Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Solar Panels and Kits

Best Solar Panel for Low Light Conditions: 5 Panels Compared

Five solar panels for dim days and shaded sites, from pocket-size USB minis to a 100W bifacial panel, compared on stated specs.

Best Solar Panel for Low Light Conditions: 5 Panels Compared
On this page

The cabin roof in October gets a thin band of sun between the pines, and the battery bank has to live on whatever the panel makes of it. The best solar panel for low light conditions squeezes usable power from that kind of day: we compared five panels on stated efficiency, low-light behavior, weather ratings and warranty terms. Every figure below comes from the listings themselves, and the Jackery SolarSaga 100W leads with a stated 25% bifacial efficiency and IP68 sealing. Two of the five rule themselves out of low-light duty in their own words: the Soshine usage notice states it will not function in low-light conditions, and the Aocoray notes admit it slows or stops when sunshine is weak.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Jackery SolarSaga 100W
    Best Overall Jackery SolarSaga 100W: 100W bifacial panel with 25% efficiency and IP68 sealing Check price on Amazon
  • VERVERAY Ring Solar Panel
    Best for Ring Cameras VERVERAY Ring Solar Panel: 6W panel with USB-C and barrel plug for Ring cams Check price on Amazon
  • Aocoray 6W Mini Panel
    Not for Low Light Aocoray 6W Mini Panel: own notes admit it slows or stops when sunshine is weak Check price on Amazon
  • Soshine 6W Mini Panel
    Needs Full Sun Soshine 6W Mini Panel: listing says it will not function in low-light conditions Check price on Amazon
  • YESSZ 5W USB Panel
    Best 5W Mini YESSZ 5W USB Panel: light 5W USB panel for cameras and phones Check price on Amazon

The picks

Jackery SolarSaga 100W

Jackery SolarSaga 100W

Jackery9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 100W bifacial solar panel with a stated 25% efficiency, IP68 sealing and 221-degree bendability.

Pros

  • Stated 25% conversion efficiency with bifacial IBC cells
  • IP68 water-resistant and dustproof rating
  • Bends 221 degrees for curved surfaces
  • IEC TS 63163 certification stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 100W may be more than a USB device needs
  • Heaviest panel here at 4.52 pounds
  • No low-light output figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 100W bifacial panel with advanced IBC cells at 25% conversion efficiency, IP68 water-resistant and dustproof protection, 221-degree bendability with a 0.275m radius, 4.52 pounds, a 3m flat cable, Anderson to DC7909 and DC8020 adapters, operation from minus 40 to 85 degrees C, and IEC TS 63163 certification. It states the panel is 56% lighter than traditional rigid panels. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: RV, balcony and off-grid owners who want a light, bendable 100W panel with a stated efficiency figure. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term; this listing gives none.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 34/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power100W
Efficiency25%, bifacial IBC cells
WeatherIP68
Weight4.52 lbs

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 water-resistant and dustproof rating and IEC TS 63163 certification stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VERVERAY Ring Solar Panel

VERVERAY Ring Solar Panel

VERVERAY9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6W monocrystalline panel built for Ring cameras with USB-C and barrel plug connectors.

Pros

  • Purpose-built for Ring cameras with USB-C and barrel plug
  • Adjustable bracket for sun alignment
  • Tempered glass and 360-degree water-resistant seal
  • Over 90% efficiency stated after 5-plus years

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Cable length is 9.8 feet in the title but 16 feet in the bullets
  • Not compatible with 1st-gen Stick Up Cam or doorbells
  • No low-light performance figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 6W monocrystalline panel for Ring Stick Up Cam battery and solar models of the 2nd and 3rd generation and Spotlight Cam Plus and Pro, with USB-C and 3.5 by 1.35mm barrel plug connectors, 5.5V output and 1.2A capacity. It states a 360-degree plus 90-degree adjustable bracket, a 360-degree water-resistant seal, tempered glass and anti-aging PC, and over 90% power efficiency after 5-plus years of use. The title and spec table state a 9.8-foot cable while the bullets describe a 16-foot extended cable. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: Ring camera owners who want a purpose-built panel with a long cable. Who should skip it: owners of 1st-generation Stick Up Cams or doorbells, which the listing says are not compatible, and buyers who want a stated low-light figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power6W
Output5.5V, 1.2A
ConnectorsUSB-C and barrel plug
Cable9.8 ft stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 360-degree water-resistant seal, tempered glass and anti-aging PC stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Aocoray 6W Mini Panel

Aocoray 6W Mini Panel

Aocoray9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact 6W 5V USB solar panel in monocrystalline silicon for phones, fans and lanterns.

