Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Solar Bug Zapper vs Citronella Torch: Which One Should You Buy?

Two solar bug zappers and two citronella torches compared by coverage, power, run time, build and warranty, for patios and backyards.

Solar Bug Zapper vs Citronella Torch: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on solar bug zapper vs citronella torch: a zapper kills on contact with an electrified grid and needs no fuel, while a torch repels with citronella flame and needs refills. We compared listings from both sides on what each states: coverage, power, run time, build and warranty. Pick the zapper for set-and-forget evenings; pick the torch for open-flame ambiance.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Solar bug zapper vs citronella torch: side by side

Bug Control Solar Score Coverage Power Run Time Warranty Amazon
PhatroyYee Solar Zapper 9.7/10 1/2 acre Solar + USB 12 hours 1 year View on Amazon
PIC Solar Torch Twin Pack 9.5/10 1/2 acre Solar Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
TIKI Citronella Fuel 128oz 9.5/10 Not stated Torch fuel Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
SNOGSWOG Table Torches 4-Pack 9.5/10 Not stated Torch fuel More than 6 hours Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.

How each side works

The zapper listings use a UV light to draw insects to an electrified grid: the PhatroyYee states a 4500V grid with a 365-395nm wavelength, and the PIC pairs a blue UV LED with a flickering flame effect LED. The torch side works differently: the SNOGSWOG torches burn fuel in an open flame with a fiberglass wick, and the TIKI listing is the fuel itself, a citronella and cedar formula meant for torches and table torches. No fuel is ever needed on the zapper side; the torch side always needs fuel, and the SNOGSWOG torches arrive without any.

Coverage and run time

Both zapper listings state 1/2 acre coverage; neither torch-side listing states a coverage figure. On run time, the PhatroyYee states up to 12 hours after a full charge, with about 10 hours of solar charging or 4 hours of USB charging, while the SNOGSWOG torches state more than 6 hours of burn per 22 oz fill. The PIC and TIKI listings state no run time. Do not call one side longer on run time: the figures describe different things and two listings give none.

Safety and weather

The PhatroyYee states an IPx5 rating with a safety protection net and an anti-leakage system for children and pets. The PIC describes its torch as weatherproof with no open flame, but states no IP rating. The torch side has real flame: the SNOGSWOG includes a metal snuffer to put out the flame, and the TIKI fuel states it produces less soot and smoke than traditional torch fuels. Keep torches away from anything flammable and never leave an open flame unattended.

What the listings leave unclear

The TIKI spec table lists the scent as Unscented while the title and bullets describe a citronella and cedar formula. The SNOGSWOG bullets state 0.53 lbs while the spec table states 1.28 kg. The PIC lists no run time, no battery figure and no warranty term. None of the four states a UL listing.

Four examples

PhatroyYee Solar Zapper

PhatroyYee Solar Zapper

PhatroyYee9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A solar bug zapper with a 4500V grid, 1/2 acre coverage and a 1-year warranty, for patios that want set-and-forget evenings; skip it if you want open flame.

Pros

  • 4500V grid with 365-395nm wavelength for 1/2 acre
  • Up to 12 hours of run time after a full charge
  • Solar charging in about 10 hours or USB in 4 hours
  • IPx5 rating with a safety net for children and pets

Cons

  • 4.6 pounds: the heaviest listing here
  • Needs about 10 hours of sun for a full solar charge
  • Bullets claim effectiveness against specific insects without stated evidence
  • 1-year warranty is the only term stated here
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4500V electrified grid with a 365-395nm wavelength covering 1/2 acre, solar or USB charging, up to 12 hours of run time, a dusk-to-dawn sensor and an IPx5 rating. It includes a hook, a steel rod, a 10ft extension cord for the panel and a brush. No contradiction stands out.

Who it's for: patio and backyard owners who want the strongest stated specs on the zapper side. Who should skip it: anyone who wants open-flame ambiance or a stated warranty longer than 1 year.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Voltage4500V
Coverage1/2 acre
Run time12 hours
IP ratingIPx5

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPx5 rating stated; safety protection net and anti-leakage system for children and pets., so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturer. Exclusive Online Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PIC Solar Torch Twin Pack

PIC Solar Torch Twin Pack

PIC9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A twin pack of solar torches with flame-effect LED and UV bug killing, for decks that want flame looks without flame; skip it if you want stated run times.

Pros

  • Flickering flame effect LED with no open flame
  • Blue UV LED for bug killing on contact
  • Twin pack: two torches in one listing
  • 1/2 acre coverage stated

Cons

  • No run time is stated
  • No battery figure is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No IP rating is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a twin pack of solar torches with a flickering flame effect LED, a blue UV LED for killing bugs on contact, weatherproof construction and 1/2 acre of coverage. No run time, battery figure, warranty term or IP rating is stated. No contradiction stands out.

