On this page
The short answer on lifepo4 charger vs lithium ion charger: pick a vehicle-battery charger if you charge large vehicle or marine batteries, and pick a small-cell charger if you charge handheld cells. The vehicle chargers here cover a wide voltage range and a range of battery types, while the small-cell charger covers many cell sizes from a USB-powered unit. We compared the listings on current, voltage, modes, protections and warranty terms.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Lifepo4 charger vs lithium ion charger side by side
| Charger | Solar Score | Charging current | Battery voltage | Stages or modes | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PZ.P 15A Smart Charger | 9.7/10 | 12V 15-Amp, 24V 8-Amp | 12V/24V LiFePO4 and lead-acid | 9-stage | 18-month | View on Amazon |
| VEVOR 20A Smart Charger | 9.7/10 | 20-Amp maximum | Lead-acid 6/12/24V, lithium and LiFePO4 12/24V | 4 modes, 7-level | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| TRAELY 18650 Charger | 9.5/10 | Not stated | 3.7V/3.6V Li-ion, Ni-MH/Ni-Cd | Not stated | 1 Year | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 2 November 2026.
Current and voltage
Current and voltage separate the vehicle chargers from the small-cell charger at once. The VEVOR example lists a 20-Amp maximum charging current, adjustable to the battery, for lead-acid batteries at 6/12/24V and for lithium and LiFePO4 batteries at 12/24V. The PZ.P example lists 12V 15-Amp and 24V 8-Amp charging for LiFePO4 and lead-acid batteries, including AGM, GEL, SLA and Flooded types. The TRAELY example lists no charging current at all, and it lists 3.7V and 3.6V Li-ion cells instead of vehicle voltages, so its current cannot be compared with the vehicle chargers on the listings alone.
Modes and stages
Modes and stages are where the vehicle chargers differ from each other. The PZ.P example lists 9-stage charging, with a switch to trickle and float mode after full charge, plus pulse repair and a color screen showing voltage, current, temperature and charge percentage. The VEVOR example lists 4 modes, charging, maintain, desulfation and supply, with 7-level intelligent charging and a switch to trickle charging once the battery is full, plus a 3.6-inch LCD screen. The TRAELY example lists no stages or modes, only size-adjustable slots and an automatic stop when the battery is full, so a reader who wants staged charging should look at the vehicle chargers.
Protections and monitoring
Every listing here names protections, but the sets differ. The PZ.P example names temperature compensation, under-charging prevention, reverse polarity protection, a cooling system, overcurrent protection, overvoltage protection and short-circuit prevention, with a stated temperature range of 14°F to 82°F. The VEVOR example names over-current protection, short-circuit protection, reverse polarity protection, overheat protection and over-voltage protection, with thermal compensation, but it states no temperature range. The TRAELY example names over-charge, over-voltage, short-circuit and over-current protection, with an ABS shell and heat dissipation holes, but it states no screen or display for monitoring.
What the listings leave unclear
Some gaps matter when comparing these listings. The VEVOR listing states no warranty term, while the PZ.P listing states an 18-month warranty and the TRAELY listing states a 1 Year Warranty. The TRAELY listing states no charging current, so its speed cannot be compared with the 20-Amp and 15-Amp figures on the vehicle chargers. The PZ.P listing states no item weight, while the VEVOR listing states 1.8 Pounds and the TRAELY listing states 100g, so weight can only be compared for the VEVOR and TRAELY listings.
The kits we chose
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | PZ.P 15A Smart Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | VEVOR 20A Smart Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | TRAELY 18650 Charger | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

PZ.P 15A Smart Charger
A 12V 15-Amp and 24V 8-Amp smart charger and maintainer with 9-stage charging, a color screen and an 18-month warranty, for LiFePO4 and lead-acid batteries.
