On this page
A car that sits for weeks while its clock and alarm sip the battery is the classic case for 5w vs 10w solar trickle charger shopping. This comparison looks at options from both sides, lower-wattage maintainers and higher-wattage ones, using each listing only for what it publishes. The short verdict: the 10W side suits vehicles that sit longer or in weaker sun, with the MPPT model here stating the most protections and certifications; the 5W side suits simple maintenance duty, where a diode or a smart controller and a stated service term matter more.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
5w vs 10w solar trickle charger: side by side
| 5W vs 10W | SUNER POWER 10W MPPT Charger | POWOXI 10W Magnetic Charger | Callsun 7.5W Charger Kit | Sunway Solar 5W Charger | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power stated | 10W | 10W | 7.5W | 5W | |
| Controller | MPPT charge controller | Built-in smart controller | Smart charge controller | Not stated, diode only | |
| Protection stated | 8-safety protections, IP65 | Battery protection system | 6-point smart safety, IP68 | Built-in diode | |
| Mounting | Suction cups, pre-drilled holes | Magnetic, 4 magnets | 360-degree bracket | Windshield / dash | |
| Warranty / service stated | Not stated | 12-Month After-Sales Service | 12-month warranty | 12-Month warranty | |
| Certifications stated | UL, CE, FCC | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
What each side states
The 5W side pairs the Sunway Solar charger with the Callsun kit. The Sunway Solar states a 5W monocrystalline panel for 12V batteries, a built-in diode against reverse charging, an LED charge indicator, a cigarette lighter adapter and alligator clamps, a 2.4m cable and a 12-month warranty. The Callsun states a 7.5W panel with a smart charge controller, a 3-color LED system, a 6-point smart safety system, IP68, a 360-degree adjustable bracket and a 12-month warranty. The 10W side pairs the POWOXI and SUNER POWER chargers. The POWOXI states a 10W panel with a magnetic mount using 4 magnets, a built-in smart controller, a battery protection system, tempered glass and a 12-month after-sales service at 2.5 pounds. The SUNER POWER states a 10W panel with an MPPT charge controller, 3-stage charging, 8-safety protections, IP65 and UL, CE and FCC certifications. Neither side wins on a spec the other side leaves out: the SUNER POWER states no warranty term, and the POWOXI states no IP code.
Controllers and protections
Charge control is the real split. The Callsun states a smart charge controller with a 3-color LED system, the POWOXI a built-in smart controller, and the SUNER POWER an MPPT controller with 3-stage charging; the Sunway Solar states no controller, only a built-in diode against reverse charging. On protections, the SUNER POWER states 8 protections plus IP65, the Callsun states a 6-point smart safety system plus IP68, the POWOXI states a battery protection system, and the Sunway Solar states the diode. On certifications, only the SUNER POWER lists UL, CE and FCC.
What the listings leave unclear
The SUNER POWER model number reads BC-5W while the title and spec table say 10 watts; the title wins, so compare it as a 10W charger. The Sunway Solar spec table gives the weight as 0.69 kg while every other listing uses pounds; the figure is stated as kilograms, so compare with care. The Callsun is tagged to the 5W side but states 7.5W; the tag decides the side, so it represents the lower-wattage group here. The POWOXI 12-month after-sales service is a service promise rather than a warranty term, but it states a 12-month term.
Four examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | POWOXI 10W Magnetic Charger | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Callsun 7.5W Charger Kit | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SUNER POWER 10W MPPT Charger | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Sunway Solar 5W Charger | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

POWOXI 10W Magnetic Charger
A 10W solar trickle charger with a magnetic mount, built-in smart controller and battery protection system.
Pros
- 10W with a magnetic mount using 4 magnets stated
- Built-in smart controller stated
- Battery protection system stated
- Tempered glass panel stated
Cons
- No IP code is stated
- The 12-month after-sales service is a service promise, not a warranty
- No weight advantage over the Callsun kit is stated
- Magnetic mount needs a steel surface, per the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10W solar trickle charger with a magnetic mount using 4 magnets, a built-in smart controller, a battery protection system against overcharging, reverse current, over-voltage and short circuits, tempered glass and a 3-color LED indicator, at 2.5 pounds. The 12-month after-sales service is a service promise rather than a warranty term, but it states a 12-month term. No IP code is stated.
Who it's for: anyone who wants tool-free mounting on steel surfaces with 10W of maintenance power. Who should skip it: anyone mounting to glass or aluminum, where magnets do not hold.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 10W, 12V |
|---|---|
| Mounting | Magnetic, 4 magnets |
| Protection | Battery protection system |
| Service | 12-Month After-Sales Service |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Battery protection system against overcharging, reverse current, over-voltage and short circuits stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 12-Month After-Sales Service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Callsun 7.5W Charger Kit
A 7.5W solar charger kit with a smart charge controller, IP68 and a 6-point smart safety system.
Pros
- 7.5W with a smart charge controller stated
- IP68 and 6-point smart safety system stated
- 3-color LED system stated
- 360-degree adjustable bracket included
Cons
- Tagged to the 5W side but states 7.5W
- No weight figure is stated
- SmartTrack efficiency claims have no stated measurement basis
- 25-year performance claim has no stated basis
Detailed Review
The listing states a 7.5W solar charger kit with a smart charge controller, a 3-color LED system for sunlight, charging and maintenance modes, a 6-point smart safety system against reverse charging and overvoltage, IP68, a 360-degree adjustable bracket and a 12-month warranty. It is tagged to the 5W side of this comparison but states 7.5W; the tag decides the side, so it represents the lower-wattage group here.
