On this page
The best solar string lights for barn use are the ones that survive a season of dust, rain and early chores without a ladder trip to fix them. We compared three barn lighting options on what their listings actually state: brightness figures, string length, charging, weather codes and warranty terms. The Etetale 2-pack of solar shed bars leads on stated brightness and runtime modes, while the VGUXG 65-foot string set leads on runtime with dual solar and USB charging.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Barn Light Etetale 2-Pack Shed Light Bar: 1500-lumen bars with a separate 16.4-ft-cable solar panel Check price on Amazon
Best Long Runtime VGUXG 65ft Solar String Lights: dual solar and USB charging with up to 20-plus hours stated Check price on Amazon
Best Vintage Look Jnaurb 20ft Rope String Lights: hemp-rope strand with 8 modes and a memory function Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Etetale 2-Pack Shed Light Bar | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | VGUXG 65ft Solar String Lights | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Jnaurb 20ft Rope String Lights | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Etetale 2-Pack Shed Light Bar
A 2-pack of solar shed light bars with a stated 1500 lumens each and a separate solar panel on a 16.4-foot cable.
Pros
- 1500 lumens stated per bar, far above the decorative picks
- Separate 8W/5V monocrystalline panel on a 16.4-foot cable
- Three modes including an auto night mode with up to 14 hours stated
- 2 year warranty stated
Cons
- Title states a 12Ah battery while the bullets state 6Ah
- Storage and power box is not weather-sealed though the lamp body is IP65
- 6500K cool white only, no warm option stated
- Pull cord is the only control, no remote stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack of 31-inch solar light bars with 122 LEDs each, 1500 lumens of 6500K cool white light, a 120-degree beam, three pull-cord modes (100 percent for 6 to 8 hours, 150 percent for 3 to 4 hours, auto night mode for up to 14 hours), an 8W/5V monocrystalline panel on a 16.4-foot cable, an IP65 lamp body and a 2 year warranty. The title states a 12Ah battery while the bullets state a 6Ah 3.7V battery, and the listing notes the storage and power box is not weather-sealed.
Who it's for: barn, shed, garage and workshop owners who need real work light from a solar bar. Who should skip it: anyone who wants warm decorative light, since the listing states 6500K only.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Light bar | 31 in, 122 LEDs |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 1500 lm, 6500K |
| Panel | 8W/5V mono, 16.4-ft cable |
| Modes | 100%/150%/auto pull-cord |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 lamp body stated; power box is not weather-sealed per the listing, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VGUXG 65ft Solar String Lights
A 65-foot solar string light set with remote control, four brightness modes and dual solar and USB charging.
Pros
- Dual charging: 8 hours solar or 4 hours USB for a full charge
- Up to 20-plus hours of stated runtime
- Four brightness modes with remote control
- 2 year manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- No weather-protection code is stated
- No brightness figure in lumens is stated
- 2 AAA batteries required for the remote
- 29 lights on 65 feet is sparser than the 74-bulb picks
Detailed Review
The listing states a 65-foot solar string light set with 29 S14 lights in warm white 2700K, four brightness modes (25, 50, 75 and 100 percent), a remote control, dual charging (8 hours of solar or 4 hours of USB for a full charge), up to 20-plus hours of stated runtime, dusk-to-dawn operation and a 2 year manufacturer warranty. The listing claims weather protection for rain, snow and fog but states no IP code, and the spec table notes 2 AAA batteries for the remote.
Who it's for: barn and backyard owners who want the longest stated runtime and a USB backup for cloudy weeks. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated weather code before hanging lights in the open.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| String | 65 ft, 29 lights |
|---|---|
| Charging | solar 8 h or USB 4 h |
| Runtime | up to 20+ h stated |
| Bulb | S14, 2700K |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Weather-resistant construction for rain, snow and fog stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Jnaurb 20ft Rope String Lights
A 20-foot vintage hemp-rope solar string light set with 16 bulbs, 8 modes and a stated IP65 weather code.
Pros
- Hemp-rope vintage look with 16 shatterproof bulbs
- 8 lighting modes with a memory function
- IP65 weather code stated
- Automatic dusk-to-dawn operation with light sensor
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No brightness figure in lumens is stated
- 20 feet of light is short for a barn
- Cool white only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 20-foot vintage hemp-rope solar string light set with 16 shatterproof plastic bulbs, 10 LEDs per bulb for 160 total, 8 lighting modes with a memory function, automatic dusk-to-dawn operation, a 6.56-foot lead wire and an IP65 weather code. The listing states no lumen figure and no warranty term.
