Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Hand Crank Lantern for Power Outage (2026)

Five hand crank lanterns compared for power outages: THORFIRE, JOYEKY, ORUSHE, Etekcity and Mesqool, scored on stated lumens, charging options and warranty terms.

Best Hand Crank Lantern for Power Outage (2026)
On this page

The best hand crank lantern for power outage nights is the one that still works when the house goes dark mid-evening and nothing else is charged. We compared five hand crank lanterns from THORFIRE, JOYEKY, ORUSHE, Etekcity and Mesqool on what their listings actually state: lumens, battery capacity, hand crank charging, extra modes and warranty terms. The JOYEKY lantern leads on stated brightness and battery size, and the 2-packs from THORFIRE, ORUSHE and Etekcity put a second light in another room or the car. Every figure below comes from the listings, not from use.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • JOYEKY T019 Lantern
    Best Overall JOYEKY T019 Lantern: 1000 lumens and a 6400mAh battery stated, plus SOS mode Check price on Amazon
  • THORFIRE CL01 Lantern
    Best Crank Detail THORFIRE CL01 Lantern: 60 seconds of cranking gives 20-plus minutes of light stated Check price on Amazon
  • ORUSHE HY-236TD Lantern
    Best Charging Inputs ORUSHE HY-236TD Lantern: Type-C, hand crank and solar charging in a 2-pack Check price on Amazon
  • Mesqool Hand Crank Lantern
    Crank and Solar Mesqool Crank Solar Lantern: hand crank plus solar with a 3000mAh battery stated Check price on Amazon
  • Etekcity 2-Pack Lantern
    Simple Battery Pick Etekcity 154LM Lantern: 154 lumens stated in a battery operated 2-pack Check price on Amazon

The picks

JOYEKY T019 Lantern

JOYEKY T019 Lantern

JOYEKY9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1000 lumen lantern with a 6400mAh battery, four light modes, stepless dimming and a hand crank backup, covered by a stated 6 month warranty.

Pros

  • 1000 lumens stated, the highest figure in this group
  • 6400mAh rechargeable battery stated
  • Cold white, natural white, warm white and SOS modes stated
  • Stepless dimming to adjust brightness freely

Cons

  • Spec table lists 2 C batteries as required, which clashes with the rechargeable listing
  • No hand crank time to light figure is stated
  • No solar charging input is stated
  • Single lantern in the box where rivals ship as 2-packs
Detailed Review

The listing states a 1000 lumen lantern with a 6400mAh lithium battery, four light modes covering cold white, natural white, warm white and SOS, and a stepless dimming feature that adjusts brightness freely. It adds a hand crank backup for when the battery runs down and ships with a USB charging cable and instructions. The spec table lists 2 C batteries as required and included, which clashes with the rechargeable lantern the title and bullets describe; trust the title and bullets. The manufacturer warranty description states 6 month coverage.

Who it's for: buyers who want the brightest stated output and the largest stated battery in this group. Who should skip it: buyers who want a 2-pack or a stated solar input.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness1000 lumens
Battery6400mAh rechargeable
ModesCold, natural, warm white plus SOS
Size2.79 x 2.2 x 4.87 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. SOS mode and stepless dimming stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. 6 month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mesqool Hand Crank Lantern

Mesqool Hand Crank Lantern

Mesqool9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hand crank solar lantern with a 3000mAh battery, 200LM main light plus 350LM flashlight, USB charging for phones and IPX4.

Pros

  • 3 charging methods: solar, 5V USB-C and hand crank
  • 3000mAh battery that charges phones via USB
  • 200LM main light plus a 350LM flashlight
  • 18-month warranty stated

Cons

  • IPX4 stated
  • 6000K is the only color temperature stated
  • 4 hours of strong light on the main light
  • 0.66 lb
Detailed Review

The title states a 3000mAh hand crank solar camping lantern with an 8-hour play time. The bullets state a 200LM main light for 4 hours of strong light and up to 35 hours of low light, a 3W 350LM flashlight for 8 hours of strong light and up to 30 hours of low light, 3 charging methods (5V USB-C cable included, solar panel and hand crank), a 3000mAh battery that charges Android phones via USB, 4.96 by 3.19 by 3.11 inches, 0.66 pounds, IPX4 and an 18-month warranty. The listing states the hand crank suits tornadoes, hurricanes and extreme snow storms.

