Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Deep Cycle and RV Batteries

Best Deep Cycle Battery for Minn Kota Trolling Motor: 5 Compared

Five deep cycle batteries for Minn Kota trolling motors compared on stated amp-hours, chemistry, BMS and warranty terms, all figures from the listings.

Best Deep Cycle Battery for Minn Kota Trolling Motor: 5 Compared
On this page

The best deep cycle battery for Minn Kota trolling motor use is the one that matches your motor’s voltage and thrust class and keeps delivering through a long day on the water. We compared what each listing states: voltage, amp-hours, chemistry, BMS current, low-temperature behavior, expansion limits and warranty terms. One listing is built specifically for the higher-voltage motor class; the rest cover the standard-voltage range.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • LiTime 24V 50Ah Bluetooth
    Best Overall LiTime 24V 50Ah Bluetooth: 24V purpose-built with Bluetooth, TVS guard and 5-year service Check price on Amazon
  • VMAXTANKS MR137-120 12V
    Biggest Capacity VMAXTANKS MR137-120 12V: 120Ah AGM for 50 to 110lb thrust motors Check price on Amazon
  • LiTime 12V 50Ah
    12V Lithium Pick LiTime 12V 50Ah Bluetooth: 640Wh with Bluetooth and IP65 stated Check price on Amazon
  • VMAXTANKS MR96-60 12V
    Mid-Size AGM VMAXTANKS MR96-60 12V: 60Ah AGM for 24 to 50lb thrust motors Check price on Amazon
  • BtrPower 12V 50Ah
    Compact Lithium BtrPower 12V 50Ah LiFePO4: 50Ah LiFePO4 for trolling motors, title-only listing Check price on Amazon

The picks

LiTime 24V 50Ah Bluetooth

LiTime 24V 50Ah Bluetooth

Litime9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 24V 50Ah LiFePO4 battery built for 24V trolling motors, with Bluetooth 5.0, TVS surge protection, IP65 and 5-year service.

Pros

  • Built for 24V trolling motors in the 70 to 100 thrust range
  • 50A BMS with over 20 protections and TVS surge protection
  • Bluetooth 5.0 monitoring of SOC and voltage
  • 5-year service term stated

Cons

  • Bullets give 10.24 by 6.61 by 8.3 inches while the spec table gives 6.61 by 10.24 by 8.27
  • 24V only, not for 12V motors
  • 50Ah is less than the 120Ah VMAXTANKS
  • AIG insurance line is marketing, not a warranty term
Detailed Review

The listing states a 24V 50Ah LiFePO4 battery with Bluetooth 5.0, a 50A BMS, IP65, TVS surge protection and a 5-year service term, built for 24V trolling motors in the 70 to 100 thrust range. It lists 4000+ cycles at 100% DOD, 6000 at 80% and 15000 at 60%, a 10-year lifespan, low-temperature protection that stops discharging below -4F and stops charging below 32F, 21 pounds, Group 24 size and 4P2S expansion to 10.24kWh. It lists M8 by 16mm terminals with insulating caps and bolts in the box, and the spec table names 2 x 12V100Ah as the OEM equivalent part number, since one 24V battery replaces two 12V batteries in series. The bullets give 10.24 by 6.61 by 8.3 inches while the spec table gives 6.61 by 10.24 by 8.27 inches, so trust the spec table for the exact depth.

Who it's for: 24V motors where a purpose-built lithium battery matters. Who should skip it: anyone running a 12V motor.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity24V 50Ah
BMS50A, low-temp cutoff
SizeGroup 24
Expansion4P2S to 10.24kWh

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65, TVS surge protection and 50A BMS with low-temp cutoff stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 5 Year Service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LiTime 12V 50Ah

LiTime 12V 50Ah

Litime9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 50Ah LiFePO4 battery with 640Wh, Bluetooth 5.0, 50A BMS and 5-year after-service.

Pros

  • 50Ah with 640Wh stated, a lighter mid-size option than the 100Ah packs
  • 50A BMS with low-temp charging cutoff stated
  • Bluetooth 5.0 with LiTime app monitoring
  • IP65 rating stated with 4000+ deep cycles

Cons

  • 11.27 pounds, far heavier than the 10Ah pack
  • Not for starting batteries, golf carts or jacks
  • The 640W energy density line mixes watts and watt-hours
  • Bluetooth needs a lithium-activation charge to start
Detailed Review

The listing states 12V 50Ah with 640Wh, a 50A BMS with low-temp charging cutoff and guards against over-charging, over-discharging, over-current and short-circuits, Bluetooth 5.0, an IP65 rating, 4000+ deep cycles, a 1.2C (60A) continuous discharge, 12.8V, 11.27 pounds, 7.68 by 6.54 by 6.77 inches, and 5 years of after-service. The spec table rounds the weight to 11.3 pounds; the bullet figure is used here. The listing says it is not for starting batteries, golf carts or jacks.

