Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Solar Flashlight vs Headlamp: Which One Should You Buy?

Solar flashlight vs headlamp: two solar flashlights and two headlamps compared on brightness, beam distance, runtime, charging, water ratings and warranty.

Solar Flashlight vs Headlamp: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on solar flashlight vs headlamp: pick a solar flashlight for a handheld beam with serious throw, and pick a headlamp for hands-free light that follows your gaze. The two solar flashlight examples here are a high-output handheld spotlight and a 4-pack of lantern-style lights, while the two headlamp examples are matching 2-packs of 2000-lumen headlamps. We compared the four listings on brightness, beam distance, runtime, charging, water ratings and warranty.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Solar flashlight vs headlamp: side by side

Solar Flashlight vs Headlamp MIXILIN Rechargeable Spotlight TANSOREN 4-Pack Lantern Blukar K9111 Headlamp 2-Pack Blukar K9125 Headlamp 2-Pack Amazon
Type Handheld spotlight 3-in-1 lantern and flashlight, 4-pack Headlamp, 2-pack Headlamp, 2-pack
Brightness 2000000 lumens stated Not stated 2000 lumens 2000 lumens
Beam distance 6000 feet (2000m) stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Runtime 10-30 hours in bullets; 12 hours in table Up to 12 hours 30 hours stated 5 hours in table; 20 hours battery life
Charging Solar 10-20 hrs, USB 4-5 hrs Solar and USB USB-C USB-C
Water rating IPX5 IPX4 IPX5 IPX5
Warranty 2-year free replacement Not stated 1 year 1 year

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

Brightness and beam

The MIXILIN spotlight claims 2000000 lumens with a beam distance of about 6000 feet (2000m), plus a side COB floodlight and 6 light modes. The listing also includes 3 colored lenses for blue, red and yellow light. The TANSOREN 4-pack lists no lumen figure; it is a 3-in-1 COB design sold as a lantern and flashlight. Both Blukar headlamps list 2000 lumens with spotlight and floodlight modes, 8 lighting modes and stepless dimming from 100% to 30%. The headlamps cannot match the spotlight’s claimed throw, but 2000 lumens with a motion sensor is plenty for camp tasks. For more handheld options, see our solar flashlight for camping picks.

Runtime and charging

The MIXILIN lists 10-30 hours of brightness in the bullets against 12 hours in the spec table, so treat the range as uncertain; it charges by USB in 4-5 hours or by solar in 10-20 hours. The TANSOREN lists up to 12 hours of battery life with solar and USB charging. The Blukar K9111 lists a 30-hour runtime with a 1200mAh battery recharged by USB-C. The Blukar K9125 lists 5 hours of runtime in the spec table, 3.5 hours in XPG and COB mode and 5 hours in single mode in the bullets, plus a 20-hour battery life figure, so its numbers disagree; it charges in 2-3 hours by USB-C. Neither headlamp charges by solar; only the two flashlight listings do.

Water ratings and build

The MIXILIN lists an IPX5 rating with an aluminum alloy and ABS body. The TANSOREN lists IPX4 and an ABS body, and notes it cannot be put directly into water. Both Blukar headlamps list an IPX5 rating. None of the four claims more than its IPX figure, so none should be submerged. The MIXILIN weighs 1.3 pounds as a handheld unit; the TANSOREN 4-pack weighs 750g per the listing; each Blukar headlamp is listed at 2.96 ounces (K9111) and 169g (K9125).

What the listings leave unclear

The MIXILIN title writes the lumen figure as 2000,000 while the spec table writes 2000000; both mean the same claimed number, but the formatting differs. Its runtime is 10-30 hours in the bullets and 12 hours in the spec table. The TANSOREN lists no lumen figure at all, so its brightness cannot be compared on paper. The Blukar K9125 gives three different runtime-related figures: 5 hours, 3.5 hours per mode and 20 hours of battery life. The two headlamp listings are near-identical, differing mainly in stated runtime and weight.

Four examples

MIXILIN Rechargeable Spotlight

MIXILIN Rechargeable Spotlight

MIXILIN9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A handheld rechargeable spotlight with a claimed 2000000-lumen output, solar and USB charging, and a 6000-foot beam distance.

