Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Battery Chargers and Maintainers

Best Battery Charger with Wheels (2026): 5 Compared

Five wheeled battery chargers compared on charge rate, engine start, boost figures and warranty terms, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Battery Charger with Wheels (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

The best battery charger with wheels for a garage or shop rolls to the vehicle and has the starting power to turn it over. We compared what each listing states: charge rate, engine start and boost figures, supported chemistries, wheels and build, certifications and warranty terms. The Schumacher pair leads on documented features, while the high-amp Associated pick states the highest continuous charge amps here.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Schumacher SC1353
    Best Overall Schumacher SC1353: 200A engine start, 40A boost, battery check and 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Schumacher DSR131
    Best Engine Start Schumacher DSR131: 250A engine start and 50A boost with UL listing Check price on Amazon
  • Associated 6001A
    Highest Charge Amps Associated 6001A: 100/75A continuous charge with UL and CSA listing Check price on Amazon
  • Associated 6002B Fleet Charger
    24V Fleet Pick Associated 6002B: 6/12/18/24V fleet charging with 400A assist Check price on Amazon
  • CRAFTSMAN Wheeled 6A Charger
    6A Wheeled Pick CRAFTSMAN CMXCESM274: 6A wheeled charger; the listing states no further details Check price on Amazon

The picks

Schumacher SC1353

Schumacher SC1353

Schumacher Electric9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A wheeled 6/12V charger with 200A engine start, 40A boost, trickle charge and a battery and alternator check, with a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 200A engine start with 40A boost mode stated
  • Built-in battery and alternator check
  • Trickle charge maintains batteries in storage
  • UL 1236, FCC and DOE stated, with 1-year warranty

Cons

  • 28 pounds stated
  • Spec table dimensions read like a small box, not a wheeled charger
  • 10 hour stated charge time
  • Gel batteries not named among supported chemistries
Detailed Review

The listing states a wheeled 6/12V charger with 6A to 2A fully automatic charging, 200A engine start, 40A boost, trickle charge and a built-in battery and alternator check with a digital display. Supported chemistries are standard, AGM and deep-cycle, and compatible devices include cars, trucks, SUVs, motorcycles, ATVs, marine vessels and tractors. The spec table gives dimensions of 3.86 by 5.94 by 3.66 inches, which reads like a small box rather than a wheeled charger, so trust the title's wheeled description. The warranty is 1 year.

Who it's for: owners who want engine starting, boost and a built-in check in one rolling unit. Who should skip it: anyone charging gel batteries, which this listing does not name.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Charge6A to 2A
Engine start200A
Boost40A
Weight28 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL 1236, FCC and DOE stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Schumacher DSR131

Schumacher DSR131

Schumacher Electric9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A pro-grade wheeled 6/12V charger with 250A engine start, 50A boost, 2A to 6A charging and UL listing.

Pros

  • 250A 12V engine start and 125A 6V engine start stated
  • 50A boost charge stated
  • Standard, AGM, gel and deep-cycle batteries supported
  • Steel case, 300A clamps and retractable handle stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No trickle or maintenance mode is described
  • 11.8 by 11.8 by 24 inches needs garage floor space
  • No battery check is included
Detailed Review

The listing states a wheeled pro-grade 6/12V charger with 2A to 6A automatic charging and maintaining, 250A 12V engine start, 125A 6V engine start and 50A boost. It works with 6V and 12V standard, AGM, gel and deep-cycle batteries across power sport, auto and marine uses. The case is steel with 300A clamps, a retractable handle and wheels, and the size is 11.8 by 11.8 by 24 inches. The listing states UL and no warranty term.

Who it's for: shops and farms that want strong starting power and broad chemistry support in a rolling steel case. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Charge2A to 6A
Engine start250A (12V), 125A (6V)
Boost50A
ChemistryStandard, AGM, gel, deep-cycle

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Associated 6001A

Associated 6001A

Associated9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A wheeled 6/12V charger with 100/75A continuous charge, 375A cranking assist, fan cooling and UL and CSA listing.

Pros

  • 100/75A continuous charge stated, the highest here
  • 375A cranking assist stated
  • UL and CSA listed
  • Fan cooling stated

Cons

  • Spec table lists 3.2 pounds, which does not fit a wheeled charger
  • Warranty description reads Contact Manufacturer, not a term
  • No boost mode figure is stated
  • No battery chemistries are named
Detailed Review

The listing states a wheeled 6/12V charger with 100/75A continuous charge and 375A cranking assist, fan cooling, safe operation in any weather and UL and CSA listing. The spec table lists 3.2 pounds, which does not describe a wheeled charger of this class, and 14.5 by 16.25 by 26.5 inches. The warranty description reads Contact Manufacturer, which states no term.

Who it's for: buyers who want the highest stated continuous charge amps here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term or a boost mode figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Charge100/75A continuous
Cranking assist375A
ListingUL, CSA
CoolingFan

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL and CSA listed, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Associated 6002B Fleet Charger

Associated 6002B Fleet Charger

Associated9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A wheeled fleet charger stating 100/80/50/40A charge across 6/12/18/24V, 400A cranking assist and CSA listing.

Pros

  • States 100/80/50/40A charge across 6/12/18/24V
  • States 400A cranking assist
  • CSA listing stated with fan cooling
  • 500A insulated clamps stated; made in the USA stated

Cons

  • Warranty description says contact the manufacturer; no term stated
  • 68.3 lb unit is the heaviest here by far
  • Fleet-grade size and price class for a home garage
  • No battery type list beyond the voltage ranges
Detailed Review

The listing states a wheeled fleet charger with 100/80/50/40A charge current across 6/12/18/24V, 400A cranking assist, 500A insulated clamps and fan cooling. It states CSA listing, 68.3 pounds and US manufacture. The warranty description says contact the manufacturer, so no warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: shops and fleets that charge 24V banks and need the highest stated charge current here. Who should skip it: home users who want a stated warranty term or a lighter unit.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 19/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Charge current100/80/50/40A
Cranking assist400A
Voltage6/12/18/24V
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CSA stated; fan cooling stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CRAFTSMAN Wheeled 6A Charger

CRAFTSMAN Wheeled 6A Charger

CRAFTSMAN9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A wheeled 6A charger with 175A engine start and manual timer.