Who it's for: jon boats and kayaks that want a stated watt-hour figure with app monitoring. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a starting battery, or the lightest possible pack.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity50Ah, 640Wh
BMS50A
Voltage12V
Ingress protectionIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 rating with 50A BMS low-temp cutoff protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Manufacturer Warranty Description: 5 year after-service. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VMAXTANKS MR137-120 12V

VMAXTANKS MR137-120 12V

VMAXTANKS9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 120Ah AGM battery in Group 31 size for 50 to 110lb thrust trolling motors, with a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 120Ah is the largest stated capacity here
  • Named for 50 to 110lb thrust trolling motors
  • Heavy-duty lead-tin grids and electrolyte suspension stated
  • Maintenance-free operation

Cons

  • 75 pounds stated
  • No BMS or cycle life is stated
  • No low-temperature figures are stated
  • 1-year warranty is shorter than the LiTime's 5-year service
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 120Ah AGM battery in Group 31 size, 75 pounds, 6.8 by 13 by 8.8 inches, marine terminals and a 1-year warranty, aimed at 50 to 110lb thrust trolling motors. It lists an electrolyte suspension system with high-porosity AGM that absorbs and contains the electrolyte, heavy-duty lead-tin grids for float or cyclic use even after repeated over-discharges, and maintenance-free operation with no water to add. The listing states no BMS, no cycle life and no low-temperature figures.

Who it's for: the biggest stated capacity here for 12V motors. Who should skip it: buyers who want lithium weight or a longer warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity12V 120Ah
ChemistryAGM
SizeGroup 31
Weight75 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BtrPower 12V 50Ah

BtrPower 12V 50Ah

BtrPower9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 50Ah battery with 50A BMS and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 11 lb, half the weight of lead-acid
  • 5000 plus deep cycles
  • 50A BMS with cell balancing
  • Series or parallel up to 4 batteries

Cons

  • No IP number is stated
  • 50Ah, half the LiTime 100Ah
  • No low-temp protection is stated
  • No Bluetooth
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 50Ah LiFePO4 battery with 5000 plus deep cycles, a built-in 50A BMS with overcharge, over-discharge, over-current and short-circuit protection, 11 lb weight, 5.5 by 9 by 8.3 inches, series or parallel connection up to 4 batteries, and solar or lithium charger support. It is suitable for 30 to 50 lb trolling motors. The manufacturer warranty description states a 1-year warranty with 3 months free return or replacement. No IP number is stated.

Who it's for: smaller motors on a lighter battery with a stated warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs IP65 or low-temp protection.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Voltage / capacity12.8V 50Ah
Cycles5000+
BMS50A
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VMAXTANKS MR96-60 12V

VMAXTANKS MR96-60 12V

VMAXTANKS9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 60Ah AGM battery in Group 22NF size for 24 to 50lb thrust trolling motors, with a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Named for 24 to 50lb thrust trolling motors
  • Group 22NF fits smaller battery boxes
  • 8 to 10 year float service life stated
  • Maintenance-free operation

Cons

  • 45 pounds stated
  • No BMS or cycle life is stated
  • No low-temperature figures are stated
  • 60Ah is half the MR137-120's capacity
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 60Ah AGM battery in Group 22NF size, 45 pounds, 9.2 by 5.5 by 8.3 inches, marine terminals and a 1-year warranty, aimed at 24 to 50lb thrust trolling motors. It lists an 8 to 10 year float service life and maintenance-free operation. The listing states no BMS, no cycle life and no low-temperature figures.

Who it's for: smaller 12V motors in the 24 to 50lb thrust range. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 60Ah.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity12V 60Ah
ChemistryAGM
SizeGroup 22NF
Weight45 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Battery Solar Score Capacity Chemistry BMS Warranty Amazon
LiTime 24V 50Ah Bluetooth 9.7/10 24V 50Ah LiFePO4, Group 24 50A, low-temp cutoff 5 years View on Amazon
VMAXTANKS MR137-120 12V 9.5/10 12V 120Ah AGM, Group 31 Not stated 1 year View on Amazon
LiTime 12V 50Ah Bluetooth 9.7/10 12V 50Ah, 640Wh LiFePO4 Not stated Not stated
VMAXTANKS MR96-60 12V 9.4/10 12V 60Ah AGM, Group 22NF Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
BtrPower 12V 50Ah LiFePO4 9.5/10 12V 50Ah LiFePO4 Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a trolling motor battery, safety means the BMS protections, low-temperature behavior and certifications the listing actually states; a listing that states none of these scores zero on that line. Three of the five listings state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
LiTime 24V 50Ah Bluetooth 9.7 32 21 20 8 4
VMAXTANKS MR137-120 12V 9.5 28 21 20 0 3
VMAXTANKS MR96-60 12V 9.4 26 20 20 0 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best deep cycle battery for Minn Kota trolling motor use