Pros

  • 2000000 lumens and 6000-foot beam distance claimed
  • Charges by solar (10-20 hrs) or USB (4-5 hrs)
  • IPX5 rating stated with aluminum alloy body
  • 2 years of free replacement service stated

Cons

  • Bullets say 10-30 hours runtime; the spec table says 12 hours
  • Title writes 2000,000 lumens; the table writes 2000000
  • Built-in battery cannot be removed or replaced by users
  • 1.3 pounds is heavy for a handheld light
Detailed Review

The listing states a handheld rechargeable spotlight claiming 2000000 lumens with a beam distance of about 6000 feet (2000m), 6 light modes including a side COB floodlight, and 3 colored lenses. It charges by solar in 10-20 hours or USB in 4-5 hours, lists 10-30 hours of brightness in the bullets against 12 hours in the spec table, and carries an IPX5 rating with an aluminum alloy and ABS body. It works as a power bank, and the warranty is 2 years of free replacement service. The title formats the lumen figure as 2000,000 while the spec table uses 2000000.

Who it's for: campers and hunters who want a high-output handheld beam with solar charging and a long stated warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a hands-free light or a compact pocket unit.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output2000000 lumens claimed
Beam6000 feet (2000m)
Runtime10-30 hours in bullets
ChargingSolar 10-20 hrs, USB 4-5 hrs

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX5 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 years of free replacement service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Blukar K9111 Headlamp 2-Pack

Blukar K9111 Headlamp 2-Pack

Blukar9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 2000-lumen rechargeable headlamps with 8 modes, stepless dimming and a motion sensor, at 2.96 ounces each.

Pros

  • 2000 lumens with spotlight and floodlight modes
  • 8 modes with stepless dimming and motion sensor
  • IPX5 rating stated
  • Two headlamps in one order

Cons

  • No solar charging; USB-C only
  • 1-year warranty
  • 2000 lumens is far below the spotlight's claimed output
  • Spec table lists 2.96 oz and 220g, which do not match
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of rechargeable LED headlamps with 2000 lumens, 8 lighting modes (5 regular plus 3 sensor), stepless dimming from 100% to 30%, spotlight and floodlight beams, and a motion sensor that toggles the light by hand wave. Each has a 1200mAh battery recharged by USB-C, an IPX5 rating, an adjustable 45-degree lamp head and a listed weight of 2.96 ounces. The spec table lists a 30-hour runtime. The warranty is 1 year. The spec table lists the weight as both 2.96 ounces and 220g, which do not match.

Who it's for: campers, hikers and DIYers who want hands-free light with a motion sensor at a low per-unit weight. Who should skip it: anyone who needs solar charging or a long-throw beam.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 1/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output2000 lumens
Runtime30 hours stated
Battery1200mAh, USB-C
Weight2.96 oz each

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX5 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Blukar K9125 Headlamp 2-Pack

Blukar K9125 Headlamp 2-Pack

Blukar9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 2000-lumen rechargeable headlamps with 8 modes, red light options and a motion sensor, at 169g each.

Pros

  • 2000 lumens with spotlight, floodlight and red light modes
  • 8 modes with stepless dimming and motion sensor
  • IPX5 rating stated
  • Two headlamps in one order

Cons

  • Runtime figures disagree: 5 hours, 3.5 hours and 20 hours
  • No solar charging; USB-C only
  • 1-year warranty
  • Near-identical to the K9111 listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of rechargeable LED headlamps with 2000 lumens, 8 modes including red light and red SOS, stepless dimming, spotlight and floodlight beams, and a motion sensor. Each has a 1200mAh battery charged by USB-C in 2-3 hours, an IPX5 rating and a listed weight of 169g. The runtime figures disagree: the spec table says 5 hours, the bullets say 3.5 hours in XPG and COB mode and 5 hours in single mode, and the table also lists 20 hours of battery life. The warranty is 1 year.

Who it's for: campers who want a 2-pack of hands-free headlamps with red light options. Who should skip it: anyone confused by the conflicting runtime figures or wanting solar charging.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 1/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output2000 lumens
Runtime5 hours in table; 20 hours battery life
Battery1200mAh, USB-C
Weight169g each

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX5 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TANSOREN 4-Pack Lantern

TANSOREN 4-Pack Lantern

TANSOREN9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of 3-in-1 solar and USB rechargeable COB lanterns that work as flashlights, with up to 12 hours of battery life.

