Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Solar Garden Lights vs Solar String Lights: Which One Should You Buy?

Solar garden lights vs solar string lights compared: two stake lights and two string lights weighed on stated coverage, modes, weather codes and warranty terms.

Solar Garden Lights vs Solar String Lights: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

A path edged with glowing stakes and a fence strung with warm bulbs are different kinds of evening, and that is where solar garden lights vs solar string lights stops being a search phrase and starts being a design choice. This comparison uses two garden light listings and two string light listings, each only for what it publishes. The short verdict: the garden light side suits ground-level accents and pathways, with the examples here stating stake installation and warm white glow; the string light side suits overhead ambience, with the examples here stating generous lengths of line.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Solar garden lights vs solar string lights: side by side

Garden Lights vs String Lights Brightown 175FT String Lights Brightown Fairy Lights 4-Pack Cnuoky Garden Lights 6-Pack Lomotech Deer Stake Lights Amazon
Style String Fairy string Stake Stake
LEDs / bulbs 56+2 400 48 210
Weather code stated IP65 IP65 IP65 Not stated
Modes stated 3 8 Not stated Not stated
Warranty stated 12-month after-sales support Not stated 2-year warranty 1 year manufacture
Length stated 175 feet 132 feet Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

What each side states

The garden light side pairs the Lomotech and Cnuoky listings. The Lomotech states 210 warm white LEDs in a 47-inch reindeer stake design, 6 to 8 hours of charge for 8 to 10 hours of light, weather-resistant construction and a 1 year manufacture warranty. The Cnuoky states a 6-pack with 48 LEDs across 8 flexible stems, IP65, about 10 to 15 hours of illumination, a 50% larger solar panel and a 2-year warranty. The string light side pairs two Brightown listings. The first states 175 feet of line with 56 plus 2 shatterproof LED bulbs, IP65, a remote with 4 brightness levels and 3 modes, timers and USB-C plus solar charging. The second states a 4-pack totaling 132 feet and 400 LEDs, IP65, 8 lighting modes and 4 to 6 hours of charge for 8 to 10 hours of light. Neither side wins on a spec the other side leaves out: the garden lights state no hanging modes, and the strings state no stake installation.

Stakes, strings and modes

On layout, the garden side stays in the ground: the Lomotech pushes into the ground as a stake, and the Cnuoky mounts in-ground with 8 flexible stems that sway in the breeze. On coverage, the string side states length: 175 feet for the Brightown string lights and 132 feet total for the fairy 4-pack, while the garden lights state height and pack size instead. On control, the string side is richer: the Brightown string lights state a remote with 4 brightness levels and 3 modes, and the fairy lights state 8 lighting modes; the garden lights state auto on at dark and off at daytime.

What the listings leave unclear

The Cnuoky bullets state a 2-year warranty while the manufacturer description says 3-year free replacement; the bullets win, so compare it as 2-year. The Lomotech spec table says Corded-Electric, but the title and bullets describe a solar stake light; the title wins. The Brightown string lights warranty is stated as 12-month after-sales support, which is the concrete term to use. The Lomotech states weather resistance with no IP code, so it earns no safety points.

Four examples

Brightown 175FT String Lights

Brightown 175FT String Lights

Brightown9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 175-foot solar string light with 56 plus 2 shatterproof LED bulbs, a remote with 3 modes, IP65 and USB-C plus solar charging.

Pros

  • 175 feet of line with 56 plus 2 shatterproof LED bulbs stated
  • Remote with 4 brightness levels and 3 modes stated
  • IP65 stated
  • Solar plus USB-C charging stated

Cons

  • 12-month after-sales support is the stated warranty term
  • No lumen figure is stated
  • 5 watts with no stated battery capacity
  • USB-C charging needs a separate adapter
Detailed Review

The listing states 175 feet of line with 56 plus 2 shatterproof LED bulbs, a remote with 4 brightness levels and 3 modes, 6 and 8 hour timers, IP65, 2700K warm white, 24 volts, 5 watts and dual solar plus USB-C charging, with 10+ hours of nightly light. The warranty is stated as 12-month after-sales support with lifetime technical assistance.

Who it's for: anyone who wants a long string with remote control and dual charging. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated lumen figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length175 feet
Bulbs56+2 LED
Modes3 light modes
WeatherIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 12-month after-sales support stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Cnuoky Garden Lights 6-Pack

Cnuoky Garden Lights 6-Pack

Cnuoky9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6-pack of garden lights with 48 LEDs across 8 flexible stems, IP65, about 10 to 15 hours of light and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 48 LEDs across 8 flexible stems stated
  • IP65 stated
  • About 10 to 15 hours of illumination stated
  • 2-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Bullets state 2-year warranty while the description says 3-year
  • 48 LEDs across 8 stems, fewer than the stake light
  • Plastic material stated
  • No hanging option is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 6-pack of garden lights with 48 warm white LEDs across 8 flexible stems, IP65, about 10 to 15 hours of illumination, a 50% larger solar panel, 2700K warm white and a 2-year warranty. The bullets state a 2-year warranty while the manufacturer description says 3-year free replacement; the bullets win.

