Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Best Solar String Lights for Outdoor Movie Night (2026)

Five solar string lights for backyard movie nights compared on length, bulb count, lighting modes, weather codes and warranty terms, all from the listings.

Best Solar String Lights for Outdoor Movie Night (2026)
On this page

A blanket on the grass, a screen hung between trees, and friends settling in as dusk falls make a backyard cinema, and the best solar string lights for outdoor movie night decide whether the seating area glows warmly or sits in shadow. We compared what each listing states: length, bulb count, lighting modes, weather codes, charging options and warranty terms. The picks below cover long runs for wide yards and compact sets for small patios, with remotes, timers and dimming where the listings state them.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Tenmiro 100FT S11 String Lights
    Best Overall Tenmiro 100FT S11 String Lights: remote dimming, 14 to 18 hours of light, and dual solar and USB charging Check price on Amazon
  • Bdrofn 300FT ST38 String Lights
    Longest String Bdrofn 300FT ST38 String Lights: 300FT run with 90+5 dimmable bulbs and a 2 year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
  • Twinkle Star 80FT Fairy Lights
    Best Two-Pack Twinkle Star 80FT Fairy Lights: 240 LED across 2 packs with 8 modes and a memory function Check price on Amazon
  • Dazzle Bright 80FT Fairy Lights
    Copper Wire Pick Dazzle Bright 80FT Fairy Lights: 240 LED across 2 packs on flexible copper wire Check price on Amazon
  • Brightown 35.6FT Globe Lights
    Globe Lights Pick Brightown 35.6FT Globe Lights: 60 LED crystal globes with 8 modes and a memory function Check price on Amazon

The picks

Tenmiro 100FT S11 String Lights

Tenmiro 100FT S11 String Lights

Tenmiro9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

100FT solar string lights with 35+1 shatterproof S11 bulbs, a remote with dimming and timers, and dual solar and USB charging.

Pros

  • Remote offers 4 brightness levels from 25% to 100%
  • 14 to 18 hours of illumination stated on a full charge
  • IP65 code stated with shatterproof S11 bulbs
  • Hook at every bulb for hanging without tools

Cons

  • No battery capacity is stated
  • No color temperature is stated
  • No bulb spacing is stated
  • Warranty is a 365-days replacement, not a multi-year term
Detailed Review

The listing states 100FT of string with 35+1 shatterproof S11 bulbs, dual solar and USB charging with a full charge in 4 to 6 hours, and 14 to 18 hours of illumination on a full charge. It states a remote with 4 brightness levels from 25% to 100%, 3 lighting modes covering Steady On, Breath and Flash, and a 6/8 hour auto-off timer, plus a hook at every bulb and an IP65 code. The listing states no battery capacity and no color temperature.

Who it's for: backyards and patios where a remote, dimming and long runtime matter for an evening outdoors. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated battery capacity or a stated color temperature before ordering.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length100FT
Bulbs35+1 shatterproof S11
Runtime14 to 18 hours on a full charge
WeatherIP65 code stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 code and shatterproof bulbs stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 365-days free replacement stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Bdrofn 300FT ST38 String Lights

Bdrofn 300FT ST38 String Lights

Bdrofn9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

300FT solar string lights with 90+5 dimmable ST38 bulbs, a remote, and solar plus USB charging.

Pros

  • 300FT run, the longest length in this group
  • Remote with 25% to 100% brightness and 4 lighting modes
  • 3 and 5 hour timing modes stated
  • 2 year warranty stated

Cons

  • No weather code is stated
  • No battery capacity is stated
  • 10 hours of work stated, below the 14 to 18 hours of the Tenmiro pick
  • Full solar charge takes 8 hours, longer than the 4 to 6 hours stated for the Tenmiro pick
Detailed Review

The listing states 300FT of string with 90+5 dimmable ST38 bulbs, a remote with brightness from 25% to 100%, 4 lighting modes and 3 and 5 hour timing modes. It states solar and USB charging, with 8 hours for a full solar charge and 10 hours of work, plus shatterproof plastic shells and a hook-hanging design. The listing states no weather code, even though it describes commercial-grade weatherproof construction, and no battery capacity.

Who it's for: wide yards and long runs where length and a remote matter more than a stated weather code. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated weather code on the listing before ordering.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 4/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length300FT
Bulbs90+5 dimmable ST38
Charge8 hours solar, 10 hours work
ControlRemote, 25% to 100% brightness

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Shatterproof plastic shells stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. 2 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Twinkle Star 80FT Fairy Lights

Twinkle Star 80FT Fairy Lights

Twinkle Star9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

2 pack solar fairy lights totalling 80FT with 240 LED bulbs, 8 lighting modes, and a memory function.

