Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Batteries and Charging

Best Lithium Battery for Emergency Backup (2026): 3 Picks Compared

Three LiFePO4 batteries compared for emergency backup by capacity, voltage, BMS protection, cycles and warranty terms for home backup.

Best Lithium Battery for Emergency Backup (2026): 3 Picks Compared
On this page

When the lights go out at dinner time, the best lithium battery for emergency backup is what keeps the router, the laptop and a few lamps running. We compared three LiFePO4 batteries on what their listings state: capacity, voltage, BMS protection, cycles and warranty terms. The AOUSK lists 16.08kWh at 48V for home backup, and the VEMDIA and POERUNI list 12V 100Ah packs at 1280Wh each. None of the three states an AC output, so each one needs a separate inverter for household loads.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • AOUSK 48V 314Ah LiFePO4
    Best Overall AOUSK 48V 314Ah LiFePO4: 48V 314Ah LiFePO4, 16.08kWh, 200A BMS for home backup Check price on Amazon
  • VEMDIA 12V 100Ah LiFePO4
    Best Group 31 Pick VEMDIA 12V 100Ah LiFePO4: 12V 100Ah LiFePO4, 1280Wh, 100A Smart BMS, 2 year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • POERUNI 12V 100Ah LiFePO4
    Best 12V Backup Pick POERUNI 12V 100Ah LiFePO4: 12V 100Ah LiFePO4, 1280Wh, 100A BMS, 15000 cycles at 80% DOD Check price on Amazon

The picks

AOUSK 48V 314Ah LiFePO4

AOUSK 48V 314Ah LiFePO4

AOUSK9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 48V 314Ah LiFePO4 battery with 16.08kWh stated capacity, a 200A BMS and breakers for home backup.

Pros

  • 16.08kWh stated capacity, the largest here
  • 200A BMS with six-layer protection and dual breakers stated
  • Parallel use up to 15 units and 241 kWh stated
  • Display and Bluetooth/Wi-Fi app monitoring stated

Cons

  • Warranty description states only '5', with no unit
  • 291 pounds, the heaviest here
  • Title says 48V while the bullets describe a 51.2V battery
  • No AC output stated; needs a separate inverter
Detailed Review

The listing states a 48V 314Ah LiFePO4 battery with 16.08kWh stated capacity, a 200A BMS with six-layer protection and dual breakers on both poles, RS485 and CAN inverter communication, a display and Bluetooth/Wi-Fi app monitoring, 6,000 cycles at 80% state of health, and parallel use up to 15 units for up to 241 kWh. The battery weighs 291 pounds and measures 20.08 x 10.87 x 33.54 inches, with handles and wheels. Note the bullets describe a 51.2V battery and 16.07 kWh, against the 48V and 16.08kWh in the title; this article uses the title figures.

Who it's for: buyers building a 48V home backup or off-grid system who want the largest stated capacity here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a 12V pack or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery48V 314Ah LiFePO4, 16.08kWh
BMS200A, six-layer protection, dual breakers
Size20.08 x 10.87 x 33.54 inches, 291 pounds
ExpansionUp to 15 units in parallel, 241 kWh

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 200A BMS with six-layer protection and dual breakers on both poles stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VEMDIA 12V 100Ah LiFePO4

VEMDIA 12V 100Ah LiFePO4

VEMDIA9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 100Ah Group 31 LiFePO4 battery with a 100A Smart BMS and 1280Wh stated capacity.

Pros

  • 1280Wh LiFePO4 pack stated
  • 100A Smart BMS with low-temperature charge cut-off stated
  • 15,000+ cycles at 60% DOD claimed by the maker
  • Series and parallel connection up to 4S4P stated

Cons

  • 2 year warranty term only
  • No outlets, inverter or output watts stated
  • No safety certification stated beyond the BMS
  • Width is 6.7 inches in the bullets and 6.6 inches in the spec table
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery in a Group 31 size with 1280Wh, a 100A Smart BMS covering overcharge, over-discharge, over-current and short circuits, and an automatic low-temperature cut-off that prevents charging below 32°F (0°C). Discharge is listed from -4°F to 140°F (-20°C to 60°C). The maker claims 15,000+ cycles at 60% DOD and over 8,000 at 80% DOD, while another bullet adds 6000 cycles at 100% DOD. The battery weighs 24 pounds and measures 12.9 by 6.7 by 8.5 inches in the bullets, but the spec table gives 6.6 inches for the width, so trust the bullets. A full charge in 5 hours is listed with a 14.6V 20A LiFePO4 charger, and series and parallel connection is listed up to 4S4P (51.2V and 400Ah).

The listing names emergency home UPS among its uses but states no outlets, no AC output and no certifications, so it needs a separate inverter, and a licensed electrician should handle any connection to home wiring. Who it's for: buyers building a 12V battery bank for a separate inverter who want a stated 2 year warranty and a low-temperature charge cut-off. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a plug-in unit with outlets, since this battery states none.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery12V 100Ah LiFePO4, 1280Wh
BMS100A Smart BMS
SizeGroup 31, 24 pounds
Cycles15,000+ at 60% DOD

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 100A Smart BMS with overcharge, over-discharge, over-current and short-circuit protection stated; no certification stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

POERUNI 12V 100Ah LiFePO4

POERUNI 12V 100Ah LiFePO4

POERUNI.9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with 1280Wh stated capacity, a 100A BMS and 15000 cycles at 80% DOD.

