Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Hand Crank Lantern Under $50 (2026): 5 Compared

Eight hand crank lanterns under 50 compared on stated brightness, power options, runtime, water resistance and warranty terms, with every figure from the listings.

Best Hand Crank Lantern Under $50 (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

The best hand crank lantern under 50 keeps working when the power does not, with no outlet to find. We compared five lanterns from the listings, from 154 lumen battery 4-packs to a 400 lumen lantern with 70-hour low runtime, scored on stated brightness, power options, runtime, water resistance and warranty terms. The Mesqool is the only hand crank here, while the Coleman states the longest warranty here.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Mesqool 3000mAh Crank

Mesqool 3000mAh Crank

Mesqool9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

The Mesqool solar hand crank lantern flashlight, a collapsible 350 lumen lantern with a 3000mAh battery, three charging ways and a USB output.

Pros

  • 3000mAh battery stated
  • USB, solar and crank charging
  • Doubles as a phone charger
  • Collapses lantern to flashlight

Cons

  • Dimensions stated two ways
  • Adapter not included
  • Lantern run as low as 4 hours
  • Two wattage figures listed
Detailed Review

The listing states a built-in 3000mAh rechargeable battery charged three ways, USB cable, solar panel and hand crank, full in 2 hours on a 5V/2A adapter that is not included, with a maximum light output of 350 lumens from 12 LEDs at 360 degrees. The lantern mode runs 4-35 hours and the flashlight mode 8-30 hours per the bullets, the USB output charges a phone in an emergency, the rating is IPX4, and the warranty states 18 months. Its dimensions contradict themselves: 3.1 by 3.1 by 4.9 inches in the bullets against 1 by 1 by 1 inches in the spec table.

Who it's for: tent campers who want one light that is lantern, flashlight and emergency phone charger. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the brightest top end, since the Raynic states 650 lumens against 350 here.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery3000mAh rechargeable
Output350 lumens maximum
ChargingUSB, solar, hand crank
RatingIPX4

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4, so safety scores 7 of 10. 18 months warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Etekcity 4-Pack Lantern

Etekcity 4-Pack Lantern

Etekcity9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of battery lanterns with a stated 154 lumens, 50-hour runtime and collapsible design.

Pros

  • 154 lumens with 30 LEDs and 360-degree light stated
  • Up to 50 hours on 3 AA batteries each stated
  • Collapsible design with a storage compartment
  • FCC and RoHS listings stated

Cons

  • 1 year warranty, shorter than the 2-pack's 2 years
  • Spec table lists two different wattage figures
  • Needs 12 AA batteries for the full set
  • 9.12 ounces stated with no per-lantern split
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4-pack of LED camping lanterns with 30 bulbs each, up to 154 lumens, 360-degree light, a collapsible design, up to 50 hours on 3 AA batteries each, water resistant ABS construction, FCC and RoHS listings, 12 AA batteries included and a 1 year warranty. The spec table lists 12 watts of light source wattage against 3 watts elsewhere, so treat the wattage as unclear.

Who it's for: households that want a lantern in every room for outages. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the 2-year warranty, which only the 2-pack states.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness154 lm, 360 deg
Runtimeup to 50 h
Batteries3 AA each, 12 included
Size3.46 x 3.46 x 4.86 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. FCC and RoHS listings stated; water resistant ABS construction stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Coleman 400L Lantern

Coleman 400L Lantern

Coleman9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 400 lumen battery lantern with 70-hour low runtime, IPX4, 1 meter impact resistance and a 3-year limited warranty.

Pros

  • 3-year limited warranty stated, the longest here
  • 70 hours runtime on low, 30 on high, stated
  • IPX4 with 1 meter impact resistance stated
  • Bail handle with carabiner included

Cons

  • Battery only; no crank or solar charging
  • Spec table says 700 lumens against 400 in title and bullets
  • 4 D batteries add weight at 1.4 pounds
  • Red color only per the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a Coleman lantern delivering 400 lumens with a 12 meter beam on high and 8 meters on low, 30 hours runtime on high and 70 on low, IPX4 water resistance and impact resistance up to 1 meter. It runs on 4 D batteries, weighs 1.4 pounds and states a 3-year limited warranty. The spec table lists 700 lumens against 400 in the title and bullets; the title and bullets win.

Who it's for: buyers who want the longest stated warranty and runtime in a simple battery lantern. Who should skip it: anyone who wants crank or solar charging.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness400 lumens
Runtime30h high, 70h low
WaterIPX4 stated
Batteries4 D

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 and 1 meter impact resistance stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 3-year limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Lichamp 4-Pack Lantern

Lichamp 4-Pack Lantern

Lichamp9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of collapsible 350 lumen lanterns with 30-hour battery life and water resistant build.

Pros

  • 350 lumens with 97 sq ft coverage stated
  • 30 hours battery life stated
  • Collapsible with foldaway handles
  • 4-pack covers the whole house

Cons

  • No crank or solar charging; 3 AA batteries not included
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 1.09 kg for the pack
  • Unverifiable material claims in the bullets
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4-pack of LED camping lanterns with 30 LEDs, 350 lumens and 360-degree lighting over 97 sq ft, running on 3 AA batteries (not included) for 30 hours. It lists a collapsible build with foldaway handles, water resistant plastic and 3.38 x 3.38 x 9.56 inches. No crank or solar charging and no warranty term are stated.

