Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Emergency Radio for Hiking (2026): 5 Compared

Best emergency radio for hiking: five radios compared on weight, NOAA alerts, power options and warranty, with a crank-solar pick and a pocket AM/FM pick.

Best Emergency Radio for Hiking (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

The trail was quiet until the sky turned dark and the phone showed no bars: the best emergency radio for hiking is the one that earns its ounces with weather alerts or two-way contact. We compared five radios hikers carry, from crank-and-solar NOAA receivers to a pocket AM/FM set and two ham handhelds. Weight, alert behavior and power options separate them more than any single feature, so we scored each radio on performance, build, value, safety and warranty using only what the listings state. Every figure below comes from those listings.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Raynic CR1009

Raynic CR1009

Raynic9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5000mAh NOAA weather radio with hand crank, solar and AC power, a compass and trail extras, suited to hiking and camp.

Pros

  • 5000mAh/18500mWh battery stated
  • Hand crank, solar, AC and AAA power stated
  • AM/FM/SW plus 7 NOAA channels
  • Compass, carabiner and belt in the box

Cons

  • Bullets say 1.2 lb and 7.5 x 3.5 x 4.7 in, spec table says 16 oz and 6.8 x 3.7 x 2.9 in
  • Alerts need the radio on and tuned to a local station
  • Spec table tuner type says AM and FM only
  • 2.5W speaker is modest
Detailed Review

The listing states a 5000mAh/18500mWh battery, hand crank, solar panel and AC power plus AAA backup, AM/FM/SW reception with 7 preset NOAA weather channels, a 3W flashlight, a 2.5W reading lamp, a phone charger, an SOS siren, a compass, a carabiner and a braid belt. It states IPX3 and a 1-year warranty. Two contradictions: the bullets list 1.2 lb and 7.5 by 3.5 by 4.7 inches while the spec table lists 16 ounces and 6.8 by 3.7 by 2.9 inches, and the spec table tuner type reads AM and FM only against the AM/FM/SW/NOAA title. The bullets also warn that alerts require the radio to be powered on and manually tuned to a local weather station.

Who it's for: hikers who want NOAA alerts, a compass and five power options in one trail radio. Who should skip it: anyone who wants automatic alerts without tuning, or the lightest possible set.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 5/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery5000mAh/18500mWh
PowerHand crank, solar, AC, AAA
BandsAM/FM/SW, 7 NOAA channels
WeatherIPX3 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. SOS siren, flashlight and IPX3 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 Year Warranty, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Nitigo Emergency

Nitigo Emergency

Nitigo9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 300 g solar and hand crank radio with NOAA reception, an SOS alarm and a rotating reading lamp, suited to the trail.

Pros

  • 4000mAh/14800mWh battery stated
  • Solar, hand crank and USB charging
  • NOAA plus AM/FM bands stated
  • SOS alarm, flashlight and rotating reading lamp

Cons

  • Spec table lists a water protection level with no IP code stated
  • Spec table lists AM only under bands against the AM/FM/WB/NOAA tuner type
  • No compass or trail extras stated
  • 4000mAh is smaller than the Raynic 5000mAh
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4000mAh/14800mWh battery, solar panel, hand crank and USB charging, NOAA plus AM/FM bands, an adjustable high-gain antenna, an LED flashlight, a 180-degree rotating reading lamp, a loud SOS alarm with flashing light, a headphone jack and phone charging for USB devices. It weighs 300 g and measures 5.31 by 2.28 by 2.68 inches, and the warranty is 1 year manufacturer. Two contradictions: the spec table lists a water protection level with no IP code, and lists AM only under radio bands against the AM/FM/WB/NOAA tuner type; we trusted the title and bullets.

Who it's for: hikers who want a light crank-and-solar radio with an SOS alarm. Who should skip it: anyone who wants shortwave bands or a compass in the box.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 5/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery4000mAh/14800mWh
PowerSolar, hand crank, USB
BandsNOAA, AM/FM
Size5.31 x 2.28 x 2.68 in, 300 g

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. SOS alarm with flashing light and flashlight stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacturer, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PRUNUS J-166

PRUNUS J-166

PRUNUS9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4.2-ounce AM/FM pocket radio with a clip and lanyard, suited to hikers who count every ounce.