Who it's for: owners dressing a barn porch, bistro corner or pergola beam with vintage rope lights. Who should skip it: anyone lighting a full barn, since 20 feet of light will not cover it.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| String | 20 ft light, 6.56 ft lead |
|---|---|
| Bulbs | 16, 10 LEDs each |
| Modes | 8 with memory function |
| Weather code | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 weather code stated; shatterproof plastic bulbs stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Light | Solar Score | Length | Bulbs | Brightness | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Etetale 2-Pack Shed Light Bar | 9.7/10 | 31 in bar x 2 | 122 LEDs per bar | 1500 lm | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| VGUXG 65ft Solar String Lights | 9.6/10 | 65 ft | 29 lights | Not stated | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| Jnaurb 20ft Rope String Lights | 9.5/10 | 20 ft light, 6.56 ft lead | 16 bulbs, 160 LEDs | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For barn lights, safety means a stated weather-protection code or other safety-relevant features the listing actually names; every pick here states at least one. Two of the three picks state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Etetale 2-Pack Shed Light Bar | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| VGUXG 65ft Solar String Lights | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| Jnaurb 20ft Rope String Lights | 9.5 | 26 | 20 | 19 | 8 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar string lights for barn
Start with how the light gets its power
Every pick here charges from its own solar panel, so none needs an outlet at the rafters. The VGUXG strand adds USB charging that reaches a full charge in 4 hours on sunless days, the Etetale bars hang indoors while their panel sits outside on a 16.4-foot cable, and the Jnaurb rope set runs dusk to dawn on its panel alone. If your barn roof sees no sun, check the panel placement before you hang the lights; our best solar flood lights for barn compares more barn-ready options.
Match stated brightness to the job
Brightness figures here span two different jobs. The Etetale bars state 1500 lumens each for real work light in a barn aisle or stall. The VGUXG and Jnaurb listings state no lumen figure at all, so expect ambiance from those two rather than work light. Buy the bars for chores after dark and the strands for atmosphere.
Check the run-time and charging line
The VGUXG set is the endurance pick: 8 hours of solar charge or 4 hours of USB charge for up to 20-plus hours of stated runtime. The Etetale bars give three pull-cord modes, 6 to 8 hours at full brightness, 3 to 4 hours at the 150 percent setting, and up to 14 hours in auto night mode. The Jnaurb rope set asks for 6 to 8 hours of charge without stating a run time. See solar motion lights vs solar flood lights if you want the light to respond to movement instead of burning all night.
| Light | Length | Bulbs | Brightness | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Etetale 2-Pack Shed Light Bar | 31 in bar x 2 | 122 LEDs per bar | 1500 lm | 2 years |
| VGUXG 65ft Solar String Lights | 65 ft | 29 lights | Not stated | 2 years |
| Jnaurb 20ft Rope String Lights | 20 ft light, 6.56 ft lead | 16 bulbs, 160 LEDs | Not stated | Not stated |
Read the weather code line
Two picks state an IP65 weather code: the Jnaurb rope set and the Etetale lamp body. The Etetale listing adds that its storage and power box is not weather-sealed, so mount that box under cover even though the bar itself is IP65. The VGUXG listing claims weather protection for rain, snow and fog without stating a code, so give it a covered spot. Our best solar garden lights for winter covers lights that state their cold-weather terms.
Note the warranty line before you order
Etetale and VGUXG both state a 2 year warranty. The Jnaurb listing states no concrete term. A stated term is the tiebreaker when two picks cover the same job.
Sizing Notes
- Match stated brightness to the job: 1500 lumens per bar for work light; the VGUXG and Jnaurb listings state no lumen figure.
- Match string length to the span: 65 feet on VGUXG, 20 feet of light plus a 6.56-foot lead on Jnaurb.
- Match charging to your weather: VGUXG adds a 4-hour USB charge option; the Etetale panel sits on a 16.4-foot cable so the bar can hang indoors.
- Match weather codes to the mounting spot: IP65 is stated on the Jnaurb and Etetale lamp bodies, but the Etetale power box is not weather-sealed.
- Check warranty lines before ordering: 2 years on Etetale and VGUXG, no term stated on Jnaurb.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick states the highest brightness?
The Etetale 2-pack states 1500 lumens per 31-inch bar, far above the decorative picks.
How many lights does each pick state?
The VGUXG strand states 29 S14 lights, the Jnaurb rope set states 16 bulbs with 10 LEDs each, and the Etetale 2-pack states 122 LEDs per bar.
Which lights can charge without sun?
The VGUXG set offers USB charging that reaches a full charge in 4 hours on sunless days. The other solar picks state solar charging only.
Which picks state an IP65 weather code?
The Jnaurb rope set and the Etetale lamp body state IP65. The VGUXG listing states no code, so give it a covered spot.
Related guides
See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar lantern for hurricane season. Also see our best solar string lights for patio. Also see our best solar lights for outdoor patio. Also see our best solar flood lights for garden.
More picks: the Tiejiajiang iron gooseneck barn lights with a motion sensor, a stated 3000mAh battery and a 1 year warranty, the HULPPRE 169-LED pendant with a stated 3000 lumens, IP65 and 24 months of warranty, the Porbench 54-foot 24-bulb strand with a 3600mAh battery, 18AWG cable and a 2 year warranty, the KepStars 30-foot 16-bulb strand with 8 modes and a 1 year warranty, and the YaaFen 52-foot 15-plus-1-bulb strand with dual solar and USB charging and a 1 year warranty were also considered. Also see our best solar wall lights for garden, best solar lights for garden and best quality solar lights for garden.