Pros
- 12V 15-Amp and 24V 8-Amp charging for LiFePO4 and lead-acid types
- 9-stage charging with trickle and float mode after full charge
- Color screen showing voltage, current, temperature and charge percentage
- 18-month warranty stated
Cons
- Cannot activate or charge totally dead batteries, as the listing states
- No item weight stated in the spec table
- 24V current of 8-Amp is lower than the 12V 15-Amp figure
- Screen and 9 stages add complexity for a reader who wants a simple maintainer
Detailed Review
The PZ.P example lists 12V 15-Amp and 24V 8-Amp charging for LiFePO4 and lead-acid batteries, including AGM, GEL, SLA and Flooded types, for cars, trucks, SUVs, motorcycles, lawn mowers and boats as the listing states. It lists 9-stage charging with a switch to trickle and float mode after full charge, pulse repair, a color screen showing voltage, current, temperature and charge percentage, a 6.7ft charging cable, and a stated temperature range of 14°F to 82°F. Its protections include temperature compensation, reverse polarity protection, overcurrent protection, overvoltage protection and short-circuit prevention, and its warranty is 18 months.
Who it's for: a reader with 12V or 24V LiFePO4 or lead-acid vehicle or marine batteries who wants staged charging and a screen. Who should skip it: a reader who needs to charge totally dead batteries, since the listing states it cannot activate them, or a reader who wants a small-cell charger, since this example lists no small-cell sizes.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Current | 12V 15-Amp, 24V 8-Amp |
|---|---|
| Stages | 9-stage |
| Screen | Color LED screen |
| Dimensions | 7.88 x 3.74 x 3.55 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 2 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Reverse polarity protection, overcurrent protection and temperature compensation, so safety scores 8 of 10. 18-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VEVOR 20A Smart Charger
A 20-Amp smart charger with 4 modes and a 3.6-inch LCD screen, for 6/12/24V lead-acid and 12/24V lithium and LiFePO4 batteries.
Pros
- 20-Amp maximum charging current, adjustable to the battery
- 4 modes: charging, maintain, desulfation and supply
- 3.6-inch LCD screen showing mode, voltage, current and power percentage
- Accessories included: 2 copper wire terminals, a 9.8 ft power cord and battery clamps
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- No temperature range stated
- 4 modes and 7 levels add complexity for a reader who wants a simple maintainer
- Adjustable current must match the battery, so check the battery specifications before charging
Detailed Review
The VEVOR example lists a 20-Amp maximum charging current, adjustable to the battery, for lead-acid batteries at 6/12/24V and for lithium and LiFePO4 batteries at 12/24V. It lists 4 modes, charging, maintain, desulfation and supply, with supply mode charging batteries with voltages as low as 1V, plus 7-level intelligent charging, a switch to trickle charging once the battery is full, and a 3.6-inch LCD screen. Its protections include over-current, short-circuit, reverse polarity, overheat and over-voltage protection with thermal compensation, and its accessories include 2 copper wire terminals, a 9.8 ft power cord and battery clamps. It is listed at 1.8 Pounds with dimensions of 6.5 x 3.8 x 2.2 inches.
Who it's for: a reader with lead-acid, lithium or LiFePO4 vehicle or marine batteries who wants the highest current stated here and several modes. Who should skip it: a reader who wants a stated warranty term, since none is stated, or a reader who wants a small-cell charger, since this example lists no small-cell sizes.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Current | 20-Amp maximum |
|---|---|
| Voltage | Lead-acid 6/12/24V, lithium and LiFePO4 12/24V |
| Modes | 4 modes, 7-level charging |
| Display | 3.6-inch LCD screen |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 2 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Over-current protection, short-circuit protection, reverse polarity protection, overheat protection and over-voltage protection, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TRAELY 18650 Charger
A USB-powered charger with size-adjustable slots for 3.7V and 3.6V Li-ion cells and Ni-MH/Ni-Cd AA AAA C cells, listed at 100g.
Pros
- Size-adjustable slots for 26650, 18650, 21700, 14500 and 16340 cells
- Also charges Ni-MH/Ni-Cd AA AAA C cells
- USB-powered with cable included, for power banks, laptops or car adapters
- Lightweight at 100g, with an ABS shell and heat dissipation holes
Cons
- No charging current stated
- No 12V or 24V vehicle battery charging stated
- USB power only, so a USB source is needed
- No display or screen stated
Detailed Review
The TRAELY example lists size-adjustable slots for 3.7V and 3.6V Li-ion cells in sizes 26650, 18650, 21700, 14500 and 16340, plus Ni-MH/Ni-Cd AA AAA C cells, for drones, RC toys, security cameras and handheld electronics as the listing states. It lists safeguards including over-charge, over-voltage, short-circuit and over-current protection, an automatic stop when the battery is full, a USB-powered design with cable included, a weight of 100g, an ABS shell with heat dissipation holes, and dimensions of 1.5 x 2.55 x 5.2 inches. Its warranty description is 1 Year Warranty.
