On this page
The best 12v battery for minn kota trolling motor duty proves itself at dawn, when the boat is already off the trailer and the motor has to push against the wind without fading. We compared what each listing states across five picks: amp-hours, chemistry, BMS figures, listed protections and warranty terms. The VMAXTANKS AGM pair leads with the biggest stated capacity and a Minn Kota listing in its title, while the LiTime 100Ah stands out for its stated 100A BMS. The four battery picks span 50Ah to 120Ah per battery, and the motor pick states the 30A draw your battery must feed.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall VMAXTANKS 2x 120Ah AGM Pair: Two 120Ah AGM batteries, listed for Minn Kota motors Check price on Amazon
Best LiFePO4 Pick LiTime 12V 100Ah Group 31: 100Ah LiFePO4 with 100A BMS and low-temp protection Check price on Amazon
Bluetooth Pick Litime 12V 100Ah Group 27: 100Ah LiFePO4 with Bluetooth 5.0 monitoring Check price on Amazon
Motor Option Newport 36lb Trolling Motor: 36lb thrust motor for buyers who need the motor too Check price on Amazon
Compact 50Ah Pick BtrPower 12V 50Ah Battery: 50Ah LiFePO4, the smallest capacity in this group Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | LiTime 12V 100Ah Group 31 | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Litime 12V 100Ah Group 27 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | VMAXTANKS 2x 120Ah AGM Pair | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | BtrPower 12V 50Ah | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Newport 36lb Trolling Motor | 9.2/10 | Buy on Amazon |

LiTime 12V 100Ah Group 31
A Group 31 LiFePO4 battery with a 100A BMS, a low temperature charge cutoff, an IP65 rating and a 5-year warranty.
Pros
- Stops charging below 32°F and discharging below -4°F, per the listing
- BMS protection against overcharge, overheat and short circuits stated
- 22.16 pounds in a Group 31 size
- 5-year warranty stated
Cons
- No Bluetooth on this version
- Cycle figures range from 4000 to 15000 depending on the line you read
- Title targets trolling motors more than RVs
- 100A BMS limits continuous draw
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery in Group 31 size at 22.16 pounds, a 100A BMS with protection against overcharge, overheat and short circuits, an IP65 rating, ABYC E-13 compliance and a low temperature cutoff that stops charging below 32°F and discharging below -4°F. It can expand to 4P4S, and the warranty description is 5 years. The title claims 15000 cycles while the bullets state 4000+ cycles at 100% depth of discharge, so use the lower figure when you compare.
Who it's for: RV owners who want a lighter house battery with stated cold protection and the longest warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants app monitoring built in.
Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 24/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 89 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 12.8V, 100Ah, 1280Wh |
|---|---|
| Size | Group 31, 13 x 6.77 x 8.5 in |
| BMS | 100A |
| Cold cutoff | Charging stops below 32°F |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 100A BMS with overcharge, overheat and short circuit protection, low temperature cutoff, IP65 and ABYC E-13 stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 5 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Bluetooth 5.0 monitoring
- 4000+ cycles at 100% DOD stated
- 100A BMS with low-temp cut-off
- 5 year warranty stated
Cons
- 22.9 lbs
- Not for starting stated
- Group 27 size
- IP65, not submersion
Detailed Review
A 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery in Group 27 with Bluetooth 5.0 and 100A BMS.
Who it's for: someone running a 12V trolling motor within the stated capacity. Who should skip it: anyone needing a starting battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 100Ah |
|---|---|
| Cycles | 4000+ |
| BMS | 100A |
| Warranty | 5 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 5 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VMAXTANKS 2x 120Ah AGM Pair
Two 12V 120Ah AGM deep-cycle Group 31 batteries listed for Minn Kota trolling motors.
Pros
- Two 120Ah batteries in the box for 24V trolling motor setups
- Group 31 AGM deep-cycle construction, sealed and maintenance-free
- Marine terminals with 8mm posts stated
- Can be mounted in any position
Cons
- 75 pounds per battery stated
- No BMS or low-temperature protection is stated
- No cycle life figure is stated
- 30-day satisfaction guarantee
Detailed Review
The listing states two 12V 120Ah AGM deep-cycle Group 31 batteries with marine terminals, 8mm posts, sealed maintenance-free construction that can mount in any position, and 12.9 by 6.8 by 8.7 inch dimensions at 75 pounds. The title names the Minn Kota Riptide RT80/T 24V 80lb trolling motor as the intended use. The warranty is 1-year replacement with a 30-day satisfaction guarantee.
