On this page
A best solar lantern for boat earns its keep after sunset in a quiet anchorage, when the cabin needs light and no cord runs to shore power. This guide compares solar lantern listings on stated lumens, runtime, charging routes, weather codes and warranty terms, then ranks them with the Solar Score. Some listings give full detail, others give only a title, and further listings sit in the more picks below. The listings below range from fully detailed pairs to title-only singles, so the ranking weighs stated detail alongside brightness and runtime.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall BANBANJO Solar Lantern 2-Pack: 800 lumens, 2 modes and USB plus solar charging in a 2-pack Check price on Amazon
Best for Hanging d.light S30 Solar Lantern: 360-degree light, 3 brightness settings and up to 12 hours per charge Check price on Amazon
Highest Lumens Listed TechRise Solar Camping Lantern: 4000LM, 6700mAh and 3 modes stated in the title Check price on Amazon
Collapsible 2-Pack XTAUTO Collapsible Lantern: Collapsible pair with USB charging for stowing aboard Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BANBANJO Solar Lantern 2-Pack | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | d.light S30 Solar Lantern | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | TechRise 4000LM Lantern | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | XTAUTO Camping Lantern | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

BANBANJO Solar Lantern 2-Pack
A 2-pack of solar lanterns with 22 LEDs, a flickering flame mode and a steady mode, charging by USB and solar.
Pros
- 800 lumens from 22 LEDs for a bright cockpit light
- Flame flicker and steady modes for mood or work light
- USB charging in 3-4 hours plus solar charging in 6-8 hours
- IP65 code stated and a 2-pack for cabin and cockpit
Cons
- No runtime figure is stated, only charging times
- No battery capacity is stated
- No weight is stated
- No dimensions are stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 800 lumens from 22 LEDs, a flame flicker mode and a steady mode, a light sensor that turns the lantern on at dusk and off at dawn, and dual charging by USB in 3-4 hours and solar in 6-8 hours. It also states an IP65 code, a hemp rope for hanging, and a PVC body, with no runtime, battery capacity, weight or dimensions stated.
Who it's for: boat owners who want a pair of lanterns for cabin and cockpit with both USB and solar charging. Who should skip it: owners who need a stated runtime or battery capacity figure before choosing.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Light output | 800 lumens |
|---|---|
| Light sources | 22 LEDs |
| Charging | USB 3-4 hours, solar 6-8 hours |
| Weather code | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 code stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 6-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

d.light S30 Solar Lantern
A solar lantern with 3 brightness settings, 360-degree light and a metal hanging handle, running up to 12 hours on a charge.
Pros
- Up to 12 hours of light from a 450 mAh battery
- 3 brightness settings with 360-degree coverage
- Metal hanging handle for cabin hooks and tent loops
- 2-year warranty term stated, covering failure from normal use
Cons
- No lumen figure is stated, so brightness cannot be compared directly
- Only solar charging is listed, with no USB route stated
- Spec table lists part number S20 against model S30
- Bullets use stronger weather wording than the spec table Water Resistant level
Detailed Review
The listing states a 450 mAh battery with up to 12 hours of light, 3 brightness settings, 360-degree coverage, a metal hanging handle, a 0.3 watt light source at 3.2 volts, and dimensions of 3.54 by 3.54 by 7.67 inches at 0.2 kg. Two points differ inside the listing: the spec table lists part number S20 while the model is S30, and the bullets use stronger weather wording than the spec table Water Resistant level, so this review follows the title and bullets on the model and the spec table on the weather level.
Who it's for: boat owners who want a small hanging lantern with a long stated runtime and a 2-year warranty term. Who should skip it: owners who need a stated lumen figure or a USB charging route.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Light source | 0.3 watts |
|---|---|
| Battery | 450 mAh |
| Run time | Up to 12 hours |
| Size | 3.54 x 3.54 x 7.67 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Water Resistant level stated in the spec table, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TechRise 4000LM Lantern
A 4,000-lumen lantern with a 6,700mAh battery, phone-charging port, hook, magnet and stand, and IP65 stated.
