On this page
The edison bulb vs globe solar string lights choice is really about style and power: Edison bulbs give vintage bistro warmth, globes give playful sparkle, and solar frees both from outlets. We compared two Edison and two globe solar string lights by length, brightness, features, safety and warranty, using only what each listing publishes. Lengths run 25 to 100 ft, and all four glow in 2700K warm white for a cozy feel.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Brightech Ambience Pro: A 48 ft solar Edison string light with 15 bulbs, auto on/off and 5-6 hour runtime. Check price on Amazon
Runner-Up Brightown Globe 60: A 36 ft solar globe string light with 60 LEDs, 8 modes and memory function. Check price on Amazon
Also Great Larkvue G40: A 25 ft solar G40 globe light with remote, 3 modes, 4 timers and dimming. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Brightech Ambience Pro | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Brightown Globe 60 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Larkvue G40 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Brightever 100ft | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Brightech Ambience Pro
A 48 ft solar Edison string light with 15 bulbs, auto on/off and 5-6 hour runtime.
Pros
- Solar Edison bulbs, no outlet needed.
- Auto on/off sensor, 5-6 hrs per charge.
- 2-year limited warranty, IP65.
- Stake and clip for flexible panel placement.
Cons
- 48 ft is short for large spaces.
- 1W per bulb is modest brightness.
- Needs 6 hrs sun for full charge.
- 15 bulbs only.
Detailed Review
The Brightech Ambience Pro brings vintage Edison style without wiring: 48 ft of solar-powered S14 Edison bulbs in warm white 2700K. A built-in sensor turns them on at night for 5-6 hours after 6 hours of sun.
The panel mounts on the included stake and clip almost anywhere, and each bulb ring takes hooks or guide wire. IP65 and shatterproof bulbs suit outdoor use. A 2-year limited warranty is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 24/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 88 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 48 ft |
|---|---|
| Bulbs | 15 |
| Warranty | 2 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 is stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 60 LEDs with 8 lighting modes.
- IP65, memory chip saves last mode.
- Warm white 2700K, G30 globes.
- 1 year manufacturer warranty.
Cons
- 1 AA battery is small.
- 36 ft is modest.
- 2V system.
- Plastic globes, not glass.
Detailed Review
The Brightown DY-SB-1-500 packs 60 warm white LEDs on 36 ft with 8 modes from steady-on to twinkle, and a memory chip that recalls the last setting. The monocrystalline panel auto-charges with no battery swaps.
IP65 suits rain and snow, and installation needs no wiring. A 1 year manufacturer warranty is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 36 ft |
|---|---|
| LEDs | 60 |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 is stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Remote with 3 modes and 4 timers (2H/4H/6H/8H).
- Dimmable 0-100%, memory function.
- IP65-rated, shatterproof G40 bulbs.
- Solar plus USB dual charging.
Cons
- No warranty term stated.
- 25 ft is short.
- 11 bulbs only.
- 2.5W total.
Detailed Review
The Larkvue GLS-18J2P is the feature pick: 11 G40 globes (10 plus 1 spare) in 2700K warm white with a remote offering 3 modes, 4 timers and 0-100% dimming. A 6 ft lead wire aids tricky installs.
IP65-rated shatterproof bulbs with copper wiring suit patios and gazebos, and USB charging backs up solar for cloudy days. Up to 8 hours of light per charge. No warranty term is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 24/25, value 22/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 87 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 25 ft |
|---|---|
| Bulbs | 11 |
| Modes | 3 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65-rated is stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brightever 100ft
A 100 ft plug-in Edison string light with 52 bulbs, dimmable, connectable to 15 strands.
Pros
- 100 ft with 52 shatterproof ST38 bulbs.
- Plug-in 120V, 2X brightness claim.
- Dimmable, connects up to 15 strands.
- 30,000-hour lifespan stated.
Cons
- No warranty term stated.
- Needs an outlet; not solar.
- 50W draw.
- Plastic bulbs, not glass.
