On this page
Dusk on the patio starts well and ends with everyone swatting at the air, which is exactly the moment a solar bug zapper earns its place. This guide to the best solar bug zapper for backyard use compares five solar bug zappers on grid voltage, stated coverage, battery runtime, charging and weather ratings, with every figure taken from the listings. Five more listings sit one shelf below as examples, so the same features can be checked against a wider slice of the market.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Zwiran Dual-Panel Zapper: 1-year warranty, dual panels and sensor auto mode Check price on Amazon
Best 1-Acre Coverage OnBeam Solar Bug Zapper: 10W tilting panel, 4500V grid and 1-acre stated coverage Check price on Amazon
Best 3-Mode Pick zechuan A-B570 Zapper: auto, manual and off modes with dual foldable panels Check price on Amazon
Best IP66 Pick zechuan SE668 Zapper: highest stated weather rating plus 14 lighting modes Check price on Amazon
Best Battery Pick Zwiran T300 Zapper: 5000mAh battery with 2 to 3 hour Type-C recharge Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Zwiran Dual-Panel Zapper | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | OnBeam Solar Bug Zapper | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | zechuan A-B570 Zapper | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | zechuan SE668 Zapper | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Zwiran T300 Zapper | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Zwiran Dual-Panel Zapper
A 4500V solar bug zapper with dual solar panels and a stated 1/2-acre coverage.
Pros
- Dual solar panels for faster charging per the listing
- 1/2-acre stated coverage with 20 attractant lights
- Auto light-sensor mode plus an always-on mode
- 1-year warranty and 24/7 customer service stated
Cons
- 1/2-acre stated coverage trails the 1-acre picks
- Spec table lists almost nothing beyond the color
- No panel wattage is stated
- USB recharge takes 4 hours per the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4500V electric grid with 20 lights at 365-395nm, a 4000mAh battery with up to 12 hours of runtime, and 4-hour USB charging alongside the dual solar panels. The weather rating is IPX5, the narrow safety grid is meant to protect fingers and pets, and the unit is EPA registered. The 10ft extension cable lets the panel sit in the sun while the zapper hangs from the 2.6ft chain in shade. Almost every figure comes from the bullets, because the spec table lists only the manufacturer and the color.
Who it's for: a backyard or patio where the panel and the zapper need different spots, and a buyer who wants a stated warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the largest stated coverage, since the 1-acre listings cover more ground.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Grid | 4500V |
|---|---|
| Coverage | 1/2 acre |
| Battery | 4000mAh, up to 12 hours |
| Weather | IPX5 stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX5 water resistance, narrow safety grid and EPA registration stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

OnBeam Solar Bug Zapper
A 4500V solar bug zapper with a 10W adjustable panel and a stated 1-acre coverage.
Pros
- Stated 1-acre coverage, the largest of the picks
- 10W monocrystalline panel with 3-way tilt
- AUTO mode that activates at dusk
- Protective mesh and EPA registration stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Two LED bulbs is the only attractant detail given
- USB charging takes 3 to 4 hours per the listing
- 9.8 x 11.1 x 14.92 in size needs a solid mount point
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4500V shock grid with 2 LED bulbs at 365-395 nm, a 1-acre coverage area, and a 10W monocrystalline panel with 3-way adjustable tilt for flat or dual-side incline. The 4000mAh battery gives up to 12 hours of protection, USB charging takes 3 to 4 hours over the included 4ft cable, and the kit adds a 2.6ft hanging chain, two ground stakes and a 10ft panel extension cable. The housing pairs an aluminum frame with ABS, the weather rating is IPX5, and the unit is EPA registered. No contradiction between the title, bullets and spec table.
Who it's for: a large yard that needs the widest stated coverage and a panel that tilts toward the sun. Who should skip it: a buyer who insists on a stated warranty, since this listing states none.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Grid | 4500V |
|---|---|
| Coverage | 1 acre |
| Panel | 10W, 3-way tilt |
| Battery | 4000mAh, up to 12 hours |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX5 water resistance, protective mesh and EPA registration stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

zechuan A-B570 Zapper
A 4500V solar bug zapper with dual foldable panels and a stated 1-acre coverage.
Pros
- Stated 1-acre coverage, the largest of the picks
- Dual foldable panels with multi-angle adjustment
- Auto, manual and off modes for flexible use
- Protective safety mesh and 24-hour customer support stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Shares model number A-B570 with a near-identical listing
- 5.8 lb is the heaviest of the picks
- Bulb count is not stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4500V grid, 365-395nm LED attractant light, a 1-acre coverage area, and dual foldable solar panels that charge by day while auto mode activates the zapper at dusk. A full Type-C charge takes 3 to 4 hours for up to 12 hours of operation, and the kit includes a 2.6ft hanging chain, 2 ground stakes and a 10ft solar extension cable. The weather rating is IPX5 and the housing is ABS with aluminum. One flag: the model number A-B570 is identical to the OnBeam listing's, and the two listings share the same chain, stake and cable kit, so they read as the same unit under two brands.
