On this page
The short answer on lithium vs lead acid battery for solar: the lithium examples state far longer cycle life with a built-in BMS, while the lead acid example is a simple 12V 7Ah SLA with no cycle figure stated. We compared two lithium and one lead acid battery on what each listing states: capacity, cycle life, weight, protections and warranty terms. Choose lithium for longer stated cycle life and lower weight per amp-hour; choose lead acid for a simple drop-in replacement on small UPS and alarm setups.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Lithium vs lead acid: side by side
| Battery | Solar Score | Side | Capacity | Cycle Life | Weight | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NERMAK 12V 10Ah LiFePO4 | 9.6/10 | Lithium | 12V 10Ah (128Wh) | 2000+ cycles | 2.64 lb | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Litime 12V 460Ah LiFePO4 | 9.6/10 | Lithium | 12V 460Ah (5.8kWh) | 15000 at 60% DOD | 86 lb | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| ExpertPower 12V 7Ah SLA | 9.5/10 | Lead acid | 12V 7Ah | Not stated | 4.3 lb | 1 year | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
Cycle life and capacity
This is the clearest gap. The NERMAK states 2000+ cycles and the Litime states 15000 cycles at 60% DOD, while the ExpertPower lead acid example states no cycle figure at all. Capacity is uneven too: the Litime states 12V 460Ah (5.8kWh) with 100% usable capacity stated, the NERMAK states 12V 10Ah (128Wh), and the ExpertPower states 12V 7Ah. Compare the sides on what each listing states, not on assumed chemistry rules.
Weight and size
The NERMAK lithium example weighs 2.64 pounds in a 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.71 inch case, while the ExpertPower lead acid example weighs 4.3 pounds in nearly the same 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.70 inch case. The Litime is a different scale entirely: 86 pounds at 20.47 by 10.59 by 8.66 inches for 460Ah. For the same footprint, the lithium example states well under half the weight.
Protection and monitoring
Both lithium listings state a battery management system: the NERMAK with a 10A BMS against overcharge, over-discharge, over-current and short circuit, and the Litime with a 250A BMS plus an IP65 code and CE and RoHS marks. The ExpertPower lead acid listing states a sealed spill-proof ABS case with no BMS named, which is normal for the chemistry. Neither the NERMAK nor the ExpertPower states a safety mark.
What the listings leave unclear
The ExpertPower example states no cycle life figure and no peak discharge current. The Litime example states no warranty term; its AIG product liability insurance is liability coverage, not a warranty. The NERMAK example states that a LiFePO4 special charger is needed and an SLA charger may not fully charge it. The Litime example warns it is not for starting batteries or golf carts.
Three examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | NERMAK 12V 10Ah LiFePO4 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Litime 12V 460Ah LiFePO4 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | ExpertPower 12V 7Ah SLA | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

NERMAK 12V 10Ah LiFePO4
A 12V 10Ah LiFePO4 battery with 2000+ cycles, 10A BMS and a 1-year warranty stated.
Pros
- 2000+ cycle life stated
- 10A BMS with 4 protections stated
- Only 2.64 pounds stated
- 10A continuous and 30A peak discharge stated
Cons
- Needs a LiFePO4 special charger stated; SLA charger may not fully charge
- 1-year warranty stated
- Not a motorcycle starter battery stated
- No safety mark is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 10Ah LiFePO4 battery (128Wh) with 2000+ cycles, a built-in 10A BMS against overcharge, over-discharge, over-current and short circuit, 10A continuous and 30A peak discharge, 6A quick charging and 5A continuous charge current. It lists F2 terminals, series or parallel expansion, a 2.64-pound weight in a 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.71 inch case, and very low self-discharge. The listing states a 1-year warranty and warns a LiFePO4 special charger is needed.
Who it's for: small 12V solar loads, fish finders and ride-on toys that want 2000+ cycles. Who should skip it: anyone who only has an SLA charger.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 12V 10Ah (128Wh) |
|---|---|
| Cycles | 2000+ stated |
| BMS | 10A stated |
| Weight | 2.64 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. BMS with overcharge, over-discharge, over-current and short-circuit protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Litime 12V 460Ah LiFePO4
A 12V 460Ah LiFePO4 battery with 15000 cycles at 60% DOD, 250A BMS and IP65 stated, no warranty stated.