Who it's for: anyone who wants a 6-pack of ground stakes with a warranty term. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a hanging option.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 18/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack6 pack
LEDs48
WeatherIP65
Warranty2-year warranty

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brightown Fairy Lights 4-Pack

Brightown Fairy Lights 4-Pack

Brightown9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of fairy lights totaling 132 feet and 400 LEDs with 8 lighting modes, IP65 and auto on and off.

Pros

  • 132 feet total with 400 LEDs stated
  • 8 lighting modes stated
  • IP65 stated
  • Auto on at dusk and off at daytime stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No brightness figure is stated
  • 4-6 hours of charge for 8-10 hours of light
  • Copper wire cord is flexible, not rigid
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4-pack totaling 132 feet and 400 warm white LEDs, 8 lighting modes, IP65, 4 to 6 hours of charge for 8 to 10 hours of light, auto on and off and a flexible copper cord for DIY wrapping. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: anyone who wants the most LEDs here with many modes for wrapping trees and rails. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length132 feet total
LEDs400
Modes8 lighting modes
WeatherIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Lomotech Deer Stake Lights

Lomotech Deer Stake Lights

Lomotech9.3/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 47-inch reindeer stake light with 210 warm white LEDs, 8 to 10 hours of light and a 1 year manufacture warranty.

Pros

  • 210 warm white LEDs stated
  • 47-inch stake design stated
  • 8 to 10 hours of light per charge stated
  • 1 year manufacture warranty stated

Cons

  • No IP code is stated
  • Only 1 Count stated, no pack option
  • Power table says Corded-Electric, though the listing describes solar
  • 47-inch reindeer design is seasonal in theme
Detailed Review

The listing states a 47-inch reindeer stake light with 210 warm white LEDs, 6 to 8 hours of charge for 8 to 10 hours of light, weather-resistant construction, easy push-into-ground installation and a 1 year manufacture warranty. The spec table says Corded-Electric, but the title and bullets describe a solar stake light; the title wins. No IP code is stated.

Who it's for: anyone who wants a tall holiday stake light with many LEDs. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated IP code.

Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 16/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 59 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Height47 inches
LEDs210
Charge6-8 hours
Run time8-10 hours

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year manufacture warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For outdoor lights, safety means a stated weather code: the Cnuoky and both Brightown listings state IP65, and the Lomotech states none. Warranties are thin here: two listings state a concrete term, one states 12-month after-sales support, and the fairy 4-pack states none. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Brightown 175FT String Lights 9.6 28 20 21 7 2
Cnuoky Garden Lights 6-Pack 9.5 26 18 20 7 2
Brightown Fairy Lights 4-Pack 9.5 27 19 20 7 0
Lomotech Deer Stake Lights 9.3 23 16 18 0 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Solar garden lights vs solar string lights: which should you choose?

Choose the garden light side for ground-level accents and pathways: the Cnuoky 6-pack states IP65 with 8 flexible stems, and the Lomotech states 210 LEDs in a tall stake design. Choose the string light side for overhead ambience over larger areas: the Brightown 175FT states remote control with 3 modes, and the fairy 4-pack states 8 modes across 132 feet. For more hanging options, our best solar string lights for patio guide covers patios.

If you need Look at
Longest line stated Brightown 175FT String Lights, 175 feet
Most LEDs stated Brightown Fairy Lights 4-Pack, 400 LEDs
3 modes with remote Brightown 175FT String Lights, remote, 3 modes
Ground stakes with warranty Cnuoky Garden Lights 6-Pack, 6 pack, 2-year warranty
Tallest stake stated Lomotech Deer Stake Lights, 47 inches

Sizing Notes

  • Match the layout: stakes go in the ground; strings need a fence, rail or trees to hang from.
  • Check the run time: 8 to 10 hours for the Lomotech and fairy lights, about 10 to 15 hours for the Cnuoky, and 10+ hours for the string lights.
  • Check the weather code: IP65 stated for three listings; the Lomotech states weather resistance with no code.
  • Check the warranty: 1 year for the Lomotech, 2-year for the Cnuoky, 12-month support for the string lights; the fairy lights state none.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which listing states the most LEDs?

The Brightown fairy 4-pack at 400 LEDs. The string lights state 56 plus 2 bulbs, and the garden lights state 210 and 48 LEDs.

Which side offers a remote?

The string side: the Brightown 175FT string lights state a remote with 4 brightness levels and 3 modes. No garden light states a remote.

Which listings state a warranty?

The Lomotech states 1 year manufacture, the Cnuoky 2-year, and the Brightown string lights 12-month after-sales support. The fairy 4-pack states none.

Can the Lomotech run on mains power?

No. The spec table says Corded-Electric, but the title and bullets describe a solar stake light; the title wins, so treat it as solar.

Brightown 175FT String Lights
Still deciding? Our top pickBrightown 175FT String Lights
Check price on Amazon

See every Solar Path and String Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides.

More picks: best solar garden lights with sensor, best solar garden lights under 30, best solar string lights for backyard.