Pros

  • 4.2 oz stated, the lightest here
  • Back clip and lanyard in the box
  • Tuning light and signal indicator stated
  • 16.5-inch adjustable antenna stated

Cons

  • 2 AA batteries not included
  • No NOAA alerts, crank or solar stated
  • Weight stated three ways: 4.2 oz, 5.12 oz and 3.5 oz
  • Not water resistant stated
Detailed Review

The listing states an AM/FM portable radio at 2.7 by 5 by 1.1 inches, a 16.5-inch adjustable antenna, a DSP chip, a tuning light, a signal indicator, an earphone jack, a back clip and a lanyard, running on 2 AA batteries that are not included. The warranty is stated as 1 year seller. The weight is stated three ways: 4.2 ounces in the bullets, 5.12 ounces as item weight and 3.5 ounces in the weight field.

Who it's for: hikers who want the lightest possible trail companion for music and news. Who should skip it: anyone who needs weather alerts, emergency charging or water resistance.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 5/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BandsAM/FM
Power2 AA (not included)
Size2.7 x 5 x 1.1 in
ExtrasBack clip, lanyard

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year seller, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BAOFENG UV-5RM 2-pack

BAOFENG UV-5RM 2-pack

BAOFENG9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of dual-band handheld radios with 999 channels and a NOAA receiver, suited to hiking pairs.

Pros

  • Two radios with 999 channels each
  • NOAA weather receiver stated
  • FCC ID 2AJGM-5RH stated
  • Two 2500mAh batteries with USB-C charging

Cons

  • Warranty description reads only '2' with no unit
  • Spec table says not water resistant
  • Two radios plus bases add pack weight
  • Programming takes setup via CHIRP or cloning
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of dual-band handheld radios with 999 channels, wide receive coverage, transmit on 144-148 and 420-450 MHz, a built-in NOAA weather receiver, two 2500mAh batteries, USB-C cables, desktop charging bases, earpieces and an FCC ID of 2AJGM-5RH, with a stated talking range of 8 kilometers. The spec table says not water resistant, and the warranty description reads only '2' with no unit, so no warranty term can be confirmed.

Who it's for: hiking pairs who want two-way contact plus NOAA reception when phones fail. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or a simple broadcast listener.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Channels999, dual-band
NOAAWeather receiver stated
Battery2x 2500mAh, USB-C
Range8 km stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. FCC ID 2AJGM-5RH, emergency alarm and flashlight stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BAOFENG UV-5R

BAOFENG UV-5R

BAOFENG9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A dual-band handheld with 128 channels and a 7W output, suited as a simple two-way backup.

Pros

  • Dual-band VHF/UHF with 128 channels
  • 7W max output stated
  • 72-hour battery life stated
  • LED flashlight and emergency alert stated

Cons

  • Warranty description reads 'No'
  • Not water resistant stated
  • 1800mAh is the smallest battery here
  • 5 km stated range is the shortest here
Detailed Review

The listing states a dual-band handheld radio covering 144-148 and 420-450 MHz, 128 channels, 7W maximum output, a 1W speaker, an 1800mAh battery with 72-hour battery life, a 5-kilometer talking range, an LED flashlight and an emergency alert. It measures 1.2 by 2.1 by 10.2 inches and is stated as not water resistant. The warranty description reads 'No', so no warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: hikers who want a simple two-way backup with an emergency alert. Who should skip it: anyone who needs NOAA reception, water resistance or a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BandsVHF/UHF dual-band
Channels128
Battery1800mAh, 72-hour life
Range5 km stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Emergency alert and LED flashlight stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Radio Solar Score Bands Power Warranty Amazon
Raynic CR1009 9.7/10 AM/FM/SW/NOAA 5000mAh, solar, crank, AC, AAA 1-year stated View on Amazon
Nitigo Emergency 9.7/10 AM/FM/NOAA 4000mAh, solar, crank, USB 1-year stated View on Amazon
PRUNUS J-166 9.5/10 AM/FM 2 AA 1-year seller stated View on Amazon
BAOFENG UV-5RM 2-pack 9.5/10 VHF/UHF, NOAA rx 2x 2500mAh, USB-C Not stated View on Amazon
BAOFENG UV-5R 9.5/10 VHF/UHF 1800mAh Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a hiking radio, safety means NOAA weather alerts, an SOS alarm, an emergency alert or a flashlight the listing actually states; a radio that states none scores zero on that line. Three of the five radios state a warranty term, and the UV-5RM states an FCC ID. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Raynic CR1009 9.7 30 21 21 7 5
Nitigo Emergency 9.7 29 20 21 7 5
PRUNUS J-166 9.5 26 20 21 0 5
BAOFENG UV-5RM 2-pack 9.5 32 20 21 5 0
BAOFENG UV-5R 9.5 28 19 20 4 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best emergency radio for hiking