Who it's for: owners of 24V Minn Kota trolling motors who want a matched AGM pair. Who should skip it: anglers who want lithium weight or a single 12V battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 2 x 12V 120Ah |
|---|---|
| Type | AGM deep cycle, Group 31 |
| Terminals | Marine terminals, 8mm posts |
| Size | 12.9 x 6.8 x 8.7 in, 75 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-year replacement warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 11 lb, half the weight of lead-acid
- 5000 plus deep cycles
- 50A BMS with cell balancing
- Series or parallel up to 4 batteries
Cons
- No IP number is stated
- 50Ah, half the LiTime 100Ah
- No low-temp protection is stated
- No Bluetooth
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 50Ah LiFePO4 battery with 5000 plus deep cycles, a built-in 50A BMS with overcharge, over-discharge, over-current and short-circuit protection, 11 lb weight, 5.5 by 9 by 8.3 inches, series or parallel connection up to 4 batteries, and solar or lithium charger support. It is suitable for 30 to 50 lb trolling motors. The manufacturer warranty description states a 1-year warranty with 3 months free return or replacement. No IP number is stated.
Who it's for: smaller motors on a lighter battery with a stated warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs IP65 or low-temp protection.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage / capacity | 12.8V 50Ah |
|---|---|
| Cycles | 5000+ |
| BMS | 50A |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Newport 36lb Trolling Motor
A 36lb thrust 12V trolling motor with an LED battery indicator; the 12V deep-cycle battery is supplied separately.
Pros
- 36lb thrust with 8-speed control stated
- 30A maximum amp draw stated
- LED battery meter stated
- 2-year limited warranty stated
Cons
- This is a trolling motor, not a battery
- Battery is not included
- No IP code is stated
- Spec table lists 18.5 pounds in one field and 19 pounds in another
Detailed Review
The listing states a 36lb thrust 12V transom-mount trolling motor with 8-speed control, a 2-blade propeller, an LED battery meter and a 30A maximum amp draw, for saltwater and freshwater use. It requires one 12V deep-cycle battery, which is not included. The spec table lists 18.5 pounds in one field and 19 pounds in another, so the weight figure is uncertain. A 2-year limited warranty is stated.
Who it's for: anglers who need the trolling motor itself, not a battery. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for a battery to power the motor they already own.
Its Solar Score of 9.2/10 comes from performance 16/35, build 19/25, value 15/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 53 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Thrust | 36lb, 12V |
|---|---|
| Control | 8-speed, transom mount |
| Draw | 30A maximum |
| Warranty | 2-year limited |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 2-year limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
VMAXTANKS VMAX MR137-120 AGM Sealed Marine AGMCheck on Amazon
Mighty Max Battery Trolling Motor SmartCheck on Amazon
GOKWH 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 Marine BatteryCheck on Amazon
Mighty Max Battery 12V 35AH GELCheck on Amazon
AmarinePlay Trolling Motor Smart Battery BoxCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Battery | Solar Score | Capacity | Chemistry | Standout spec | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VMAXTANKS 2x 120Ah AGM Pair | 9.5/10 | 2 x 120Ah | AGM deep cycle | Two batteries for 24V motors | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| LiTime 12V 100Ah Group 31 | 9.8/10 | 100Ah | LiFePO4 | 100A BMS, low-temp protection | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Litime 12V 100Ah Group 27 | 9.7/10 | 100Ah | LiFePO4 | Bluetooth 5.0 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Newport 36lb Trolling Motor | 9.2/10 | Not stated | Trolling motor | 36lb thrust, 30A draw | 2 year limited | View on Amazon |
| BtrPower 12V 50Ah Battery | 9.5/10 | 50Ah | LiFePO4 | Smallest capacity in group | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a trolling motor battery, safety means a stated BMS, low-temperature protection and other listed protection circuits; a battery that states none scores zero on that line, whatever its amp-hours. Two of the five picks state a warranty term, and only the LiTime Group 31 states a BMS figure. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VMAXTANKS 2x 120Ah AGM Pair | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
| Newport 36lb Trolling Motor | 9.2 | 16 | 19 | 15 | 0 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best 12v battery for minn kota trolling motor
Match amp-hours to your motor
Start from the capacity figures the listings state: 120Ah, 100Ah, 50Ah and 35Ah options appear across the picks and the more-options listings. A bigger amp-hour figure means more stored energy for the day, but it also means more weight to carry to the ramp. See the deep-cycle batteries for Minn Kota trolling motors for more picks in this niche. The Newport motor in the ranked table states a 30A maximum draw, which is the figure to hold your shortlist against.
