Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Hand Crank Lantern for Camping (2026): 5 Compared

Five hand crank lanterns for camping compared: crank and solar charging, runtimes, water ratings and warranties, from radio lanterns to a 1000-lumen D-battery light.

Best Hand Crank Lantern for Camping (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

A dead headlamp at the far end of the campsite is the moment a hand crank lantern earns its keep, and the best hand crank lantern for camping is the one that makes light without a wall outlet. We compared five lanterns by power options, battery size, runtime, water rating and warranty. Four crank by hand and charge by sun; the fifth runs on D batteries and is not rechargeable.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Libovgogo DF-585 Lantern
    Best Overall Libovgogo DF-585 Lantern: Hand crank and solar with speaker, NOAA radio and lifetime warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Kaito KA340 Lantern Radio
    Best Radio Pick Kaito KA340 Lantern Radio: 5-way power with AM/FM/SW NOAA and 16-hour lighting Check price on Amazon
  • Lepro 1000LM Lantern
    Brightest Pick Lepro 1000LM Lantern: 1000 lumens on D batteries, but not rechargeable Check price on Amazon
  • Boogostore Crank Lantern
    Best Runtime Boogostore Crank Lantern: Solar and hand crank with 35-hour battery life Check price on Amazon
  • GREATONE Crank Lantern
    Best SOS Pick GREATONE Crank Lantern: Hand crank and solar with SOS alarm and phone charging Check price on Amazon

The picks

Libovgogo DF-585 Lantern

Libovgogo DF-585 Lantern

libovgogo9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For campers who want a lantern, radio, speaker and phone charger in one hand-crank unit.

Pros

  • Hand crank, solar and USB-C charging with a 5000mAh lithium polymer battery.
  • Bluetooth speaker with 2 x 7W stereo sound and NOAA weather radio.
  • Flashlight with strobe reaching 30 M and an SOS alarm.
  • Lifetime warranty stated, plus CE, FCC and RoHS listings.

Cons

  • 1.8 pounds: the heaviest pick here.
  • 10-hour battery life is shorter than the boogostore's 35 hours.
  • No lumen figure is stated for the lantern.
  • 8-button interface may take learning.
Detailed Review

The listing states a hand-crank and solar lantern with a 5000mAh lithium polymer battery, USB-C charging, a Bluetooth speaker, AM/FM NOAA weather radio, a flashlight with strobe, an SOS alarm and a 5V phone charger. It lists IPX5 water resistance, a 10-hour battery life, a 1.8-pound weight and CE, FCC and RoHS marks. A lifetime warranty is stated.

Who it's for: campers who want light, radio, music and phone charging from one crank-powered unit. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the longest runtime or a stated lumen figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 5/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
PowerHand crank, solar, USB-C
Battery5000mAh
Runtime10 hours
Water ratingIPX5

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CE, FCC and RoHS per the listing, so safety scores 7 of 10. Lifetime warranty, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Kaito KA340 Lantern Radio

Kaito KA340 Lantern Radio

Kaito9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For emergency kits where a weather radio matters as much as the light.

Pros

  • 5-way power: hand crank, solar, built-in li-ion, 5V USB and 3 AA backup.
  • AM/FM/SW with 24/7 NOAA weather alert that auto-activates.
  • 16 hours of lighting or 20 hours of radio per the listing.
  • Bluetooth streaming, MP3 via micro-SD and a 5V phone charger.

Cons

  • Built-in battery is non-replaceable.
  • No water resistance rating is stated.
  • No lumen figure is stated.
  • 3 AA batteries not included for the backup compartment.
Detailed Review

The listing states a hand-crank lantern and emergency radio with AM/FM/SW and NOAA weather alert, Bluetooth, a flashlight, a siren and a 5V USB phone charger. Power comes five ways: hand crank, solar, a built-in 2300mAh li-ion battery, 5V micro USB and 3 AA batteries (not included). It states 16 hours of lighting or 20 hours of radio, measures 8 x 3 x 11 inches and carries a 1-year manufacturer's warranty.