Count the ounces before the miles

Every extra ounce matters on a long climb. The PRUNUS example is listed at 4.2 ounces with a back clip and lanyard, the lightest stated weight here. The Nitigo example weighs 300 g, and the Raynic listing gives two figures, 1.2 lb in the bullets and 16 ounces in the spec table. The BAOFENG UV-5RM is a 2-pack with charging bases, the heaviest kit to carry. If the radio rides in a hip-belt pocket, weight decides; if it lives at base camp, it matters less.

NOAA alerts are not automatic on every radio

Read the alert fine print. The Raynic listing warns that alerts require the radio to be powered on and manually tuned to a local weather station, with 7 preset NOAA channels. The Nitigo covers the NOAA band with an adjustable high-gain antenna, and the UV-5RM has a built-in NOAA weather receiver. The UV-5R and the PRUNUS state no NOAA reception at all. An alert radio left in a pack, switched off, warns nobody.

Power on the trail

Wall sockets are scarce past the trailhead, so check what each listing states.

Radio Power stated
Raynic CR1009 5000mAh, crank, solar, AC, AAA
Nitigo Emergency 4000mAh, solar, crank, USB
PRUNUS J-166 2 AA (not included)
BAOFENG UV-5RM 2-pack 2 x 2500mAh, USB-C
BAOFENG UV-5R 1800mAh, 72-hour life

Crank and solar keep the Raynic and Nitigo going without spares, while the PRUNUS needs two AA batteries from your kit. See our emergency radio with solar guide for more crank and solar models.

Two-way talk vs broadcast listening

The two BAOFENG listings are two-way handhelds: the UV-5R has 128 channels and a stated 5 km range, the UV-5RM 2-pack has 999 channels and a stated 8 km range, and both state an LED flashlight. The other three are broadcast receivers for news, music and weather, not for talking back. Pick two-way if your group splits up on the trail; pick broadcast if you hike solo and want forecasts. The UV-5RM kit even includes earpieces and a programming cable for setting up channels before you leave. Also see our emergency radio with light guide for models with built-in flashlights.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the stated weight to your pack: 4.2 ounces on the PRUNUS example, 300 g on the Nitigo, 1.2 lb in the Raynic bullets.
  • Match power to trip length: crank and solar (Raynic, Nitigo) for multi-day trips, AA or rechargeable for day hikes.
  • Check the warranty term: 1 year stated on the Raynic, Nitigo and PRUNUS; no usable term on either BAOFENG.
  • Match alerts to the forecast: NOAA reception (Raynic, Nitigo, UV-5RM) for storm country.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which radio here is the lightest?

The PRUNUS J-166 at a stated 4.2 ounces. The Nitigo is listed at 300 g, and the Raynic listing gives 1.2 lb in the bullets and 16 ounces in the spec table.

Which radios receive NOAA weather alerts?

The Raynic CR1009 with 7 preset NOAA channels (it must be powered on and tuned to a local station), the Nitigo with NOAA band reception, and the BAOFENG UV-5RM with a built-in NOAA receiver. The UV-5R and PRUNUS state no NOAA reception.

Which have a hand crank or solar charging?

The Raynic CR1009 (hand crank, solar, AC and AAA backup, 5000mAh) and the Nitigo (solar, hand crank and USB, 4000mAh). The PRUNUS runs on 2 AA batteries, and the BAOFENG pair on rechargeable packs.

Can the BAOFENG radios talk to each other on the trail?

The listings describe two-way handhelds: the UV-5R has 128 channels and a stated 5 km range, and the UV-5RM 2-pack has 999 channels and a stated 8 km range. The other three are broadcast receivers, not two-way radios.

Which state a warranty term?

The Raynic (1 year), the Nitigo (1 year manufacturer) and the PRUNUS (1 year seller). Both BAOFENG listings state no usable warranty term.

Raynic CR1009
Still deciding? Our top pickRaynic CR1009
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More guides: emergency radio with solar, emergency radio with light and solar lanterns for emergency.