Who it's for: anyone who wants three charging methods and a separate flashlight in one lantern. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the highest output, where the Raynic states 650 lumens.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery3000mAh, USB charger
Light200LM + 350LM flashlight
ChargeSolar, USB-C, hand crank
Warranty18 months stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 18 months warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Etekcity 2-Pack Lantern

Etekcity 2-Pack Lantern

Etekcity9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of battery lanterns with a stated 154 lumens, 50-hour runtime and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 154 lumens with 30 LEDs and 360-degree light stated
  • Up to 50 hours on 3 AA batteries each stated
  • Collapsible design with a storage compartment
  • 2-year warranty and lifetime support stated

Cons

  • Water resistant stated, no IP code
  • Needs 6 AA batteries for the pair
  • 1.5 pounds for two lanterns
  • No solar charging option
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of LED camping lanterns with 30 bulbs each, up to 154 lumens, 360-degree light, a collapsible design, up to 50 hours on 3 AA batteries each, water resistant ABS construction, an FCC listing, 6 AA batteries included and a 2-year warranty with lifetime support. The bullets' 3 batteries per lantern match the spec table's 6 for the pair.

Who it's for: campers and outage kits that want the longest stated warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants solar charging.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness154 lm, 360 deg
Runtimeup to 50 h
Batteries3 AA each, 6 included
Weight1.5 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. FCC listing stated; water resistant ABS construction stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty and lifetime support stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

THORFIRE CL01 Lantern

THORFIRE CL01 Lantern

THORFIRE9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of collapsible 2-in-1 lanterns where 60 seconds of cranking gives 20 or more minutes of light, with USB charging and a USB output port for phones.

Pros

  • 60 seconds of cranking gives 20 or more minutes of light stated
  • USB output port turns the lantern into a phone power bank
  • Collapsible 2-in-1 design works as lantern or flashlight
  • High mode 65 lumens and low mode 15 lumens stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists 0.48 kg while bullets state 0.37 lb; trust the bullets
  • High mode runs up to 40 minutes, the shortest stated high mode here
  • Spec table lists the water resistance level as not water resistant
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of collapsible 2-in-1 lanterns with a hand crank generator: 60 seconds of cranking gives 20 or more minutes of light, and USB charging reaches full in 2 to 3 hours. It lists a high mode of 65 lumens running up to 40 minutes, a low mode of 15 lumens lasting up to 4.5 hours, and a USB output port that charges phones, headlamps and GPS devices. The spec table lists the weight as 0.48 kg while the bullets state 0.37 lb; trust the bullets. The manufacturer warranty description states no term.

Who it's for: buyers who want a stated crank-to-light figure and a lantern that doubles as a phone power bank. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Crank figure60 sec cranking = 20+ min light
ModesHigh 65 lumens, low 15 lumens
ChargingUSB 2-3 hours to full, hand crank
SizeCollapses to 1.8 in thick

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ABS body and no strobe mode stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ORUSHE HY-236TD Lantern

ORUSHE HY-236TD Lantern

ORUSHE9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of rechargeable lanterns that charge by Type-C, hand crank or solar panel, with a 2000mAh battery and up to 4 hours of light on a full charge.

Pros

  • Three charging inputs: Type-C, hand crank and solar
  • 2000mAh lithium battery stated, up to 4 hours on a full charge
  • Water resistant and SOS signal stated
  • USB output port for charging small devices

Cons

  • Title prints 200mha while bullets state 2000mAh; trust the bullets
  • Spec table lists 1 12V battery as required, which clashes with the rechargeable listing
  • No lumen figure is stated
  • Solar panel only generates a 30mA current to maintain the indicator light
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of lanterns that work as lantern, flashlight and SOS signal, with a 2000mAh lithium battery that sustains up to 4 hours on a full charge. Charging runs through Type-C, a hand crank or a solar panel, and the lights fold to 2.76 x 2.76 x 4.72 inches. The title prints 200mha while the bullets state 2000mAh, and the spec table lists 1 12V battery as required; both clash with the rechargeable lantern the bullets describe, so trust the bullets. The listing states a free return and exchange policy with no stated warranty term.

Who it's for: buyers who want three charging inputs and a 2-pack with stated water resistance. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated lumen figure before they choose.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery2000mAh rechargeable
RuntimeUp to 4 hours on a full charge
ChargingType-C, hand crank, solar
Size2.76 x 2.76 x 4.72 in, 0.63 kg

