Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Solar Flood and Security Lights

Best Solar Lights for Gate Entrance: 5 Compared by Spec

Five solar lights for gate entrances compared on stated lumens, light modes, weather ratings and warranty terms, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Solar Lights for Gate Entrance: 5 Compared by Spec
On this page

The power cut out at dinner time one cloudy evening, and the gate at the end of the drive went dark with it, which is exactly the problem the best solar lights for gate entrance are meant to solve. We compared five solar lights that suit gateposts, gate pillars and the wall beside an entry gate, using only what each listing states: brightness, light modes, motion sensing, weather ratings and warranty terms. Three ship as 2-packs that cover both sides of a gate, and one also charges over USB for stretches of weak sun. The strongest stated brightness here is 1000 lumens.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • sunlight encounter 92-LED Light
    Best Overall sunlight encounter 92-LED Light: 600LM across 92 LEDs with dual solar and Type-C charging Check price on Amazon
  • SOTTLOT 1000LM Flood Light
    Brightest Pick SOTTLOT 1000LM Flood Light: 1000LM flood light with four modes at 4000K Check price on Amazon
  • sunlight encounter 36-LED Clip
    Best Clip-On sunlight encounter 36-LED Clip: clips to gate posts with 400LM and three motion modes Check price on Amazon
  • Generic E26 Solar Wall Light
    Warm White Sconce Generic E26 Solar Wall Light: 2-pack with 3000K E26 bulbs included and IP54 housing Check price on Amazon
  • PeakPlus Solar Wall Light
    Dusk-to-Dawn Basic PeakPlus Solar Wall Light: up to 12 hours of light after a 5 to 8 hour charge Check price on Amazon

The picks

sunlight encounter 92-LED Light

sunlight encounter 92-LED Light

sunlight encounter9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of clip-on 6000K lights, each with 92 LEDs rated at 600 lumens, solar plus Type-C charging and a PIR motion sensor.

Pros

  • 600 lumens across 92 LEDs at 6000K, the second brightest stated output here
  • Charges by solar in 6 to 8 hours or by the included Type-C cable in 3 to 4 hours
  • 1500mAh battery with up to 12 hours of continuous illumination stated
  • 360-degree rotating head with a clip base that mounts vertically or horizontally

Cons

  • The spec table lists power source as solar only while the title and bullets state USB and solar charging
  • Only the title and bullets state the 3 to 4 hour Type-C charge time, not the spec table
  • Spec table lists wattage as 2.5 watt-hours, an energy figure, not watts
  • Single size option at 6.3 by 3.54 by 12.6 inches, taller than the other picks
Detailed Review

The title states 92 LEDs, 600 lumens at 6000K, USB and solar power, a PIR motion sensor with three light modes and an IP65 rating in a 2-pack. The bullets add a 1500mAh battery, up to 12 hours of illumination on a full charge, motion detection within 10 to 16 feet at a 100-degree angle, a 360-degree rotating head and ABS engineering plastic. The spec table lists the power source as solar only and gives wattage as 2.5 watt-hours, which contradict the title and bullets; trust the title and bullets, which state both solar and Type-C charging.

Who it's for: gate and fence owners who want the brightest clip-mount option with a USB backup for cloudy stretches. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated warranty longer than 1 year.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness600 lumens, 92 LEDs, 6000K
ChargingSolar plus Type-C USB, cable included
Battery and runtime1500mAh, up to 12 hours stated
Weather ratingIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 rating stated; ABS engineering plastic housing stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SOTTLOT 1000LM Flood Light

SOTTLOT 1000LM Flood Light

SOTTLOT9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

The brightest single light in this group, a 1000-lumen 4000K flood light with four light modes and an IP65 rating.

