On this page
The short answer on lifepo4 vs agm battery for home backup: a LiFePO4 battery states thousands of cycles and years of maintenance-free standby, while an AGM battery is a small, sealed standby cell for alarms, UPS replacements and garage door openers. Pick LiFePO4 if you want multi-day whole-home backup or a decade of standby without battery swaps; pick AGM if you need a 12V standby battery that fits an existing compartment. We compared the 2 LiFePO4 units and the 2 AGM batteries on what each listing states: capacity, cycle claims, form, output and warranty. The LiFePO4 pair wins on cycles and warranty; the AGM pair fits the small-device niche the big units cannot.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
LiFePO4 vs AGM: side by side
| LiFePO4 vs AGM | EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 Extra | GOLDENMATE 600VA UPS | ExpertPower 12V 12Ah AGM | UPLUS 12V 4Ah AGM | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Side | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | AGM | AGM | |
| Capacity | 4096Wh | 76.8Wh | 12V 12Ah | 12V 4Ah | |
| Output | 4000W | 360W | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Cycles | 4000 to 80% | 3000+ | Not stated | 600 | |
| Warranty | 5 years | 2 years | 1 year | 15 months |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
Capacity and output
The 2 LiFePO4 listings state capacity in watt-hours: the EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 extra battery states 4096Wh, expandable to 48kWh, and the GOLDENMATE UPS states 76.8Wh from a 25.6V, 3Ah pack. The 2 AGM listings state capacity as 12V 12Ah on the ExpertPower and 12V 4Ah on the UPLUS. Output is stated on the LiFePO4 side only: 4000W on the DELTA Pro 3, with 6000W via X-Boost and 12000W scalable, and 360W on the GOLDENMATE UPS. Neither AGM listing states an output figure, which fits their role as standby replacements rather than inverters.
Lifespan and cycles
This is where the chemistries separate most. The EcoFlow states 4,000 cycles to 80% capacity, described as almost 11 years of regular use. The GOLDENMATE states 3,000 or more cycles with over 10 years of lifespan and no battery replacement needed. On the AGM side, the UPLUS states over 5 years of longevity with up to 600 charging cycles, and the ExpertPower states no cycle figure. If the battery will sit on standby for years, the stated cycle counts favor the lithium pair.
Form and installation
The EcoFlow extra battery is listed at 72 pounds and 8.49 by 11.61 by 27.34 inches, expanding a DELTA Pro 3 system for 2 to 4 days of whole-home backup. The GOLDENMATE is listed at 4.6 pounds and 11.02 by 4.57 by 4.41 inches, with 6 outlets, 2 USB ports, a 15W wireless charging panel and wall mounting, but the listing is explicit: it is a short-term standby UPS that must stay connected to utility power, not a high-capacity backup product. The ExpertPower is listed at 7.6 pounds and 5.94 by 3.86 by 3.98 inches with F2 terminals, and the UPLUS at 2.78 pounds and 3.54 by 2.76 by 3.98 inches with F1 terminals plus F2 adapters. Match the terminals and the compartment before ordering.
What the listings leave unclear
The EcoFlow spec table lists a 4-minute runtime next to the 2 to 4 days of whole-home backup in the bullets; trust the bullets. The ExpertPower spec table lists a 7.4-pound battery weight next to a 7.6-pound item weight. The GOLDENMATE spec table lists its specification met as “some standards met” with no named standard. None of the 4 names an IP code except the EcoFlow, at IP65.
Four examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 Extra | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | GOLDENMATE 600VA UPS | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | ExpertPower 12V 12Ah AGM | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | UPLUS 12V 4Ah AGM | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 Extra
A 4096Wh LiFePO4 extra battery expandable to 48kWh, with an integrated BMS, an IP65 pack and a 5-year warranty.
Pros
- 4096Wh expandable to 48kWh in parallel
- 4,000 cycles to 80% capacity stated
- Integrated BMS plus IP65-rated CTC battery pack stated
- 5-year manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- 72 pounds, the heaviest unit here
- Spec table lists a 4-minute runtime against the 2 to 4 days in the bullets
- Needs a DELTA Pro 3 system to be useful
- 120V and 240V output belongs to the main unit, not this battery
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4096Wh LiFePO4 extra battery for the DELTA Pro 3, expandable to 48kWh by connecting units or extra batteries in parallel, with 4,000 cycles to 80% capacity described as almost 11 years of regular use. It lists an integrated BMS module regulating voltage, current and temperature, automotive-grade LFP cells, an IP65-rated CTC battery pack, 4000W output with 6000W via X-Boost and 12000W scalable on the main system, 7 unique and 18 combo charging methods, 2 to 4 days of whole-home backup, and a 5-year manufacturer warranty at 72 pounds. The spec table lists a 4-minute runtime, which does not match the 2 to 4 days in the bullets; trust the bullets.
