On this page
A dark step at night is easy to miss, and the best solar step lights under 20 keep each tread lit on sunlight alone, with no cord and no wiring to run. We compared five step lights, from warm white 2-packs to multicolor 6-packs, on stated LED count, light color, runtime, weather protection and warranty terms. The AUDLES 10-LED set leads the group, and the SOLPEX set leads on stated lumens.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall AUDLES 10-LED Step Lights: 10 LEDs, 6 to 12 hours, 2 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
Best Multicolor PATIOWIN 24-LED Step Lights: 24 LEDs, 7 colors cycling, 6-pack. Check price on Amazon
Highest Lumens SOLPEX 24-LED Step Lights: 800 lumens, 24 LEDs, 6-pack. Check price on Amazon
Also Great AUDLES Warm White Step Lights: 80 lumens, warm white, 2-pack, 2 years warranty. Check price on Amazon
Triangle Pick CREATESTAR Triangle Step Lights: Warm white or RGB, 4-pack, 8 to 10 hours. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | AUDLES 10-LED Step Lights | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | PATIOWIN 24-LED Step Lights | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SOLPEX 24-LED Step Lights | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | AUDLES Warm White Step Lights | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | CREATESTAR Triangle Step Lights | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

AUDLES 10-LED Step Lights
A warm white 2-pack with 10 LEDs, a 500mAh battery and 6 to 12 hours of stated runtime.
Pros
- 10 LEDs stated
- 6 to 12 hours of lighting stated
- 4.5 hours of solar charging stated
- 2 year warranty stated
Cons
- Spec table lists 2 light sources against 10 LEDs in the bullets
- No lumen figure stated
- Warm white only, no color changing stated
- No panel watt figure stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a warm white 2-pack with 10 LEDs, a 500mAh battery, 4.5 hours of solar charging for 6 to 12 hours of lighting, a built-in light sensor that turns the light on at dusk and off at dawn, ABS material with an IP67 code, and tape and screws for fixing. The spec table lists 2 light sources while the bullets state 10 LEDs; this article follows the bullets. Dimensions are 2.75 by 1.73 by 2.75 inches and weight is 0.21 kg.
Who it's for: readers who want a warm white 2-pack with 6 to 12 hours of stated runtime. Who should skip it: readers who want color changing or a stated lumen figure, since neither is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 10 LEDs |
|---|---|
| Battery | 500mAh |
| Runtime | 6-12 hours |
| Warranty | 2 year warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 code stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2 year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PATIOWIN 24-LED Step Lights
A multicolor 6-pack with 24 LEDs that cycles through 7 colors and runs up to 8 hours.
Pros
- 24 LEDs stated
- 7 colors cycling stated
- Up to 8 hours of lighting stated
- Dusk-to-dawn automatic switching stated
Cons
- 90 day warranty term is the lowest stated here
- No fixed white mode stated
- No lumen figure stated
- No battery capacity stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a multicolor 6-pack with 24 LEDs, 7 colors cycling at dusk, 4 to 5 hours of sunlight charging for up to 8 hours of lighting, ABS material with an IP67 code, and a triangular shape at 4.17 by 1.85 by 1.85 inches. The spec table shows a unit count of 1 beside 6 items; this article follows the 6-pack title.
Who it's for: readers who want multicolor cycling across steps. Who should skip it: readers who want a fixed warm white light or a stated lumen figure, since neither is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 24 LEDs |
|---|---|
| Colors | 7 colors |
| Runtime | up to 8 hours |
| Warranty | 90 days |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 code stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 90 days. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SOLPEX 24-LED Step Lights
A cold white 6-pack with 24 LEDs and 800 lumens, the highest stated lumen figure here.
Pros
- 800 lumens stated
- 24 LEDs stated
- 8 hours of lighting stated
- Ultra-thin panel shape stated
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- No battery capacity stated
- Cold white only, no warm white stated
- Remote control included with no stated functions
Detailed Review
The listing states a cold white 6-pack with 24 LEDs, 800 lumens, 5000 Kelvin color temperature, 4 to 5 hours of solar charging for 8 hours of lighting, ABS and polycarbonate material with an IP67 code, and a triangular shape at 4.17 by 1.85 by 1.85 inches.
Who it's for: readers who want the highest-lumen light here across steps. Who should skip it: readers who want warm white light or a warranty term, since neither is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 24 LEDs |
|---|---|
| Lumens | 800 lumens |
| Color | Cold White |
| Runtime | 8 hours |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 code stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AUDLES Warm White Step Lights
A warm white 2-pack with 80 lumens, an 800mAh battery and more than 8 hours of stated runtime.
Pros
- 80 lumens stated
- 800mAh battery stated
- More than 8 hours of lighting stated
- 2 years warranty stated
Cons
- Title states IP67 while bullets state IP65
- No LED count stated
- 2-pack only, smaller than the 4-pack and 6-packs here
- No color changing stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a warm white 2-pack with 80 lumens, an 800mAh battery, more than 8 hours of lighting after a full solar charge, a built-in light sensor, ABS and polycarbonate material, and tape and screws for fixing. The title states an IP67 code while the bullets state IP65, so this article names both codes. Dimensions are 3.2 by 1.2 by 3.2 inches and weight is 1.6 pounds.
Who it's for: readers who want a warm white 2-pack with a stated lumen figure and a 2 year warranty term. Who should skip it: readers who want a larger pack or color changing, since neither is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Lumens | 80 lumens |
|---|---|
| Battery | 800mAh |
| Runtime | more than 8 hours |
| Warranty | 2 years warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 code in the title and IP65 code in the bullets, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 years warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CREATESTAR Triangle Step Lights
A triangle 4-pack with warm white or RGB changing colors and 8 to 10 hours of stated runtime.