Pros

  • 240 LED across a 2 pack
  • 8 lighting modes with a memory function
  • 10 to 14 hours of work stated after a full charge
  • 1 year warranty stated

Cons

  • IP44 code, below the IP65 code of the Tenmiro and Brightown picks
  • No remote control is stated
  • No dimming levels are stated
  • Full charge takes 8 to 12 hours in direct sunlight
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2 pack totalling 80FT with 240 LED bulbs, 8 lighting modes with a memory function, and a charge in full and direct sunlight for 8 to 12 hours that suffices for 10 to 14 hours of work. Each light includes a NI-MH AA 800mAh rechargeable battery, and the listing states an IP44 code. The title states a total of 80FT, while the bullets give 39.4 ft per string plus a 6.5 ft lead wire and a 45.9 ft total length per string.

Who it's for: patios and gardens where two strings and a memory function cover the seating area. Who should skip it: buyers who want a remote control or dimming levels on the listing.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length80FT total, 2 pack
Bulbs240 LED
BatteryNI-MH AA 800mAh
WeatherIP44 code stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP44 code stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Dazzle Bright 80FT Fairy Lights

Dazzle Bright 80FT Fairy Lights

Dazzle Bright9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

2 pack solar fairy lights totalling 80FT with 240 LED bulbs, 8 lighting modes, and flexible copper wire.

Pros

  • 240 LED across a 2 pack
  • 8 lighting modes stated
  • 10 to 14 hours of work stated after a full charge
  • Flexible copper wire suits shaping around trees and fences

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No memory function is stated
  • No remote control is stated
  • IP44 code, below the IP65 code of the Tenmiro and Brightown picks
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2 pack totalling 80FT with 240 LED bulbs, 8 lighting modes, and copper wire that bends to shape. Each solar panel carries a Ni-MH AA 800mAh battery, and the listing states 10 to 14 hours of work after a full charge and an IP44 code for the string lights and the solar panel. The title states a total of 80FT, while the bullets give 39.4 ft per string plus a 6.5 ft lead wire and a 45.9 ft total length per string.

Who it's for: gardens and fences where flexible copper wire and two strings suit wrapping and shaping. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term or a memory function.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length80FT total, 2 pack
Bulbs240 LED
BatteryNi-MH AA 800mAh
Spacing3.94 inch bulb spacing

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP44 code stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brightown 35.6FT Globe Lights

Brightown 35.6FT Globe Lights

Brightown9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

60 LED crystal globe string lights at 35.6 feet with 8 lighting modes, a memory function, and multicolor bulbs.

Pros

  • IP65 code stated
  • Memory function saves the last mode setting
  • 8 lighting modes with 2 switches
  • Monocrystalline silicon solar panel stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No remote control is stated
  • No runtime hours are stated
  • 35.6 feet, the smallest run in this group
Detailed Review

The listing states 60 LED crystal globe lights with 8 lighting modes, 2 switches, a memory function, and a monocrystalline silicon solar panel with a light sensor for auto on at dark and auto off at daytime. It states an IP65 code. The title states 35.6 feet while the bullets describe 36ft lights, so the title figure is the precise length to use.

Who it's for: small patios and balconies where globe bulbs and a memory function suit a compact run. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term, a remote control, or a stated runtime.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length35.6 feet
Bulbs60 LED crystal globe
PanelMonocrystalline silicon
WeatherIP65 code stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 code stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Brightever 120FT ST38 LightsBrightever 120FT ST38 LightsSuits long patios with remote dimming and shatterproof bulbs.Check on Amazon
  • Hozplex 40FT Color LightsHozplex 40FT Color LightsSuits color-changing displays with a remote and USB charging.Check on Amazon
  • WENFENG 96FT RGB LightsWENFENG 96FT RGB LightsSuits patios that want color options and remote dimming.Check on Amazon
  • KNONEW 100FT Rope LightsKNONEW 100FT Rope LightsSuits wrapping trees and fences with flexible rope lighting.Check on Amazon
  • Ollny 110FT G40 LightsOllny 110FT G40 LightsSuits patios with remote timers and spare bulbs included.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

String light Solar Score Length Bulbs Weather code Warranty Amazon
Tenmiro 100FT S11 String Lights 9.7/10 100FT 35+1 S11 IP65 365-days View on Amazon
Bdrofn 300FT ST38 String Lights 9.6/10 300FT 90+5 ST38 Not stated 2 year View on Amazon
Twinkle Star 80FT Fairy Lights 9.6/10 80FT total 240 LED IP44 1 year View on Amazon
Dazzle Bright 80FT Fairy Lights 9.5/10 80FT total 240 LED IP44 Not stated View on Amazon
Brightown 35.6FT Globe Lights 9.5/10 35.6 feet 60 LED IP65 Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 29 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For string lights, safety means the weather code and shatterproof bulb construction the listing actually states; a listing that states no weather code scores lower on that line, whatever its length. The Tenmiro, Bdrofn and Twinkle Star listings state warranty terms, while the Dazzle Bright and Brightown listings state none. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Tenmiro 100FT S11 String Lights 9.7 32 22 21 7 3
Bdrofn 300FT ST38 String Lights 9.6 30 21 20 3 4
Twinkle Star 80FT Fairy Lights 9.6 28 20 21 5 3
Dazzle Bright 80FT Fairy Lights 9.5 28 20 21 5 0
Brightown 35.6FT Globe Lights 9.5 27 20 19 7 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar string lights for outdoor movie night

Match length to the seating area

Length sets the layout. The Bdrofn pick states 300FT, the Tenmiro pick states 100FT, and the Brightown pick states 35.6 feet, so measure the run from the anchor point to the far end before choosing. The Twinkle Star and Dazzle Bright picks state 80FT totals across 2 packs, which suits splitting a run between two sides of a seating area. See our best poles for string lights if no tree or fence sits where the run needs to end.

