Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Hand Crank Lantern Under $35 (2026): 4 Compared

Four camping and emergency lanterns compared on brightness, runtime, modes, power sources, IP codes and warranty terms for outages and camping.

Best Hand Crank Lantern Under $35 (2026): 4 Compared
On this page

When the power cuts out at night, a house gone dark is no place to hunt for a light, and the best hand crank lantern under 35 is the kind of light to have ready before an outage, not during one. This comparison covers camping and emergency lanterns by what their listings state: brightness, runtime, modes, power sources, IP codes and warranty terms, from a rechargeable pick to a long runtime pick and hand crank picks in the more picks list.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Coast Rechargeable Lantern
    Best Overall Coast Rechargeable Lantern: 1000 lumens with 5 modes, USB-C charging and IP54 Check price on Amazon
  • Enbrighten Large Camping Lantern
    Best Long Runtime Enbrighten Large Camping Lantern: 800 lumens with up to 200 hours on low and USB charging Check price on Amazon
  • Mesqool CL1000 Lantern
    Hand Crank Pick Mesqool Hand Crank Lantern: solar hand crank lantern with 3000mAh battery Check price on Amazon

The picks

Coast Rechargeable Lantern

Coast Rechargeable Lantern

Coast9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A rechargeable emergency lantern with 1000 lumens, five modes, USB-C charging, a power bank feature and IP54.

Pros

  • 1000 lumens on high, with five modes including red and red flashing
  • USB-C rechargeable built-in battery, with 4 AA alkaline batteries as backup
  • USB-C in and out ports stated for charging devices on the go
  • Aluminum brushed body stated, with IP54 water resistance

Cons

  • Backup batteries are sold separately, not included
  • Runtime on high is 2.25 hours, much shorter than the overall runtime figure
  • Spec table lists 4 AAA batteries in one field, contradicting the 4 AA batteries in the bullets
  • No carabiner handle is stated, unlike the Enbrighten lantern
Detailed Review

The listing states a rechargeable emergency lantern with 1000 lumens on high, five modes at warm white on low, cool white on medium, daylight white on high, red and red flashing, a built-in rechargeable battery, USB-C in and out ports, a USB-C cable included, an aluminum brushed body and IP54. It states up to 15 hours of runtime overall and 2.25 hours on high, with 4 AA alkaline batteries as backup in the bullets. The spec table lists 4 AAA batteries in its number field, which contradicts the 4 AA batteries in the bullets, so this guide follows the bullets for battery size.

Who it's for: campers and households who want a bright rechargeable lantern that can also charge a phone. Who should skip it: buyers who want backup batteries in the box, or a long high-mode runtime.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness1000 lumens on high
ModesWarm, cool, daylight, red, red flashing
RuntimeUp to 15 hours, 2.25 hours on high
IP codeIP54

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP54 water resistance stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Lifetime warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mesqool CL1000 Lantern

Mesqool CL1000 Lantern

Mesqool9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A collapsible lantern with a 200LM main light and a 350LM flashlight, three charging methods, a USB phone charger and an 18-month warranty stated.

Pros

  • Solar, hand crank and 5V USB charging stated
  • 200LM main light and 350LM flashlight stated
  • USB charger for cellphones stated
  • 18 months warranty stated, the longest here

Cons

  • 0.296 kg stated for a compact lantern
  • Spec table dimensions of 1 by 1 by 1 inch clash with the 4.96 by 3.19 by 3.11 inch bullets; trust the bullets
  • 5 watt light source wattage against the 2.4W and 3W bulb figures
  • Green color only stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a Mesqool CL1000 collapsible lantern with 12 LEDs at 200LM for 4 hours of strong light and up to 40 hours of low light, plus a 3W flashlight at 350LM for 8 hours of strong light and up to 35 hours of low light. It lists a 3000mAh battery, solar panel, hand cranking and 5V USB charging, a USB port for charging phones, 6000K, IPX4, water resistance, 4.96 by 3.19 by 3.11 inches and 0.296 kg. The spec table gives 1 by 1 by 1 inch dimensions that clash with the bullets; trust the bullets. The manufacturer warranty description states 18 months.

