Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Solar Lantern for Storm Shelter (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five solar lanterns for storm shelters compared on brightness, battery size, runtime, charging ways and warranty terms, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Solar Lantern for Storm Shelter (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

When the lights go out and a household moves into a shelter room for the night, a best solar lantern for storm shelter keeps that room usable without a flame or a cord to an outlet. We compared the lanterns here on brightness, battery size, runtime, charging ways and weather protection, using only what each listing states. The pocket lantern leads on runtime and color choice, while the multi-pack covers more rooms, and the flame lantern suits a calmer corner.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Glocusent 400H Pocket Lantern
    Best Overall Glocusent 400H Pocket Lantern: Up to 120 hours with 5 brightness levels and 3 color modes Check price on Amazon
  • LETMY 4 Pack Camping Lantern
    Best Four-Pack LETMY 4 Pack Camping Lantern: 600 lumens, solar, USB or AA power, and a collapsible body Check price on Amazon
  • Jidofree 4-Panel Lantern
    Best Expanding Light Jidofree 4-Panel Lantern: 4 panels fold out for 360-degree light with 6 modes Check price on Amazon
  • ATDEXT Solar Flame Lantern
    Best Flame Glow ATDEXT Solar Flame Lantern: IP65 housing with flickering flame and steady glow modes Check price on Amazon
  • Allsop Soji Stella Lantern
    Best Hanging Style Allsop Soji Stella Lantern: Tyvek shade with dual white LEDs and a hanging frame Check price on Amazon

The picks

Glocusent 400H Pocket Lantern

Glocusent 400H Pocket Lantern

Glocusent9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A pocket lantern with 5 brightness levels, 3 color modes and a solar panel on top that stretches battery life outdoors.

Pros

  • 5 brightness levels from 15 to 250lm with 60 LEDs for shadow-free light
  • 5000mAh battery lasts up to 120 hours and charges phones as a power bank
  • 3 color modes at 3000K, 4500K and 6000K plus a red SOS mode
  • IPX5 water resistance, 1-meter drop protection and a hook for hanging

Cons

  • Solar panel on top only extends battery life outdoors, so Type-C charging does the main work, with a full Type-C charge taking 3.5 hours
  • No AA battery option is stated
  • 250lm maximum sits below the 600 lumens of the four-pack lantern here
  • Pocket-size light covers 161 ft², a modest area for a shared shelter room
Detailed Review

The listing states 60 LEDs, 5 stepless brightness levels from 15 to 250lm, 3 color modes at 3000K, 4500K and 6000K, a red SOS mode, a 5000mAh battery, up to 120 hours on a single charge, a 3.5 hour Type-C charge, a 5.4 oz weight and dimensions of 3.2 by 3.2 by 2.6 inches, plus IPX5 water resistance and 1-meter drop protection. The 400H name sits beside that stated maximum of 120 hours, and the listing states a 24-month warranty with 24/7 customer service.

Who it's for: households that want a pocket light for a shelter room, a tent or a bedside table. Who should skip it: households that need one lantern to light a large shared room or to run without any USB charging.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery5000mAh
Brightness15 to 250lm
RuntimeUp to 120 hours
Size3.2 by 3.2 by 2.6 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX5 water resistance and 1-meter drop protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 24-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LETMY 4 Pack Camping Lantern

LETMY 4 Pack Camping Lantern

LETMY9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A collapsible four-pack lantern with 600 lumens, solar, USB and AA power ways, and a body built for indoor and outdoor use.

Pros

  • 600 lumens from a COB LED design with 360-degree illumination
  • 3 power ways: solar panel, USB cable or 3 AA batteries
  • Collapsible body packs down for a backpack or an emergency kit
  • CE/FCC/ROHs certification stated, with a shock resistant ABS body

Cons

  • AA batteries are not included
  • 60 days warranty is short beside the year-long terms of other picks here
  • No battery size in mAh is stated
  • Stated runtime tops out at 12+ hours, below the pocket lantern's 120 hours
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4 pack of collapsible lanterns, 600 lumens, 360-degree illumination, 3 power ways (solar, USB cable or 3 AA batteries, with AA batteries not included), up to 12+ hours of light, a shock resistant ABS body with no glass, water resistance, and CE/FCC/ROHs certification. Dimensions are listed at 6.5 by 5.28 by 6.57 inches, and the listing states a 60 days warranty.

Who it's for: households that want a lantern in several rooms at once, with a spare power way when solar or USB is unavailable. Who should skip it: households that want a single long-runtime lantern or a stated battery size in mAh.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 22/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness600 lumens
Power waysSolar, USB or 3 AA batteries
RuntimeUp to 12+ hours
Pack4 Pack

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CE/FCC/ROHs certification and water resistance stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 60 days warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Jidofree 4-Panel Lantern

Jidofree 4-Panel Lantern

Jidofree9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An expandable lantern with 4 panels that fold flat, 6 modes, solar and Type-C charging, and a 4000mAh battery.

