8 hours of sun stated for 8 to 10 hours of night lighting
  • Monocrystalline silicon panel and IP65 weather resistance stated

Cons

  • The warranty field contains only '1', which is not a concrete term
  • Blue color only at 6500 Kelvin; no warm white option stated
  • Spec table says 'Water Resistant' while bullets say IP65; trust the bullets
  • No remote is stated; modes change from a button on the panel
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of 49-foot strings (each 41 feet of lights plus an 8-foot lead) for 98 feet total, with 100 LED beads at 2 cm each, 8 lighting modes with a memory function on a panel button, a monocrystalline silicon panel, 6 to 8 hours of charging for 8 to 10 hours of night lighting, dusk-to-dawn auto operation and IP65 weather resistance. The spec table's 'Water Resistant' conflicts with the bullets' IP65, so trust the bullets. The warranty field reads only '1', which is not a concrete term.

Who it's for: anyone covering a large balcony and railing who wants the most length and LEDs here. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term or a remote control.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length2 x 49 ft, 100 LEDs
ControlsButton, 8 modes, memory
ChargingSolar, 8 to 10 h light
RatingIP65, blue 6500 Kelvin

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 weather resistance stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mlambert 25FT G40 Lights

Mlambert 25FT G40 Lights

Mlambert9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 25-foot string of 10 plus 1 spare G40 bulbs with solar plus USB charging and 6 to 8 hours of light stated.

Pros

  • Solar plus USB dual charging stated for overcast days
  • 6 to 8 hours of continuous light stated on a full charge
  • IP65 weather resistance with shatterproof G40 bulbs stated
  • 2700 Kelvin warm white with a 180-degree adjustable panel

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No remote or lighting modes are stated; auto on/off only
  • No battery capacity figure is stated
  • Warm white only, with no color option stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 25-foot string with 10 plus 1 spare G40 LED bulbs, solar plus USB dual charging, 6 to 8 hours of continuous light on a full charge, a 180-degree adjustable panel, dusk-to-dawn auto operation with a built-in light sensor, IP65 weather resistance, shatterproof bulbs and 2700 Kelvin warm white. No remote or mode control is stated, and no warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: balcony owners who want a simple set-and-forget string with USB backup. Who should skip it: buyers who want a remote, lighting modes or a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length25 ft, 10+1 G40 bulbs
ControlsAuto on/off, light sensor
ChargingSolar + USB, 6 to 8 h light
RatingIP65, 2700 Kelvin

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 weather resistance with shatterproof bulbs stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Metaku 20FT Globe Lights

Metaku 20FT Globe Lights

Metaku9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20-foot string of 30 crystal globe LEDs with 8 modes, memory and an 800mAh battery for 6 to 8 hours of light.

Pros

  • 30 crystal globe LEDs with 8 lighting modes stated
  • Memory chip keeps the last mode; auto on/off at dusk and dawn
  • 800mAh battery with 6 to 8 hours of lighting stated
  • IP65 weather resistance with 2700 Kelvin warm white stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No remote is stated; modes switch from panel buttons
  • No USB backup charging is stated
  • 20 feet is the second shortest string here
Detailed Review

The listing states a 20-foot string with 30 crystal globe LEDs, 8 lighting modes switched from panel buttons, a memory chip, auto on/off at dusk and dawn, an 800mAh battery for 6 to 8 hours of lighting, 2700 Kelvin warm white and IP65 weather resistance. No remote, USB charging or warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: small-balcony decorators who like crystal globes with a memory function. Who should skip it: buyers who want a remote, USB backup or a longer string.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length20 ft, 30 LEDs
ControlsButton, 8 modes, memory
Battery800mAh, 6 to 8 h light
RatingIP65, 2700 Kelvin

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 weather resistance stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

L LAMPOP 9.3FT Globe Lights

L LAMPOP 9.3FT Globe Lights

L LAMPOP9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 9.3-foot string of 20 crystal globe LEDs with a 6.5-foot tail wire and 8 to 10 hours of night light stated.

Pros

  • 9.3-foot string plus 6.5-foot tail wire stated for small railings
  • 20 crystal globes at 6-inch spacing with 1-inch diameter stated
  • 8 to 10 hours of night operation stated
  • IP65 weather resistance with a memory chip stated

Cons

  • Controller type says remote while control method says push button; trust the push button
  • Bullets say the lights 'emit colorful light' while the title and spec table say warm white; trust the title
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 9.3 feet is the shortest string here by far
Detailed Review

The listing states a 9.3-foot string with 20 crystal globe LEDs at 6-inch spacing, 1-inch diameter ABS globes, a 6.5-foot tail wire, 8 to 10 hours of night operation, 3000 Kelvin warm white, 5 watts, 2 volts, IP65 weather resistance and a memory chip. The spec table contradicts itself on control (remote type versus push button method), so trust the push button method. The bullets' 'colorful light' conflicts with the warm white in the title and spec table, so trust the title. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: anyone lighting a short balcony railing or window box. Who should skip it: buyers who want a longer string, a remote or a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length9.3 ft + 6.5 ft tail wire
Bulbs20 globes, 6 in spacing
Output5 W, 3000 Kelvin
RatingIP65, push button

