Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Solar vs Plug In String Lights: Which One Should You Buy?

A solar vs plug in string lights head-to-head: two solar string light sets against two plug-in fairy light sets, compared on stated specs alone.

Solar vs Plug In String Lights: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on solar vs plug in string lights: pick solar when you want no outlet and free placement around the patio or campsite, and pick plug in when you want steady brightness and more lighting modes from a wall socket. We compared two solar string light sets and two plug-in fairy light sets on what each listing states: length, bulb count, lighting modes, weather protection and warranty terms. The solar examples state 75 and 100 feet with IP65; the plug-in examples state 33 feet with 100 LEDs each.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Solar vs Plug In String Lights: side by side

Solar vs Plug In String Lights Minetom 33FT Globe String Lights OOOLED 100FT Solar String Lights Brightown 75FT Solar String Lights JMEXSUSS 33FT Fairy String Lights Amazon
Side Plug in Solar Solar Plug in
Power 120V corded Solar Solar + USB Corded (30V output)
Length / bulbs 33 ft / 100 100 ft / 32 75 ft / 35 + 1 33 ft / 100
Modes 8 Dimming via remote 3 (steady, breathing, flashing) 8
Color temperature Warm white (not stated) Warm white (not stated) 2700K 2700K
Weather protection IP44 IP65 IP65 IP44
Warranty 1 year 1 year Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

Power and placement

The Brightown and OOOLED charge from the sun: the Brightown adds USB Type-C charging (5V, 1A) for cloudy days and indoor use, recharging in 4 to 5 hours, and the OOOLED is solar only. Both state auto on/off at dusk. The JMEXSUSS and Minetom are corded electric: the JMEXSUSS runs a 30V output from its plug, and the Minetom runs on 120V. Solar means no socket hunting; plug in means brightness that does not depend on the day’s sun.

Length, bulbs and modes

The OOOLED states 100 feet with 32 ST38 vintage Edison bulbs, and the Brightown states 75 feet with 35 G40 bulbs plus 1 spare, at 2 foot spacing. The JMEXSUSS and Minetom each state 33 feet with 100 LEDs: the JMEXSUSS with 8 modes on an adapter button, and the Minetom with 8 modes, a remote, a timer (6 hours on, 18 hours off) and a dimmer. The Brightown states 3 modes (steady on, breathing, flashing) with dimming at 25%, 50%, 75% and 100%. On stated length the solar pair gives more feet; on stated modes the plug-in pair gives more options.

Weather protection and certifications

Both solar listings state IP65. Both plug-in listings state IP44, with the JMEXSUSS adding UL588 certification; the JMEXSUSS notes the plug itself must be protected from water. On stated protection the solar pair documents the higher IP code; on stated electrical certification the JMEXSUSS documents UL588.

What the listings leave unclear

The Brightown title says 36LED while the bullets say 35 bulbs plus 1 extra, which adds up to the same 36. The Brightown states no warranty term. The OOOLED states no color temperature and no wattage. The JMEXSUSS states 100 LEDs at 30V output without a stated wattage for the set. None of the four states a lumen figure, so brightness can only be compared in the makers’ own words.

Four examples

Minetom 33FT Globe String Lights

Minetom 33FT Globe String Lights

Minetom9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 33 ft plug-in globe string light set with 100 LEDs, 8 modes, a remote with timer and dimmer, IP44 and a 1 year warranty.

Pros

  • 100 LEDs on 33 ft with 8 lighting modes
  • Remote with timer and dimmer included
  • Shatterproof plastic globes at 0.7 in diameter
  • 1 year warranty stated

Cons

  • 33 ft is the shorter stated length here
  • Needs a socket; no solar or battery option
  • IP44 is the lower stated protection here
  • No color temperature figure is stated
Detailed Review

The Minetom listing states a 33 ft plug-in globe string light set with 100 warm white LEDs at 4 inch spacing, 8 lighting modes, a remote with dimmer and a timer function (6 hours on, 18 hours off), and a memory function. The bulbs are shatterproof plastic at 0.7 inch diameter, the set is IP44, runs on 120V at 5W, weighs 1.2 lbs and states a 1 year warranty.

Who it's for: buyers who want a plug-in set with a remote, timer and dimmer. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a long run or a socket-free install.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length / bulbs33 ft / 100 LEDs
Modes8, remote with timer and dimmer
Power120V, 5W
ProtectionIP44

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP44 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

OOOLED 100FT Solar String Lights

OOOLED 100FT Solar String Lights

OOOLED9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 100 ft solar string light set with 32 ST38 vintage Edison bulbs, remote dimming, IP65 and a 1 year manufacturer warranty.

Pros

  • 100 ft stated, the longest run here
  • 32 ST38 vintage Edison bulbs
  • Remote dimming for brightness control
  • IP65 and a 1 year manufacturer warranty stated

Cons

  • Solar only; no USB backup charging
  • No color temperature figure is stated
  • No wattage is stated
  • Run time depends on the day's charge
Detailed Review

The OOOLED listing states a 100 ft solar string light set with 32 ST38 vintage Edison bulbs in warm white, solar powered with auto on/off, remote dimming, IP65 and shatterproof plastic bulbs. The included components are the string lights and the solar panel. The listing states a 1 year manufacturer warranty.