Pros

  • 1000 lumens at 4000K, the highest stated brightness in this group
  • Four light modes with stated percentages for balancing runtime and intensity
  • Monocrystalline silicon panel with 23 percent charging efficiency stated
  • Bullets name the gate as a suitable mounting spot in direct sunlight

Cons

  • Single light in the box, not a 2-pack like the clip picks
  • No battery capacity figure is stated, only runtime
  • Spec table gives wattage as 7.4 watt-hours, an energy figure rather than watts
  • 23 percent charging efficiency claim is the maker's figure, not independently checkable
Detailed Review

The title states a 1000-lumen 4000K solar flood light with a motion sensor, four modes, dusk-to-dawn operation and an IP65 rating. The bullets add 21 LED beads, modes from 10 percent to 100 percent, at least 10 hours of light on a full charge, ABS and polycarbonate construction and 6.22 by 2 by 5.9 inch dimensions. The spec table gives wattage as 7.4 watt-hours, an energy figure, so trust the 1000-lumen figure from the title for brightness. The listing states one light, not a 2-pack.

Who it's for: owners of a single gate pillar or wall beside the gate who want the most light per housing. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a matched pair for two gateposts in one box.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness1000 lumens, 4000K, 21 LEDs
Light modes4 modes, 10 to 100 percent stated
PanelMonocrystalline silicon, 23 percent charging efficiency stated
Weather ratingIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 rating stated; ABS and polycarbonate housing stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

sunlight encounter 36-LED Clip

sunlight encounter 36-LED Clip

sunlight encounter9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of clip-on 6000K lights, each with 36 LEDs rated at 400 lumens, a 26-foot PIR motion sensor and three light modes.

Pros

  • Clips anywhere with screws, wall brackets and adhesive tape also included
  • 400 lumens across 36 LEDs at 6000K with 50 square feet of coverage stated
  • Motion detection to 26 feet within a 120-degree angle
  • Bullets state a 24-month guarantee, the longest coverage claimed here

Cons

  • Bullets state a 24-month guarantee while the spec table says 1 year, a listing contradiction
  • 400 lumens is the lowest stated brightness in this group
  • 1500mAh battery is stated without a runtime figure tied to a mode
  • IP55 rating is stated, not the IP65 of the top two picks
Detailed Review

The title states a clip-on solar light with a PIR motion sensor in a black 2-pack at 6000K. The bullets state 36 LEDs, 400 lumens, three light modes, a 1500mAh battery with up to 30 hours of brightness on a full 5 to 6 hour charge, 26-foot motion detection at a 120-degree angle, a 120-degree adjustable angle, IP55 housing and a 24-month guarantee. The spec table's manufacturer warranty description says 1 year, which contradicts the bullets; trust the bullets, which state the 24-month guarantee. The spec table lists 7.8 by 0.9 by 1.3 inches and 4.8 ounces.

Who it's for: owners who want to clip a light to each gatepost without drilling. Who should skip it: buyers who want the brightest option or the USB backup of the 92-LED sibling.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness400 lumens, 36 LEDs, 6000K
Motion detection26 ft, 120-degree angle
Mounting height4.92 to 8.2 ft recommended
Weather ratingIP55

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP55 rating and ABS housing stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 24-month guarantee stated in the bullets; spec table says 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Generic E26 Solar Wall Light

Generic E26 Solar Wall Light

Generic9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of wall-mount sconce lights with a 3000K E26 bulb included, three motion modes and an IP54 rating.

Pros

  • Standard 3000K E26 bulb included, no separate bulb purchase needed
  • Three light modes with one-button control
  • IP54 rating with a four-sided protective light cover stated
  • Three enhanced solar panels with a rapid charge claim stated

Cons

  • No lumen figure is stated anywhere in the listing
  • Spec table battery life of 50000 hours reads like a mislabeled LED lifetime
  • Brand name is Generic while the manufacturer is listed as RYL
  • Bullets claim a 200 percent charging improvement that is the maker's figure only
Detailed Review

The title states a 2-pack of solar outdoor wall lights with a 3000K E26 bulb included, three modes, a motion sensor and an IP54 rating. The bullets state 2-screw installation with all mounting accessories included, a hollow high-sensitivity sensor design, three enhanced solar panels and a thickened shock-resistant back panel. The spec table lists battery life as 50000 hours, which reads like a mislabeled LED lifetime rather than a battery figure, and names the brand Generic with RYL as the manufacturer; trust the title for the bulb and the IP54 figure. The spec table gives 5.39 by 6.42 by 10.75 inches and 2.8 pounds.

