Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Battery Monitors and Accessories

Best Battery Box for Fish House (2026): Boxes Compared

Large, group 24 and small battery boxes for fish houses compared by stated group fit, inside size, strap and hardware, safety standard and warranty term.

Best Battery Box for Fish House (2026): Boxes Compared
On this page

A fish house at dusk runs on its battery bank, and a loose battery sliding across the floor is a problem waiting for rough ice. We compared the best battery box for fish house use across large, group 24 and small boxes, using only what each listing publishes. Every box here holds a battery; what differs is the group fit, the strap and hardware, and the stated safety standard.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Camco Large Battery Box
    Best Overall Camco Large Battery Box: Fits group 27, 30 and 31 with a lift-off lid, hold-down strap and foot clamps Check price on Amazon
  • Seachoice Group 24 Box
    Best Group 24 Seachoice Group 24 Box: Acid resistant polyethylene box with strap, mounting hardware and snap lid Check price on Amazon
  • MTS 250 Battery Box
    Largest Package Size MTS 250 Battery Box: Package dimensions of 17.0 by 9.75 by 6.75 inches with a single main component Check price on Amazon
  • Attwood 9084-1 Group 29/31 Box
    Vented Large Box Attwood 9084-1 Vented Box: Large vented box for group 29 and 31 batteries Check price on Amazon
  • attwood U1
    Small U1 Box Attwood Small U1 Box: Small box with mounting kit for U1 batteries Check price on Amazon

The picks

Camco Large Battery Box

Camco Large Battery Box

Camco9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Large polypropylene box for group 27, 30 and 31 batteries with a lift-off lid, hold-down strap and foot clamps.

Pros

  • Fits group 27, 30 and 31 batteries
  • Lift-off lid with woven hold-down strap, foot clamps and stainless steel screws
  • Inside dimensions of 7-1/4 by 13-1/4 by 8-5/8 inches with 2 inches additional headroom for terminals
  • Meets USCG CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications

Cons

  • Spec table lists a voltage of 1.5 volts, which describes a battery, not a box
  • Large size only, with no smaller size stated
  • No cable or wire routing details stated
  • Warranty term of 1 year manufacturer is stated without further detail
Detailed Review

Camco lists a large polypropylene box for group 27, 30 and 31 batteries with a lift-off lid, a woven hold-down strap, foot clamps and stainless steel screws. Inside dimensions are 7-1/4 by 13-1/4 by 8-5/8 inches with 2 inches of additional headroom for battery terminals, and the listing states it meets USCG CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications. The spec table lists a voltage of 1.5 volts, which describes a battery rather than a box, so ignore that line. Weight is 2.6 pounds and the warranty description states 1 year manufacturer.

Who it's for: fish house owners who run group 27, 30 or 31 batteries and want a strapped, clamped box. Who should skip it: buyers who need a smaller box, since this is the large size only.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Inside size7-1/4 by 13-1/4 by 8-5/8 in
Headroom2 in additional
Weight2.6 pounds
StandardUSCG CFR 183.420, ABYC E-10.7

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Meets USCG CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Seachoice Group 24 Box

Seachoice Group 24 Box

SEACHOICE9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Acid resistant polyethylene box for a single group 24 battery with a hold down strap and mounting hardware.

Pros

  • Acid resistant polyethylene box for a single group 24 battery
  • Hold down strap and mounting hardware included
  • Snap lid designed for easy access around cables and wires
  • Meets ABYC standard E-10 and USCG spec 183,420

Cons

  • Bullets state 10-1/2 by 7-1/4 by 10 inches, but the spec table lists 10.5 by 10.5 by 10 inches
  • Warranty description is a web link, not a stated term
  • Water Resistance Level is Water Resistant, with no rating code stated
  • Group 24 only, with no larger group size stated
Detailed Review

Seachoice lists an acid resistant polyethylene box for a single group 24 battery with a hold down strap, mounting hardware and a snap lid designed for easy access around cables and wires. The bullets state a size of 10-1/2 by 7-1/4 by 10 inches, while the spec table lists 10.5 by 10.5 by 10 inches, which conflicts on width; trust the bullets here. The listing states it meets ABYC standard E-10 and USCG spec 183,420, and the water resistance level is Water Resistant. Weight is 2.2 pounds, and the warranty description is a web link rather than a stated term.

Who it's for: group 24 battery owners who want a strapped box with a snap lid. Who should skip it: buyers who need a larger group size or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size10-1/2 by 7-1/4 by 10 in
Weight2.2 pounds
MaterialAcid resistant polyethylene
StandardABYC E-10, USCG 183.420

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Meets ABYC standard E-10 and USCG spec 183,420, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Attwood 9084-1 Group 29/31 Box

Attwood 9084-1 Group 29/31 Box

attwood9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A large vented polypropylene box for Group 29 and 31 batteries with a 40-inch hold-down strap.

