Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Kaito Ka500 vs Eton Frx2: Which One Should You Buy?

Kaito ka500 vs eton frx2 compared on bands, power, phone charging, flashlight, size and warranty terms, with a verdict on who should pick which side.

Kaito Ka500 vs Eton Frx2: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on kaito ka500 vs eton frx2: pick the Kaito for the wider band list and the included AC adapter and storage case, and pick the Eton for the built-in flashlight and USB smartphone charger in a compact box. We compared the listings on bands, power, size and warranty terms. The Kaito listing names more bands and more in-box extras, while the Eton listing names the flashlight and phone charging the Kaito listing leaves unstated.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Kaito Ka500 vs Eton Frx2: side by side

Radio Solar Score Bands Power Size
Kaito KA500 Radio 9.5/10 AM, FM, SW, NOAA Solar, crank, AC adapter 8.3 x 2.3 x 5.3 inches
Eton FRX2 Radio 9.4/10 AM, FM, NOAA Crank handle 5.7 x 4.7 x 2.8 inches

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 30 October 2026.

Bands and power

Bands are the clearest stated gap. The Kaito title names AM, FM, SW and NOAA bands, while the Eton bullets name AM, FM and NOAA bands with no shortwave band stated. Both listings name crank power: the Kaito title names solar and crank power, and the Eton bullets name a crank powered handle. The Kaito title adds an AC adapter, which the Eton listing does not state, and the Eton bullets add a USB smartphone charger and a built-in LED flashlight, which the Kaito listing does not state. Neither listing states a battery size or a run time, so power beyond the crank and the adapter stays unstated on both sides.

Size and the kit

Size and extras split the two listings in opposite directions. The Kaito measures 8.3 x 2.3 x 5.3 inches in its Product Dimensions field and comes with a storage case named in the title. The Eton measures 5.7 x 4.7 x 2.8 inches and its bullets describe a compact radio that can be stored in a safety kit or tossed in a backpack, with a White and Red finish. A buyer who wants a case in the box gets it named only on the Kaito side, while a buyer who wants the smallest stated length gets it only on the Eton side, since the Kaito length runs longer in both of its stated dimension sets.

What the listings leave unclear

Both listings leave gaps a buyer should see before choosing. The Kaito spec table disagrees with itself on size: Product Dimensions gives 8.3 x 2.3 x 5.3 inches while the Size field gives 8 x 5 x 2.5 inches, so neither set can be trusted over the other from the listing alone. The Kaito listing states no warranty term at all, and the Eton spec table states Limited Warranty with no length attached, so neither side offers a comparable warranty figure. Neither listing states a safety certification, and neither states a battery size, so the safety and warranty lines of the score stay empty for both radios.

The examples

Kaito KA500 Radio

Kaito KA500 Radio

Kaito9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A solar and crank emergency radio with AM, FM, SW and NOAA bands, an AC adapter and a storage case.

Pros

  • Names AM, FM, SW and NOAA bands in the title
  • Solar and crank power plus an AC adapter in the title
  • Storage case named in the title for kit storage
  • Weather alert radio aimed at emergency use

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated in the listing
  • No safety certification is stated in the listing
  • Dimensions disagree inside the spec table
  • No flashlight or phone charging is stated
Detailed Review

The listing names a solar and crank emergency radio with AM, FM, SW and NOAA bands, an AC adapter and a storage case in Yellow, but its bullets are empty, so the title and the spec table carry the whole listing. The size disagrees inside the spec table: Product Dimensions gives 8.3 x 2.3 x 5.3 inches while the Size field gives 8 x 5 x 2.5 inches, so the listing leaves the true footprint unclear.

Who it's for: buyers who want the wider band list with solar power, an AC adapter and a case in the box. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a flashlight, phone charging, or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BandsAM, FM, SW, NOAA
PowerSolar, crank, AC adapter
Size8.3 x 2.3 x 5.3 inches
IncludedAC adapter, storage case

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Eton FRX2 Radio

Eton FRX2 Radio

Eton9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hand crank emergency radio with AM, FM and NOAA bands, a USB smartphone charger and an LED flashlight.

Pros

  • Built-in LED flashlight for outages and dark rooms
  • USB smartphone charger for a phone in an emergency
  • Crank powered handle for use without an outlet
  • Compact radio for a safety kit or a backpack

Cons

  • No SW band is stated in the listing
  • No solar power is stated in the listing
  • Warranty states Limited Warranty with no length
  • No safety certification is stated in the listing
Detailed Review

The listing names a hand crank radio with AM, FM and NOAA weather bands, a crank powered handle, a built-in LED flashlight and a USB smartphone charger, and notes Eton as a partner of the American Red Cross. Its spec table gives a White and Red finish at 5.7 x 4.7 x 2.8 inches and a Limited Warranty with no length attached.

Who it's for: buyers who want a flashlight and phone charging in a compact crank radio. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a shortwave band, solar power, or a warranty term with a length.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BandsAM, FM, NOAA
PowerHand crank
ChargingUSB smartphone charger
Size5.7 x 4.7 x 2.8 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an emergency radio, safety means a certification or a safety feature the listing actually states; neither listing states one, so both score zero on that line. Neither listing states a warranty term with a length in years or months, so both score zero on warranty as well. The Kaito leads on the breadth of what its title states: more bands, solar and crank power, an AC adapter and a storage case. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Kaito KA500 Radio 9.5 29 21 21 0 0
Eton FRX2 Radio 9.4 28 20 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Kaito ka500 vs eton frx2: which should you choose?

Choose the Kaito if the band list matters most, if you want solar power beside the crank, and if an AC adapter and a storage case in the box matter to the kit. Choose the Eton if the flashlight and the USB smartphone charger matter more, and if a compact radio for a safety kit or a backpack fits the plan. Both are crank radios with NOAA weather bands, so the choice turns on the extras each listing actually names, not on a shared spec where one side wins outright.

If you need Look at
The wider band list Kaito KA500 Radio with AM, FM, SW and NOAA
Flashlight and phone charging Eton FRX2 Radio with a built-in LED flashlight
AC adapter and case in the box Kaito KA500 Radio with an AC adapter and storage case
A compact radio for a safety kit Eton FRX2 Radio at 5.7 x 4.7 x 2.8 inches

Sizing Notes

  • Match the radio to the kit space: the Kaito measures 8.3 x 2.3 x 5.3 inches and the Eton measures 5.7 x 4.7 x 2.8 inches.
  • Match power to the outage plan: the Kaito lists solar and crank power plus an AC adapter, and the Eton lists a crank powered handle.
  • Check the band list against the alerts you want: the Kaito names AM, FM, SW and NOAA, and the Eton names AM, FM and NOAA.
  • Check the warranty line before buying: the Kaito listing states no warranty term and the Eton listing states Limited Warranty with no length.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which radio here lists a shortwave band?

The Kaito, whose title names AM, FM, SW and NOAA bands. The Eton bullets name AM, FM and NOAA bands with no shortwave band stated.

Which radio here can charge a phone?

The Eton, which lists a USB smartphone charger in its bullets. The Kaito listing states no phone charging feature.

Which radio here includes an AC adapter?

The Kaito, whose title names an AC adapter beside the storage case. The Eton listing states no AC adapter.

Do these radios state a warranty term?

Neither states a term with a length. The Kaito listing states no warranty term, and the Eton spec table states Limited Warranty with no length attached.

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best emergency radio for kayak. Also see our best solar lantern for kayak. Also see our best portable power station for camping.