Who it's for: DELTA Pro 3 owners who want multi-day whole-home backup with the longest stated lifespan here. Who should skip it: anyone without the main unit, or anyone who needs a battery that works standalone.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 4096Wh, expandable to 48kWh |
|---|---|
| Cycles | 4000 to 80% stated |
| Protection | Integrated BMS, IP65 pack |
| Weight | 72 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Integrated BMS module and IP65-rated CTC battery pack stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 5-year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GOLDENMATE 600VA UPS
A 600VA/360W standby UPS with a 76.8Wh LiFePO4 battery, 6 outlets, 2 USB ports and a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 76.8Wh LiFePO4 pack with 3,000 or more cycles stated
- 6 outlets with surge protection plus 2 USB ports
- 15W wireless charging panel built in
- 2-year warranty stated
Cons
- Short-term standby only, not a high-capacity backup product
- Must stay connected to utility power
- Simulated sine wave output, stated in the listing
- Spec table lists its specification met as 'some standards met' with no named standard
Detailed Review
The listing states a 600VA/360W simulated sine wave standby UPS with a 76.8Wh LiFePO4 battery pack at 25.6V and 3Ah, 3,000 or more charge cycles and over 10 years of lifespan with no battery replacement. It lists 6 outlets with surge protection, 2 USB ports with 10W combined, a 15W wireless charging panel, a communication port with USB cable for PC shutdown, wall mounting, 4.6 pounds at 11.02 by 4.57 by 4.41 inches, a 3-hour charge time and a 2-year warranty. The listing is explicit: this is short-term standby for outages, not a high-capacity backup product, and it must remain connected to utility power.
Who it's for: home office users who need ride-through for a computer, router and phone during short outages. Who should skip it: anyone who needs to run a house or charge from solar.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 76.8Wh, 25.6V 3Ah |
|---|---|
| Output | 600VA/360W |
| Outlets | 6 with surge protection, 2 USB |
| Weight | 4.6 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Surge protection on 6 outlets and dual anomaly protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ExpertPower 12V 12Ah AGM
A 12V 12Ah sealed AGM battery with F2 terminals for UPS replacements and standby systems.
Pros
- 12V 12Ah AGM in a sealed, valve-regulated design
- F2 terminals for UPS and mobility replacements
- High-impact ABS case stated
- Maintenance-free with no water topping
Cons
- No cycle figure is stated
- No output figure is stated
- Spec table lists 7.4 and 7.6 pounds in two fields
- 1-year warranty, the lowest stated term here
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 12Ah sealed lead acid AGM battery with F2 terminals, an absorbent glass mat design that prevents leaks, a valve-regulated maintenance-free system, and a high-impact ABS case resisting shock, vibration, chemicals and heat. It is pitched for security systems, UPS replacements, mobility devices and trailer breakaway batteries, at 5.94 by 3.86 by 3.98 inches. The spec table lists a 7.4-pound battery weight and a 7.6-pound item weight. The warranty is 1 year.
Who it's for: buyers replacing a 12V 12Ah standby battery in a UPS, scooter or alarm panel. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated cycles or a longer warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 1/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 12V, 12Ah |
|---|---|
| Terminals | F2 |
| Design | Sealed AGM, valve-regulated |
| Size | 5.94 x 3.86 x 3.98 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Valve-regulated, leak-proof AGM design in a high-impact ABS case stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

UPLUS 12V 4Ah AGM
A 12V 4Ah sealed AGM battery with F1 terminals and F2 adapters, backed by a 15-month warranty.
Pros
- 12V 4Ah AGM in a compact 3.54 by 2.76 by 3.98 inch case
- F1 terminals with F2 adapters for wide compatibility
- Up to 600 cycles and over 5 years of longevity stated
- 15-month warranty with a 60-day refund window
Cons
- 4Ah, the smallest capacity here
- No output figure is stated
- Fits small compartments only
- Local after-sales is California-based, stated by the maker
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 4Ah rechargeable sealed AGM battery with F1 terminals plus F2 terminal adapters, an AGM leak-proof maintenance-free design, and a compact 3.54 by 2.76 by 3.98 inch case at 2.78 pounds. It is pitched for home alarm systems, garage door openers, emergency lights and UPS equipment, with over 5 years of longevity, up to 600 charging cycles and low self-discharge. The maker states a 15-month warranty with a 60-day refund window and a California-based after-sales team.
