Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Battery Monitors and Accessories

Best Battery Box for Lithium Battery (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five battery boxes and cases that fit lithium batteries, compared on the dimensions, vents, ports and warranty terms each listing actually states.

Best Battery Box for Lithium Battery (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

A dead house battery at dusk can end a camping trip fast, so picking the best battery box for lithium battery builds starts with matching the enclosure to the battery you own. We compared five battery boxes and cases on what each listing states: fit, dimensions, vents, ports, stated protections and warranty terms. The ALL-TOP smart box leads because it states the most for lithium use, with fused quick connectors and a 1-year warranty, while the vented boxes serve owners who want a plain strapped enclosure.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • ALL-TOP Smart Battery Box
    Best Overall ALL-TOP Smart Battery Box: 50A quick connectors, 60A fuses and 16A breaker for 12V-24V lithium batteries Check price on Amazon
  • HulkGoo LiFePO4 Battery Bag
    Best LiFePO4 Fit HulkGoo LiFePO4 Battery Bag: shaped for a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with a carry handle Check price on Amazon
  • Attwood 9084-1 Group 29/31 Box
    Best Group 29/31 Box Attwood 9084-1 Group 29/31 Box: vented lid and 40-inch strap for Group 29 and 31 batteries Check price on Amazon
  • NOCO HM408 Group 4D Box
    Best 4D Heavy-Duty NOCO HM408 Group 4D Box: rotationally molded shell with acid reservoir and bolt-down slots Check price on Amazon
  • Attwood 9067-1 Group 27 Box
    Best Group 27 Box Attwood 9067-1 Group 27 Box: vented Group 27 box with a 350-pound strap Check price on Amazon

The picks

ALL-TOP Smart Battery Box

ALL-TOP Smart Battery Box

ALL-TOP9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A battery box that turns a 12V-24V Group 24, 27 or 31 battery into a portable power center with quick connectors, USB ports and fused outputs.

Pros

  • States compatibility with 12V-24V batteries including AGM and lithium (Groups 24, 27, 31)
  • Two 50A quick connectors, each with a 60A fuse stated
  • Built-in digital voltmeter, two USB ports and a 12V cigarette socket stated
  • 16A resettable circuit breaker stated for the USB and cigarette ports

Cons

  • The spec table does not describe this product at all (it lists tent features like 'For 2-3 Person Use'), so this review trusts the title and bullets only
  • External +/- terminals are stated as not fused, for high-current direct connection
  • No fixing frame inside; the listing notes smaller batteries may not suit the box
  • The battery itself is not included, as the title states
Detailed Review

The listing states a smart battery box that turns a 12V-24V battery into a portable power center, compatible with Group 24, 27 and 31 and most AGM and lithium batteries as long as they fit. It lists two 50A quick connectors compatible with Anderson type SB50 plugs, a digital voltmeter, two USB ports (5V 2.1A/1A), a 12V cigarette socket, a 16A resettable circuit breaker and a 60A fuse on each quick connector. The spec table contradicts the rest of the listing completely (it describes a softshell tent with 'For 2-3 Person Use' and 'Antenna Location: Refrigerator'), so this review trusts the title and bullets. The listing states a 1-year / 12-month warranty with lifetime customer support.

Who it's for: RV, van and boat owners who want to turn a 12V or 24V lithium battery into a portable power center with fused high-current outputs. Who should skip it: owners who want a plain sealed enclosure, since this box adds ports and wiring instead of simple storage.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
FitsGroup 24, 27, 31; 12V-24V AGM and lithium
Ports2x 50A quick connectors, 2x USB, 12V socket
Protection60A fuses, 16A resettable breaker
Warranty1 year / 12 months

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Built-in 60A fuses on each 50A quick connector and a 16A resettable circuit breaker stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1-Year / 12-Month Hassle-Free Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HulkGoo LiFePO4 Battery Bag

HulkGoo LiFePO4 Battery Bag

HulkGoo9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A soft-sided bag shaped for a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with stated heat insulation and a carry handle.