Match voltage and thrust class first

Voltage is not a preference; it is a requirement of the motor. The LiTime 24V is built for 24V trolling motors in the 70 to 100 thrust range, and its spec table names 2 x 12V100Ah as the OEM equivalent, since a single 24V battery replaces two 12V batteries in series. The VMAXTANKS MR137-120 names 50 to 110lb thrust motors, and the MR96-60 names 24 to 50lb thrust motors, both at 12V. See every deep cycle and RV battery guide for the wider category.

Lithium or AGM

The lithium picks weigh far less per amp-hour: the LiTime 24V lists 21 pounds against the 75-pound VMAXTANKS 120Ah AGM. The AGM listings state no BMS and no cycle life, while the LiTime 24V states a 50A BMS, 4000+ cycles at full depth of discharge and a 10-year lifespan. Our LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for trolling motor comparison covers the chemistry tradeoff.

Battery Chemistry Weight Warranty
LiTime 24V 50Ah Bluetooth LiFePO4 21 lb 5 years
VMAXTANKS MR137-120 12V AGM 75 lb 1 year
LiTime 12V 50Ah Bluetooth LiFePO4 Not stated Not stated
VMAXTANKS MR96-60 12V AGM 45 lb 1 year
BtrPower 12V 50Ah LiFePO4 LiFePO4 Not stated Not stated

Read the BMS and cold-weather lines

Only the LiTime 24V states a full protection picture: a 50A BMS with over 20 protections, TVS surge protection, IP65, Bluetooth 5.0 monitoring of SOC and voltage with discharge control, and low-temperature protection that stops discharging below -4F and stops charging below 32F. The listing also notes AIG product liability insurance effective May 22, 2026, which is marketing rather than a warranty term. The LiTime 12V states Bluetooth and IP65 only, and the other listings state no protection figures at all.

Expansion and group size

The LiTime 24V supports 4P2S expansion to 10.24kWh in a Group 24 case. The VMAXTANKS 120Ah is Group 31, and the 60Ah is Group 22NF. Check the tray before you buy, and see our best 12V battery for electric trolling motor roundup for more 12V options.

Sizing Notes

  • Match voltage and thrust class: the LiTime 24V is built for 24V motors of 70 to 100 thrust, and the VMAXTANKS 120Ah names 50 to 110lb thrust.
  • Use the BMS current against the motor’s draw: the LiTime 24V lists a 50A BMS with over 20 protections.
  • For bigger banks, follow the maker’s limits: the LiTime 24V supports 4P2S to 10.24kWh.
  • Use the cable gauge and fuses as the manual gives; mounting and any tie to the boat’s electrical system are jobs for a qualified installer.

Frequently Asked Questions

What voltage does my trolling motor need?

Match the listing to your motor: the LiTime 24V is built for 24V motors in the 70 to 100 thrust range, the VMAXTANKS 120Ah names 50 to 110lb thrust motors, and the 60Ah names 24 to 50lb thrust motors.

Which listing states the most amp-hours?

The VMAXTANKS MR137-120 at 120Ah. The MR96-60 states 60Ah, and the three lithium picks state 50Ah each.

Which batteries state Bluetooth monitoring?

The LiTime 24V with Bluetooth 5.0 and the LiTime 12V 50Ah. The other listings state no monitoring.

Which listings state low-temperature protection?

The LiTime 24V: it stops discharging below -4F and stops charging below 32F. The other listings state no low-temperature figures.

Which listings state a warranty term?

The LiTime 24V states 5-year service, and both VMAXTANKS listings state 1 year. The other listings state no warranty term.

LiTime 24V 50Ah Bluetooth
Still deciding? Our top pickLiTime 24V 50Ah Bluetooth
Check price on Amazon

See every Deep Cycle and RV Batteries guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best deep cycle battery for a boat. Also see our best 12V battery for electric trolling motor. Also see our lifepo4 vs agm battery for trolling motor. Also see our best deep cycle battery for 24 volt trolling motor.