Detailed Review
The Brightever CMC-O501 is the big-space Edison pick: 100 ft with 50 sockets plus 2 spare ST38 bulbs in 2700K warm white, running on plug-in 120V for full brightness. It connects end-to-end up to 15 strands.
Shatterproof plastic bulbs and heavy-duty wiring suit permanent installs, and it dims with most dimmers. A 30,000-hour lifespan is stated. No warranty term is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 100 ft |
|---|---|
| Bulbs | 52 |
| Power | 120V |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Shatterproof bulbs are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Pick | Solar Score | Length | Bulbs | Power | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brightech Ambience Pro | 9.8/10 | 48 ft | 15 Edison | Solar | 2 year | View on Amazon |
| Brightown Globe 60 | 9.7/10 | 36 ft | 60 LED | Solar | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Larkvue G40 | 9.7/10 | 25 ft | 11 G40 | Solar+USB | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Brightever 100ft | 9.7/10 | 100 ft | 52 Edison | Plug-in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. Two of the four picks state a warranty term.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For string lights, safety means the stated IP ratings and shatterproof bulbs. Two of the four picks state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brightech Ambience Pro | 9.8 | 32 | 24 | 21 | 8 | 3 |
| Brightown Globe 60 | 9.7 | 30 | 22 | 21 | 8 | 3 |
| Larkvue G40 | 9.7 | 33 | 24 | 22 | 8 | 0 |
| Brightever 100ft | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best edison bulb vs globe solar string lights
Edison for ambience, globe for sparkle
Edison ST38 and S14 bulbs give the vintage bistro look in warm 2700K: the Brightech solar Edison and the Brightever plug-in Edison. Globe G30 and G40 bulbs give rounder sparkle: the Brightown 60-LED and Larkvue G40. All four are 2700K warm white. Pick Edison for a cafe glow and globe for festive pop.
| Pick | Length | Warranty |
|---|---|---|
| Brightech Ambience Pro | 48 ft | 2 year |
| Brightown Globe 60 | 36 ft | 1 year |
| Larkvue G40 | 25 ft | Not stated |
| Brightever 100ft | 100 ft | Not stated |
Solar or plug-in
Three are solar: the Brightech runs 5-6 hours after 6 hours of sun, the Larkvue up to 8 hours with USB backup for cloudy days. Solar needs no outlet and suits remote patios. The Brightever is plug-in 120V for full brightness and 100 ft runs, connectable to 15 strands. For shed lighting, see the best solar string lights for shed.
Check features and control
The Larkvue leads on control: remote with 3 modes, 4 timers and 0-100% dimming plus memory. The Brightown offers 8 modes with memory. The Brightech is auto on/off only, and the Brightever dims with a separate dimmer. For party setups, see the best solar string lights for party.
Read the warranty
The Brightech states a 2-year limited warranty, the best here, and the Brightown a 1 year manufacturer warranty. The Larkvue and Brightever state no warranty term. For dining areas, see the best solar string lights for outdoor dining.
Sizing Notes
- Match length to the space: 100 ft for large yards, 25-48 ft for patios.
- Confirm power: solar needs 6+ hours of sun; plug-in needs an outlet.
- Check bulb count against the look: 60 LEDs for dense sparkle, 11-15 for spaced glow.
- All four are 2700K warm white; brightness varies by bulb count.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better, Edison or globe string lights?
Edison suits vintage bistro ambience; globe suits festive sparkle. Both come in 2700K warm white here.
How long do solar string lights run?
The Brightech runs 5-6 hours after 6 hours of sun; the Larkvue up to 8 hours with USB backup.
Can I connect multiple strands?
The Brightever connects end-to-end up to 15 strands on plug-in power. The solar picks are single strands.
Which have a warranty?
The Brightech (2-year limited) and Brightown (1 year manufacturer). The others state no warranty term.
Are the bulbs shatterproof?
The Brightever, Brightech and Larkvue state shatterproof plastic bulbs. The Brightown uses plastic globes.
Related guides
See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides.
More picks: path and string lights, solar string lights for parties and lanterns vs string lights.







