On this page
The short answer on solar lantern vs battery lantern choice: pick the solar side for decorative outdoor light that runs itself, as the KOOPER 6-pack and Marlrin 2-pack show with flickering flames and dusk-to-dawn operation; pick the battery side for emergencies and camping, as the Etekcity 2-pack and 4-pack show with 154 lumens and up to 50 hours on AA batteries. We compared the four lanterns on what each listing states: brightness, runtime, weather protection, certifications and warranty.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Solar vs battery: side by side
| Solar vs Battery | Etekcity 4-Pack Lantern | Etekcity 2-Pack Lantern | KOOPER 6-Pack Solar Lantern | Marlrin 2-Pack Solar Lantern | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Side | battery | battery | solar | solar | |
| Brightness | 154 lm | 154 lm | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Runtime | up to 50 h | up to 50 h | 8-12 h | 10 h summer, 6-8 h winter | |
| Power | 3 AA each | 3 AA each | solar, 800mAh | solar | |
| Weather | water resistant | water resistant | IP65 | IP65 | |
| Warranty | 1 year | 2 years | 1 year | 2 years |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
Brightness and runtime
Only the battery side states brightness: both Etekcity picks list 154 lumens from 30 LEDs with 360-degree light and dimming by lantern height. The solar picks state no lumen figure and sell the flickering flame effect instead. Runtime flips the other way: the Etekcity picks state up to 50 hours on 3 AA batteries each, while KOOPER states 8 to 12 hours per solar charge and Marlrin states up to 10 hours in summer and 6 to 8 in winter after an 8-hour charge. For outage-ready picks, see our best solar lantern for hurricane season.
Weather and build
Both solar picks state IP65 weather protection, with the KOOPER listing adding UL, CE and FCC to the spec table. The Etekcity picks state water resistance without a code, in strengthened ABS with a collapsible design; the 4-pack adds RoHS to its FCC listing. The KOOPER spec table’s E26 bulb base and wall mount type read like catalog data against hanging lanterns, so trust the title and bullets there.
What the listings leave unclear
The Marlrin spec table lists the power source as USB-C rechargeable against the title’s and bullets’ solar power, so trust the title and bullets. The Etekcity 4-pack spec table lists two different wattage figures, 12 watts and 3 watts, so treat its wattage as unclear. Neither solar pick states a lumen figure, so the sides cannot be compared on brightness.
Four examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Etekcity 4-Pack Lantern | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | KOOPER 6-Pack Solar Lantern | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Etekcity 2-Pack Lantern | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Marlrin 2-Pack Solar Lantern | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Etekcity 4-Pack Lantern
A 4-pack of battery lanterns with a stated 154 lumens, 50-hour runtime and collapsible design.
Pros
- 154 lumens with 30 LEDs and 360-degree light stated
- Up to 50 hours on 3 AA batteries each stated
- Collapsible design with a storage compartment
- FCC and RoHS listings stated
Cons
- 1 year warranty, shorter than the 2-pack's 2 years
- Spec table lists two different wattage figures
- Needs 12 AA batteries for the full set
- 9.12 ounces stated with no per-lantern split
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4-pack of LED camping lanterns with 30 bulbs each, up to 154 lumens, 360-degree light, a collapsible design, up to 50 hours on 3 AA batteries each, water resistant ABS construction, FCC and RoHS listings, 12 AA batteries included and a 1 year warranty. The spec table lists 12 watts of light source wattage against 3 watts elsewhere, so treat the wattage as unclear.
Who it's for: households that want a lantern in every room for outages. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the 2-year warranty, which only the 2-pack states.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 154 lm, 360 deg |
|---|---|
| Runtime | up to 50 h |
| Batteries | 3 AA each, 12 included |
| Size | 3.46 x 3.46 x 4.86 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. FCC and RoHS listings stated; water resistant ABS construction stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

KOOPER 6-Pack Solar Lantern
A 6-pack of solar flame lanterns with IP65 protection and 8 to 12 hours of stated light.
Pros
- 6 lanterns with flickering flame LEDs
- 800mAh battery with 8 to 12 hours of stated light
- IP65, UL, CE and FCC listings stated
- Automatic dusk-to-dawn operation stated
Cons
- No brightness figure in lumens is stated
- Spec table lists an E26 bulb base for a lantern
- 1 year warranty
- Flame effect only, no steady bright mode stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6-pack of solar flame lanterns with flickering LEDs, an 800mAh battery, 8 to 12 hours of light after charging, a monocrystalline panel with up to 25 percent energy conversion stated, IP65 weather protection, ABS construction, automatic dusk-to-dawn operation and a 1 year warranty, with IP65, UL, CE and FCC listings in the spec table. The spec table lists an E26 bulb base and a wall mount type against hanging lanterns, which reads like catalog data; trust the title and bullets.