Who it's for: buyers who want the longest stated solar run with Edison style bulbs. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB backup charging or a stated color temperature.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length / bulbs100 ft / 32 bulbs
Bulb styleST38 vintage Edison
PowerSolar, auto on/off
ProtectionIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated; shatterproof plastic bulbs, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brightown 75FT Solar String Lights

Brightown 75FT Solar String Lights

Brightown9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 75 ft solar string light set with 36 G40 shatterproof bulbs, 3 modes, a remote with dimming and timer, solar plus USB charging, and IP65.

Pros

  • 75 ft with 36 G40 shatterproof bulbs at 2 ft spacing
  • Solar plus USB Type-C charging in 4 to 5 hours
  • Remote with dimming and 6H/8H timer
  • 40 cable ties, spare bulbs and a mount clip included

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • The string cannot be connected end to end
  • Run time depends on the day's charge
  • 36+ hours of illumination is a maker claim without a stated battery size
Detailed Review

The Brightown listing states a 75 ft solar string light set with 35 G40 shatterproof bulbs plus 1 spare (0.15W, E12 base) at 2 foot spacing, 3 modes (steady on, breathing, flashing), a remote with 25% to 100% dimming and 6H/8H timers, and 2700K warm white light. It charges from a 3W solar panel or USB Type-C (5V, 1A) in 4 to 5 hours, states IP65, and includes 40 cable ties, a mount clip and spare bulbs. No warranty term is stated, and the string cannot be connected end to end.

Who it's for: buyers who want a feature-heavy solar set with USB backup charging. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty or connectable strands.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length / bulbs75 ft / 35 + 1 G40
Modes3, remote with dimmer and timer
ChargingSolar + USB Type-C (5V, 1A)
ProtectionIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated; shatterproof bulbs, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

JMEXSUSS 33FT Fairy String Lights

JMEXSUSS 33FT Fairy String Lights

JMEXSUSS9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 33 ft plug-in fairy string light set with 100 warm white LEDs, 8 modes, UL588 certification and IP44.

Pros

  • 100 LEDs on 33 ft with 8 lighting modes
  • UL588 certification stated
  • Strands are connectable per the listing
  • 2700K warm white with a 30V output

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 33 ft is the shorter stated length here
  • Needs a socket; no solar or battery option
  • The plug must be protected from water
Detailed Review

The JMEXSUSS listing states a 33 ft plug-in fairy string light set with 100 warm white LEDs at 2700K, 8 lighting modes switched on the adapter, a 30V output and connectable strands. It states UL588 certification and IP44, with hot melt adhesive in the bulbs for anti-freezing and anti-oxidation, and notes the plug must be protected from water. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: buyers who want a certified plug-in fairy light set with connectable strands. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a warranty term or a socket-free install.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length / bulbs33 ft / 100 LEDs
Modes8, adapter button
PowerCorded, 30V output
ProtectionIP44, UL588

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL588 certification stated; IP44, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For string lights, safety means stated weather protection and electrical certifications; the solar pair states IP65, and the plug-in pair states IP44, with the JMEXSUSS adding a UL588 mark. Two of the four state a warranty term with a concrete time span. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Minetom 33FT Globe String Lights 9.6 29 20 20 7 3
OOOLED 100FT Solar String Lights 9.6 28 20 20 7 3
Brightown 75FT Solar String Lights 9.6 30 21 21 7 0
JMEXSUSS 33FT Fairy String Lights 9.6 29 20 20 8 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Solar vs Plug In String Lights: Which Should You Buy?

Choose solar if you want the longest stated runs with no outlet: the OOOLED states 100 feet with 32 Edison bulbs, and the Brightown states 75 feet with a remote, dimming and USB backup charging. Choose plug in if you want 100 LEDs with 8 modes from a socket: the Minetom adds a remote with timer and dimmer plus a 1 year warranty, and the JMEXSUSS adds UL588 certification with connectable strands. For more solar options see the best solar string lights for patio, and for bulb style the edison bulb vs globe solar string lights guide.

If you need Look at
Longest stated solar run OOOLED 100FT Solar String Lights, 100 ft
Remote, dimmer and timer Minetom 33FT Globe String Lights
USB backup charging Brightown 75FT Solar String Lights
UL588 certification JMEXSUSS 33FT Fairy String Lights

Sizing Notes

  • Match the stated length to the run: 100 ft (OOOLED), 75 ft (Brightown) or 33 ft (JMEXSUSS, Minetom).
  • Check the stated bulb count and spacing: 100 LEDs per 33 ft on the plug-in pair, 35 bulbs on 75 ft for the Brightown.
  • For the plug-in pair, the listings state a 30V output (JMEXSUSS) and 120V (Minetom); keep the plug dry per the JMEXSUSS note.
  • The Brightown states the string cannot be connected end to end; the JMEXSUSS states its strands are connectable.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do the solar string lights need an outlet?

No. The Brightown and OOOLED charge from the sun, and the Brightown also charges over USB Type-C. The JMEXSUSS and Minetom plug into a socket.

Which listing states a timer?

The Brightown remote states 6H and 8H timers, and the Minetom remote states a 6 hours on and 18 hours off timer.

Which listings state a warranty?

The OOOLED states a 1 year manufacturer warranty and the Minetom states 1 year. The Brightown and JMEXSUSS state no warranty term.

What weather protection is stated?

The solar pair states IP65. The plug-in pair states IP44, with a UL588 mark on the JMEXSUSS.

Minetom 33FT Globe String Lights
Still deciding? Our top pickMinetom 33FT Globe String Lights
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see the best solar string lights for patio and the edison bulb vs globe solar string lights guide. Also see our solar garden lights vs solar string lights, solar string lights 25ft vs 50ft, best solar string lights with remote and best solar fairy lights under 20.