On this page
The short answer on solar bug zapper vs electric bug zapper: pick the solar side for patios and gardens without an outlet, where the examples here run on sunlight and one switches itself on after dark; pick the electric side for porches and garages with an outlet, where the example plugs in, replaces its bulb and states a warranty. This article compares two solar bug zappers and one plug-in electric zapper on what each listing states: grid voltage, coverage, light, run time, setup and warranty. The electric example states the most checkable specs and the only warranty term; the solar pair offers cordless, clutter-free operation.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Solar bug zapper vs electric bug zapper: side by side
| Solar Bug Zapper vs Electric Bug Zapper | GOOTOP 4200V Electric | PIC 600V Twin Pack | PIC DFST Solar Torch | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Side | Electric bug zapper | Solar bug zapper | Solar bug zapper | |
| Grid voltage | 4200V | 600V | Not stated | |
| Coverage | Up to 1/2 acre | Up to 1/2 acre | Not stated | |
| Light | 15W bulb, replaceable | LED flickering flame | Flickering flame LED, blue UV LED | |
| Run time | Runs when plugged in | 6+ hours on full charge | Not stated | |
| Activation | Starts when plugged in | Auto-activates at night | Not stated | |
| Package | 1 unit, brush included | Twin pack | 1 torch, 3 poles, stake, base | |
| Weight | 980 g | 1.1 pounds | 2 pounds | |
| Warranty | 1 year | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
Power source and run time
This is the cleanest split between the two sides. The PIC twin pack states a solar panel that charges the unit and 6+ hours of run time on a full charge, with no cord and no outlet needed. The PIC torch charges with natural sunlight and the listing states it can be left outside in the elements, but it states no run time figure. The GOOTOP is the opposite: a 3-prong plug-in that starts working when plugged in, with no warm up, so its run time is simply the time it stays plugged in. A solar zapper trades the cord for a battery the listing must describe; only the PIC twin pack here states a run time.
Grid voltage and coverage
Only two of the three listings state a grid figure. The GOOTOP example states a 4200V grid, and the PIC twin pack example states a 600V grid; the PIC torch example states no grid voltage at all. On coverage the two stated figures match: the PIC twin pack and the GOOTOP each state coverage of up to 1/2 acre, while the PIC torch states no coverage figure. That makes the twin pack the only solar example here with stated numbers on both grid and coverage, and the GOOTOP the only example with a stated warranty term behind its numbers.
Setup and placement
All three listings target patios, gardens, porches and decks, but they set up differently. The PIC torch ships with three poles for heights of 48, 36 and 24 in, a ground stake for the garden and a tabletop base, so it works as a path torch or a table unit. The PIC twin pack lists the same flexibility: garden torch, path light or tabletop unit, with a flickering flame LED that also serves as accent light. The GOOTOP hangs where a 3-prong outlet reaches and cleans with the included brush over its tray, and it is the only example rated for indoor use as well as outdoor. For more solar options for the campsite, see the best solar bug zapper for camping guide.
What the listings leave unclear
Each listing has gaps, and the gaps differ by side. The PIC torch leaves the most unclear: no grid voltage, no coverage figure, no run time figure, and a spec table that lists the power source as “wood”, which contradicts the solar title and bullets; trust the title and bullets. The PIC twin pack states a grid figure, coverage and run time but states no warranty term and no certification. The GOOTOP states a warranty term and EPA registration but states no bulb life figure and no cord length. An unclear figure is not a win for the other side; it is a reason to read the listing again before buying. For mosquito-focused solar options, see the best solar bug zapper for mosquitoes guide.
Three examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | GOOTOP 4200V Electric | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | PIC 600V Twin Pack | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | PIC DFST Solar Torch | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

GOOTOP 4200V Electric
A plug-in electric bug zapper with a 4200V grid, a replaceable 15W bulb and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- 4200V grid stated
- 15W bulb replaceable stated
- EPA registered stated
- 1-year manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- Needs a 3-prong outlet
- No cord length stated
- No bulb life figure stated
- 980 g stated with no mounting hardware detail
Detailed Review
The listing states a plug-in electric bug zapper with a 4200V grid, a replaceable 15W bulb, EPA registration, coverage of up to 1/2 acre, indoor and outdoor use, a tray cleaned with the included brush, ABS plastic construction, and 980 g in a 7.5 by 6.7 by 12 in body. It starts working when plugged in, with no warm up. Coverage is a 1-year manufacturer warranty.
Who it's for: buyers with an outlet near the patio or garage who want a stated grid figure, a replaceable bulb and a warranty term. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a cordless unit or a stated coverage beyond 1/2 acre.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Grid | 4200V |
|---|---|
| Bulb | 15W, replaceable |
| Coverage | Up to 1/2 acre |
| Weight | 980 g |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. EPA registered stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PIC 600V Twin Pack
A twin pack of solar bug zappers with a 600V grid, night auto-activation and 6+ hours of run time per charge.