Who it's for: buyers who want simple battery lanterns in every room. Who should skip it: anyone who wants crank or solar charging.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness350 lumens
Runtime30 hours stated
Batteries3 AA, not included
WaterWater resistant stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Water resistant stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Eveready X-250 Lantern

Eveready X-250 Lantern

EVEREADY9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of LED lanterns with 250 lumens and up to 100 hours of runtime stated, IPX4 and impact resistant to 1 meter.

Pros

  • 250 lumens stated
  • Up to 100 hours on area mode stated
  • IPX4 and impact resistant to 1 meter stated
  • Runs on 2 or 4 AA batteries

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists water resistance as not water resistant; trust the title and bullets
  • No hand crank is stated
  • 0.66 kg stated with no per-lantern split
Detailed Review

The listing states an Eveready X-250 2-pack of LED camping lanterns with 250 lumens of 360-degree light, up to 100 hours on area mode, IPX4 water resistance, impact resistance to 1 meter, a top handle and batteries included. The spec table lists the water resistance level as not water resistant and gives 50 hours on low against the 100 hour bullets; trust the title and bullets. The manufacturer warranty description states not applicable.

Who it's for: buyers who want the longest stated runtime in a 2-pack. Who should skip it: buyers shopping for a hand crank.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness250 lumens
RuntimeUp to 100 hours
Power2 or 4 AA batteries
WeatherIPX4

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 and impact resistant to 1 meter stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Lantern Solar Score Brightness Power Water Warranty Amazon
Coleman 400L Lantern 9.5/10 400 lumens 4 D batteries IPX4 3 years View on Amazon
Lichamp 4-Pack Lantern 9.5/10 350 lumens 3 AA batteries Water resistant Not stated View on Amazon
Mesqool Crank Lantern 9.6/10 Not stated Crank, solar Not stated Not stated
Eveready X-250 2-Pack 9.5/10 250 lumens Battery Not stated Not stated
Etekcity 4-Pack Lantern 9.6/10 154 lumens Battery Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a hand crank lantern, safety means a stated water resistance figure and sturdy build; listings that state neither score zero on that line. One of the five listings states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Coleman 400L Lantern 9.5 26 21 19 5 4
Lichamp 4-Pack Lantern 9.5 26 20 21 4 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best hand crank lantern under 50

Crank, solar or battery

Only one listing cranks by hand: the Mesqool, which adds solar charging and USB charging. The Coleman, Lichamp, Etekcity and Eveready listings are battery-only: 4 D batteries on the Coleman and 3 AA (not included) on the Lichamp. If the lantern is for outages, crank or solar charging is the point; if it is for a kid’s room, battery simplicity wins. For crank flashlights, see our best hand powered flashlight.

Brightness and runtime

Stated brightness runs from 154 lumens on the Etekcity 4-pack to 400 lumens on the Coleman, with 350 on the Lichamp and 250 on the Eveready. The Mesqool states no brightness figure. Stated runtimes run from 30 hours on the Lichamp to 30 hours high / 70 hours low on the Coleman. For brighter options, see our best solar flashlight under 20.

Water resistance and warranty

Stated water figures are IPX4 on the Coleman and water resistant on the Lichamp. One listing states a warranty term: 3-year limited on the Coleman. The other four state no term.

What the listings leave unclear

The Coleman spec table says 700 lumens against 400 in its title and bullets; the title and bullets win. The Lichamp bullets make material claims no figure backs, so they score nothing here. The three reused listings state only what their titles say. For the headlamp alternative, see our solar flashlight vs headlamp.

Sizing Notes

  • Decide the power first: crank and solar for outages, battery-only for simple room lights.
  • Compare stated lumens: 154 to 400, with one listing stating none.
  • Check stated runtime: 30 hours to 70 hours on low.
  • Water figures stated are IPX4 or water resistant.
  • One listing states a warranty term: 3 years on the Coleman.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do all of these lanterns crank by hand?

No. Only the Mesqool states hand crank charging. The Coleman, Lichamp, Etekcity and Eveready are battery-only.

Which state the highest lumens?

The Coleman at 400, then the Lichamp at 350 and the Eveready at 250. One listing states no figure.

Which state a warranty?

The Coleman states a 3-year limited warranty. The other four state no term.

How long do they run?

The Coleman states 30 hours on high and 70 on low, and the Lichamp 30 hours. The others state no runtime figure.

Can they charge a phone?

The Mesqool states a USB charger function. The others state no phone charging.

Mesqool 3000mAh Crank
Still deciding? Our top pickMesqool 3000mAh Crank
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best hand powered flashlight. Also see our best solar flashlight under 20. Also see our solar flashlight vs headlamp.

More picks: solar flashlight for truck, solar power bank for road trip, solar chargers and power banks.