Pros

  • 175A engine start with 25A boost stated
  • 135-minute manual timer stated
  • Analog ammeter stated
  • Steel case with wheels and retractable handle stated

Cons

  • Manual timer control; not automatic
  • 8.91 x 11.76 x 33.37 inches; the largest unit here
  • No desulfation is stated
  • 1-year warranty is shorter than the NEXPEAK's 2 years
Detailed Review

The listing states a wheeled 6A battery charger and maintainer with 175A engine start, 25A boost charge, a 135-minute manual timer, analog ammeter, steel case, retractable handle and wheels, at 8.91 x 11.76 x 33.37 inches. It lists UL and a 1-year warranty. The timer is manual, so charging is not automatic.

Who it's for: owners who want wheeled engine-start power with manual control. Who should skip it: owners who want a fully automatic maintainer.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Charge6A
Engine start175A
Control135-min manual timer
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Warranty Description: 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Associated US20 6/12V ChargerAssociated US20 6/12V ChargerFor 40A charging with a 90-minute timer and 200A cranking assist.Check on Amazon
  • Schumacher SC1400 Wheeled ChargerSchumacher SC1400 Wheeled ChargerFor 300A engine start, desulfation mode and 1-year warranty.Check on Amazon
  • CRAFTSMAN CMXCESM233 Timer ChargerCRAFTSMAN CMXCESM233 Timer ChargerFor manual timer control with 250A engine start and 25A/50A boost.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Charger Solar Score Charge rate Engine start Boost Warranty Amazon
Schumacher SC1353 9.6/10 6A 200A 40A 1 year View on Amazon
Schumacher DSR131 9.6/10 2A to 6A 250A 50A Not stated View on Amazon
Associated 6001A 9.6/10 100/75A 375A assist Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
Associated 6002B 9.6/10 Not stated 400A assist Not stated Not stated
CRAFTSMAN CMXCESM274 9.6/10 6A Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a wheeled charger, safety means a UL or CSA listing the listing actually states; three picks here state one. Only one pick states a warranty term, a 1-year warranty on the SC1353. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Schumacher SC1353 9.6 30 21 20 8 2
Schumacher DSR131 9.6 32 22 20 8 0
Associated 6001A 9.6 32 20 20 8 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best battery charger with wheels

Start with volts and chemistry

Most picks here cover 6V and 12V batteries, while the Associated 6002B covers 6/12/18/24V for fleets. Chemistry support varies: the DSR131 names standard, AGM, gel and deep-cycle, while the SC1353 names standard, AGM and deep-cycle. Match both to your batteries before comparing amps.

Weigh starting power against charge rate

Engine start figures run from 200A on the SC1353 to 400A of assist on the 6002B, while charge rates run from 6A to the 100/75A continuous stated on the 6001A. A high charge rate refills a battery faster; a high start figure turns over a dead engine. Decide which job you do more.

Charger Charge stated Engine start stated
Schumacher SC1353 6A 200A
Schumacher DSR131 2A to 6A 250A
Associated 6001A 100/75A 375A assist
Associated 6002B Not stated 400A assist
CRAFTSMAN CMXCESM274 6A Not stated

Check the wheels and the build

Wheels are the point of this category, and the listings describe them differently: the DSR131 pairs a steel case with 300A clamps and a retractable handle, while the SC1353 notes an all-metal build. See our best battery charger for deep cycle battery for the bench-top side.

Read the warranty lines

Only the SC1353 states a term, a 1-year warranty. The 6001A description reads Contact Manufacturer, which is not a term, and the other listings state nothing. A stated term matters on a shop tool that gets rolled around daily.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the charger voltage to your batteries: 6/12V for most, 6/12/18/24V for fleets.
  • Size engine start amps to the engines you turn over; the listings state 200A to 400A of start or assist.
  • Check the stated charge rate against your battery size and the 10 hour figure on the SC1353.
  • Confirm the supported chemistries: standard, AGM, gel and deep-cycle where stated.
  • Weights are stated up to 28 pounds among the picks, so roll the charger rather than carrying it.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do you use a wheeled battery charger on a car battery?

Wheel it to the vehicle, set the voltage to match the battery, and attach the clamps as the manual directs. The SC1353 adds a built-in battery and alternator check for a quick health read.

What is the difference between boost and engine start?

Boost adds charge to a drained battery: the DSR131 states 50A and the SC1353 states 40A. Engine start delivers cranking amps directly: the DSR131 states 250A at 12V and the SC1353 states 200A.

Which charger here supports gel batteries?

The DSR131 names standard, AGM, gel and deep-cycle. The SC1353 names standard, AGM and deep-cycle but not gel.

Do any of these state a warranty?

The SC1353 states a 1-year warranty. The 6001A description reads Contact Manufacturer, and the other listings state no term.

Which wheeled charger has the highest charge rate?

The Associated 6001A at 100/75A continuous. The Schumacher picks and the CRAFTSMAN state 6A.

Schumacher SC1353
Still deciding? Our top pickSchumacher SC1353
Check price on Amazon

See every Battery Chargers and Maintainers guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best battery charger for agm batteries. Also see our best 20 amp lithium battery charger.

More picks: best battery charger for lifepo4, best battery charger for agm batteries, best battery charger for deep cycle battery.