Who it's for: deck owners who want the look of flame with solar bug killing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated run times or a warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Count2
Coverage1/2 acre
Dimensions6 x 6 x 8.5 in
Weight14.4 ounces

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Maker describes the torch as weatherproof with no open flame; no IP rating is stated., so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TIKI Citronella Fuel 128oz

TIKI Citronella Fuel 128oz

TIKI9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A gallon of citronella and cedar torch fuel for refilling torches; skip it if you have no torch to fill.

Pros

  • 128 oz fills up to ten 12-ounce torch canisters
  • Citronella and cedar formula
  • States less soot and smoke than traditional torch fuels
  • Easy-pour bottle for refilling

Cons

  • Fuel only: no torch is included
  • No burn time is stated
  • Spec table lists the scent as Unscented while the title states citronella and cedar
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 128 oz bottle of citronella and cedar torch fuel that fills up to ten 12-ounce canisters, with less soot and smoke than traditional torch fuels. Contradiction: the spec table lists the scent as Unscented while the title and bullets describe a citronella and cedar formula. Per the listing convention, trust the title and bullets.

Who it's for: torch owners who want a large refill bottle. Who should skip it: anyone without a torch, or anyone who wants a stated burn time.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Volume128 oz
FormulaCitronella and cedar
FillsTen 12-ounce canisters
FormOil

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Maker states the formula produces less soot and smoke than traditional torch fuels., so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SNOGSWOG Table Torches 4-Pack

SNOGSWOG Table Torches 4-Pack

SNOGSWOG9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Four metal tabletop torches with snuffers, for table settings; skip it if you want a fuel-free option.

Pros

  • 4-pack of metal torches with fiberglass wicks
  • 22 oz fuel capacity each with more than 6 hours of burn
  • Metal snuffer included to put out the flame
  • Rust-proof metal with a powder coated finish

Cons

  • No fuel is included
  • Bullets state 0.53 lbs while the spec table states 1.28 kg
  • Real open flame needs attention
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states four metal tabletop torches, each holding 22 oz of fuel for more than 6 hours of burn, with fiberglass wicks and metal snuffers. Contradiction: the bullets state 0.53 lbs while the spec table states 1.28 kg. Per the listing convention, trust the title and bullets over the spec table.

Who it's for: hosts who want real flame on the table. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a fuel-free, set-and-forget option.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Count4
Capacity22 oz
Burn timeMore than 6 hours
MaterialMetal

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Metal snuffer included to put out the flame; fiberglass wick., so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For bug control, safety means stated weather ratings, protective nets and snuffers, or a stated reduction in soot and smoke; all four state something here. One of the four states a warranty term: the PhatroyYee at 1 year. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
PhatroyYee Solar Zapper 9.7 32 21 21 8 3
PIC Solar Torch Twin Pack 9.5 28 19 21 5 0
TIKI Citronella Fuel 128oz 9.5 29 19 21 4 0
SNOGSWOG Table Torches 4-Pack 9.5 28 20 20 4 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Solar bug zapper vs citronella torch: which should you choose?

Choose a solar bug zapper if you want to hang it and forget it: no fuel, automatic dusk-to-dawn operation and an electrified grid that does the killing. The PhatroyYee suits a patio or backyard with its 1/2 acre coverage and 1-year warranty; the PIC suits a deck that wants flame looks without flame. Choose a citronella torch if you want real flame and repellency: the SNOGSWOG 4-pack covers a table, and the TIKI fuel refills any torch. Torches need fuel and attention; zappers need sun.

If you need Look at
No fuel, ever PhatroyYee or PIC solar zappers
Real flame ambiance SNOGSWOG torches with TIKI fuel
Stated 1/2 acre coverage PhatroyYee or PIC
Stated warranty PhatroyYee, 1 year

Sizing Notes

  • Match the stated coverage to the space: both zapper listings state 1/2 acre; the torch side states none.
  • Match the fuel to the torch: the TIKI fuel fills up to ten 12-ounce canisters; the SNOGSWOG torches hold 22 oz each and arrive without fuel.
  • Match the charge source to the site: the PhatroyYee charges by solar in about 10 hours or by USB in 4 hours.
  • For open flame, keep a snuffer at hand: the SNOGSWOG includes a metal one.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do solar bug zappers need fuel?

No. Both zapper listings run on solar power; the PhatroyYee also charges by USB. The torch side always needs fuel.

How much area do these cover?

Both zapper listings state 1/2 acre of coverage. The torch-side listings state no coverage figure.

How long do they run?

The PhatroyYee states up to 12 hours after a full charge; the SNOGSWOG torches state more than 6 hours of burn per 22 oz fill. The PIC and TIKI listings state no run time.

Are these safe around kids and pets?

The PhatroyYee states a safety protection net and an anti-leakage system for children and pets. The torch side uses open flame: use the metal snuffer and keep torches away from anything flammable.

Which listing states a warranty?

Only the PhatroyYee, with a 1-year manufacturer warranty. The other three state none.

PhatroyYee Solar Zapper
Still deciding? Our top pickPhatroyYee Solar Zapper
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More picks: solar bug zapper for backyard, solar tiki torch for patio, solar vs electric bug zapper and solar fan for camping.