Pros
- 600V grid stated
- Runs 6+ hours on a full charge stated
- Auto-activates in the dark stated
- Covers up to 1/2 acre stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No certification stated
- Bulb replacement not mentioned
- 1.1 pounds stated with no per-unit split
Detailed Review
The listing states a twin pack of solar bug zappers with a 600V grid, UV light that attracts flying insects, a removable catch tray, a patented LED that mimics a flame, automatic activation at night, coverage of up to 1/2 acre, 6+ hours of run time on a full charge, and year-round outdoor use against mosquitoes, moths, June beetles and flies. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: buyers who want two cordless solar zappers that switch themselves on after dark. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term or a replaceable bulb.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Grid | 600V |
|---|---|
| Coverage | Up to 1/2 acre |
| Run time | 6+ hours on full charge |
| Pack | Twin pack |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PIC DFST Solar Torch
A solar bug zapper torch with a flickering flame LED, a blue UV LED and stakes for three heights.
Pros
- Flickering flame LED plus blue UV LED stated
- Adjustable heights of 48, 36 and 24 in stated
- Tabletop base and ground stake included
- Left outside in the elements stated
Cons
- No grid voltage stated
- No coverage figure stated
- No warranty term is stated
- No run time figure stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a solar bug zapper torch with a flickering flame LED, a blue UV LED that attracts flying insects, solar charging, use left outside in the elements, three pole heights of 48, 36 and 24 in, and a package of 1 torch, 3 poles, 2 connectors, 1 ground stake and 1 tabletop base, at 2 pounds. Note a contradiction: the spec table lists the power source as 'wood', which the solar title and bullets contradict; trust the title and bullets. No grid voltage, coverage or warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: buyers who want a torch-style solar zapper that doubles as an accent light. Who should skip it: anyone who wants stated grid, coverage or warranty figures.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 63 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Light | Flickering flame LED, blue UV LED |
|---|---|
| Heights | 48, 36 and 24 in |
| Package | 1 torch, 3 poles, stake, base |
| Weight | 2 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a bug zapper, safety means stated certifications or registrations the listing actually states, and one of the three picks states EPA registration and scores on that line. One of the three picks states a warranty with a concrete term: the GOOTOP with 1 year. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GOOTOP 4200V Electric | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 19 | 5 | 3 |
| PIC 600V Twin Pack | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| PIC DFST Solar Torch | 9.3 | 26 | 19 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Solar bug zapper vs electric bug zapper: which should you choose?
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| No outlet nearby | PIC 600V Twin Pack, cordless with 6+ hours on a full charge |
| A stated warranty term | GOOTOP 4200V Electric, 1 year stated |
| A replaceable bulb | GOOTOP 4200V Electric, 15W bulb stated |
| Night auto-activation | PIC 600V Twin Pack, activates in the dark |
| Torch styling with a tabletop base | PIC DFST Solar Torch, three heights stated |
Sizing Notes
- Match the stated coverage to the space: the PIC twin pack and the GOOTOP each state up to 1/2 acre; the PIC torch states no coverage figure.
- Compare grid figures as stated per listing: 600V on the PIC twin pack, 4200V on the GOOTOP, none stated on the PIC torch.
- Count what the package includes: the twin pack is two units, the torch is 1 torch with 3 poles, 2 connectors, a stake and a tabletop base, and the GOOTOP includes a brush for the tray.
- Check run time the way each side states it: 6+ hours on a full charge for the twin pack, no run time stated for the torch, and plugged-in operation for the GOOTOP.
- Read the warranty line: 1 year stated on the GOOTOP, none stated on the two PIC examples.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which zapper here covers the biggest area?
The PIC twin pack and the GOOTOP each state coverage of up to 1/2 acre, so they tie on the stated figure. The PIC torch states no coverage figure.
Which zapper states a replaceable bulb?
The GOOTOP, with a replaceable 15W bulb; dead bugs fall onto a tray cleaned with the included brush. The two solar examples state no replaceable bulb.
Do any of these run without an outlet?
Yes. The two PIC examples charge with sunlight and run cordless, and the twin pack states 6+ hours of run time on a full charge. The GOOTOP is a 3-prong plug-in.
Which zapper states a warranty?
The GOOTOP, with a 1-year manufacturer warranty. The two PIC listings state no warranty term.
Is the PIC torch really solar powered?
The title and bullets describe a solar bug zapper, but the spec table lists the power source as “wood”. That contradicts the solar title and bullets, so trust the title and bullets.
Related guides
See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see the best solar bug zapper for camping. Also see the best solar bug zapper for mosquitoes. Also see the best solar bug zapper for yard. Also see the best outdoor solar bug zapper for mosquitoes. Also see the best solar bug zapper for 1 acre.