Pros

  • Four lanterns in one order
  • Solar and USB charging
  • Up to 12 hours of battery life stated
  • IPX4 rating stated

Cons

  • No lumen figure is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • IPX4 only; cannot be put directly into water
  • 750g listed weight is heavy for a lantern
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4-pack of 3-in-1 solar and USB rechargeable COB LED lanterns that work as flashlights, with up to 12 hours of battery life and an IPX4 water resistance rating. Each measures 5.3 by 2.3 by 9.75 inches and the listed weight is 750g. The listing notes the light cannot be put directly into water. No lumen figure and no warranty term are stated.

Who it's for: families who want several lantern-style lights for tents, rooms or emergency kits with solar charging. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated brightness figure or a warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 22/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Type3-in-1 lantern and flashlight
Count4-pack
RuntimeUp to 12 hours
ChargingSolar and USB

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 rating stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For lights, safety means a stated water resistance rating or protection feature; all four listings state an IPX rating (IPX5 for three, IPX4 for one). Only three state a warranty term: 2 years of free replacement for the MIXILIN and 1 year each for the Blukar pair; the TANSOREN states none. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
MIXILIN Rechargeable Spotlight 9.6 30 20 20 7 4
Blukar K9111 Headlamp 2-Pack 9.6 29 20 20 7 1
Blukar K9125 Headlamp 2-Pack 9.6 28 20 20 7 1
TANSOREN 4-Pack Lantern 9.5 28 19 22 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Solar flashlight vs headlamp: which should you choose?

Choose a solar flashlight for a handheld beam: the MIXILIN suits spotting at distance with its claimed 6000-foot beam and solar charging, while the TANSOREN 4-pack suits spreading lantern light around several tents or rooms. Choose a headlamp for hands-free work: both Blukar 2-packs give 2000 lumens with a motion sensor and stepless dimming, so the light follows the task. If the choice is between lantern and spotlight form, our solar lantern vs solar flashlight guide breaks that down, and solar lantern vs headlamp covers a related matchup.

If you need Look at
Longest claimed beam MIXILIN Rechargeable Spotlight, 6000 feet stated
Lantern light for several spots TANSOREN 4-Pack Lantern
Hands-free with motion sensor Blukar K9111 or K9125 Headlamp 2-Pack
Longest stated warranty MIXILIN, 2 years of free replacement

Sizing Notes

  • Match the light to the task: the spotlight’s claimed 6000-foot beam suits distance, the headlamps suit close work.
  • Check the runtime against the night’s needs: the listings range from 5 hours to 30 hours depending on mode.
  • Confirm the charging source: only the two flashlight listings charge by solar; the headlamps need USB-C.
  • Respect the IPX ratings: IPX5 and IPX4 mean rain-resistant, not submersible.

Frequently Asked Questions

How bright is the MIXILIN spotlight?

The listing claims 2000000 lumens with a beam of about 6000 feet (2000m). The title writes the figure as 2000,000 and the spec table as 2000000.

Do any of these charge by solar?

Yes, the two flashlight listings. The MIXILIN charges by solar in 10-20 hours or USB in 4-5 hours; the TANSOREN charges by solar and USB. The headlamps charge by USB-C only.

Which has the longest runtime?

The Blukar K9111 lists a 30-hour runtime. The MIXILIN lists 10-30 hours in the bullets and 12 hours in the spec table, so its figure is less certain.

Are they water resistant?

The MIXILIN and both Blukar headlamps list an IPX5 rating; the TANSOREN lists IPX4. None should be submerged; the TANSOREN listing says it cannot be put directly into water.

What warranty do they have?

The MIXILIN lists 2 years of free replacement service. Both Blukar headlamps list a 1-year warranty. The TANSOREN lists no warranty term.

MIXILIN Rechargeable Spotlight
Still deciding? Our top pickMIXILIN Rechargeable Spotlight
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More picks: see solar flashlights for camping, solar flashlights for hiking and hand powered flashlights.