Pros

  • Fits Group 29 and 31 batteries, with inside dimensions of 15-7/16 x 6-15/16 x 9-3/4 inches stated
  • Ventilated lid stated to release battery gases
  • 40-inch strap rated at 350 lbs of force stated
  • ABYC and USCG compliance for OEM-installed hold-down systems stated

Cons

  • 90-day warranty is the shortest stated term among the picks
  • Plain enclosure with no ports, voltmeter or cable-entry details stated
  • The spec table lists the battery type as 'Other Than Listed', which says little about chemistry fit
  • The listing names no lithium battery compatibility
Detailed Review

The listing states a large vented battery box for Group 29 and 31 series batteries, with inside dimensions of 15-7/16 x 6-15/16 x 9-3/4 inches and outside dimensions of 18-7/8 x 9-1/4 x 10-1/4 inches. It lists acid-resistant polypropylene with impact performance from -20°F to +120°F stated, integrated ventilation that releases battery gases while limiting water entry, and a 40-inch strap rated at 350 lbs of force, plus ABYC and USCG compliance for OEM-installed hold-down systems. The manufacturer warranty description states 90 days.

Who it's for: boat and RV owners fitting a large Group 29 or 31 battery who want a vented, strapped box. Who should skip it: owners who need ports, a voltmeter or a stated lithium compatibility.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
FitsGroup 29 and 31
Inside15-7/16 x 6-15/16 x 9-3/4 in
Strap40 in, 350 lbs force
Warranty90 days

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ABYC and USCG compliance for OEM-installed battery hold-down systems stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Manufacturer Warranty Description: 90 days stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

attwood U1

attwood U1

attwood9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact U1 battery box with vented design, 350 lb strap and USCG compliance.

Pros

  • Safety vented design lets gases escape
  • 40 in strap rated for 350 lb of force
  • Impact rated from -20F to 120F
  • Meets USCG 183.420 regulations

Cons

  • U1 size only: too small for Group 24
  • Only a 30-day contact window is stated
  • 16 oz box is light duty
  • No charging ports
Detailed Review

Attwood lists a small battery box for Group U1 batteries with interior dimensions of 8.25 x 5.5 x 7.875 in, in acid-resistant polypropylene impact-rated from -20F to 120F. The bullets state a safety vented design, a 40 in hold-down strap rated for 350 lb of force, and USCG 183.420 compliance. The warranty description covers issues within 30 days of receipt.

Who it's for: jet skis and small boats with U1 batteries where compact size matters. Who should skip it: Group 24 and larger batteries; the box is too small.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 1/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
FitsGroup U1
Strap40 in, 350 lb
Temp-20F to 120F
Warranty30-day contact

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. USCG 183.420 compliance and vented design are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Issues within 30 days of receipt are covered. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MTS 250 Battery Box

MTS 250 Battery Box

MTS9.3/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Battery box with package dimensions of 17.0 by 9.75 by 6.75 inches and a single main component.

Pros

  • Package dimensions of 17.0 by 9.75 by 6.75 inches stated
  • Single main component included
  • Package weight of 2.4 pounds stated
  • Model 250 identification stated

Cons

  • Spec table lists battery fields like 1800 milliampere_hour and an antenna location of Tablet, which do not describe a box
  • Package weight of 2.4 pounds conflicts with the item weight of 16 ounces
  • Warranty description reads only Warranty, with no term
  • No group size, strap or mounting details stated
Detailed Review

MTS lists the 250 battery box with package dimensions of 17.0 by 9.75 by 6.75 inches, a package weight of 2.4 pounds and a single main component. The spec table is messy: it lists battery fields such as 1800 milliampere_hour and an antenna location of Tablet, and an item weight of 16 ounces that conflicts with the 2.4 pound package weight; trust the package figures for size. The warranty description reads only Warranty, with no term stated.

Who it's for: buyers who want a basic box in a large package size. Who should skip it: buyers who need group fit, strap or mounting details, since none are stated.

Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 64 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Package size17.0 by 9.75 by 6.75 in
Package weight2.4 pounds
Item weight16 ounces
IncludedMain component only

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • DR.PREPARE Smart Battery BoxDR.PREPARE Smart Battery BoxBattery box with USB and 12V/24V ports for group 24, 27 and 31 batteriesCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

Battery Box Solar Score Fits group Inside size Strap and hardware Safety standard Warranty Amazon
Camco Large Battery Box 9.7/10 Group 27, 30, 31 7-1/4 by 13-1/4 by 8-5/8 in Hold-down strap, foot clamps USCG CFR 183.420, ABYC E-10.7 1 year manufacturer View on Amazon
Seachoice Group 24 Box 9.6/10 Group 24 10-1/2 by 7-1/4 by 10 in Hold down strap, mounting hardware ABYC E-10, USCG 183.420 Not stated View on Amazon
MTS 250 Battery Box 9.3/10 Not stated 17.0 by 9.75 by 6.75 in (package) Not stated Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
Attwood 9084-1 Vented Box 9.6/10 Group 29, 31 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Attwood Small U1 Box 9.6/10 U1 Not stated Mounting kit Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery box, safety means a stated safety standard, and the Camco and Seachoice listings state one, while the others do not. Only the Camco listing states a warranty term, 1 year manufacturer. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Camco Large Battery Box 9.7 30 21 21 7 2
Seachoice Group 24 Box 9.6 29 21 20 7 0
MTS 250 Battery Box 9.3 26 19 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best battery box for fish house

Match the group size

Group size is the first filter. The Camco large box fits group 27, 30 and 31 batteries, the Seachoice fits a single group 24 battery, and the Attwood 9084-1 fits group 29 and 31 batteries. The Attwood small box fits U1 batteries, which are smaller than the groups above. A box that is too small for the battery is useless, and a box far larger than the battery lets it shift, so match the group before anything else. If the battery is larger than group 31, our extra large battery box guide covers bigger boxes.

Strap, clamps and lid

Hardware keeps the battery still on rough ice and rough roads. The Camco includes a woven hold-down strap, foot clamps and stainless steel screws with a lift-off lid, and the Seachoice includes a hold down strap and mounting hardware with a snap lid designed for easy access around cables and wires. The MTS listing states no strap or mounting details, and the Attwood titles state a mounting kit only on the small U1 box. A vented lid matters for some setups, and our battery box with vent guide covers vented boxes in detail.

Battery Box Group fit Strap and hardware Standard
Camco Large Battery Box Group 27, 30, 31 Hold-down strap, foot clamps USCG CFR 183.420, ABYC E-10.7
Seachoice Group 24 Box Group 24 Hold down strap, mounting hardware ABYC E-10, USCG 183.420
MTS 250 Battery Box Not stated Not stated Not stated
Attwood 9084-1 Vented Box Group 29, 31 Not stated Not stated
Attwood Small U1 Box U1 Mounting kit Not stated

Read the safety standard

Safety standards are the one place where two listings stand apart. The Camco states it meets USCG CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications, and the Seachoice states it meets ABYC standard E-10 and USCG spec 183,420. The MTS and Attwood listings state no safety standard at all. A stated standard does not make a box fit a battery it was not sized for, but it does show the maker built to a published marine specification. When no standard is stated, the group fit and the hardware carry the decision.

Read the warranty line, not the headline

Only the Camco listing states a warranty term, 1 year manufacturer. The Seachoice warranty description is a web link rather than a stated term, and the MTS warranty description reads only Warranty, with no term. The Attwood titles state no warranty at all. A link to a warranty page is not a term, and a bare word Warranty is not a term either, so score both as unstated.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the box to the battery group: 27, 30 or 31 for the Camco, 24 for the Seachoice, 29 or 31 for the Attwood 9084-1, U1 for the Attwood small box.
  • Check inside dimensions against the battery: 7-1/4 by 13-1/4 by 8-5/8 inches for the Camco, with 2 inches of additional headroom for terminals.
  • Match the safety standard to the use: USCG CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 on the Camco, ABYC E-10 and USCG 183.420 on the Seachoice.
  • Treat package dimensions as packaging: the MTS figures of 17.0 by 9.75 by 6.75 inches describe the package, not the box.

Frequently Asked Questions

What group sizes does the Camco large box fit?

Group 27, 30 and 31 batteries, with inside dimensions of 7-1/4 by 13-1/4 by 8-5/8 inches and 2 inches of additional headroom for terminals.

What safety standards do these boxes state?

The Camco states USCG CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications. The Seachoice states ABYC standard E-10 and USCG spec 183,420. The MTS and Attwood listings state no safety standard.

Does any box state a warranty term?

Only the Camco listing states a term, 1 year manufacturer. The Seachoice warranty description is a web link, the MTS description reads only Warranty, and the Attwood titles state no warranty.

What is the inside size of the Camco box?

Inside dimensions are 7-1/4 by 13-1/4 by 8-5/8 inches, with 2 inches of additional headroom for battery terminals.

Does the Seachoice box include mounting hardware?

Yes, the listing states it is complete with a hold down strap and mounting hardware, plus a snap lid for access around cables and wires.

Camco Large Battery Box
Still deciding? Our top pickCamco Large Battery Box
Check price on Amazon

See every battery monitors and accessories guide and all batteries and charging guides.

More picks: browse extra large battery boxes, battery boxes with vents and gel deep cycle batteries.