Who it's for: alarm panel and garage door opener owners who need a small drop-in AGM with a longer stated warranty than the ExpertPower. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 4Ah of standby.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 21/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 1/5: 64 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 12V, 4Ah |
|---|---|
| Terminals | F1, F2 adapters included |
| Cycles | Up to 600 stated |
| Weight | 2.78 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Maintenance-free, leak-proof AGM construction stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. 15-month warranty with a 60-day refund window stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For backup batteries, safety means the protections the listing names: the integrated BMS and IP65 pack on the EcoFlow, surge and anomaly protection on the GOLDENMATE, and the sealed, leak-proof AGM construction on the ExpertPower and UPLUS. All 4 state a warranty term, from 1 year to 5 years. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 Extra | 9.7 | 33 | 22 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| GOLDENMATE 600VA UPS | 9.5 | 26 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 2 |
| ExpertPower 12V 12Ah AGM | 9.4 | 23 | 20 | 20 | 3 | 1 |
| UPLUS 12V 4Ah AGM | 9.4 | 21 | 19 | 20 | 3 | 1 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for home backup: which should you choose?
Choose LiFePO4 if the goal is whole-home backup or years of standby without maintenance: the EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 extra battery suits multi-day outages at 4096Wh with a 5-year warranty, and the GOLDENMATE 600VA UPS suits a desk or home office that needs ride-through for a computer and router. Choose AGM if the job is a small standby cell: the ExpertPower 12V 12Ah suits UPS replacements and mobility devices with F2 terminals, and the UPLUS 12V 4Ah suits alarm panels and garage door openers with a 15-month warranty. For the RV version of this chemistry question, see our lifepo4 vs agm battery for rv, and for larger home backup, see our best home backup power station.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Multi-day whole-home backup | EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 Extra, 4096Wh, 5-year warranty |
| Desk UPS for a computer and router | GOLDENMATE 600VA UPS, 76.8Wh, 2-year warranty |
| 12V standby with F2 terminals | ExpertPower 12V 12Ah AGM, 1-year warranty |
| Alarm panel or opener battery | UPLUS 12V 4Ah AGM, 15-month warranty |
Sizing Notes
- Match capacity to the load: 4096Wh on the EcoFlow, 76.8Wh on the GOLDENMATE, 12V 12Ah on the ExpertPower, 12V 4Ah on the UPLUS.
- Match output to the appliances: 4000W stated on the EcoFlow; 360W on the GOLDENMATE; no output figure on the AGM batteries.
- Check the terminals and the compartment: F2 on the ExpertPower; F1 with F2 adapters on the UPLUS; 6 outlets and USB on the GOLDENMATE.
- Check warranty lines before ordering: 5 years on the EcoFlow, 2 years on the GOLDENMATE, 1 year on the ExpertPower, 15 months on the UPLUS.
- The GOLDENMATE must stay connected to utility power; the AGM batteries are drop-in standby replacements.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which side suits whole-home backup?
The LiFePO4 side. The EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 extra battery states 4096Wh expandable to 48kWh and 2 to 4 days of whole-home backup. The GOLDENMATE is a short-term standby UPS, and the AGM batteries are small standby cells.
Which battery states the longest lifespan?
The EcoFlow states 4,000 cycles to 80% capacity, described as almost 11 years of regular use. The GOLDENMATE states 3,000 or more cycles with over 10 years of lifespan, and the UPLUS states over 5 years with up to 600 cycles. The ExpertPower states no cycle figure.
Which AGM battery states the longer warranty?
The UPLUS states a 15-month warranty with a 60-day refund window. The ExpertPower states a 1-year warranty.
Can the GOLDENMATE UPS run a house?
No. The listing states it is a 76.8Wh standby UPS for short-term runtime during outages, not a high-capacity backup product, and that it must remain connected to utility power.
Which batteries state an IP code?
Only the EcoFlow, at IP65 for its CTC battery pack. The GOLDENMATE, ExpertPower and UPLUS listings state no IP code.
Related guides
See every LiFePO4 Batteries guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our lifepo4 vs agm battery for rv. Also see our best lithium battery for emergency backup. Also see our best home backup power station. Also see our best portable power station for home backup.