Pros

  • Shaped to hold a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery at 14 x 9.5 x 7.8 inches stated
  • Multilayer composite material with heat insulation up to 3000°F and fire-retardant performance stated
  • 1-year warranty stated
  • Circular handle connected to the bottom of the bag plus a shoulder strap stated

Cons

  • Soft-sided bag, not a rigid box, so it offers less impact protection than a molded shell
  • No venting or cable-entry details are stated
  • The title uses absolute-sounding claims while the bullets state no standard or certification behind them
  • The listing states no strap, bolt-down points or mounting hardware for fixing the bag in a vehicle
Detailed Review

The listing states a battery bag shaped for a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery at 14 x 9.5 x 7.8 inches, made of a multilayer composite material with heat insulation up to 3000°F and fire-retardant performance. It lists a circular handle connected to the bottom of the bag, one compartment, black color, 0.46 kg item weight and a 1-year warranty. The title uses absolute-sounding claims; this review reports only the maker's stated claims (fire-retardant performance and heat insulation to 3000°F), which name no standard or certification.

Who it's for: owners of a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery who want a soft-sided carry case with stated heat insulation. Who should skip it: owners who need a rigid, ventilated enclosure with mounting points.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 4/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Fits12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery
Size14 x 9.5 x 7.8 in
MaterialMultilayer composite, fire-retardant stated
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Multilayer composite material with stated fire-retardant performance and heat insulation to 3000°F, so safety scores 6 of 10. Manufacturer Warranty Description: 1 Year stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Attwood 9084-1 Group 29/31 Box

Attwood 9084-1 Group 29/31 Box

attwood9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A large vented polypropylene box for Group 29 and 31 batteries with a 40-inch hold-down strap.

Pros

  • Fits Group 29 and 31 batteries, with inside dimensions of 15-7/16 x 6-15/16 x 9-3/4 inches stated
  • Ventilated lid stated to release battery gases
  • 40-inch strap rated at 350 lbs of force stated
  • ABYC and USCG compliance for OEM-installed hold-down systems stated

Cons

  • 90-day warranty is the shortest stated term among the picks
  • Plain enclosure with no ports, voltmeter or cable-entry details stated
  • The spec table lists the battery type as 'Other Than Listed', which says little about chemistry fit
  • The listing names no lithium battery compatibility
Detailed Review

The listing states a large vented battery box for Group 29 and 31 series batteries, with inside dimensions of 15-7/16 x 6-15/16 x 9-3/4 inches and outside dimensions of 18-7/8 x 9-1/4 x 10-1/4 inches. It lists acid-resistant polypropylene with impact performance from -20°F to +120°F stated, integrated ventilation that releases battery gases while limiting water entry, and a 40-inch strap rated at 350 lbs of force, plus ABYC and USCG compliance for OEM-installed hold-down systems. The manufacturer warranty description states 90 days.

Who it's for: boat and RV owners fitting a large Group 29 or 31 battery who want a vented, strapped box. Who should skip it: owners who need ports, a voltmeter or a stated lithium compatibility.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
FitsGroup 29 and 31
Inside15-7/16 x 6-15/16 x 9-3/4 in
Strap40 in, 350 lbs force
Warranty90 days

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ABYC and USCG compliance for OEM-installed battery hold-down systems stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Manufacturer Warranty Description: 90 days stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NOCO HM408 Group 4D Box

NOCO HM408 Group 4D Box

NOCO9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A commercial-grade vented box for one Group 4D battery with an acid reservoir and bolt-down slots.

Pros

  • Sized for one Group 4D battery with inside dimensions of 21.2 x 9.6 x 11.1 inches stated
  • Rotationally molded engineered-polymer shell with stated impact strength down to -20°F and UV inhibitors
  • Full-flow ventilation plus an internal reservoir stated to collect leaking acid
  • Meets USCG 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 stated

Cons

  • Mounting hardware and hold-down strap are sold separately, as the listing states
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Only one battery fits; no dual-battery option is stated
  • The listing names no lithium battery compatibility
Detailed Review

The listing states a commercial-grade battery box for one Group 4D battery, with inside dimensions of 21.2 x 9.6 x 11.1 inches (538 x 244 x 282 mm) and outside dimensions of 24.7 x 9.6 x 14 inches. It lists a rotationally molded engineered-polymer shell with impact strength down to -20°F (-28°C), UV inhibitors and color stabilizers, full-flow ventilation, an internal reservoir that collects leaking acid and a closed lid that covers the terminals, meeting USCG 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7. Four-corner bolt-down slots and two lock-down knobs are stated; the mounting hardware and strap are sold separately.