Pros

  • 4 panels fold flat or expand for 360-degree area light or focused light
  • 6 modes, including SOS, ambient white, warm yellow and cozy orange
  • 4000mAh battery with solar or Type-C charging and phone charging output
  • Battery level indicator shows remaining power

Cons

  • No lumen figure is stated
  • Stated runtime of 10-20 hours depends on brightness and sits below the longest runtime here
  • IPX4 water resistance covers rain, splashes and humidity, with no higher weather protection stated
  • Sold as a single lantern, with no multi-pack option stated
Detailed Review

The listing states 6 modes, IPX4 water resistance, an ABS plastic and aluminum alloy body, a 4000mAh battery, 10-20 hours of runtime depending on brightness, solar or Type-C charging, phone charging output, a rotating hook and a battery level indicator. The 4 panels fold flat for storage and expand for area or focused light, and the listing states a 1 year warranty.

Who it's for: campers and households that want directional or area light from one folding lantern. Who should skip it: households that want a stated lumen figure or a multi-pack.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery4000mAh
Modes6 modes
Runtime10-20 hours
Weather protectionIPX4

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 water resistance stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ATDEXT Solar Flame Lantern

ATDEXT Solar Flame Lantern

ATDEXT9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hanging or table lantern with a dancing flame effect, steady glow mode, solar and USB charging, and an IP65 housing.

Pros

  • IP65 housing resists rain, snow, frost and high temperatures
  • 2 modes: flickering flame and steady glow
  • Solar and USB charging with auto on at dark and auto off at daytime
  • Lights for 8-10 hours after a full charge, with a hemp rope handle for hanging

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No lumen or battery size figure is stated
  • Flame effect suits decor and calm corners more than task lighting
  • Single lantern only, with no multi-pack option stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a dancing flame effect, 2 lighting modes (flickering flame and steady glow), solar and USB charging, a light sensor that turns the lantern on at dark and off at daytime, 8-10 hours of light after a full charge, a hemp rope handle and an IP65 housing. The spec table lists a size of 10.04 inches beside dimensions of 4.72 by 4.72 by 5.3 inches, so the dimensions are the clearer guide. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: households that want a calm glow for a porch, patio or shelter corner. Who should skip it: households that need bright task light, a stated lumen figure or a warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Weather protectionIP65
ModesFlickering flame and steady glow
Runtime8-10 hours
Size4.72 by 4.72 by 5.3 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 housing stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Allsop Soji Stella Lantern

Allsop Soji Stella Lantern

Allsop9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A handmade Tyvek hanging lantern with dual white LEDs, a stainless steel frame and solar charging for outdoor evenings.

Pros

  • Handmade weather-resistant UV treated Tyvek fabric for year-round outdoor use
  • Durable stainless steel frame with a punched fabric pattern
  • Solar charging by day with a glow at night, and replaceable parts
  • Single rechargeable AAA battery keeps the design light at 0.5 pounds

Cons

  • Glow lasts 4+ hours on a full charge, below every other runtime stated here
  • No lumen figure is stated
  • Decorative hanging design suits outdoor evenings more than bright shelter lighting
  • One lantern only, with no multi-pack option stated
Detailed Review

The listing states handmade weather-resistant UV treated Tyvek fabric, a durable stainless steel frame, dual white LEDs, solar charging by day with a glow at night, 4+ hours of glow on a full charge, one rechargeable AAA battery, replaceable parts and a 1 year manufacturer warranty, at 0.5 pounds. The spec table lists dimensions of 1.0 by 1.0 by 1.0 inches beside a size entry of 12X12, so the size entry is the one to check before ordering.

Who it's for: households that want a decorative hanging glow for a porch or garden corner. Who should skip it: households that need long runtime, bright task light or a stated lumen figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 18/25, value 18/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 3/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
MaterialWeather-resistant Tyvek
LEDsDual white LEDs
Runtime4+ hours
Battery1 rechargeable AAA

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Weather-resistant UV treated Tyvek fabric stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • SAMUUN 2000 Lumen LanternSAMUUN 2000 Lumen LanternSuits campers who want high brightness with solar and USB chargingCheck on Amazon
  • Glocusent 400H Green LanternGlocusent 400H Green LanternSame pocket lantern in green with a solar panel on top for outdoor chargingCheck on Amazon
  • Westinghouse 1000 Lumen LanternWestinghouse 1000 Lumen LanternSuits tents and campsites with daylight white light and SOS modeCheck on Amazon
  • iToncs 120H 2 Pack LanterniToncs 120H 2 Pack LanternSuits households wanting two lanterns with magnetic bases and hooksCheck on Amazon
  • NAKCNM Solar Flashlight LanternNAKCNM Solar Flashlight LanternSuits hikers who want a light body with dual LED and COB sourcesCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