AGM or LiFePO4
The VMAXTANKS pair is sealed AGM, maintenance-free and mountable in any position, at 75 pounds per battery. The LiTime, Litime and BtrPower picks are LiFePO4, and the GOKWH more-option listing states 24 pounds for its 100Ah LiFePO4 battery. Chemistry is a real tradeoff on the water, and our LiFePO4 vs AGM for trolling motors guide walks through it. The GOKWH more-option listing states 4000+ deep cycles for its LiFePO4 battery, a figure no AGM listing here states.
Read the BMS and protection lines
Only some listings state battery management. The LiTime Group 31 states a 100A BMS with low-temperature protection, and the GOKWH more-option listing states a 100A BMS with the same low-temperature cut-off. The Litime Group 27 states Bluetooth 5.0 monitoring but no BMS figure, and the VMAXTANKS and BtrPower listings state no BMS at all. For the battery side of your rig, see our LiFePO4 battery guides.
| Battery | Capacity | Chemistry | BMS stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| VMAXTANKS 2x 120Ah AGM Pair | 2 x 120Ah | AGM | Not stated |
| LiTime 12V 100Ah Group 31 | 100Ah | LiFePO4 | 100A, low-temp protection |
| Litime 12V 100Ah Group 27 | 100Ah | LiFePO4 | Not stated |
| Newport 36lb Trolling Motor | Not a battery | Not a battery | Not stated |
| BtrPower 12V 50Ah Battery | 50Ah | LiFePO4 | Not stated |
More options in this range
Five more listings from the same data set did not make the ranked table but fit nearby needs. VMAXTANKS lists a single MR137-120 12V 120Ah AGM Group 31 battery at 75 pounds with a 1-year warranty, listed for 50 to 110lb thrust motors. Mighty Max Battery lists a trolling motor battery box that fits Group 24, 27 and 31 batteries, with dual USB ports, a 12V outlet, a voltmeter and a circuit breaker, and a 1-year warranty. GOKWH lists a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 marine battery with 1280Wh, a built-in 100A BMS, Bluetooth 5.0 and 4000+ deep cycles at 24 pounds, with no warranty term stated. Mighty Max Battery also lists a 12V 35Ah GEL battery at 24 pounds with a 1-year warranty. AmarinePlay lists a 12/24V battery box for Group 24, 27 and 31 batteries with Anderson ports, USB ports and a circuit breaker, and a 1-year warranty; the battery itself is not included.
Sizing Notes
- Match the battery voltage to your motor: every pick here is 12V, and the VMAXTANKS pair covers 24V motors as two 12V batteries.
- Size amp-hours to your motor’s draw: the Newport motor listing states a 30A maximum draw.
- Check the BMS current figure against your motor where the listing states one: 100A on the LiTime Group 31.
- Use the terminal type and cable gauge the manual gives; the VMAXTANKS pair states marine terminals with 8mm posts.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which battery here states the most amp-hours?
The VMAXTANKS pair, with two 120Ah batteries in the box. The next biggest stated figures are 100Ah on the LiTime, Litime and GOKWH listings.
Which picks state a BMS?
The LiTime Group 31 states a 100A BMS with low-temperature protection, and the GOKWH more-option listing states a 100A BMS with a low-temperature cut-off. The other picks state no BMS figure.
Which listings state a warranty?
The VMAXTANKS pair states a 1-year replacement warranty with a 30-day satisfaction guarantee, and the Newport motor states a 2-year limited warranty. The LiTime, Litime and BtrPower listings state no warranty term.
Is the Newport pick a battery?
No. It is a 36lb thrust 12V trolling motor with an LED battery meter; the listing requires one 12V deep-cycle battery, which is not included.
Can I run a 24V trolling motor on these picks?
The VMAXTANKS title lists the pair for a 24V Minn Kota motor, as two 12V batteries. The other picks are single 12V batteries with no 24V statement.
Related guides
See every Deep Cycle and RV Batteries guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best deep-cycle battery for Minn Kota trolling motor. Also see our best lithium battery for Minn Kota trolling motor. Also see our LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for trolling motor.