Who it's for: anyone who wants a smart controller with IP68 and flexible mounting on the lower-wattage side. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a full 10W panel.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 7.5W, 12V |
|---|---|
| Controller | Smart charge controller |
| Protection | IP68, 6-point smart safety |
| Warranty | 12-month warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP68 and 6-point smart safety system stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUNER POWER 10W MPPT Charger
A 10W solar trickle charger with an MPPT controller, 8-safety protections, IP65 and stated UL, CE and FCC certifications.
Pros
- MPPT charge controller with 3-stage charging stated
- 8-safety protections plus IP65 stated
- UL, CE and FCC certifications stated
- 10W with tempered glass and corrosion-resistant frame stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Model number reads BC-5W while the title says 10 watts
- No weight figure is stated
- MPPT efficiency claims have no stated measurement basis
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10W solar trickle charger with an MPPT charge controller, 3-stage charging, 8-safety protections, IP65, UL, CE and FCC certifications, tempered glass and a corrosion-resistant frame. The model number reads BC-5W while the title and spec table say 10 watts; the title wins, so compare it as a 10W charger. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: anyone who wants the most stated protections and certifications here for a stored vehicle. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 10W, 12V |
|---|---|
| Controller | MPPT charge controller |
| Protection | 8-safety protections, IP65 |
| Certifications | UL, CE, FCC |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL, CE, FCC, IP65 and 8-safety protections stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Sunway Solar 5W Charger
A 5W solar trickle charger with a built-in diode, LED indicator and alligator clamps for 12V batteries.
Pros
- 5W monocrystalline panel for 12V batteries stated
- Built-in diode against reverse charging stated
- LED charge indicator with cigarette lighter adapter and alligator clamps
- 2.4m cable stated, the longest cable here
Cons
- No charge controller is stated, only a diode
- 0.69 kg is stated in kilograms while others use pounds
- No IP code is stated
- 5W is the lowest power here
Detailed Review
The listing states a 5W monocrystalline solar trickle charger for 12V batteries with a built-in diode against reverse charging, an LED charge indicator, a cigarette lighter adapter and alligator clamps, a 2.4m cable and a 12-month warranty. The weight is stated as 0.69 kg while the other listings use pounds, so compare with care. No charge controller is stated.
Who it's for: anyone who wants the simplest maintenance setup with a stated warranty term. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a smart or MPPT controller.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 5W, 12V |
|---|---|
| Protection | Built-in diode against reverse charging |
| Cable | 2.4m |
| Warranty | 12-Month warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Built-in diode against reverse charging stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 12-Month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For trickle chargers, safety means a stated controller, protection system or safety code; all four listings state at least one, from a diode to 8 protections with UL, CE and FCC. Three listings state a warranty or service term with a concrete 12-month figure; the SUNER POWER states no term, so it earns no warranty points. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| POWOXI 10W Magnetic Charger | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 2 |
| Callsun 7.5W Charger Kit | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 2 |
| SUNER POWER 10W MPPT Charger | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 9 | 0 |
| Sunway Solar 5W Charger | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 21 | 5 | 2 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
5w vs 10w solar trickle charger: which should you choose?
Choose the 10W side for vehicles that sit longer or in weaker sun. The SUNER POWER states an MPPT controller, 8 protections and UL, CE and FCC certifications, and the POWOXI adds a magnetic mount for steel surfaces; see our 10w vs 20w solar trickle charger comparison if you are weighing the next step up. Choose the 5W side for simple duty: the Callsun gives a smart controller with IP68 and a bracket, and the Sunway Solar gives the simplest diode-based maintenance with a 12-month warranty. For the controller side of the choice, our best mppt solar charge controller for rv guide covers larger controllers.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Most protections and certifications | SUNER POWER 10W MPPT Charger, 8 protections, UL, CE, FCC |
| Magnetic mounting | POWOXI 10W Magnetic Charger, 4 magnets |
| Smart controller with IP68 | Callsun 7.5W Charger Kit, smart controller, IP68 |
| Simplest diode maintenance | Sunway Solar 5W Charger, built-in diode, 12-month warranty |
| Longest stated cable | Sunway Solar 5W Charger, 2.4m cable |
Sizing Notes
- Match the wattage to the drain: 5W for the Sunway Solar, 7.5W for the Callsun, and 10W for the POWOXI and SUNER POWER.
- Check the controller: a smart controller on the Callsun and POWOXI, MPPT on the SUNER POWER; the Sunway Solar states a diode only.
- Match the battery types: the Sunway Solar lists wet, gel, SLA, AGM, LiFePO4, lithium-ion and deep cycle; the POWOXI lists AGM, flooded, gel, EFB, MF, SLA and LiFePO4.
- Check the mounting: a magnetic mount for the POWOXI, a 360-degree bracket for the Callsun, suction cups and pre-drilled holes for the SUNER POWER, and windshield or dash for the Sunway Solar.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which charger states the highest wattage?
The POWOXI and SUNER POWER at 10W, then the Callsun at 7.5W and the Sunway Solar at 5W.
Which listings include a charge controller?
The Callsun states a smart charge controller, the POWOXI a built-in smart controller, and the SUNER POWER an MPPT controller. The Sunway Solar states a built-in diode instead.
Which listings state a warranty or service term?
The Sunway Solar and Callsun state a 12-month warranty, and the POWOXI states a 12-month after-sales service. The SUNER POWER states no term.
Which charger mounts with magnets?
The POWOXI, with 4 magnets for steel surfaces. The Callsun uses a 360-degree bracket and the SUNER POWER uses suction cups and pre-drilled holes.
Related guides
See every Battery Chargers and Maintainers guide and all Batteries and Charging guides.
More picks: solar trickle charger vs plug in charger, best solar charger for boat battery, best solar charger for deep cycle battery.