Who it's for: buyers who want the only hand crank pick here with three charging methods. Who should skip it: buyers who want a 2-pack or a kerosene lantern.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness200LM lantern, 350LM flashlight
Battery3000mAh
ChargingSolar, crank, 5V USB
WeatherIPX4

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 and water resistant stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 18 months warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Enbrighten Large Camping Lantern

Enbrighten Large Camping Lantern

Enbrighten9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A large battery powered camping lantern with 800 lumens, three modes, USB charging, a carabiner handle and IPX4.

Pros

  • 800 lumens with high, medium and low modes
  • Up to 200 hours on low and 35 hours on high stated
  • USB port at 1 Amp stated for charging a mobile device
  • Carabiner handle stated, with a 360 degree field out to 60 feet

Cons

  • Runs on 6 D batteries, with no statement that batteries are included
  • Plastic body stated, with no aluminum body stated
  • Spec table gives two different size figures for the lantern
  • No rechargeable battery is stated, unlike the Coast lantern
Detailed Review

The listing states a large camping lantern with 800 lumens, high, medium and low modes, up to 200 hours on low and 35 hours on high, a 360 degree field out to 60 feet, a USB port at 1 Amp, a carabiner handle, a plastic body, Water Resistant in its spec table and IPX4. The spec table gives a size of 7.0 by 7.6 by 11.2 inches in one field and 6.25 by 6.5 by 11.65 inches in another, so this guide uses neither size figure as the headline size.

Who it's for: households and campers who want a long runtime lantern for blackouts, storms and hurricanes. Who should skip it: buyers who want a rechargeable battery, or batteries stated as included.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness800 lumens
ModesHigh, medium, low
RuntimeUp to 200 hours on low, 35 hours on high
IP codeIPX4

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 and Water Resistant stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. Limited-lifetime warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

THORFIRE CL01 Lantern

THORFIRE CL01 Lantern

THORFIRE9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of collapsible 2-in-1 lanterns where 60 seconds of cranking gives 20 or more minutes of light, with USB charging and a USB output port for phones.

Pros

  • 60 seconds of cranking gives 20 or more minutes of light stated
  • USB output port turns the lantern into a phone power bank
  • Collapsible 2-in-1 design works as lantern or flashlight
  • High mode 65 lumens and low mode 15 lumens stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists 0.48 kg while bullets state 0.37 lb; trust the bullets
  • High mode runs up to 40 minutes, the shortest stated high mode here
  • Spec table lists the water resistance level as not water resistant
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of collapsible 2-in-1 lanterns with a hand crank generator: 60 seconds of cranking gives 20 or more minutes of light, and USB charging reaches full in 2 to 3 hours. It lists a high mode of 65 lumens running up to 40 minutes, a low mode of 15 lumens lasting up to 4.5 hours, and a USB output port that charges phones, headlamps and GPS devices. The spec table lists the weight as 0.48 kg while the bullets state 0.37 lb; trust the bullets. The manufacturer warranty description states no term.

Who it's for: buyers who want a stated crank-to-light figure and a lantern that doubles as a phone power bank. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Crank figure60 sec cranking = 20+ min light
ModesHigh 65 lumens, low 15 lumens
ChargingUSB 2-3 hours to full, hand crank
SizeCollapses to 1.8 in thick

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ABS body and no strobe mode stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Mukkuri Hand Crank LanternMukkuri Hand Crank LanternFor outages, with 500 lumens, solar and crank charging and IP44Check on Amazon
  • Solar Hand Crank LanternSolar Hand Crank Lantern5000mAh solar hand crank telescopic LED flashlight with USB chargerCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

Lantern Solar Score Brightness Runtime IP code Warranty Amazon
Coast Rechargeable Lantern 9.7/10 1000 lumens Up to 15 hours IP54 Lifetime warranty View on Amazon
Enbrighten Large Camping Lantern 9.6/10 800 lumens Up to 200 hours on low IPX4 Limited-lifetime warranty View on Amazon
Mesqool Hand Crank Lantern 9.7/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
THORFIRE Hand Crank Lantern 9.5/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 28 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an emergency lantern, safety means the stated IP code and stated water resistance for outdoor and storm use, and a lantern that states no IP code scores zero on that line, whatever its brightness. Both full-data listings state a lifetime warranty term, and the limited-data listings state no warranty term in their titles. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Coast Rechargeable Lantern 9.7 32 21 21 7 4
Enbrighten Large Camping Lantern 9.6 30 20 20 5 4

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best hand crank lantern under 35

Brightness and runtime together

Brightness without runtime, and runtime without brightness, each tell half the story. The Coast lantern states 1000 lumens on high with a runtime of 2.25 hours on high and up to 15 hours overall, while the Enbrighten lantern states 800 lumens with up to 200 hours on low and 35 hours on high. Compare the pair of figures for each lantern, and check which mode each runtime figure belongs to before ordering. For camping use, see our best solar lantern for camping guide.