Who it's for: owners of a single large Group 4D battery in a boat, RV house bank or off-grid setup who want a rugged ventilated enclosure. Who should skip it: owners who want mounting hardware in the box or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 22/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
FitsOne Group 4D
Inside21.2 x 9.6 x 11.1 in
ShellRotationally molded polymer, -20°F impact strength
VentingFull-flow, acid reservoir

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. USCG 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 compliance with full-flow ventilation and acid reservoir stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Attwood 9067-1 Group 27 Box

Attwood 9067-1 Group 27 Box

attwood9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A vented polypropylene box for Group 27 batteries with a 40-inch hold-down strap.

Pros

  • Fits Group 27 batteries with inside dimensions of 13.06 x 6.9 x 10.5 inches stated
  • Ventilated design stated to let battery gases escape
  • 40-inch strap rated at 350 lbs of force stated, nearly 4x the USCG requirement stated
  • ABYC E-10 and USCG Specification 183.420 compliance stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists the battery type as lead acid; no lithium compatibility is named
  • Plain enclosure with no ports, voltmeter or cable-entry details stated
  • Only Group 27 fits; Group 29 and 31 owners need the larger 9084-1
Detailed Review

The listing states a vented battery box for Group 27 series batteries, holding batteries up to 10.5 inches high with inside dimensions of 13.06 x 6.9 x 10.5 inches and outside dimensions of 16.88 x 9.63 x 10.88 inches. It lists acid-resistant polypropylene with impact performance from -20°F to +120°F stated, a vented design that releases battery gases while limiting water entry, and a 40-inch hold-down strap rated at 350 lbs of force. The spec table lists the battery type as lead acid, and the listing states compliance with ABYC E-10 and USCG Specification 183.420.

Who it's for: boat and RV owners with a Group 27 battery who want a simple vented box with a heavy-duty strap. Who should skip it: owners who need a stated warranty term or a box named for lithium batteries.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
FitsGroup 27
Inside13.06 x 6.9 x 10.5 in
Strap40 in, 350 lbs force
ComplianceABYC E-10, USCG 183.420

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ABYC E-10 and USCG Specification 183.420 compliance stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Battery Box Solar Score Fits Connections Safety features Warranty Amazon
ALL-TOP Smart Battery Box 9.7/10 Group 24, 27, 31; 12V-24V 2x 50A quick connectors, 2x USB, 12V socket 60A fuses, 16A resettable breaker 1 year View on Amazon
HulkGoo LiFePO4 Battery Bag 9.6/10 12V 100Ah battery Carry handle, shoulder strap Fire-retardant composite stated 1 year View on Amazon
Attwood 9084-1 Group 29/31 Box 9.6/10 Group 29 and 31 Hold-down strap, vented lid ABYC and USCG compliance 90 days View on Amazon
NOCO HM408 Group 4D Box 9.5/10 One Group 4D Cable entry holes, bolt-down slots Full-flow ventilation, acid reservoir Not stated View on Amazon
Attwood 9067-1 Group 27 Box 9.5/10 Group 27 Hold-down strap, vented lid ABYC E-10, USCG 183.420 Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery box, safety means the protections the listing states: fuses and circuit breakers, ventilation, acid containment, lockable lids and stated ABYC or USCG compliance; a box that states none scores zero on that line. Three of the five boxes state a warranty term, and the other two state none. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
ALL-TOP Smart Battery Box 9.7 32 21 21 8 4
HulkGoo LiFePO4 Battery Bag 9.6 28 19 20 6 4
Attwood 9084-1 Group 29/31 Box 9.6 27 21 20 7 2
NOCO HM408 Group 4D Box 9.5 27 22 19 7 0
Attwood 9067-1 Group 27 Box 9.5 26 21 20 7 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best battery box for lithium battery use

Start from battery group size

Boxes are sold by battery group, so measure the battery first. The Attwood 9067-1 states inside dimensions of 13.06 x 6.9 x 10.5 inches for Group 27 batteries, the Attwood 9084-1 states 15-7/16 x 6-15/16 x 9-3/4 inches inside for Groups 29 and 31, and the NOCO HM408 states 21.2 x 9.6 x 11.1 inches inside for one Group 4D battery.

