Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Solar Flood and Security Lights

Best Solar Lights for Front Door (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five solar motion wall lights and sconces for front doors compared on stated brightness, detection range, lighting modes and warranty terms.

Best Solar Lights for Front Door (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Coming home to a dark front door is the moment the best solar lights for front door have to fix, throwing light on the steps before you reach for the keys. We compared five listings covering motion sensor wall lights and decorative sconces, checking what each one states about brightness, detection range, lighting modes, weather sealing and warranty terms. Stated brightness runs from 260 to 1700 lumens, detection runs from 16 to 26 feet where stated, and warranties run from 1 year to lifetime. Two of the five are 2-packs for flanking both sides of the door, and three are single sconces for one centered fixture. Motion detection appears on four of the five, with the SOTTLOT relying on dusk-to-dawn brightness steps instead of a sensor. The ranking below follows the Solar Score, which weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty from the listings alone.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • kuyimy 72LED Wall Light
    Best Overall kuyimy 72LED Wall Light: 800 lumens, IP65 and lifetime warranty stated Check price on Amazon
  • Brightever 178LED Wall Light
    Brightest Pick Brightever 178LED Wall Light: 1700 lumens with 270 degree coverage Check price on Amazon
  • SOTTLOT Up-Down Sconce
    Best Warm Glow SOTTLOT Up-Down Sconce: 3000K up-down light with 4 brightness levels Check price on Amazon
  • Auzev Solar Sconce Lantern
    Best Lantern Look Auzev Solar Sconce Lantern: 3000K lantern with 3 integrated panels Check price on Amazon
  • AURAXY Motion Wall Light
    Best Certified AURAXY Motion Wall Light: FCC, CE and RoHS with 3 lighting modes Check price on Amazon

The picks

kuyimy 72LED Wall Light

kuyimy 72LED Wall Light

kuyimy9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 72-LED motion wall lights with 800 lumens, 270 degree coverage, IP65 sealing and a stated lifetime warranty.

Pros

  • 800 lumens with 72 LEDs per light
  • 270 degree 3-sided lighting design
  • 26 foot PIR detection at 120 degrees, the longest stated here
  • Lifetime manufacturer warranty stated

Cons

  • 1200mAh battery is the only capacity figure stated
  • 132 g per the spec table with no per-pack split stated
  • 15W spec figure has no stated basis in the bullets
  • Cool 6500K only, with no warm option
Detailed Review

The listing states two 72-LED solar motion wall lights with 800 lumens at 6500K, a 270 degree 3-sided design, PIR detection to 26 feet at 120 degrees, 3 lighting modes, a 1200mAh battery, 6 to 8 hours of charging for 8 to 12 hours of night light, IP65 sealing and CE, FCC and RoHS listings. It states 3.62 by 4.45 by 1.93 inches, 132 g and a lifetime manufacturer warranty, with an ideal mounting height of 6.5 to 10 feet.

Who it's for: anyone who wants the widest stated coverage and detection range by the front door. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a warm white glow.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 5/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness800 lumens, 6500K
Detection26 ft at 120 deg
Coverage270 degrees
Weather ratingIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65, CE, FCC and RoHS stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Lifetime manufacturer warranty stated, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brightever 178LED Wall Light

Brightever 178LED Wall Light

Brightever9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 178-LED motion wall lights with 1700 lumens, 270 degree angle and 3 lighting modes.

Pros

  • 1700 lumens, the brightest stated here
  • 178 LEDs per light with a 270 degree angle
  • 3 lighting modes including stay-on and dim-to-bright
  • 1 year seller warranty stated

Cons

  • No IP number is stated, only the word itself with no rating
  • 18.14 g spec weight reads like a per-part error
  • 6000K daylight only, with no warm option
  • 16 foot detection is shorter than the kuyimy 26 feet
Detailed Review

The listing states two solar motion wall lights with 178 LEDs each, 1700 lumens at 6000K, a 270 degree lighting angle, an upgraded PIR detector to 16 feet at 120 degrees and 3 modes: stay-on, dim with 100 percent on motion for 15 seconds, and motion-only. It states 8 to 10 hours of night light, monocrystalline cells at 20.5 percent conversion, ABS construction, 5.5 by 2 by 3.75 inches and a 1 year seller warranty. No IP number is stated.

