On this page
The best watt meter earns its place behind the couch, where the TV and the game console sip power all night and nobody knows how much. We compared what each listing states across five plug-in meters: display modes, max load, measurement resolution, certifications and warranty terms. The SURAIELEC WMA02A leads with the widest voltage range, while the UPWMA01A follows with Class 1.0 accuracy. All five plug into a standard outlet, and none is hardwired. Display counts run 7 to 9 modes, and resolution runs from unstated to 0.001A. Overload defaults run 1800W to 3680W. The WMA02A also states the finest resolution in the group.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall SURAIELEC WMA02A Meter: 90-250V range with 0.1W resolution and 90-day backup Check price on Amazon
Best Accuracy SURAIELEC UPWMA01A Meter: Class 1.0 accuracy with FCC listed Check price on Amazon
Most Display Modes HBN U167J Meter: 9 display modes with ETL listed Check price on Amazon
Best Overload Range MECHEER PM01-US Meter: UL listed with 3680W adjustable overload Check price on Amazon
Compact Pick MECHEER PMP-N-1 Meter: 5.5 x 3.5 x 2.5 inches with CE listed Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SURAIELEC WMA02A Meter | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | SURAIELEC UPWMA01A Meter | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | HBN U167J Meter | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | MECHEER PM01-US Meter | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | MECHEER PMP-N-1 Meter | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 90-250V wide voltage range stated
- 0.1W, 0.1V, 0.001A and 0.001kWh resolution stated
- Overload indication adjustable from 680 to 3680W
- 90-day data backup stated
Cons
- No certification is stated
- Only package dimensions are stated
- No display mode count is stated
- White color only
Detailed Review
The listing states a plug-in watt meter for 90-250V, 0-16A and 0-3680W with Class 1.0 accuracy, 0.1W, 0.1V, 0.001A and 0.001kWh resolution, overload indication adjustable from 680 to 3680W, a backlit LCD and 90-day data backup on a rechargeable battery. The housing uses fire-resistant material. A 1-year limited warranty is stated.
Who it's for: owners who need a wide voltage range and fine resolution. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated certification.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Range | 90-250V, 0-16A, 0-3680W |
|---|---|
| Resolution | 0.1W, 0.1V, 0.001A |
| Backup | 90-day data backup |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overload protection and fire-resistant material stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Class 1.0 accuracy with 0.1W resolution stated
- FCC listed
- 90-day battery backup stated
- 1-year limited warranty stated
Cons
- 1,950W maximum stated
- 8 modes stated, fewer than the HBN's 9
- 16 ounces stated
- Multi-color housing
Detailed Review
The listing states a plug-in watt meter for 15A and 1,950W with Class 1.0 accuracy, 0.1W resolution, 8 display modes showing 11 values, a backlit LCD, overload protection, a flame-retardant housing and 90-day battery backup. FCC is stated and it measures 3.94 by 1.97 by 2.36 inches at 16 ounces. A 1-year limited warranty is stated.
Who it's for: owners who want certified accuracy with data backup. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 1,950W.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Load | 15A, 1,950W |
|---|---|
| Accuracy | Class 1.0, 0.1W |
| Backup | 90-day battery backup |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. FCC listed, overload protection and flame-retardant housing stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1-year limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 9 display modes stated, the most in this group
- ETL listed
- 125VAC, 1875W and 15A stated
- Data storage stated
Cons
- Backlight turns off after 15 seconds
- No resolution figure is stated
- Plastic housing stated
- Wi-Fi protocol stated with no app described
Detailed Review
The listing states a plug-in watt meter with 9 display modes covering power, apparent power, energy, time, frequency, power factor, voltage, current and cost, a backlit LCD with 160-degree viewing, data storage and a 3-second reset. It is rated 125VAC, 60Hz, 15A and 1875W. ETL is stated and a 1-year manufacturer warranty is stated.
Who it's for: owners who want the most display modes with a listed certification. Who should skip it: buyers who need resolution figures.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Modes | 9 display modes |
|---|---|
| Power | 125VAC, 1875W, 15A |
| Certification | ETL listed |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- UL listed
- Overload adjustable from 0 to 3680W
- 7 display modes stated
- Data memory stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 1800W default overload needs manual setting
- No resolution figure is stated
- White color only
Detailed Review
The listing states a plug-in watt meter with 7 display modes, a 2.36 by 1.85 inch backlit LCD with 180-degree viewing, data memory across power failures and overload protection adjustable from 0 to 3680W with an 1800W default. UL is stated. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: owners who want UL listing and adjustable overload protection. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Modes | 7 display modes |
|---|---|
| Overload | 0-3680W adjustable |
| Certification | UL listed |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL listed, overload protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 8 display modes stated
- CE listed
- Overload protection stated
- Data memory stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No max load figure is stated
- No resolution figure is stated
- 5.5 by 3.5 by 2.5 inches stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a plug-in watt meter with 8 display modes, a backlit LCD, overload protection with an 1800W default threshold, ABS housing and data memory across power failures. CE is stated and it measures 5.5 by 3.5 by 2.5 inches. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: owners who want a compact meter with 8 modes. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated max load.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Modes | 8 display modes |
|---|---|
| Overload | 1800W default |
| Certification | CE listed |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE listed, overload protection stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
MECHEER Watt Meter Power Meter Plug UsageCheck on Amazon
KETOTEK Watt Meter Power Meter PlugCheck on Amazon
KETOTEK Watt Meter PlugCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Meter | Solar Score | Display modes | Max load | Certification | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SURAIELEC WMA02A Meter | 9.7/10 | 8 modes | 3680W | Not stated | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| SURAIELEC UPWMA01A Meter | 9.6/10 | 8 modes | 1,950W | FCC | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| HBN U167J Meter | 9.6/10 | 9 modes | 1875W | ETL | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| MECHEER PM01-US Meter | 9.5/10 | 7 modes | 3680W | UL | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| MECHEER PMP-N-1 Meter | 9.5/10 | 8 modes | Not stated | CE | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a watt meter, safety means stated certifications and overload protection; a meter that states none scores zero on that line, whatever its display count. Three of the five state a warranty term, and four state a certification. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SURAIELEC WMA02A Meter | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| SURAIELEC UPWMA01A Meter | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 6 | 3 |
| HBN U167J Meter | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| MECHEER PM01-US Meter | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| MECHEER PMP-N-1 Meter | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 6 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best watt meter
Match the max load to your appliance
The listings state 3680W on the MECHEER PM01-US and SURAIELEC WMA02A, 1,950W on the UPWMA01A and 1875W on the HBN. The PMP-N-1 states no max load figure, so size it against the 1800W default overload it does state. The MECHEER corded more-option listing states 3680W with an 1800W default. The UPWMA01A states 15A with its 1,950W, the HBN states 15A with 1875W, and the WMA02A states 0-16A.