Pros
- 4,000 lumens with 3 brightness levels and 3 color temperatures
- 6,700mAh battery doubles as a USB power bank
- Hook, magnets and 360-degree swivel stand
- IP65 code stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists 3 nonstandard batteries against the one built-in pack
- 4.53 by 4.72 by 1.77 inches, the largest unit here
- Solar is a trickle backup, not the main charge
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4,000-lumen LED camping lantern with 3 adjustable brightness levels and cool, natural and warm white color temperatures, a 6,700mAh battery with up to 72 hours of runtime at dim brightness, and a USB port that charges phones. It lists USB-C fast charging with a 22% solar panel as backup, a flip-out hook, strong magnets and a 360-degree swivel stand, an IP65 code, anti-slip shock-resistant materials, and 4.53 by 4.72 by 1.77 inches. The spec table lists 3 nonstandard batteries while the bullets describe one built-in 6,700mAh pack; trust the bullets. After-sales support is listed with no warranty term.
Who it's for: campers who want the highest stated output here with phone charging for outages. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 4000 lumens, 3 color temps |
|---|---|
| Battery | 6700mAh, USB power bank |
| Runtime | Up to 72h stated |
| Weather | IP65 stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XTAUTO Camping Lantern
A 2-pack of collapsible solar lanterns with USB charging, 25+ hours of stated runtime and a 6-month warranty.
Pros
- Solar plus USB charging
- 25+ hours of lighting stated when fully charged
- Collapsible to phone size with a folding handle
- Overcharge protection stated
Cons
- No lumen figure is stated
- Only 1600mAh stated
- 6-month warranty is the shortest clear term here
- ABS plastic build
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack of collapsible camping lanterns with solar and USB charging, a 1600mAh battery, 25+ hours of lighting when fully charged, 360-degree coverage from 6+1 LEDs and a 5W rating. It states overcharge protection, a water-resistant ABS build and a 6-month warranty, at 3.54 by 3.54 by 7.68 inches.
Who it's for: outage kits and campers who want USB backup charging in a packable lantern. Who should skip it: buyers who want stated lumens or a longer warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 2/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charging | Solar + USB |
|---|---|
| Runtime | 25+ hours |
| Battery | 1600mAh |
| Size | 3.54 x 3.54 x 7.68 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overcharge protection stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. "6 month warranty" stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Glocusent 400H Camping LanternPocket-size lantern with 5 brightness levels and a red SOS modeCheck on Amazon
SAMUUN LED Camping Lantern2000-lumen lantern with 5 light modes and solar plus USB chargingCheck on Amazon
Westinghouse Solar Camping Lantern1000-lumen lantern with 5 lighting modes and IPX4 statedCheck on Amazon
LETMY 4 Pack Camping LanternFour-pack lantern with solar, USB and AA battery power optionsCheck on Amazon
Ticolegee Solar Camping LanternCollapsible lantern with 3 color temperatures and USB-C plus solar chargingCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Solar Lantern | Solar Score | Charging | Weather Code | Pack Size | Modes | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BANBANJO Solar Lantern 2-Pack | 9.7/10 | USB and solar | IP65 | 2 | 2 modes | View on Amazon |
| d.light S30 Solar Lantern | 9.6/10 | Solar | Water Resistant | 1 | 3 brightness settings | View on Amazon |
| TechRise Solar Camping Lantern | 9.5/10 | Solar | IP65 | Not stated | 3 modes | |
| XTAUTO Collapsible Lantern | 9.5/10 | Solar and USB | Not stated | 2 | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 29 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a lantern, safety means the weather code the listing states; a lantern that states none scores zero on that line. 2 of the 4 picks state a warranty term, the d.light S30 at 2 years and the BANBANJO pair at 6 months, and the title-only listings state none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BANBANJO Solar Lantern 2-Pack | 9.7 | 32 | 20 | 21 | 8 | 2 |
| d.light S30 Solar Lantern | 9.6 | 26 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 4 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar lantern for boat
Start from lumens and runtime
Lumens and runtime decide whether a lantern works for a cockpit table or only for a bunk. The BANBANJO listing states 800 lumens from 22 LEDs, while the d.light S30 states no lumen figure but lists up to 12 hours on a charge from a 450 mAh battery. The TechRise title states 4000LM with no runtime, so its brightness figure stands without a runtime to pair it with. A lantern that states neither figure, like the XTAUTO title, leaves both questions open. Brightness alone does not settle a cabin light, since a bright lantern with no stated runtime may fade before the night ends, while a listing with a long stated runtime keeps the table lit. For a metal build, see the metal solar lantern guide; the d.light S30 lists a metal shade material and a metal hanging handle.