Who it's for: anyone who wants maximum stated brightness over the doorway. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated IP rating.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 2/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness1700 lumens, 6000K
LEDs178 per light
Detection16 ft at 120 deg
Modes3 lighting modes

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. PIR motion detector and 270 degree reflector stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. 1 year seller warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SOTTLOT Up-Down Sconce

SOTTLOT Up-Down Sconce

SOTTLOT9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3000K up-and-down solar wall sconce with 700 lumens, 4 brightness levels and IP65 sealing.

Pros

  • Up and down glow for wall washing
  • 4 brightness levels from 25 to 100 percent
  • 3000K warm white, the coziest stated here
  • IP65 stated for all-weather use

Cons

  • Single light, not a pack
  • No motion sensor is stated
  • 700 lumens suits ambience more than security
  • No battery capacity figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar up-and-down wall sconce at 3000K with 700 lumens, 4 brightness modes at 25, 50, 75 and 100 percent till dawn, dusk-to-dawn automatic operation and IP65 sealing. It states a 15 degree inclined panel, ABS construction, 3.7 by 2.77 by 8.19 inches, 15.84 ounces and a 1 year warranty. No motion sensor and no battery figure are stated.

Who it's for: anyone who wants a warm decorative glow flanking the front door. Who should skip it: anyone who needs motion-triggered security light.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness700 lumens, 3000K
Modes4 brightness levels
FormUp and down glow
Weather ratingIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Auzev Solar Sconce Lantern

Auzev Solar Sconce Lantern

Auzev9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3000K solar sconce lantern with 600 lumens, 3 lighting modes, motion sensing and IP65 sealing.

Pros

  • Classic lantern form in 3000K warm white
  • 3 integrated solar panels on top
  • 3 modes: dim, motion-only and constant-on
  • IP65 stated for all-season use

Cons

  • 600 lumens is modest next to the motion floods here
  • Bullets state 5.8 by 5.8 by 11.8 inches against 6 by 6 by 9 in the spec table
  • No detection range figure is stated
  • Single light, not a pack
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar sconce lantern at 3000K with 600 lumens, 3 integrated top panels, 3 night modes (dim with motion brightening, motion-only and constant-on), motion sensing and IP65 sealing. The bullets state 5.8 by 5.8 by 11.8 inches against 6 by 6 by 9 inches in the spec table, so trust the bullets. It states ABS construction, 2 pounds and a 1 year warranty.

Who it's for: anyone who wants a traditional lantern look with motion modes by the door. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the brightest motion flood here.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness600 lumens, 3000K
Modes3 lighting modes
Panels3 integrated top panels
Weather ratingIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AURAXY Motion Wall Light

AURAXY Motion Wall Light

AURAXY9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of solar motion wall lights with 260 lumens, optical lens, 120 degree detection and FCC, CE and RoHS listings.

Pros

  • FCC, CE and RoHS listed
  • Optical lens for uniform light, per the listing
  • 3 modes including always-on backlight
  • 30-day replacement stated

Cons

  • 260 lumens is the lowest stated brightness here
  • No IP number is stated
  • No detection range figure is stated
  • 2W panel is the smallest stated here
Detailed Review

The listing states two solar motion sensor wall lights with 16 LEDs, 260 lumens at 4000K, a 120 degree beam and 120 degree PIR detection, 3 modes (motion-only, dim-to-bright for about 20 seconds, and always-on backlight) and an optical lens. It states a 20.5 percent conversion panel, 2 watts, 3.7 volts, 4.72 by 2.52 by 4.13 inches, 6.56 ounces, FCC, CE and RoHS listings, a 30-day replacement. No IP number and no detection range are stated.

Who it's for: anyone who values listed certifications in a compact motion light. Who should skip it: anyone who needs high brightness.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 22/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness260 lumens, 4000K
Detection120 deg, no range stated
CertificationFCC, CE, RoHS
Modes3 lighting modes

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. FCC, CE and RoHS listed, optical lens stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Light Solar Score Brightness Detection Weather rating Warranty Amazon
kuyimy 72LED Wall Light 9.7/10 800 lm 26 ft / 120 deg IP65 Lifetime View on Amazon
Brightever 178LED Wall Light 9.6/10 1700 lm 16 ft / 120 deg Not stated 1 year View on Amazon
SOTTLOT Up-Down Sconce 9.5/10 700 lm Not stated IP65 1 year View on Amazon
Auzev Solar Sconce Lantern 9.5/10 600 lm Motion, no range IP65 1 year View on Amazon
AURAXY Motion Wall Light 9.4/10 260 lm 120 deg, no range Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For front door lights, safety means the weather sealing, certifications and detection features the listing actually states, such as IP ratings or FCC, CE and RoHS listings; a listing that states none scores lower on that line. All five listings state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
kuyimy 72LED Wall Light 9.7 30 20 21 7 5
Brightever 178LED Wall Light 9.6 33 20 21 4 2
SOTTLOT Up-Down Sconce 9.5 28 20 19 6 2
Auzev Solar Sconce Lantern 9.5 26 20 19 6 2
AURAXY Motion Wall Light 9.4 22 19 20 7 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar lights for front door