Who it's for: a buyer who wants the 1-acre coverage class with manual mode for 24/7 use. Who should skip it: anyone wary of near-duplicate listings, since the shared model number makes comparison shopping harder.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Grid | 4500V |
|---|---|
| Coverage | 1 acre |
| Runtime | Up to 12 hours |
| Weight | 5.8 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX5 water resistance and protective safety mesh stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- IP66 stated, the highest weather rating of the picks
- 14 dynamic lighting modes as a bonus
- Light sensor turns it on at dusk and off at dawn
- Hanging chain and ground stake included
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 2100 sq ft of stated coverage is modest
- No battery capacity is stated
- No USB charge time is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4500V grid, 2100 sq.ft of coverage, and a bonus set of 14 dynamic lighting modes for ambiance. A built-in light sensor switches the unit on at dusk and off at dawn, and charging runs on solar with Type-C wired charging as backup. The housing is metal and plastic at 5.6 lb and 14.9 x 6.7 x 28.8 in, the weather rating is IP66, and a hanging chain plus ground stake come in the box. No contradiction between the title, bullets and spec table, though the battery size and charge time are simply not stated.
Who it's for: an exposed spot where the highest stated weather rating matters most. Who should skip it: a buyer who wants stated battery figures, since this listing gives none.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Grid | 4500V |
|---|---|
| Coverage | 2100 sq ft |
| Weather | IP66 stated |
| Weight | 5.6 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP66 weather rating and tight protective mesh stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Zwiran T300 Zapper
A 4200V solar bug zapper with a 5000mAh battery and a stated 2100 sq ft of coverage.
Pros
- 5000mAh battery, the largest stated capacity
- 2 to 3 hour Type-C recharge stated
- Ground bracket and hanging hook included
- 3.2 lb, the lowest weight stated of the picks
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 4200V grid is lower than the 4500V picks
- 2100 sq ft of stated coverage is modest
- No protective mesh is mentioned in the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4200V grid covering up to 2100 sq. ft., a 5000mAh rechargeable battery with up to 12 hours of use, and a 2 to 3 hour Type-C recharge. The unit ships with a ground bracket for the yard and a hanging hook with an illuminated light for tents and trees, weighs 3.2 lb at 5 x 10 x 7 in, and carries an IPX5 weather rating. The listing notes an EPA Establishment Number. No contradiction between the title, bullets and spec table; the listing simply does not mention a protective mesh.
Who it's for: campers and renters who want the biggest stated battery and the lowest-weight unit. Who should skip it: a buyer who wants the highest grid voltage or a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Grid | 4200V |
|---|---|
| Coverage | 2100 sq ft |
| Battery | 5000mAh, up to 12 hours |
| Weight | 3.2 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX5 water resistance and EPA establishment listing stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Zwiran Solar Bug Zapper OutdoorCheck on Amazon
jepwe Solar Bug Zapper OutdoorCheck on Amazon
Jinyeda Solar Bug Zapper OutdoorCheck on Amazon
Jahy2Tech 4Pack Solar Bug Zapper OutdoorCheck on Amazon
Lycxbfjia 2026 Solar Bug Zapper OutdoorCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Zapper | Solar Score | Grid | Coverage | Battery | Weather | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zwiran Dual-Panel Zapper | 9.6/10 | 4500V | 1/2 acre | 4000mAh, up to 12 h | IPX5 | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| OnBeam Solar Bug Zapper | 9.6/10 | 4500V | 1 acre | 4000mAh, up to 12 h | IPX5 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| zechuan A-B570 Zapper | 9.6/10 | 4500V | 1 acre | Up to 12 h | IPX5 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| zechuan SE668 Zapper | 9.6/10 | 4500V | 2100 sq ft | Not stated | IP66 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Zwiran T300 Zapper | 9.6/10 | 4200V | 2100 sq ft | 5000mAh, up to 12 h | IPX5 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For bug zappers, safety means the stated weather rating and the protective mesh around the high-voltage grid: all five picks state IPX5 or IP66, and most name a protective mesh. One of the five states a warranty with a concrete term, the Zwiran dual-panel pick with its 1-year warranty; the rest state none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zwiran Dual-Panel Zapper | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 4 |
| OnBeam Solar Bug Zapper | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| zechuan A-B570 Zapper | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| zechuan SE668 Zapper | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| Zwiran T300 Zapper | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar bug zapper for backyard
Match the coverage to the space
Coverage is the first filter, and the listings state it in three different units, so compare like with like:
| Listing | Stated coverage |
|---|---|
| OnBeam | 1 acre |
| zechuan A-B570 | 1 acre |
| Zwiran dual-panel | 1/2 acre |
| zechuan SE668 | 2100 sq ft |
| Zwiran T300 | 2100 sq ft |
These are maker claims, not measured figures, and no listing converts between acres and square feet, so treat them as a ranking between listings rather than a promise for your yard. For patios specifically, the best solar bug zapper for patio roundup scores a separate set of picks.