Pros

  • Compact 11.8 by 5.7 inch size
  • USB output for phones, fans and lanterns
  • Water-resistant and scratch-resistant build
  • Light at 0.16 kg

Cons

  • Admits it slows or stops when sunshine is weak
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No efficiency percentage is stated
  • Single USB output only
Detailed Review

The listing states a 5V 6W mini USB solar panel in monocrystalline silicon, 11.8 by 5.7 by 0.5 inches and 0.16 kg, for phones, power banks, cameras, fans and camping lanterns. It states a water-resistant and scratch-resistant build for long-term outdoor use. The notes admit the panel works more slowly or stops working when sunshine is weak. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: campers and hikers who want a pocket-size USB panel for small electronics in good sun. Who should skip it: buyers who need stated output in weak sun; the listing warns it slows or stops.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power6W, 5V
OutputUSB
Size11.8 x 5.7 x 0.5 in
Weight0.16 kg

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Water-resistant and scratch-resistant build stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Soshine 6W Mini Panel

Soshine 6W Mini Panel

Soshine9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6W 5V USB solar panel whose own usage notice rules out low-light use.

Pros

  • 1000mA maximum charging current stated
  • Light at 8.88 ounces with USB-A output
  • Water-resistant, UV and scratch-resistant design
  • Bright and clear protective film stated for light transmission

Cons

  • Usage notice says it will not function in low-light conditions
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table says monocrystalline silicone
  • Weak-light claim contradicts the usage notice
Detailed Review

The listing states a 6W 5V monocrystalline USB panel with a USB-A connector, 1000mA maximum charging current and 500mA normal, a 6.9 by 10.6 inch size and 8.88 ounces, and a water-resistant, UV and scratch-resistant design. The bullets claim an excellent weak light effect, but the usage notice states the panel requires direct and strong sunlight and will not function in cloudy, rainy or foggy weather, at night, indoors or in other low-light conditions. The spec table lists the material as monocrystalline silicone. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: campers who want a light USB panel for small devices in full sun. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for low-light performance; the listing itself rules that use out.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 21/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 64 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power6W, 5V
OutputUSB-A, 1000mA max
Size6.9 x 10.6 in
Weight8.88 oz

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Water-resistant, UV and scratch-resistant design stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

YESSZ 5W USB Panel

YESSZ 5W USB Panel

YESSZ9.3/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5W 5V USB solar panel at 1.76 ounces, the lightest and thinnest-listed panel here.

Pros

  • Lightest here at 1.76 ounces
  • 5V USB output for cameras and phones
  • Weather-resistant build stated
  • Fits easily in a backpack

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Dimensions read as 1 by 1 by 1 inches, a placeholder
  • Thinnest listing with the fewest stated specs
  • No low-light performance figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 5W 5V USB solar panel in monocrystalline silicon at 1.76 ounces, for cameras, cell phones, USB fans, night lights, solar pumps and heated tea cushions. It states a weather-resistant build for long-term outdoor use. The spec table lists the dimensions as 1 by 1 by 1 inches, which reads like a placeholder rather than the panel size. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: travelers who want the lightest USB panel here for small devices. Who should skip it: buyers who want detailed specs; this is the thinnest listing of the five.

Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 22/35, build 18/25, value 19/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 62 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power5W, 5V
OutputUSB
Weight1.76 oz
MaterialMonocrystalline silicon

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Weather-resistant build for outdoor use stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Panel Solar Score Power Efficiency Weather rating Warranty Amazon
Jackery SolarSaga 100W 9.7/10 100W 25% stated IP68 Not stated View on Amazon
VERVERAY Ring Solar Panel 9.5/10 6W Not stated Water-resistant seal Not stated View on Amazon
Aocoray 6W Mini Panel 9.4/10 6W Not stated Water-resistant Not stated View on Amazon
Soshine 6W Mini Panel 9.4/10 6W Not stated Water-resistant Not stated View on Amazon
YESSZ 5W USB Panel 9.3/10 5W Not stated Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For solar panels, safety means the weather ratings and certifications the listing actually states, such as IP68 sealing or an IEC listing. None of the five state a concrete warranty term, so every panel scores zero on that line. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Jackery SolarSaga 100W 9.7 34 22 20 8 0
VERVERAY Ring Solar Panel 9.5 28 20 20 5 0
Aocoray 6W Mini Panel 9.4 23 19 20 4 0
Soshine 6W Mini Panel 9.4 21 19 20 4 0
YESSZ 5W USB Panel 9.3 22 18 19 3 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar panel for low light conditions

Read the low-light fine print first

Only one listing here states an efficiency number: the Jackery at 25%. Two listings disqualify themselves for this use case in their own words, so read every claim hard. The Soshine bullets claim an excellent weak light effect, but its usage notice states the panel requires direct and strong sunlight and will not function in low-light conditions. The Aocoray notes admit it works more slowly or stops when sunshine is weak. The VERVERAY and YESSZ state no low-light behavior at all. For more dim-day options see our best solar panel for cloudy days guide.