Check the charging route
A boat lantern should charge the way the boat can supply power. The BANBANJO listing states both routes with times, USB charging in 3-4 hours and solar charging in 6-8 hours, while the d.light S30 lists solar power only, with no USB route stated. The XTAUTO title lists solar and USB charging but gives no times, and the TechRise title lists solar charging only. A solar-only listing suits a boat that sits in sun all day, while a dual-route listing suits a boat that spends nights under cover or in shade, since USB charging fills the gap when sun is short. For a lantern that charges over USB, see the rechargeable camping lantern with USB charging guide.
Compare weather codes and charging at a glance
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| IP65 code with USB and solar charging | BANBANJO Solar Lantern 2-Pack, IP65, USB 3-4 hours and solar 6-8 hours |
| Longest stated runtime | d.light S30 Solar Lantern, up to 12 hours, solar charging |
| IP65 in the title with solar charging | TechRise Solar Camping Lantern, IP65 as titled, solar charging as titled |
| Collapsible pair with USB charging | XTAUTO Collapsible Lantern, solar and USB charging as titled |
Read the warranty line
Warranty terms here range from a full term to nothing stated at all. The d.light S30 states a 2-year term covering failure from normal use, including the battery, while the BANBANJO listing states 6 months. Neither title-only listing states a warranty term, so a buyer who wants cover in writing should weigh the two documented listings first. A short term still beats no term, since it gives the buyer a written line to point to, while a title-only listing gives no line at all.
Sizing Notes
- Match lumens to the space: the BANBANJO listing states 800 lumens, while the TechRise title states 4000LM and the d.light S30 states no lumen figure, and a lantern with no lumen figure cannot be ranked on brightness at all.
- Match runtime to the night: the d.light S30 states up to 12 hours, while the BANBANJO listing states charging times and no runtime.
- Match the charging route to the boat: the BANBANJO listing states USB and solar charging, the d.light S30 lists solar power only, and the XTAUTO title lists solar and USB charging.
- Match the weather code to exposure: IP65 is stated for the BANBANJO lanterns and in the TechRise title, Water Resistant is the d.light S30 level, and the XTAUTO title states no code.
- Match size and stowage to the cabin: the d.light S30 measures 3.54 by 3.54 by 7.67 inches at 0.2 kg, and the XTAUTO title describes a collapsible pair.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which main pick states the longest runtime?
The d.light S30, at up to 12 hours on a charge. The BANBANJO listing states charging times but no runtime, and the two title-only listings state no runtime figure. A stated runtime also helps a buyer plan the night, since charging times alone say nothing about how long the light lasts after dark.
Which lanterns charge by both USB and solar?
The BANBANJO 2-pack, with USB charging in 3-4 hours and solar charging in 6-8 hours. The XTAUTO title also lists solar and USB charging, but gives no charging times.
Can these lanterns hang in a boat cabin?
The d.light S30 lists a metal hanging handle, and the BANBANJO lanterns list a hemp rope for hanging. Both suit hooks, cabin rails and tent loops named in the listings.
What weather code fits a wet cockpit?
The BANBANJO listing and the TechRise title both state IP65. The d.light S30 states a Water Resistant level with no code, and the XTAUTO title states no weather code.
Are any of these sold as a pair?
The BANBANJO lanterns and the XTAUTO lanterns are both 2-packs. The d.light S30 lists a count of 1, and the TechRise title names one lantern.
Related guides
See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.
More picks: hand-crank lantern for camping, flexible solar panel for boat, battery charger for a boat.




