On this page
The lights in the cabin flicker out during a cloudy week, and the battery bank on the porch decides whether the fridge keeps running until the sun returns. That choice comes down to gel vs lithium battery chemistry, and the listings in this comparison show the split in plain terms: gel examples lean on a sealed paste that resists leaks and vibration, while lithium examples lean on light weight and long storage. Pick gel when the listing format fits a sealed lead-acid setup you already run; pick lithium when the device takes small lithium cells and long shelf life matters most.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Gel vs Lithium Battery: side by side
| Gel vs Lithium Battery | Mighty Max YTX20L-BS GEL | Mighty Max YTX12-BS GEL | Duracell CR2032 9 Count | Energizer Ultimate Lithium AA | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chemistry | GEL | GEL | Lithium | Lithium | |
| Voltage | 12V | 12V | 3V | 1.5V | |
| Capacity | 18 Ah | 10 Ah | 9 count CR2032 | 8 pack AA | |
| Cranking amps | 270 CCA | 180 CCA | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Warranty | 1 Year Manufacturer | 1 Year Manufacturer | 10 years in Storage | 1-Year Limited |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 30 October 2026.
Capacity and voltage
The gel examples are both 12V blocks: the Mighty Max YTX20L-BS GEL example holds 18 Ah and the Mighty Max YTX12-BS GEL example holds 10 Ah. The lithium examples are small cells: the Duracell example is a 9-count pack of 3V CR2032 cells and the Energizer example is an 8-pack of 1.5V AA cells. Do not compare the amp-hour figures across sides as if they described the same job: the gel examples are single 12V blocks and the lithium examples are packs of small cells for small devices.
Self-discharge and storage
The gel listings state a slower self-discharge rate than AGM batteries, so the gel examples retain charge longer when not in use, per the maker. On the lithium side, the Energizer listing states up to 25 years in storage and the Duracell listing states 10 years in Storage. The gel listings give no storage-life figure, so the storage comparison rests on the lithium figures alone.
Temperature range
The gel listings claim consistent performance in extreme temperatures and in a wide range of climates, without giving a temperature figure. The Energizer listing gives a range: from -40 degrees F to 140 degrees F. The Duracell listing gives no temperature figure. On temperature, then, only the Energizer example lets you compare a stated range.
What the listings leave unclear
Both gel titles call the battery GEL Type and SLA AGM in the same line, while the model names and bullets describe GEL, so read both gel examples as GEL batteries. Neither lithium listing states a capacity in amp-hours for the pack, and neither gel listing states a storage-life figure. No listing here states a BMS, and no listing states a UL listing.
Four examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mighty Max YTX20L-BS GEL | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Mighty Max YTX12-BS GEL | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Duracell CR2032 9 Count | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Energizer Ultimate Lithium AA | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Mighty Max YTX20L-BS GEL
A 12V 18 Ah GEL battery with 270 CCA, a non-spillable gel paste and a 1-year manufacturer warranty.
Pros
- 18 Ah capacity at 12V
- 270 CCA stated
- Non-spillable gel paste resists leaks
- Slower self-discharge than AGM, per the listing
Cons
- Motorcycle format, not a deep-cycle RV battery
- No BMS stated
- 1-year manufacturer warranty only
- No storage-life figure stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 18 Ah GEL battery with 270 CCA, a maintenance-free design, a slower self-discharge rate than AGM batteries, and a thick, non-spillable gel paste that resists vibration and shock. The title also calls it an SLA AGM motorcycle battery while the bullets describe GEL type, so read it as a GEL battery as the model name states. The warranty description is 1 Year Manufacturer.
Who it's for: buyers who want a sealed 12V gel block with the larger capacity of the gel pair. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a lithium cell format or a stated storage-life figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage | 12V |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 18 Ah |
| CCA | 270 CCA |
| Warranty | 1 Year Manufacturer |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Non-spillable gel paste, leak-resistant design, vibration and shock resistance, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Max YTX12-BS GEL
A 12V 10 Ah GEL battery with 180 CCA, a non-spillable gel paste and a 1-year manufacturer warranty.
Pros
- 10 Ah at 12V in a compact case
- 180 CCA stated
- Non-spillable gel paste resists leaks
- Slower self-discharge than AGM, per the listing
Cons
- Motorcycle format, not a deep-cycle RV battery
- No BMS stated
- 1-year manufacturer warranty only
- Smallest capacity of the gel pair
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 10 Ah GEL battery with 180 CCA, a maintenance-free design, a slower self-discharge rate than AGM batteries, and a thick, non-spillable gel paste that resists vibration and shock. The title also calls it an SLA AGM motorcycle battery while the bullets describe GEL type, so read it as a GEL battery as the model name states. The warranty description is 1 Year Manufacturer.
Who it's for: buyers who want a sealed 12V gel block in the smaller capacity of the gel pair. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a lithium cell format or a stated storage-life figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage | 12V |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 10 Ah |
| CCA | 180 CCA |
| Warranty | 1 Year Manufacturer |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Non-spillable gel paste, leak-resistant design, vibration and shock resistance, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Duracell CR2032 9 Count
A 9-count pack of 3V CR2032 lithium coin cells with a bitter taste coating and child-safe packaging.