Lantern Solar Score Brightness Battery Runtime Weather protection Amazon
Glocusent 400H Pocket Lantern 9.7/10 15 to 250lm 5000mAh Up to 120 hours IPX5 View on Amazon
LETMY 4 Pack Camping Lantern 9.6/10 600 lumens Battery size not stated Up to 12+ hours Water resistant View on Amazon
Jidofree 4-Panel Lantern 9.6/10 6 modes 4000mAh 10-20 hours IPX4 View on Amazon
ATDEXT Solar Flame Lantern 9.5/10 2 modes Battery size not stated 8-10 hours IP65 View on Amazon
Allsop Soji Stella Lantern 9.4/10 Dual white LEDs 1 rechargeable AAA 4+ hours Weather resistant View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 30 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a lantern, safety means weather protection and certifications the listing actually states; a lantern that states none scores zero on that line, whatever its brightness. Four of the five lanterns state a warranty term, and only the LETMY pack states CE, FCC and ROHs certification. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Glocusent 400H Pocket Lantern 9.7 30 21 21 7 4
LETMY 4 Pack Camping Lantern 9.6 29 20 22 6 2
Jidofree 4-Panel Lantern 9.6 28 20 20 5 3
ATDEXT Solar Flame Lantern 9.5 26 20 19 7 0
Allsop Soji Stella Lantern 9.4 23 18 18 4 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar lantern for storm shelter

Match runtime to the night ahead

Start from the stated runtime, not from the shape. The Glocusent lists up to 120 hours, the Jidofree lists 10-20 hours, and the Allsop lists 4+ hours, so the gap between a pocket lantern and a decorative hanging lantern is wide. If the shelter stay may run past a single night, the longer runtime matters more than an extra color mode. See our best solar lantern for power outage guide for more outage lighting.

Count charging ways before you count lumens

A lantern that can charge two ways keeps working when a way is unavailable. The LETMY pack lists solar, USB and AA power, the Jidofree lists solar and Type-C, and the ATDEXT lists solar and USB, so each pick here has a backup way in. The Glocusent also charges phones as a power bank, which helps a household keep a phone alive during an outage. Also see our best solar lantern for camping picks for outdoor charging notes.

Lantern Charging ways Phone charging
Glocusent 400H Pocket Lantern Type-C and solar Yes, as a power bank
LETMY 4 Pack Camping Lantern Solar, USB or AA Not stated
Jidofree 4-Panel Lantern Solar and Type-C Yes, as an emergency output
ATDEXT Solar Flame Lantern Solar and USB Not stated
Allsop Soji Stella Lantern Solar Not stated

Put weather protection where the damp gets in

A shelter room can sit near a damp entry, a garage door or a porch, so the housing matters. The ATDEXT lists IP65, the Glocusent lists IPX5, the Jidofree lists IPX4, and the Allsop lists weather-resistant Tyvek, so the sealed housings suit wetter spots and the Tyvek shade suits a covered porch. Check the stated figure rather than assuming a lantern handles rain, and see our best emergency preparedness gear guide for the wider kit.

Read the warranty line before you buy

Coverage here runs from a 24-month term on the Glocusent to a 60 days term on the LETMY pack, with 1 year terms on the Jidofree and the Allsop. The ATDEXT states no warranty term, so its IP65 housing and 8-10 hour runtime carry the case on their own. A longer term does not change the stated brightness, but it changes who pays when a lantern fails early.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the stated runtime to the shelter stay: the Glocusent lists up to 120 hours, while the Allsop lists 4+ hours.
  • Match the battery to the load: the Glocusent lists 5000mAh and the Jidofree lists 4000mAh, and both list phone charging.
  • Match the charging way to the shelter: the LETMY pack lists solar, USB and AA power for rooms without an outlet nearby.
  • Match the housing to the spot: the ATDEXT lists IP65 for wetter spots, and the Allsop lists weather-resistant Tyvek for a covered porch.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lantern here runs the longest on a single charge?

The Glocusent 400H Pocket Lantern, which lists up to 120 hours on a single charge from its 5000mAh battery.

Which lanterns here can charge a phone?

The Glocusent lists power bank use for phones, and the Jidofree lists an emergency output for charging a phone. No phone charging is stated for the other three lanterns here.

Which lantern here has the highest stated brightness?

The LETMY pack, at 600 lumens, followed by the Glocusent at up to 250lm.

Do any of these lanterns carry a warranty term?

Four do: the Glocusent lists a 24-month warranty, the LETMY pack lists 60 days, and the Jidofree and Allsop each list 1 year. The ATDEXT states no warranty term.

Can a lantern here light a room during a power outage without an outlet?

Yes. Each lantern here lists solar charging, so daylight can add charge without an outlet, and the LETMY pack also lists AA battery power.

Glocusent 400H Pocket Lantern
Still deciding? Our top pickGlocusent 400H Pocket Lantern
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More picks: solar lantern for power outage, solar lantern for camping, rechargeable solar lantern, emergency preparedness gear.