Who it's for: a reader who charges handheld cells in several sizes and wants a light USB-powered charger. Who should skip it: a reader who wants a vehicle-battery charger, since this example lists no 12V or 24V charging, or a reader who wants a stated charging current, since none is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage | 3.7V/3.6V Li-ion |
|---|---|
| Sizes | 26650, 18650, 21700, 14500, 16340, AA AAA C |
| Power | USB-powered, cable included |
| Weight | 100g |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 2 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Over-charge, over-voltage, short-circuit and over-current protection, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 Year Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Where the points went
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For chargers, safety means the protections a listing names, such as reverse polarity and overcurrent protection. Every listing here names protections, and the PZ.P and TRAELY listings state a warranty term, while the VEVOR listing states none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PZ.P 15A Smart Charger | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| VEVOR 20A Smart Charger | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| TRAELY 18650 Charger | 9.5 | 23 | 19 | 20 | 7 | 2 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best lifepo4 charger vs lithium ion charger
Choose a vehicle-battery charger if you charge 12V or 24V batteries: the PZ.P example suits a reader who wants 9-stage charging and an 18-month warranty, while the VEVOR example suits a reader who wants the 20-Amp maximum and 4 modes. Choose the small-cell charger if you charge handheld cells: the TRAELY example suits drones, RC toys, security cameras and handheld electronics, as its listing states. For current comparisons, see our 12-amp vs 20-amp battery charger comparison.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Vehicle batteries at 12V or 24V | PZ.P 15A Smart Charger or VEVOR 20A Smart Charger |
| Highest current stated | VEVOR 20A Smart Charger, 20-Amp maximum |
| Small cells for handheld devices | TRAELY 18650 Charger, 3.7V and 3.6V Li-ion cells |
| Longest warranty stated | PZ.P 15A Smart Charger, 18-month warranty |
Sizing Notes
- Match charger voltage and chemistry to the battery: the PZ.P and VEVOR examples cover 12V and 24V LiFePO4 and lead-acid types as listed, while the TRAELY example covers 3.7V and 3.6V Li-ion cells.
- Match current to the battery: the VEVOR example lists 20-Amp, the PZ.P example lists 15-Amp at 12V and 8-Amp at 24V, and the TRAELY example lists no current.
- Check the cable and size: the PZ.P example lists a 6.7ft charging cable, the VEVOR example lists a 9.8 ft power cord, and the TRAELY example is USB-powered with a cable included.
- Check warranty and protections before buying: the PZ.P example states an 18-month warranty, the TRAELY example states a 1 Year Warranty, and the VEVOR example states no warranty term.
FAQ: power away from the grid
Can I use a LiFePO4 charger on a lead-acid battery?
The PZ.P and VEVOR listings state they charge LiFePO4 and lead-acid types, with the PZ.P listing naming AGM, GEL, SLA and Flooded types and the VEVOR listing naming lead-acid at 6/12/24V. The TRAELY listing names no vehicle battery, so it does not belong in that use.
Can the small-cell charger charge a 12V battery?
No, the TRAELY listing names 3.7V and 3.6V Li-ion cells and Ni-MH/Ni-Cd AA AAA C cells, with no 12V vehicle battery stated. For a 12V battery, look at the PZ.P or VEVOR examples instead.
Which charger has the highest current stated?
The VEVOR example, at a 20-Amp maximum, followed by the PZ.P example at 15-Amp at 12V and 8-Amp at 24V. The TRAELY example states no current, so it cannot be ranked on current from its listing.
Which chargers state a warranty?
The PZ.P example states an 18-month warranty and the TRAELY example states a 1 Year Warranty, while the VEVOR example states no warranty term.
Related solar guides
See every Battery Chargers and Maintainers guide and all Batteries and Charging guides.
More picks: 12V battery charger with LCD display, lithium battery charger under 100 and battery charger for lithium ion.