Pros
- Warm white or RGB colors stated
- 8 to 10 hours of lighting stated
- Triangle shape stated
- Tape and screws included stated
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- No lumen figure stated
- No battery capacity stated
- No LED count stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a triangle 4-pack with warm white or RGB changing colors, 3000 Kelvin, 4 to 5 hours of charging for 8 to 10 hours of lighting, plastic material with an IP67 code, and tape and screws for fixing. Dimensions are 3.1 by 2.1 by 3.1 inches.
Who it's for: readers who want a triangle shape with color changing across steps. Who should skip it: readers who want a warranty term or a stated lumen figure, since neither is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Shape | Triangle |
|---|---|
| Colors | Warm white/RGB |
| Runtime | 8-10 hours |
| Dimensions | 3.1 x 2.1 x 3.1 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 code stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Greluna 8-Pack Fence LightsWarm white glow, 8-pack, dusk-to-dawn switching.Check on Amazon
FabStyl 8-Pack Fence Lights3 white tones, 8-pack, up to 30 hours.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Step Light | Solar Score | Pack | Light Color | Runtime | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AUDLES 10-LED Step Lights | 9.6/10 | 2 Pack | Warm White | 6-12 hours | 2 year | View on Amazon |
| PATIOWIN 24-LED Step Lights | 9.6/10 | 6 Pack | Multicolor | up to 8 hours | 90 days | View on Amazon |
| SOLPEX 24-LED Step Lights | 9.6/10 | 6 Pack | Cold White | 8 hours | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| AUDLES Warm White Step Lights | 9.5/10 | 2 Pack | Warm White | more than 8 hours | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| CREATESTAR Triangle Step Lights | 9.5/10 | 4 Pack | Warm white/RGB | 8-10 hours | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For step lights, safety means a weather protection code the listing states; every set here states one, so no set scores zero on that line. Three of the five listings state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AUDLES 10-LED Step Lights | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| PATIOWIN 24-LED Step Lights | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 2 |
| SOLPEX 24-LED Step Lights | 9.6 | 33 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| AUDLES Warm White Step Lights | 9.5 | 26 | 20 | 19 | 7 | 3 |
| CREATESTAR Triangle Step Lights | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar step lights under 20
Start from LED count and light color
LED count and color split the group first. The PATIOWIN and SOLPEX sets state 24 LEDs each, the AUDLES 10-LED set states 10 LEDs, and the other two state no LED count. Color runs from warm white on both AUDLES sets, to cold white on the SOLPEX set, to multicolor on the PATIOWIN set and warm white or RGB on the triangle set. A warm white set suits steps where a soft tone fits the house, while a multicolor set suits steps dressed for gatherings; see our warm white solar path lights and color changing solar path lights for the wider path-light versions of each look.
Match runtime to the night
Stated runtimes run from up to 8 hours on the PATIOWIN and SOLPEX sets, to 8 to 10 hours on the triangle set, to more than 8 hours on the AUDLES warm white 2-pack, to 6 to 12 hours on the AUDLES 10-LED set. Charge times are close across the group: three listings state 4 to 5 hours, and the AUDLES 10-LED set states 4.5 hours. A set with a longer stated runtime suits steps that stay dark late, while a set with a shorter stated runtime suits steps used mainly in the early evening.
Count the pack against the steps
Pack size decides how many steps one box covers. The group holds 2-packs, a 4-pack and 6-packs, so count the treads first and then pick the pack that matches, rather than buying twice.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Warm white 2-pack | AUDLES 10-LED Step Lights, 10 LEDs |
| Multicolor 6-pack | PATIOWIN 24-LED Step Lights, 7 colors |
| Highest stated lumens | SOLPEX 24-LED Step Lights, 800 lumens |
| Triangle 4-pack | CREATESTAR Triangle Step Lights, warm white or RGB |
Read the warranty lines
Warranty terms split the group three to two. Both AUDLES sets state 2 year terms and the PATIOWIN set states 90 days, while the triangle and SOLPEX listings state no warranty term. A stated term does not make a light shine brighter, but it does say more about how long the maker stands behind the listing, so weigh it beside LED count and runtime rather than ahead of them.
Sizing Notes
- Count the steps first, then match the pack: 2-pack, 4-pack and 6-pack options are all in this group.
- Match light color to the setting: warm white on both AUDLES sets, cold white on the SOLPEX set, multicolor cycling on the PATIOWIN set and warm white or RGB on the triangle set.
- Check the stated weather protection code: IP67 on four sets, with the AUDLES warm white 2-pack listing IP67 in its title and IP65 in its bullets.
- Check charge time against sun on the steps: three listings state 4 to 5 hours, and the AUDLES 10-LED set states 4.5 hours.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which light here states the highest lumens?
The SOLPEX 6-pack, at 800 lumens. The AUDLES warm white 2-pack states 80 lumens, and the other three state no lumen figure.
Which lights state a warranty term?
Three of the five: both AUDLES sets state 2 year terms and the PATIOWIN set states 90 days. The triangle and SOLPEX listings state no warranty term.
How long do these lights run after charging?
Stated runtimes run from up to 8 hours on the PATIOWIN and SOLPEX sets to 6 to 12 hours on the AUDLES 10-LED set, with the triangle set at 8 to 10 hours and the AUDLES warm white 2-pack at more than 8 hours.
Which lights change color?
The PATIOWIN set cycles through 7 colors, and the triangle set states warm white or RGB changing colors. The other three state a single color: warm white on both AUDLES sets and cold white on the SOLPEX set.
Related guides
See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar path lights for stepping stones. Also see our best solar path lights pack of 6. Also see our solar path lights vs solar spotlights.