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 weather resistance stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Light Solar Score Length Bulbs Remote Weather rating Warranty Amazon
addlon 31FT String Lights 9.7/10 31 ft 25+2 G40 Remote Weatherproof 1 year View on Amazon
btfarm 98FT Globe Lights 9.6/10 98 ft total 100 Button, 8 modes IP65 Not stated View on Amazon
Mlambert 25FT G40 Lights 9.6/10 25 ft 10+1 G40 Auto on/off IP65 Not stated View on Amazon
Metaku 20FT Globe Lights 9.5/10 20 ft 30 Button, 8 modes IP65 Not stated View on Amazon
L LAMPOP 9.3FT Globe Lights 9.4/10 9.3 ft 20 Push button IP65 Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For string lights, safety means stated weather ratings: four of the five state IP65, and the addlon states shatterproof bulbs with weather resistance. Only the addlon states a concrete warranty term; the btfarm warranty field reads only “1”, which is not a concrete term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
addlon 31FT String Lights 9.7 32 22 21 6 3
btfarm 98FT Globe Lights 9.6 30 21 21 6 0
Mlambert 25FT G40 Lights 9.6 28 21 21 6 0
Metaku 20FT Globe Lights 9.5 26 20 20 5 0
L LAMPOP 9.3FT Globe Lights 9.4 24 19 19 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar string lights for balcony railings

Match the length to the railing

The five picks run from 9.3 feet to 98 feet total. The L LAMPOP states 9.3 feet plus a 6.5-foot tail wire, the Metaku states 20 feet, the Mlambert states 25 feet, the addlon states 31 feet, and the btfarm 2-pack states two 49-foot strings for 98 feet total. Measure the railing before choosing; the two shortest picks suit a single railing, while the btfarm covers a wraparound. For path and deck options, see our solar path and string light guides.

Remote or panel button

Only the addlon includes a remote, with brightness levels, timer functions and 3 lighting modes. The btfarm and Metaku each state 8 lighting modes switched from a button on the solar panel, both with a memory function. The Mlambert states auto on/off only, and the L LAMPOP is push-button (its spec table contradicts itself on remote versus button). If the panel will sit somewhere you cannot reach, the remote pick is the practical choice.

Light Length Control Modes
addlon 31FT String Lights 31 ft Remote 3
btfarm 98FT Globe Lights 98 ft total Panel button 8
Mlambert 25FT G40 Lights 25 ft Auto on/off Not stated
Metaku 20FT Globe Lights 20 ft Panel button 8
L LAMPOP 9.3FT Globe Lights 9.3 ft Push button Not stated

Check the charging options

Two picks state USB backup charging. The addlon lists solar plus USB dual charging for cloudy days, and the Mlambert lists solar plus USB with 6 to 8 hours of light stated on a full charge. The btfarm states 6 to 8 hours of sun for 8 to 10 hours of night lighting, the Metaku states 6 to 8 hours of light on its 800mAh battery, and the L LAMPOP states 8 to 10 hours of night operation. All five charge from their solar panels with dusk-to-dawn auto operation stated.

Warm white or a color accent

Four picks keep to warm white: the addlon, Mlambert and Metaku at 2700 Kelvin, and the L LAMPOP at 3000 Kelvin. The btfarm is the outlier at blue 6500 Kelvin, a cool accent that will not match warm-white neighbors. For patio setups, see our best solar lights for outdoor patio.

Sizing Notes

  • Measure the railing first: 9.3 feet at the short end, 98 feet total at the top of this group.
  • Count the bulbs: 20 at the low end, 100 at the top.
  • Check the controls: remote on one pick, panel buttons on three, auto on/off only on one.
  • Note the charging: solar plus USB on two picks, solar only on three.
  • Match the weather rating to the exposure: IP65 on four picks, weather resistance without an IP figure on the addlon.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which pick includes a remote?

Only the addlon, with brightness levels, timer functions and 3 lighting modes. The other four use panel buttons, a push button or auto on/off.

Which picks state USB backup charging?

The addlon and the Mlambert. The other three list solar charging only.

Which pick states the longest total length?

The btfarm 2-pack, at 98 feet total across two 49-foot strings. The longest single string is the addlon at 31 feet.

What weather ratings are stated?

Four picks state IP65. The addlon states shatterproof bulbs with a water resistance rating in the spec table but no IP figure.

Which pick is not warm white?

The btfarm, at blue 6500 Kelvin. The other four are warm white at 2700 or 3000 Kelvin.

Which picks state a warranty term?

Only the addlon, at 1 year. The btfarm warranty field reads only “1”, which is not a concrete term, and the others state no term.

addlon 31FT String Lights
Still deciding? Our top pickaddlon 31FT String Lights
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides.

More picks: the Skoiuc 25-ft string lights (10 ST38 bulbs, USB-C and solar charging, remote, 1-year term stated), the Skoiuc 20-ft string lights (IP65, shatterproof bulbs, 20+ hours stated, USB and solar charging), the Backyard Fox 20-LED patio lights (iron lamp housing stated) and the Patioman 300-LED curtain lights (20 ft by 3 ft, 8 modes stated).