Count the display modes
Seven modes on the PM01-US, 8 on the PMP-N-1 and UPWMA01A, and 9 on the HBN. More modes mean more parameters without extra gear: the HBN covers power, apparent power, energy, time, frequency, power factor, voltage, current and cost. The UPWMA01A shows 11 values across its 8 modes. All five picks state cost or unit-price modes: the UPWMA01A takes utility rates from 0 to 99.99 per kWh, and the PMP-N-1 clears cost and cumulative data with a 5-second press of its M button.
Backlight, memory and size
The PM01-US offers 5 backlight times from 10 minutes to always on. The PMP-N-1 turns its backlight off after 10 minutes with no button press, and the HBN after 15 seconds. The SURAIELEC pair keeps data for 90 days on battery backup; the MECHEER picks keep data across outages; the HBN stores non-real-time data. The KTEM02-US more-option listing stores data on a high-precision chip. For size, the PMP-N-1 measures 5.5 by 3.5 by 2.5 inches, the UPWMA01A 3.94 by 1.97 by 2.36 inches, and the HBN 2.68 by 1.47 by 4.72 inches. The SURAIELEC pair is built not to block the adjacent outlet.
Read the resolution and accuracy lines
The SURAIELEC WMA02A states 0.1W, 0.1V, 0.001A and 0.001kWh resolution with Class 1.0 accuracy, and the UPWMA01A states Class 1.0 with 0.1W resolution. The other three state no resolution figures. The WMA02A’s 0.001A and 0.001kWh resolution are the finest stated. The HBN cost mode shows electricity cost over time. For the monitoring side of your system, see our best battery monitor for solar system guides.
More options in this range
Three more listings from the same data set did not make the ranked table but fit nearby needs. MECHEER lists a 7-mode meter with a 13-inch 16AWG cord, 3680W overload protection and an 1800W default. KETOTEK lists the KTEM02-US with 3680W overload, an 1800W default, a 15A range, FCC certification and 9999kWh energy capacity. KETOTEK also lists the KTEM03 with a split display on a 2.9-meter cable, 3680W overload protection and a backlit LCD. The KTEM03 display runs on a CR2032 battery.
Sizing Notes
- Match the max load to your appliance: the listings state 1875W to 3680W.
- Check the voltage range: 90-250V on the WMA02A, 125VAC on the HBN.
- Set the overload threshold as the manual directs: 3680W default, adjustable down on several picks.
- Keep plug-in meters on standard outlets; none of these is hardwired.
- Read the plug type: standard US socket and plug on the MECHEER picks.
- Check the display size: 2.36 by 1.85 inches on the PM01-US.
- Match the current range: 0-16A on the WMA02A, 15A on the UPWMA01A and HBN.
- Read the plug format: US style with ground plug on the KETOTEK more-option listing.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which meter here states the most display modes?
The HBN with 9 modes, followed by the PMP-N-1 and UPWMA01A with 8 each, and the PM01-US with 7. The KETOTEK more options state 5-button access rather than a mode count. The MECHEER corded more-option listing states 7 modes.
Which meters state a certification?
The PM01-US states UL, the PMP-N-1 states CE, the UPWMA01A states FCC and the HBN states ETL. The WMA02A states no certification.
Which meters keep data through a power outage?
Both SURAIELEC meters state 90-day battery backup. The MECHEER picks state data memory, and the HBN states data storage. The KTEM03 more-option listing saves data during an outage as well. The PM01-US records data when unplugged from the socket.
What is the highest overload figure stated?
3680W on the PM01-US, the WMA02A and the KETOTEK more options, adjustable from 0 on the PM01-US and from 680 on the WMA02A. The HBN states no overload figure. The UPWMA01A flashes OVERLOAD above its 1800W default threshold.
Which meters state a warranty?
The UPWMA01A, HBN and WMA02A state 1-year warranties. The two MECHEER picks state no warranty term.
Do these work on 240V?
The WMA02A states 90-250V, and the UPWMA01A lists 110-130 and 200-240 Vac compatibility. The others state 120V-class figures.
Related guides
See every Battery Monitors and Accessories guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best battery monitor for solar system.