Who it's for: owners who want warm 3000K light beside a gate or door without buying bulbs separately. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated lumen figure before they buy.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Bulb3000K E26 bulb included
Light modes3 modes, one-button control
Panels3 enhanced solar panels stated
Weather ratingIP54

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP54 rating and shock-resistant design stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PeakPlus Solar Wall Light

PeakPlus Solar Wall Light

PeakPlus9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of dusk-to-dawn wall sconce lights with three smart modes, warm white light and up to 12 hours of stated runtime.

Pros

  • Up to 12 hours of light after a 5 to 8 hour charge stated
  • Three modes: motion at full brightness, dim sensor and always-on
  • Automatic dusk-to-dawn operation with no wiring stated
  • 1-year warranty with a no-questions-asked replacement stated

Cons

  • No lumen figure is stated; the spec table brightness entry is not a usable number
  • No weather rating or IP figure is stated
  • The maker lists a 1-year term and nothing longer
  • Wall-mount only with no clip or adhesive option stated
Detailed Review

The title states a 2-pack of dusk-to-dawn solar motion wall lights with three lighting modes in black. The bullets state motion-sensor full brightness, a 30 percent dim mode and a 50 percent always-on mode, up to 12 hours of light after 5 to 8 hours of charging, 3.7 volts, ABS plastic construction and a 1-year no-questions-asked replacement. The spec table's brightness entry reads as a garbled percentage rather than a lumen figure, so brightness is not stated; trust the title and bullets, which state the modes and runtime. The spec table lists 5 by 2.5 by 7 inches.

Who it's for: owners who want a simple dusk-to-dawn pair beside a gate without worrying about modes. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated brightness figure or a stated weather rating.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 18/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 65 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
RuntimeUp to 12 hours on 5 to 8 hours of charge
Light modes3 modes: motion, dim sensor, always-on
Voltage3.7 volts stated
Size5 x 2.5 x 7 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Light Solar Score Brightness Modes Weather rating Warranty Amazon
sunlight encounter 92-LED Light 9.7/10 600 lumens 3 modes IP65 1 year View on Amazon
SOTTLOT 1000LM Flood Light 9.6/10 1000 lumens 4 modes IP65 1 year View on Amazon
sunlight encounter 36-LED Clip 9.6/10 400 lumens 3 modes IP55 24 months (bullets) View on Amazon
Generic E26 Solar Wall Light 9.5/10 Not stated 3 modes IP54 1 year View on Amazon
PeakPlus Solar Wall Light 9.4/10 Not stated 3 modes Not stated 1 year View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a gate light, safety means a stated weather rating such as IP65 and a stated motion sensor; a light whose listing states no weather rating scores zero on that line, whatever its modes. All five picks state a warranty term: one states a 24-month guarantee in its bullets and four state 1 year. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
sunlight encounter 92-LED Light 9.7 32 21 21 6 2
SOTTLOT 1000LM Flood Light 9.6 32 20 20 6 2
sunlight encounter 36-LED Clip 9.6 29 20 20 5 3
Generic E26 Solar Wall Light 9.5 24 19 20 5 2
PeakPlus Solar Wall Light 9.4 26 18 19 0 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar lights for gate entrance

Start with the gate, not the lumens

A gate entrance asks for two things: enough light to find the latch and the keypad, and a housing that sits right on a post, a pillar or the wall beside the gate. Brightness here runs from 400 to 1000 lumens, and the 1000-lumen SOTTLOT is the single flood light in the group while the two clip picks and the two sconce picks spread light from post-mounted housings. If your gate stands at the end of a long drive, the same checks apply as in our best solar lights for driveway entrance guide.