Pros
- 460Ah with 5.8kWh and 100% usable capacity stated
- 15000 cycles at 60% DOD stated
- 250A BMS with EV-grade cells stated
- IP65 code with CE and RoHS marks stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 86-pound weight needs two people to move
- Not for starting batteries or golf carts stated
- AIG coverage is liability insurance, not a warranty
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 460Ah LiFePO4 battery (5.8kWh) with 15000 cycles at 60% DOD, 100% usable capacity above 12.8V, a 250A BMS with EV-grade cells, and 4P4S expansion. It lists an IP65 code with CE and RoHS marks, an 86-pound weight in a 20.47 by 10.59 by 8.66 inch Group 8D case, and AIG product liability insurance. The listing states no warranty term.
Who it's for: large off-grid and home backup banks that want 460Ah with a 250A BMS. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 34/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 12V 460Ah (5.8kWh) |
|---|---|
| Cycles | 15000 at 60% DOD stated |
| BMS | 250A stated |
| Weight | 86 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 250A BMS with EV-grade cells, IP65 code and CE and RoHS marks stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ExpertPower 12V 7Ah SLA
A 12V 7Ah sealed lead acid battery with spill-proof design and a 1-year warranty stated.
Pros
- Maintenance-free sealed design stated
- Spill-proof leak-proof construction stated
- Standard F1 terminals, no special tools stated
- 1-year warranty stated
Cons
- No cycle life figure is stated
- 7Ah capacity is small next to the lithium examples
- No BMS is named
- 4.3 pounds for 7Ah, heavier per amp-hour than lithium
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 7Ah sealed lead acid battery with F1 terminals, a maintenance-free and spill-proof design, a rugged ABS case with high-density plates, and dimensions of 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.70 inches at 4.3 pounds. It lists compatibility with alarm systems, UPS, ride-on cars and deer feeders as a drop-in replacement. The listing states a 1-year warranty that is void for misuse, abuse or neglect.
Who it's for: alarms, UPS and ride-on toys that want a simple lead acid drop-in. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated cycle life figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 12V 7Ah |
|---|---|
| Cycles | Not stated |
| Terminals | F1 |
| Weight | 4.3 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Sealed spill-proof leak-proof construction stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For solar batteries, safety means a battery management system, stated ingress codes or sealed construction; the lithium examples state a BMS, and the lead acid example states sealed spill-proof construction. The NERMAK and ExpertPower state a 1-year warranty; the Litime states none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NERMAK 12V 10Ah LiFePO4 | 9.6 | 29 | 19 | 21 | 7 | 4 |
| Litime 12V 460Ah LiFePO4 | 9.6 | 34 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 0 |
| ExpertPower 12V 7Ah SLA | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 21 | 5 | 4 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Lithium vs lead acid battery for solar: which should you choose?
Choose lithium if you want longer stated cycle life and lower weight per amp-hour, and if your charger has a lithium setting: the NERMAK listing warns an SLA charger may not fully charge it. The Litime suits large off-grid and home backup banks with 460Ah and 250A BMS stated; the NERMAK suits small 12V loads like fish finders and ride-on toys. Choose lead acid if you want a simple drop-in replacement for alarms and UPS: the ExpertPower example is maintenance-free and spill-proof with standard F1 terminals.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Longest stated cycle life | Litime 12V 460Ah, 15000 at 60% DOD |
| Lowest weight per amp-hour | NERMAK 12V 10Ah, 2.64 lb |
| Simple drop-in for alarms/UPS | ExpertPower 12V 7Ah SLA |
| 100% usable capacity stated | Litime 12V 460Ah |
Sizing Notes
- Match stated capacity to the load: 460Ah, 10Ah or 7Ah.
- Check stated cycle life: 15000 at 60% DOD, 2000+ or not stated.
- Use a LiFePO4 charger for lithium: the NERMAK listing says an SLA charger may not fully charge.
- Compare stated weight: 86, 2.64 or 4.3 pounds.
- Read the warranty: 1 year on 2 listings, none stated on 1.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which battery here states the longest cycle life?
The Litime, with 15000 cycles at 60% DOD stated.
Which batteries state a BMS?
The NERMAK with a 10A BMS and the Litime with a 250A BMS. The ExpertPower lead acid listing names no BMS.
Does the lead acid example state a cycle figure?
No. The ExpertPower listing states no cycle life figure.
Can I charge the NERMAK with an SLA charger?
The listing says to use a LiFePO4 special charger, and that a fully automatic SLA charger may not fully charge it.
Which batteries state a warranty?
The NERMAK and ExpertPower state 1 year each. The Litime states no warranty term.
Related guides
See every Deep Cycle RV Batteries guide and all Batteries guides. Also see our best lithium battery for solar. Also see our 12V battery for solar panel.
More picks: lithium battery for solar, 12V battery for solar panel, deep cycle battery for refrigerator.