Battery, runtime and recharge
Four of the five picks state up to 12 hours of runtime on a full charge. The stated batteries run from 4000mAh on the OnBeam and the Zwiran dual-panel to 5000mAh on the Zwiran T300, the largest stated capacity. Recharge times over Type-C run from 2 to 3 hours on the T300 to 3 to 4 hours on the OnBeam and the zechuan A-B570, with 4 hours on the Zwiran dual-panel. The zechuan SE668 states no battery capacity and no charge time at all. Match the stated runtime against how many dark hours the unit needs to cover, and remember the panels do the daytime refilling.
Weather rating: IPX5 vs IP66
Four picks state IPX5 and one, the zechuan SE668, states IP66, the highest rating of the five. The listings describe these ratings as the maker’s claim about rain and weather exposure. A higher code states nothing beyond what the listing spells out, so read the bullet that carries the rating. For the solar-versus-mains question, see solar bug zapper vs electric bug zapper.
More listings worth a look
Five more listings fit this topic but are not ranked above. The Zwiran 3-in-1 states a 4200V grid, 2100 Sq. Ft. of coverage, a 3000mAh battery with up to 10 hours of runtime, IPX5, 10 lighting effects with 4-color cycling, 4 extension poles and a 1-year service term, with an EPA Establishment Number listed. The jepwe states a 4500V grid, 1/2 Acre of coverage, IPX5, a 2.6 ft hanging chain, two ground stakes, a 10 ft extension cable, 365-395nm UV light and projector lights, and is EPA registered. The Jinyeda states a 4500V grid, 2,100 sq. ft. of coverage, a 10W panel, a 4000mAh battery with up to 12 hours of runtime, IPX4, a 9.8ft extension cord and a water wave projector. The Jahy2Tech 4-pack states an IP66 rating, 365nm-395nm UV light, 24/7 technical assistance and a 12-month quality commitment. The Lycxbfjia 4-pack states an IP65 rating, a per-unit size of 3.2 x 3.2 x 18.5 in, a 1 Year Manufacturer warranty, and a UV zap mode plus a white LED landscape mode.
Campers should also check best solar bug zapper for camping, which scores picks for tent and trail use.
Sizing Notes
- Match the stated coverage (1 acre, 1/2 acre or 2100 sq ft) against the space to protect; the listings give no conversion between these units.
- Set the stated battery capacity (4000mAh to 5000mAh) against the stated runtime (up to 12 hours) for the nights you need covered.
- Check the stated Type-C recharge time (2 to 4 hours) against how many daylight hours the panel will see.
- Match the stated weather rating (IPX5 or IP66) against where the unit will sit, and confirm the listing mentions a protective mesh if kids or pets are around.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long do these bug zappers run on a full charge?
Four of the five ranked listings state up to 12 hours of runtime. The extra Zwiran 3-in-1 listing states up to 10 hours on its 3000mAh battery.
What weather ratings do the listings state?
Four ranked picks state IPX5 and the zechuan SE668 states IP66. The extra 4-packs state IP66 and IP65. These are maker claims about rain and weather exposure.
Do any of these listings state a warranty?
The Zwiran dual-panel pick states a 1-year warranty. Among the extra listings, the Lycxbfjia 4-pack states a 1 Year Manufacturer warranty and the Jahy2Tech 4-pack states a 12-month quality commitment. The other ranked listings state no warranty term.
Can the coverage figures be compared directly?
The listings state 1 acre, 1/2 acre or 2100 sq ft as maker claims, and none converts between these units. Use them to rank listings against each other, not as a measured promise.
Do these zappers need an outlet?
No. All five ranked listings charge from a solar panel and offer Type-C USB charging as backup. None of the listings requires a mains outlet.
Related guides
See every camping and emergency gear guide and all power stations and generators guides.
More picks: solar bug zappers for patios, solar bug zappers for camping, solar vs electric bug zappers and solar bug zappers for mosquitoes.