Pros
- 9-count pack of 3V CR2032 cells
- Bitter taste coating on both sides
- Child-safe packaging
- 10 years in Storage
Cons
- Coin cells for small devices, not a house battery
- 3V per cell; small-device format only
- No BMS or protection circuit stated
- Compatibility limited to CR2032 devices
Detailed Review
The listing states a 9-count pack of 3V CR2032 lithium coin cells compatible with AirTag, key fobs, fitness trackers, glucose monitors and tire pressure sensors. The bullets state a bitter taste coating on both sides to deter accidental ingestion and child-safe packaging, plus a stated term of 10 years in Storage. The longevity claim is measured against Energizer 2032 3-in-1 per the footnote, so read it as a maker comparison, not an absolute figure.
Who it's for: buyers who need CR2032 cells for small devices with a stated storage term. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a rechargeable block battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage | 3V |
|---|---|
| Type | CR2032 lithium coin cell |
| Count | 9 count |
| Warranty | 10 years in Storage |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Bitter taste coating on both sides, child-safe packaging, so safety scores 7 of 10. 10 years in Storage. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Energizer Ultimate Lithium AA
An 8-pack of 1.5V Ultimate Lithium AA batteries rated from -40 degrees F to 140 degrees F.
Pros
- 8-pack of 1.5V lithium AA batteries
- Rated from -40 degrees F to 140 degrees F
- Last up to 25 years in storage, per the listing
- Leak-proof design, per the listing
Cons
- AA household format, not a house battery
- 1.5V per cell; small-device format only
- No BMS stated
- 1-year limited warranty
Detailed Review
The listing states an 8-pack of 1.5V Ultimate Lithium AA batteries rated from -40 degrees F to 140 degrees F, leak-proof per the maker, and lasting up to 25 years in storage. The warranty description is 1-Year Limited. The maker calls them the longest lasting AA batteries, which is a marketing claim, not a measured figure in the listing.
Who it's for: buyers who need AA lithium cells with a stated temperature range and long storage. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a rechargeable block battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage | 1.5V |
|---|---|
| Type | AA lithium |
| Count | 8 pack |
| Temperature range | -40 degrees F to 140 degrees F |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Leak-proof design, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-Year Limited. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For batteries, safety means a stated safety-relevant feature: the gel examples state a non-spillable gel paste, the Duracell example states a bitter taste coating and child-safe packaging, and the Energizer example states a leak-proof design. All four state a warranty term, from 1 year on the gel pair and the Energizer example to 10 years in Storage on the Duracell example. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mighty Max YTX20L-BS GEL | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| Mighty Max YTX12-BS GEL | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| Duracell CR2032 9 Count | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| Energizer Ultimate Lithium AA | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best gel vs lithium battery
Pick gel when the battery must be a sealed 12V block with a non-spillable paste and stated vibration resistance: the Mighty Max examples fit that shape at 10 Ah and 18 Ah. Pick lithium when the device takes small cells: the Duracell example fits CR2032 devices and the Energizer example fits AA devices, with stated storage figures of 10 years in Storage and up to 25 years in storage. Match the voltage and cell size to the device first, and the chemistry second.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| A sealed 12V block | Mighty Max YTX20L-BS GEL, 18 Ah |
| A smaller 12V gel block | Mighty Max YTX12-BS GEL, 10 Ah |
| CR2032 cells | Duracell 2032 Lithium Battery, 9 Count |
| AA cells | Energizer Ultimate Lithium AA Batteries, 8 Pack |
Sizing Notes
- Match the battery voltage to the device: the gel examples are 12V, the Duracell example is 3V per cell, and the Energizer example is 1.5V per cell.
- Match the cell size to the device: CR2032 for the Duracell example, AA for the Energizer example.
- Check the tray and fit: the Mighty Max YTX12-BS GEL example measures 5.9 inches by 3.34 inches by 5.11 inches, and the YTX20L-BS GEL example measures 6.88 inches by 3.42 inches by 6.1 inches.
- Compare stated warranty terms before buying: 1 year on the gel pair and the Energizer example, 10 years in Storage on the Duracell example.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a gel battery replace a lithium battery?
Only if the voltage and format match. The gel examples here are 12V blocks and the lithium examples are 3V coin cells and 1.5V AA cells, so they serve different devices. Match voltage and cell size first.
What voltage are the gel examples?
Both gel examples are 12V: the YTX20L-BS GEL example at 18 Ah and the YTX12-BS GEL example at 10 Ah.
How long do the lithium examples last in storage?
The Energizer listing states up to 25 years in storage, and the Duracell listing states 10 years in Storage. The gel listings give no storage-life figure.
Which example has the longest warranty?
The Duracell example states 10 years in Storage; the other three state 1 year each.
Do any of these batteries state a BMS?
No. None of the four listings states a battery management system.
Are the gel examples maintenance free?
The gel listings describe the batteries as maintenance free GEL type.
Related guides
See every Batteries and Charging guide and all Deep Cycle and RV Batteries guides. Also see our lifepo4 vs gel battery for rv. Also see our best lithium battery for solar. Also see our lithium vs lead acid battery for solar.
More picks: gel vs agm battery for trolling motor, gel vs flooded battery for solar, gel deep cycle battery.