Pros

  • 1280Wh LiFePO4 pack stated
  • 100A BMS with over-charge, over-discharge, over-current, short-circuit and temperature protection stated
  • 15000 cycles at 80% DOD stated
  • Home backup power listed among its uses

Cons

  • 1 year warranty term only
  • No AC output stated; needs a separate inverter
  • No safety certification stated beyond the BMS
  • No series or parallel expansion stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with 1280Wh, a 100A BMS covering over-charge, over-discharge, over-current, short circuits and high/low temperature, and over 15000 deep cycles at 80% DOD with 10+ years of service. The battery weighs about 24 pounds and measures 10.24 x 8.23 x 6.65 inches, with a stated temperature range of -20°C to 60°C. Home backup power, RV, solar, off-grid cabin, golf cart and boat trolling motor are listed among its uses.

Who it's for: buyers who want a 12V 100Ah pack with a long cycle claim for RV, solar or home backup through a separate inverter. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a longer warranty than the stated 1 year or stated series/parallel expansion, which this listing does not give.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery12V 100Ah LiFePO4, 1280Wh
BMS100A BMS
Cycles15000 at 80% DOD
Size10.24 x 8.23 x 6.65 inches, about 24 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 100A BMS with over-charge, over-discharge, over-current, short-circuit and high/low temperature protection stated; no certification stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Product Solar Score Capacity Voltage Battery Warranty Amazon
AOUSK 48V 314Ah LiFePO4 9.7/10 16.08kWh 48V LiFePO4 314Ah Not stated View on Amazon
VEMDIA 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 9.6/10 1280Wh 12V LiFePO4 100Ah 2 years View on Amazon
POERUNI 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 9.6/10 1280Wh 12V LiFePO4 100Ah 1 year View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For backup batteries, safety means the BMS protection and breakers the listing actually names: the AOUSK lists a 200A BMS with six-layer protection and dual breakers, while the VEMDIA and POERUNI list a 100A BMS each. Two of the three state a warranty term: the VEMDIA states 2 years and the POERUNI states 1 year; the AOUSK warranty description states only ‘5’ with no unit, so no warranty term is claimed for it. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
AOUSK 48V 314Ah LiFePO4 9.7 33 21 21 8 0
VEMDIA 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 9.6 29 20 20 6 2
POERUNI 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 9.6 29 20 20 6 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best lithium battery for emergency backup

Match the voltage to the system

The AOUSK is titled as a 48V battery for home backup, while its bullets describe a 51.2V 314Ah battery, so confirm the nominal voltage against the inverter before ordering. The VEMDIA and POERUNI are 12V 100Ah packs for 12V systems, with the VEMDIA listing series and parallel use up to 51.2V and 400Ah. A licensed electrician should handle any connection to home wiring. For the chemistry difference, our LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for solar comparison explains LiFePO4 against AGM.

Compare capacity, not just voltage

The AOUSK lists 16.08kWh, while the VEMDIA and POERUNI list 1280Wh each, so the AOUSK holds far more energy on paper. The AOUSK also lists parallel use up to 15 units for up to 241 kWh, while the VEMDIA lists series and parallel use up to 4S4P. Size the capacity against the loads you plan to run, and remember that none of these listings states a runtime, so do not read a runtime into the watt-hours. Our 12V lithium batteries guide covers more 12V packs.

Product Capacity Voltage BMS Warranty
AOUSK 48V 314Ah LiFePO4 16.08kWh 48V 200A BMS Not stated
VEMDIA 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 1280Wh 12V 100A Smart BMS 2 years
POERUNI 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 1280Wh 12V 100A BMS 1 year

Check the BMS and the warranty

The AOUSK lists a 200A BMS with six-layer protection and dual breakers on both poles. The VEMDIA lists a 100A Smart BMS with a low-temperature charge cut-off, and the POERUNI lists a 100A BMS with high and low temperature protection. On warranty, the VEMDIA states 2 years and the POERUNI states 1 year, while the AOUSK warranty description states only ‘5’ with no unit, so treat its warranty as unstated.

Sizing Notes

  • Match capacity to the outage: 16.08kWh on the AOUSK against 1280Wh on each 12V pack.
  • Match voltage to the system: 48V on the AOUSK, 12V on the VEMDIA and POERUNI.
  • Match the battery to the inverter: the VEMDIA lists series and parallel use up to 51.2V and 400Ah, and the AOUSK lists RS485 and CAN inverter communication, so check the inverter’s DC input against the battery.
  • Check the weight and size before ordering: 291 pounds on the AOUSK against about 24 pounds on each 12V pack.
  • Check the warranty: 2 years on the VEMDIA, 1 year on the POERUNI, and no term claimed for the AOUSK.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which picks here use a lithium battery?

All three. The AOUSK is a 48V 314Ah LiFePO4 battery at 16.08kWh, and the VEMDIA and POERUNI are 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 batteries at 1280Wh each.

Which has the largest stated capacity?

The AOUSK at 16.08kWh. The VEMDIA and POERUNI each list 1280Wh.

Do these batteries need an inverter?

The listings state no AC output, so plan on a separate inverter. The AOUSK lists RS485 and CAN inverter communication. A licensed electrician should handle any connection to home wiring.

What BMS protection do these state?

The AOUSK lists a 200A BMS with six-layer protection and dual breakers. The VEMDIA lists a 100A Smart BMS with a low-temperature charge cut-off, and the POERUNI lists a 100A BMS with high and low temperature protection.

What warranty terms do these state?

The VEMDIA states 2 years and the POERUNI states 1 year. The AOUSK warranty description states only ‘5’ with no unit, so no term is claimed for it.

AOUSK 48V 314Ah LiFePO4
Still deciding? Our top pickAOUSK 48V 314Ah LiFePO4
Check price on Amazon

See all Batteries guides. Also see our LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for solar and lithium vs lead acid battery for solar comparisons.

More picks: 12V lithium batteries, lithium battery chargers for LiFePO4, battery boxes for lithium batteries.