Brightness and coverage

Stated brightness runs from 260 lumens on the AURAXY pair to 1700 lumens on the Brightever pair, and coverage runs from a focused sconce glow to 270 degree wall washing on the kuyimy and Brightever. A bright motion flood suits a dark entry where you want to see every step; a 3000K sconce suits a door you want to look welcoming, with the SOTTLOT washing the wall up and down and the Auzev keeping the classic lantern form. Color temperature splits the group too: 6000K and 6500K daylight on the two brightest, 3000K warm white on the sconces, and 4000K neutral on the AURAXY. Compare with our best solar lights for entryway picks.

Light Brightness Detection Weather rating
kuyimy 72LED Wall Light 800 lumens 26 ft at 120 deg IP65
Brightever 178LED Wall Light 1700 lumens 16 ft at 120 deg Not stated
SOTTLOT Up-Down Sconce 700 lumens Not stated IP65
Auzev Solar Sconce Lantern 600 lumens Motion, no range stated IP65
AURAXY Motion Wall Light 260 lumens 120 deg, no range stated Not stated

Motion modes

Every motion light here offers at least 3 modes: motion-only, dim-to-bright on detection, and a constant or stay-on night mode, with the SOTTLOT adding a fourth brightness step at 25 to 100 percent. The Brightever holds full brightness 15 seconds after motion, the AURAXY about 20 seconds, and the kuyimy drops to 30 percent after 15 seconds in its dim mode. The Auzev adds a constant-on night mode for doors where you want light regardless of motion. Pick the mode you will actually use, because a motion-only light on a quiet street behaves very differently from an always-on one. For larger area coverage, see our best solar flood light with CCTV camera guide.

Weather rating and mounting

Three listings state IP65 and two state no number, only the word itself. All mount with screws and no wiring, and the kuyimy states an ideal mounting height of 6.5 to 10 feet, which keeps the light above head height and in reach of the sun. Before first use, the Brightever asks for 1 to 2 days of sun charging, a detail worth honoring on a north-facing door. For the category home of these lights, see the solar flood lights guides.

Sizing Notes

  • Match stated brightness to the entry: 260 to 1700 lumens is stated here.
  • Check the detection range where stated: 16 to 26 feet at 120 degrees.
  • Check the lighting modes: 3 modes on the motion lights, 4 brightness steps on the SOTTLOT.
  • Check the mounting height the listing states: 6.5 to 10 feet on the kuyimy.
  • Check the warranty: lifetime on one listing, 1 year on the other four.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which light here states the highest brightness?

The Brightever 2-pack at 1700 lumens with 178 LEDs per light, above the 800 lumen kuyimy pair.

Which listings state IP65?

The kuyimy, SOTTLOT and Auzev listings. The Brightever and AURAXY state no number, only the word itself.

Which has the longest stated detection range?

The kuyimy at 26 feet and 120 degrees, above the 16 feet at 120 degrees on the Brightever.

Which listing states a lifetime warranty?

The kuyimy, with a lifetime manufacturer warranty. The other four state 1 year.

Which form suits a front door best?

The sconce and lantern forms flatter the doorway itself, while the motion floods cover the steps and drive approach with brighter light. Match the form to the job the doorway needs most.

kuyimy 72LED Wall Light
Still deciding? Our top pickkuyimy 72LED Wall Light
Check price on Amazon

See all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar lights for entryway. Also see our best solar lights for exterior. Also see our best solar flood light with CCTV camera. Also see our best solar lights for a driveway.

More picks: solar lights for deck steps, solar lights for backyard, solar lights for deck stairs. Also from this data set: CYHKEE Solar Wall Lantern 2-Pack, ropelux Solar Porch Lantern, Greluna Solar Glass Lantern 2-Pack, GOODEA Solar Sconce 2-Pack and SNRU Solar Porch Lantern 2-Pack.