Weigh watts against the job

The five panels split into two jobs. The Jackery is a 100W panel with Anderson adapters for RVs, balconies and off-grid kits; the other four are 5 to 6W USB panels for phones, cameras, fans and power banks:

Panel Power Output Stated use
Jackery SolarSaga 100W 100W Anderson adapters RVs, balconies, off-grid kits
VERVERAY Ring Solar Panel 6W USB-C and barrel plug Ring cameras
Soshine 6W Mini Panel 6W USB-A Cameras, fans, power banks
Aocoray 6W Mini Panel 6W USB Phones, fans, camping lanterns
YESSZ 5W USB Panel 5W USB Cameras, cell phones

Do not expect a 6W mini to run anything the listing does not name; the Soshine even requires the device to have its own rechargeable battery. Neither the Soshine nor the Aocoray is a low-light option by its own listing’s words, so skip both if dim-day charging is the job. See our best solar panel for Jackery guide for more panels in that ecosystem.

Check the weather rating and the mount

The Jackery states IP68 water-resistant and dustproof protection plus an IEC TS 63163 certification, the strongest weather story here. The VERVERAY states a 360-degree water-resistant seal with tempered glass and an adjustable bracket for sun alignment. The Soshine and Aocoray state water-resistant and scratch-resistant builds with no IP code, and the YESSZ states weather resistance. The Jackery also bends 221 degrees for curved roofs, which suits vans and RVs; see our best flexible solar panels for van roof guide.

Mind the contradictions

Listings this thin need a skeptical read. The Soshine’s weak-light claim fights its own usage notice, and the notice is the more specific statement. The VERVERAY’s cable is 9.8 feet in the title and spec table but 16 feet in the bullets. The YESSZ’s dimensions read as 1 by 1 by 1 inches, a placeholder rather than a measurement. And the Soshine spec table says monocrystalline silicone, a typo for silicon. For panels built for rough weather see our best solar panel for all weather guide.

Sizing Notes

  • Match panel watts to the load the listing states: 100W with Anderson adapters on the Jackery versus 5 to 6W USB for phones and cameras.
  • Check output voltage against your device: 5V USB on the minis, 5.5V on the VERVERAY for Ring cameras.
  • Weigh the weather rating against the install: IP68 on the Jackery, a 360-degree water-resistant seal on the VERVERAY.
  • Read the cable length against the mounting spot: 9.8 feet stated on the VERVERAY, 3 meters on the Jackery.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which panel states the highest efficiency?

The Jackery SolarSaga 100W states 25% conversion efficiency with bifacial IBC cells. None of the other four state an efficiency number.

Do any of these admit weakness in low light?

Yes. The Soshine usage notice states it will not function in low-light conditions, and the Aocoray notes admit it works more slowly or stops when sunshine is weak.

Which panel fits a Ring camera?

The VERVERAY states compatibility with Ring Stick Up Cam battery and solar models of the 2nd and 3rd generation and Spotlight Cam Plus and Pro. It states the 1st generation Stick Up Cam and doorbells are not compatible.

Which panels state a warranty?

None of the five state a concrete warranty term.

Which is the most weatherproof?

The Jackery states IP68 water-resistant and dustproof protection with IEC TS 63163 certification. The VERVERAY states a 360-degree water-resistant seal, and the Soshine and Aocoray state water-resistant builds with no IP code.

Jackery SolarSaga 100W
Still deciding? Our top pickJackery SolarSaga 100W
Check price on Amazon

See every Rigid and Flexible Panels guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides. Also see our best solar panel for cloudy days. Also see our best flexible solar panels for van roof. Also see our best solar panel for Jackery.

More picks: best solar panel for all weather, best solar panel for cloudy weather, best portable solar panel with charge controller. Also considered: the Yomistar 24V battery box panel, the SECUPOE 20W panel with battery backup, the GALAYOU 3W camera panel and the yowin 3V replacement panel.