Power source and backup power

The power source decides how the lantern stays ready, and the power bank feature decides whether it can charge a phone. The Coast lantern runs on a built-in rechargeable battery with USB-C in and out ports, with 4 AA alkaline batteries as backup, while the Enbrighten lantern runs on 6 D batteries with a USB port at 1 Amp for charging a mobile device. The hand crank picks in this group sit in the more picks list below, with a crank and solar charging for use with no outlet and no spare batteries. For outage use, see our best solar lantern for power outage guide.

If you need Look at
Lantern with a power bank and high brightness Coast Rechargeable Lantern, 1000 lumens with IP54
Longest low runtime with a carabiner handle Enbrighten Large Camping Lantern, 800 lumens with IPX4
Hand crank lantern from the title Mesqool Solar Hand Crank Lantern, 3000mAh battery in the title
Hand crank 2-pack from the title THORFIRE Hand Crank Lantern, 2-pack with USB power bank in the title

Modes for camp and emergency use

Modes decide whether one lantern can serve both camp lighting and an emergency signal. The Coast lantern states five modes: warm white on low, cool white on medium, daylight white on high, red, and red flashing, while the Enbrighten lantern states three modes at high, medium and low. A red flashing mode suits an emergency signal, while a low white mode suits a long night in a tent or a room. For hand crank options, see our best hand crank lantern for camping guide.

Match the IP code and the build

Emergency lanterns live outside in rain and storm use, so the IP code and the body matter as much as brightness. The Coast lantern states IP54 with an aluminum brushed body, while the Enbrighten lantern states IPX4 with a plastic body and Water Resistant in its spec table. Match the IP code to the weather the lantern will face, and match the body to the carry and storage plan.

Weigh warranty before ordering

Both full-data listings state a lifetime warranty term, with the Enbrighten listing stating a limited-lifetime warranty and the Coast listing stating a lifetime warranty. The limited-data listings state no warranty term in their titles. When brightness and runtime look close, the warranty term and the IP code are a fair way to separate them.

Sizing Notes

  • Match brightness to the job: 1000 lumens on high for the Coast lantern, 800 lumens for the Enbrighten lantern.
  • Match runtime to the night: up to 15 hours overall and 2.25 hours on high for the Coast lantern, up to 200 hours on low and 35 hours on high for the Enbrighten lantern.
  • Match the power source to the plan: USB-C rechargeable with AA backup for the Coast lantern, 6 D batteries for the Enbrighten lantern, and hand crank power for the picks in the more picks list.
  • Match the IP code to the weather: IP54 for the Coast lantern and IPX4 for the Enbrighten lantern.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lantern states the highest brightness here?

The Coast lantern, with 1000 lumens on high. The Enbrighten lantern states 800 lumens.

Which lantern states the longest low runtime?

The Enbrighten lantern, with up to 200 hours on low and 35 hours on high. The Coast lantern states up to 15 hours overall and 2.25 hours on high.

Where are the hand crank picks in this group?

The hand crank picks sit in the more picks list below. The Mesqool title states a solar hand crank lantern with a 3000mAh battery, and the THORFIRE title states a 2-pack hand crank lantern with a USB power bank.

Which lanterns can charge a phone?

The Coast lantern states USB-C in and out ports for charging devices, and the Enbrighten lantern states a USB port at 1 Amp for charging a mobile device. The THORFIRE title states a USB power bank.

Which lanterns state a lifetime warranty?

Both full-data listings state a lifetime warranty term. The Enbrighten listing states a limited-lifetime warranty, and the Coast listing states a lifetime warranty.

Coast Rechargeable Lantern
Still deciding? Our top pickCoast Rechargeable Lantern
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More picks: best solar lantern for camping, best solar lantern for power outage, best hand crank lantern for camping.