Decide how much control you want

Remotes change the evening. The Tenmiro pick states a remote with 4 brightness levels from 25% to 100%, 3 lighting modes and a 6/8 hour auto-off timer, and the Bdrofn pick states a remote with 25% to 100% brightness, 4 lighting modes and 3 and 5 hour timing modes. The Twinkle Star, Dazzle Bright and Brightown picks state 8 lighting modes each, with a memory function on the Twinkle Star and Brightown listings. If dimming from a seat matters, pick a remote listing; if a fixed glow suits the evening, the mode buttons on the solar panel cover it.

Check charging and runtime before the film

Runtime decides whether the lights last through the film. The Tenmiro pick states 14 to 18 hours of illumination on a full charge, the Twinkle Star and Dazzle Bright picks state 10 to 14 hours, and the Bdrofn pick states 10 hours of work after 8 hours of solar charging. The Tenmiro and Bdrofn picks also state USB charging for days when sunlight falls short, while the solar-only picks rely on sun. See our solar vs plug in string lights comparison for the wider trade-offs.

Pick Length Control Weather code
Tenmiro 100FT S11 String Lights 100FT Remote, dimming and timers IP65
Bdrofn 300FT ST38 String Lights 300FT Remote, dimming and timers Not stated
Twinkle Star 80FT Fairy Lights 80FT total 8 modes, memory function IP44
Dazzle Bright 80FT Fairy Lights 80FT total 8 modes IP44
Brightown 35.6FT Globe Lights 35.6 feet 8 modes, memory function IP65

Read the weather code and warranty lines

Weather codes and warranty terms vary more than bulb counts do. The Tenmiro and Brightown picks state IP65, the Twinkle Star and Dazzle Bright picks state IP44, and the Bdrofn pick states no weather code at all. Warranty terms run from a 365-days free replacement on the Tenmiro pick to a 2 year term on the Bdrofn pick and a 1 year term on the Twinkle Star pick, while the Dazzle Bright and Brightown listings state none. Also see our best solar string lights for bistro for a similar set of patio picks.

Sizing Notes

  • Match string length to the measured run: this group states lengths from 35.6 feet to 300FT, so measure before choosing.
  • Match bulb count and spacing to the glow wanted: counts run from 60 LED to 240 LED, and the Dazzle Bright listing states 3.94 inch bulb spacing.
  • Match charging to the site: solar-only picks need direct sun, while the Tenmiro and Bdrofn picks state USB charging as well.
  • Check the weather code and warranty term on the listing before ordering: codes here are IP44 or IP65, and terms run from 365-days to 2 year where stated.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which pick here runs the longest on a full charge?

The Tenmiro pick, which states 14 to 18 hours of illumination on a full charge, ahead of the 10 to 14 hours stated for the Twinkle Star and Dazzle Bright picks.

Which picks include a remote control?

The Tenmiro and Bdrofn picks state remote controls with dimming and timers; the other three picks state lighting modes without a remote.

Which picks state a warranty term?

The Tenmiro pick states a 365-days free replacement, the Bdrofn pick states a 2 year term, and the Twinkle Star pick states a 1 year term. The Dazzle Bright and Brightown listings state no warranty term.

Which pick suits the longest run across a yard?

The Bdrofn pick, which states 300FT with 90+5 ST38 bulbs, ahead of the 100FT Tenmiro pick.

Do these lights keep working in rain?

The Tenmiro and Brightown listings state IP65, and the Twinkle Star and Dazzle Bright listings state IP44, while the Bdrofn listing states no weather code. The listings describe their lights as suitable for outdoor use in rain and snow, except where a listing notes an exception.

Can a solar-only pick charge on a dull day?

The Dazzle Bright and Twinkle Star listings note that charging efficiency and working time change with the weather, so a full charge needs direct sun. The Tenmiro and Bdrofn picks add USB charging for days when sunlight falls short.

Tenmiro 100FT S11 String Lights
Still deciding? Our top pickTenmiro 100FT S11 String Lights
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar string lights for arbor. Also see our solar string lights vs fairy lights. Also see our best poles for string lights.

More picks: best solar string lights under 25, best solar string lights for bistro, solar vs plug in string lights, LED vs incandescent solar string lights.