Box Stated fit Stated size
Attwood 9067-1 Group 27 Box Group 27 13.06 x 6.9 x 10.5 in inside
Attwood 9084-1 Group 29/31 Box Group 29 and 31 15-7/16 x 6-15/16 x 9-3/4 in inside
NOCO HM408 Group 4D Box One Group 4D 21.2 x 9.6 x 11.1 in inside
HulkGoo LiFePO4 Battery Bag 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery 14 x 9.5 x 7.8 in

Ports and protection for a lithium setup

If the plan is a portable power center rather than a plain enclosure, the ALL-TOP box is the only pick here with ports: two 50A quick connectors, each with a 60A fuse stated, plus a digital voltmeter, two USB ports and a 12V cigarette socket behind a 16A resettable breaker. Note that the external +/- terminals are stated as not fused, so they are meant for high-current direct connection. For the battery that goes inside, see our best lithium battery for solar comparison.

Venting, materials and lids

Venting matters because charging batteries release gases. The attwood boxes state vented lids, and the NOCO HM408 states full-flow ventilation plus an internal reservoir stated to collect leaking acid.

Warranty terms and what ships in the box

Three of the five state a warranty: 1 year from ALL-TOP and HulkGoo, and 90 days from Attwood on the 9084-1; the other two state none. The attwood boxes include a 40-inch hold-down strap, the NOCO states that its mounting hardware and strap are sold separately. For charging the battery you put inside, see our best lithium battery charger for LiFePO4 guide.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the stated inside dimensions to your battery: NOCO states 21.2 x 9.6 x 11.1 inches for one Group 4D, Attwood 9067-1 states 13.06 x 6.9 x 10.5 inches for Group 27.
  • Match the box voltage marking to your battery: ALL-TOP states compatibility with 12V-24V batteries, and the other picks state 12 volts.
  • Confirm venting where the batteries charge indoors: the attwood boxes and the NOCO state ventilation, and the NOCO adds a stated acid reservoir.
  • Mounting differs per box: attwood includes a 40-inch strap, and NOCO states its strap and hardware are sold separately.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which box here is made for lithium batteries?

The ALL-TOP smart box states compatibility with 12V-24V batteries, naming Group 24, 27 and 31 plus most AGM and lithium batteries that fit, and the HulkGoo bag is shaped for a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery at 14 x 9.5 x 7.8 inches. The other boxes are stated for general battery sizes without naming lithium.

Which of these state a warranty?

Three of the five state one: ALL-TOP and HulkGoo each state 1 year, and the Attwood 9084-1 states 90 days. The Attwood 9067-1 and the NOCO HM408 state no warranty term.

Which boxes state venting for battery gases?

The Attwood 9067-1 and 9084-1 state vented designs, and the NOCO HM408 states full-flow ventilation. The ALL-TOP box and the HulkGoo bag state no venting.

Can the ALL-TOP box hold a 24V battery?

The listing states compatibility with 12V-24V batteries as long as they fit in the box, naming Group 24, 27 and 31 and most AGM and lithium batteries.

What fits in the NOCO HM408?

One Group 4D battery, with stated inside dimensions of 21.2 x 9.6 x 11.1 inches. The listing names automotive, marine, RV and commercial use, including off-grid solar and backup systems.

Which boxes include a hold-down strap?

The attwood boxes include a 40-inch hold-down strap, per their listings. The NOCO states that its mounting hardware and strap are sold separately.

ALL-TOP Smart Battery Box
Still deciding? Our top pickALL-TOP Smart Battery Box
Check price on Amazon

See every Battery Monitors and Accessories guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best lithium battery for solar. Also see our best 12v battery for solar panel. Also see our best 12v battery monitor bluetooth. Also see our lithium vs lead acid battery for solar. Also see our best deep cycle battery for rv boondocking.