Who it's for: patios and gardens that want self-running flame decor. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated lumen figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 800mAh |
|---|---|
| Runtime | 8-12 h |
| Weather | IP65 |
| Panel | mono, 25% stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65, UL, CE and FCC listings stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Etekcity 2-Pack Lantern
A 2-pack of battery lanterns with a stated 154 lumens, 50-hour runtime and a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 154 lumens with 30 LEDs and 360-degree light stated
- Up to 50 hours on 3 AA batteries each stated
- Collapsible design with a storage compartment
- 2-year warranty and lifetime support stated
Cons
- Water resistant stated, no IP code
- Needs 6 AA batteries for the pair
- 1.5 pounds for two lanterns
- No solar charging option
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack of LED camping lanterns with 30 bulbs each, up to 154 lumens, 360-degree light, a collapsible design, up to 50 hours on 3 AA batteries each, water resistant ABS construction, an FCC listing, 6 AA batteries included and a 2-year warranty with lifetime support. The bullets' 3 batteries per lantern match the spec table's 6 for the pair.
Who it's for: campers and outage kits that want the longest stated warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants solar charging.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 154 lm, 360 deg |
|---|---|
| Runtime | up to 50 h |
| Batteries | 3 AA each, 6 included |
| Weight | 1.5 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. FCC listing stated; water resistant ABS construction stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty and lifetime support stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Marlrin 2-Pack Solar Lantern
A 2-pack of vintage solar flame lanterns with IP65 protection and a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- Up to 10 hours of stated light in summer
- IP65 weather protection stated
- Vintage design with a hanging handle
- 2-year warranty stated
Cons
- Spec table lists USB-C power against solar in the title
- 6 to 8 hours in winter, less than summer
- No brightness figure in lumens is stated
- Plastic construction only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack of vintage solar flame lanterns with up to 10 hours of light in summer and 6 to 8 hours in winter after an 8-hour charge, IP65 weather protection, plastic construction, a handle for hanging, lithium-ion batteries and a 2-year warranty. The spec table lists the power source as USB-C rechargeable against the title's and bullets' solar power, so trust the title and bullets.
Who it's for: porches and patios that want a vintage flame look with the longest solar warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone counting on winter runtime equal to summer.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Runtime | 10 h summer, 6-8 h winter |
|---|---|
| Charge | 8 h sunlight |
| Weather | IP65 |
| Size | 6 x 4.15 x 9.4 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 weather protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For lanterns, safety means stated weather protection and certifications the listing actually names. All four picks state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Etekcity 4-Pack Lantern | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 2 |
| KOOPER 6-Pack Solar Lantern | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 8 | 2 |
| Etekcity 2-Pack Lantern | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| Marlrin 2-Pack Solar Lantern | 9.6 | 27 | 20 | 19 | 7 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Solar lantern vs battery lantern: which should you choose?
Choose the solar side for patios, gardens and pathways where the light should come on by itself: the KOOPER 6-pack gives six flame lanterns with dusk-to-dawn operation, and the Marlrin 2-pack adds a vintage look with a 2-year warranty. Choose the battery side for camping and power outages: the Etekcity picks give 154 lumens on demand with up to 50 hours stated, and the 2-pack states a 2-year warranty with lifetime support. For patio decor, see our best solar lantern for patio.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Self-running outdoor decor | KOOPER 6-Pack Solar Lantern, dusk-to-dawn |
| Vintage look, longest solar warranty | Marlrin 2-Pack Solar Lantern, 2 years |
| Highest stated brightness | Etekcity 4-Pack Lantern, 154 lumens |
| Longest stated runtime | Etekcity 2-Pack Lantern, up to 50 hours |
Sizing Notes
- Match brightness to the job: 154 lumens stated on the battery pair, no lumen figure on the solar pair.
- Match runtime to the use: up to 50 hours on AAs, 8 to 12 hours per solar charge, 10 hours summer and 6 to 8 winter on Marlrin.
- Match the weather line: IP65 stated on both solar picks, water resistance without a code on the battery picks.
- Match the use: dusk-to-dawn decor on the solar side, on-demand emergency light on the battery side.
- Check warranty lines before ordering: 2 years on the Etekcity 2-pack and Marlrin, 1 year on the other two.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which lanterns state the highest brightness?
Both Etekcity picks state 154 lumens from 30 LEDs. The solar picks state no lumen figure.
How long do the solar lanterns run?
KOOPER states 8 to 12 hours per charge. Marlrin states up to 10 hours in summer and 6 to 8 hours in winter after an 8-hour charge.
Do the battery lanterns need special batteries?
No. Each lantern takes 3 AA batteries, included in the box: 6 with the 2-pack and 12 with the 4-pack.
Which lanterns state a weather code?
Both solar picks state IP65. The Etekcity picks state water resistance without a code.
Related guides
See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best solar lantern for garden. Also see our best solar lantern for camping. Also see our best solar lantern for patio.