Who it's for: campers and preppers who want a weather radio with their light. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated water rating or a replaceable battery.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
PowerHand crank, solar, USB, 3AA
Battery2300mAh
Runtime16 hours
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-Year manufacturer's warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Lepro 1000LM Lantern

Lepro 1000LM Lantern

Lepro9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For the brightest tent light, on disposable D batteries.

Pros

  • 1000 lumens: the brightest stated output here.
  • 4 modes with dimming by long-press.
  • 12 hours even at the 1000-lumen setting.
  • IPX4 water resistance with a hanging hook and metal handle.

Cons

  • Not rechargeable and not hand crank: 3 D alkaline batteries, not included.
  • The weakest fit for the hand-crank keyword here.
  • 400 g: heavier than the crank picks.
  • Plastic build throughout.
Detailed Review

The listing states a 1000-lumen battery-powered LED lantern with 4 light modes and dimming, running on 3 D alkaline batteries (not included) for 12 hours even at full brightness. It lists IPX4 water resistance, a 360-degree beam, a hanging hook and metal handle, and a 1-year warranty. It is explicitly not rechargeable and has no hand crank.

Who it's for: campers who want the brightest tent light and keep spare D batteries. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for a hand crank or rechargeable lantern.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 65 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Lumens1000
Runtime12 hours
Batteries3 D alkaline
Water ratingIPX4

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Boogostore Crank Lantern

Boogostore Crank Lantern

boogostore9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For the longest runtime from crank and solar power.

Pros

  • Solar and hand crank charging with a 5000mAh lithium polymer battery.
  • 35-hour battery life, the longest stated here.
  • Telescopic flashlight plus USB phone charging.
  • IPX4 water resistance at 12.32 ounces.

Cons

  • No lumen figure is stated.
  • No warranty term is stated.
  • No radio or speaker, unlike the Kaito and libovgogo.
  • No stated charge time for crank or solar.
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar and hand-crank lantern with a 5000mAh lithium polymer battery, a telescopic LED flashlight and USB phone charging. It lists a 35-hour battery life, IPX4 water resistance, a 3.1 x 3.1 x 4.9 inch body at 12.32 ounces and a 5V output. No lumen figure and no warranty term are stated.

Who it's for: campers who want the longest stated runtime from crank and solar. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated lumen figure or a warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
PowerSolar, hand crank
Battery5000mAh
Runtime35 hours
Water ratingIPX4

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GREATONE Crank Lantern

GREATONE Crank Lantern

GREATONE9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For a crank radio with SOS alarm on a tight feature set.

Pros

  • Hand crank, solar and Type-C charging with a 5000mAh battery.
  • AM/FM NOAA weather radio with SOS sound and light alarm.
  • USB output charges phones in an emergency.
  • 3 AA battery compartment as backup power.

Cons

  • Not water resistant per the listing.
  • No lumen figure is stated.
  • No warranty term is stated.
  • 3 AA batteries not included.
Detailed Review

The listing states a hand-crank and solar emergency radio lantern with a 5000mAh battery, Type-C charging, AM/FM NOAA weather radio, 3 light modes, an SOS sound and light alarm and USB phone charging. A 3 AA battery compartment serves as backup. The listing states it is not water resistant, and no lumen figure or warranty term is given.

Who it's for: campers who want a crank radio with an SOS alarm for emergencies. Who should skip it: anyone camping in rain, since it is not water resistant.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 18/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
PowerHand crank, solar, Type-C
Battery5000mAh
RadioAM/FM NOAA
Water ratingNot water resistant