Motion modes beat raw brightness at a gate

A gate is an arrival point, so the motion behavior matters as much as the lumens. Four of the five picks offer three modes, usually some mix of dim standby, motion-triggered full brightness and a steady mode, while the SOTTLOT offers four modes with stated percentages such as 20 percent until dawn. The two clip picks state their detection range, 26 feet at a 120-degree angle on the 400-lumen pick and 10 to 16 feet at a 100-degree angle on the 92-LED pick, and the others do not, so compare on what is stated, not what you assume.

Light Modes Stated motion detection
sunlight encounter 92-LED Light 3 10 to 16 ft, 100-degree angle
SOTTLOT 1000LM Flood Light 4 Not stated
sunlight encounter 36-LED Clip 3 26 ft, 120-degree angle
Generic E26 Solar Wall Light 3 Not stated
PeakPlus Solar Wall Light 3 Not stated

Match the mount to the surface

Gateposts, fence rails and pillar caps are not flat walls, and the mounts in this group differ. The two sunlight encounter picks clip on without drilling and also ship with screws, wall brackets or adhesive tape, which suits a wood or vinyl post. The PeakPlus, Generic and SOTTLOT picks are wall-mount only and want screws into a flat surface, and every one of them needs the panel in direct sun, which the clip picks’ 120-degree adjustable angle and 360-degree rotating head help with. For the wall beside a door rather than a gate, see our best solar lights for front door picks.

Read the warranty line twice

Four picks state a 1-year term plainly, and the fifth is the one to read twice. The 400-lumen clip pick’s bullets state a 24-month guarantee while its spec table says 1 year, and the listing’s bullets win when the two disagree. A garage is not a gate, but the same careful reading habit helps with our best solar lights for garage comparisons too.

Sizing Notes

  • Match charge time to runtime: three picks here state up to 12 hours of light from a full charge, and the 92-LED pick recharges in 6 to 8 hours of sunlight or 3 to 4 hours over the included Type-C cable.
  • Two lights cover a two-post gate: three of the five picks ship as 2-packs, while the SOTTLOT ships as a single unit.
  • The 400-lumen clip pick lists a recommended mounting height of 4.92 to 8.2 feet; mount the others where the panel sees direct sun for the hours each listing states.
  • Only the two clip picks state a battery figure, 1500mAh each, so compare the rest on their stated runtime, not on capacity.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which pick here states the highest brightness?

The SOTTLOT, which states 1000 lumens at 4000K with 21 LED beads. The next highest is the 92-LED sunlight encounter pick at 600 lumens.

Which lights come as a pair for two gateposts?

The two sunlight encounter clip picks and the Generic E26 sconce all ship as 2-packs, so one box covers both sides of a gate. The SOTTLOT is a single unit.

Can any of these charge without direct sunlight?

Only the 92-LED sunlight encounter pick: its title and bullets state both solar and USB charging, and it ships with a Type-C cable that fully charges it in 3 to 4 hours.

Which pick states the longest coverage?

The 400-lumen clip pick, whose bullets state a 24-month guarantee, though its spec table says 1 year. When a listing disagrees with itself, the title and bullets win, so the 24-month figure is the one that counts.

Do all five state a weather rating?

No. Two picks state IP65, one states IP55 and one states IP54; the PeakPlus listing states no weather rating at all. The comparison table shows each pick’s rating as stated.

sunlight encounter 92-LED Light
Still deciding? Our top picksunlight encounter 92-LED Light
Check price on Amazon

See every Solar Flood and Security Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar lights for fence posts. Also see our best solar lights for entryway. Also see our best solar light for mailbox post. Also see our best solar lights for end of driveway.

More picks we also compared for gate entrances: HelpLand Solar Wall Lights Outdoor 2 Pack, Glosola Up and Down Solar Wall Sconces 2 Pack, UOOIUMOY Solar Porch Lights Outdoor 2 Pack, Paktonvo Solar Porch Light 2 Pack and Anricom Solar Fence Lights 4pcs.