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Water resistant and SOS signal stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Lantern Solar Score Stated Lumens Battery Charging Warranty Amazon
JOYEKY T019 Lantern 9.6/10 1000 6400mAh Crank, USB 6 months View on Amazon
THORFIRE CL01 Lantern 9.5/10 65 / 15 Not stated USB, crank Not stated View on Amazon
ORUSHE HY-236TD Lantern 9.5/10 Not stated 2000mAh Type-C, crank, solar Not stated View on Amazon
Mesqool Crank Solar Lantern 9.6/10 Not stated 3000mAh Crank, solar Not stated
Etekcity 154LM Lantern 9.6/10 Not stated 154 lumens Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a lantern, safety means the weather and signaling features the listing actually states, like SOS modes and water resistance; a listing that states none scores low on that line. One of the five lanterns states a warranty term: the JOYEKY, at six months. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
JOYEKY T019 Lantern 9.6 30 21 21 3 3
THORFIRE CL01 Lantern 9.5 29 21 21 3 0
ORUSHE HY-236TD Lantern 9.5 28 20 20 3 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best hand crank lantern for power outage

Start from the crank

Only the THORFIRE states a crank time to light figure: 60 seconds of cranking gives 20 or more minutes of light. The JOYEKY and ORUSHE state a hand crank backup without saying what a minute of cranking earns you, and the Etekcity states no crank at all. If the crank is the reason you are shopping, the one stated figure is the anchor.

Match lumens and modes to the room

The JOYEKY states 1000 lumens and four modes: cold white, natural white, warm white and SOS. The THORFIRE states 65 lumens on high for up to 40 minutes and 15 lumens on low for up to 4.5 hours. The Etekcity states 154 lumens. More stated lumens suit a living room; a low warm mode suits a bedroom during a long night. See our best solar lantern for power outage guide for more outage lighting options.

Look at what else each lantern charges

Two of the five act as small power sources. The THORFIRE states a USB output port that charges phones and other small devices, and the ORUSHE states a USB output port plus SOS signal. The ORUSHE also charges three ways: Type-C, hand crank and solar panel, though its solar panel only generates a 30mA current to maintain the indicator light. For devices that pair with a lantern in an outage kit, see our best emergency radio with power bank guide.

Packs, weather and warranty

Lantern Pack Warranty stated
JOYEKY T019 Lantern 1 6 months
ORUSHE HY-236TD Lantern 2 Not stated
THORFIRE CL01 Lantern 2 Not stated
Mesqool Crank Solar Lantern 1 Not stated
Etekcity 154LM Lantern 2 Not stated

The ORUSHE states water resistance, which suits a porch or a campsite, while the THORFIRE spec table lists its water resistance as not water resistant. Only the JOYEKY states a warranty term. Storm season buyers can compare notes with our best solar lantern for hurricane season picks.

Sizing Notes

  • Match stated lumens to the room: the JOYEKY states 1000 lumens, the THORFIRE 65 on high and 15 on low, and the Etekcity 154.
  • Check the crank figure where stated: 60 seconds of cranking gives 20 or more minutes of light on the THORFIRE; the other crank models state no ratio.
  • Compare stated battery capacity: 6400mAh on the JOYEKY, 2000mAh on the ORUSHE and 3000mAh on the Mesqool.
  • Count packs against rooms: the THORFIRE, ORUSHE and Etekcity ship as 2-packs; the JOYEKY and Mesqool are single lanterns.
  • Keep charging inputs in mind: Type-C, hand crank and solar on the ORUSHE, USB and crank on the THORFIRE, USB cable included with the JOYEKY.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lantern here states the most lumens?

The JOYEKY, at 1000 lumens. The THORFIRE states 65 lumens on high and 15 on low, and the Etekcity states 154 lumens; the ORUSHE and Mesqool state no lumen figure.

How much light does cranking give on the THORFIRE?

The listing states 60 seconds of cranking gives 20 or more minutes of emergency light. The JOYEKY and ORUSHE state a hand crank backup but give no time-to-light figure.

Which lanterns can charge a phone?

The THORFIRE and the ORUSHE both state a USB output port for charging phones and other small devices.

Which lanterns state a warranty?

The JOYEKY states a 6 month warranty; the ORUSHE states no concrete warranty term. The THORFIRE, Mesqool and Etekcity listings state no warranty term.

Does any lantern here add solar charging?

The ORUSHE charges by Type-C, hand crank or solar panel, and the Mesqool is a hand crank solar lantern. The ORUSHE notes its solar panel generates a 30mA current to maintain the indicator light.

JOYEKY T019 Lantern
Still deciding? Our top pickJOYEKY T019 Lantern
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best solar lantern for power outage. Also see our best solar lantern for hurricane season. Also see our best solar lantern for tent. Also see our solar lantern vs battery lantern. Also see our best solar lanterns for emergency. Also see our best emergency radio with power bank.

More picks: solar lantern for backpacking, solar lantern for off-grid cabin, solar lantern vs solar flashlight.