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Lantern Solar Score Power Battery Runtime Water Rating Warranty Amazon
Libovgogo DF-585 Lantern 9.7/10 Hand crank, solar 5000mAh 10 hours IPX5 Lifetime View on Amazon
Kaito KA340 Lantern Radio 9.5/10 Hand crank, solar, USB, 3AA 2300mAh 16 hours Not stated 1 year View on Amazon
Lepro 1000LM Lantern 9.4/10 3 D alkaline Not stated 12 hours IPX4 1 year View on Amazon
Boogostore Crank Lantern 9.4/10 Solar, hand crank 5000mAh 35 hours IPX4 Not stated View on Amazon
GREATONE Crank Lantern 9.4/10 Hand crank, solar, Type-C 5000mAh Not stated Not water resistant Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For lanterns, safety means stated certifications: only the libovgogo states any, with CE, FCC and RoHS marks. Two listings state a warranty: the libovgogo’s lifetime term and the Kaito’s 1-year term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Libovgogo DF-585 Lantern 9.7 30 20 21 7 5
Kaito KA340 Lantern Radio 9.5 30 20 21 0 3
Lepro 1000LM Lantern 9.4 23 20 19 0 3
Boogostore Crank Lantern 9.4 28 20 21 0 0
GREATONE Crank Lantern 9.4 28 18 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best hand crank lantern for camping

Count the ways it charges

Four picks charge by hand crank and solar: the boogostore, Kaito, GREATONE and libovgogo. The Kaito adds 5V micro USB input and a 3 AA battery compartment as backup; the GREATONE adds Type-C charging and its own 3 AA compartment; the libovgogo adds USB-C. The Lepro is the outlier: it takes 3 D alkaline batteries, which are not included, and the listing states it is not rechargeable. For the crank vs solar question, see our solar lantern vs hand crank lantern comparison.

Match runtime to the night

Stated runtimes run from 10 hours on the libovgogo to 12 hours on the Lepro at full brightness, 16 hours of lighting on the Kaito and 35 hours on the boogostore. The Kaito also states 20 hours of radio playing time. Longer runtime matters most when the crank is the only charger for days. For outage use specifically, see our best hand crank lantern for power outage.

Radio, speaker or just light

The Kaito packs AM/FM/SW with 24/7 NOAA weather alert, Bluetooth streaming and an MP3 player via micro-SD. The GREATONE has AM/FM NOAA with an SOS sound and light alarm. The libovgogo pairs AM/FM NOAA with a Bluetooth speaker, a flashlight and a strobe. The boogostore and Lepro are light-only: a telescopic flashlight on the boogostore, four dimmable modes on the Lepro. For tent lighting specifically, see our best solar lantern for tent.

Check the water rating

The libovgogo states IPX5, the boogostore and Lepro state IPX4, the GREATONE states it is not water resistant, and the Kaito states no water rating at all. Match the rating to the forecast: an IPX5 or IPX4 pick for rainy trips, and keep the GREATONE under cover. None of the five claims protection beyond its stated rating.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the lumens to the campsite: only the Lepro states 1000 lumens; the other four state no lumen figure.
  • Check runtime: 10 to 35 hours stated across the picks, with the Kaito adding 20 hours of radio.
  • Check charging: hand crank and solar on four picks; the Lepro needs 3 D batteries, not included.
  • Check the water rating: IPX5, IPX4, not water resistant, or not stated.
  • Note the weight: 12.32 ounces on the boogostore up to 1.8 pounds on the libovgogo.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long do they run on a charge?

The boogostore states 35 hours, the Kaito 16 hours of lighting, the Lepro 12 hours even at full brightness, and the libovgogo 10 hours. The GREATONE states no runtime figure.

Can they charge a phone?

The boogostore, Kaito, GREATONE and libovgogo all state USB phone charging, with 5V outputs on the Kaito and libovgogo. The Lepro has no charging output; it runs on D batteries.

What water rating do they have?

The libovgogo states IPX5, the boogostore and Lepro state IPX4, the GREATONE states it is not water resistant, and the Kaito states no water rating.

Do they need batteries?

The Lepro needs 3 D alkaline batteries, not included, and is not rechargeable. The Kaito and GREATONE take 3 AA batteries as backup, not included. The boogostore and libovgogo run on built-in lithium batteries.

Which ones have a radio?

The Kaito has AM/FM/SW with NOAA weather alert, the GREATONE has AM/FM NOAA, and the libovgogo has AM/FM NOAA. The boogostore and Lepro are light-only.

Libovgogo DF-585 Lantern
Still deciding? Our top pickLibovgogo DF-585 Lantern
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More picks: hand crank lanterns, solar vs battery lanterns, solar lanterns for barns.