Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Deep Cycle and RV Batteries

Best 12v Battery for Teardrop Trailer (2026): 5 Compared by Spec

Five 12V SLA and AGM batteries for teardrop trailers compared on stated capacity, dimensions, terminals and warranty terms, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best 12v Battery for Teardrop Trailer (2026): 5 Compared by Spec
On this page

When the sun drops behind the ridge and the campsite lights flicker on, a teardrop trailer lives or dies by its house battery, so finding the best 12v battery for teardrop trailer duty starts with what the listings actually state. This roundup compares five small SLA and AGM batteries on stated capacity, dimensions, terminals and warranty terms, and ranks them with the Solar Score. The top pick brings the most stated amp-hours in the group plus the longest stated warranty term.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • UPLUS LP12-12 12V 12Ah
    Best Overall UPLUS LP12-12 12V 12Ah: 12Ah, the most capacity here, with a stated 15-month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Mighty Max ML5-12F2 5Ah
    Best Documented Mighty Max ML5-12F2 5Ah: UL Certified listing with dimensions, weight and a 1-year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
  • Power Sonic PS-1250F1 5Ah
    Dual Rate Stated Power Sonic PS-1250F1 5Ah: 5.0Ah at 20 hr and 4.5Ah at 10 hr stated on the listing Check price on Amazon
  • Mighty Max ML9-12 AGM Battery
    9Ah AGM Pick Mighty Max ML9-12 9Ah: 9Ah AGM capacity with F2 terminals Check price on Amazon
  • ExpertPower 12V 7Ah SLA
    7Ah F1 Pick ExpertPower EXP1270 7Ah: 7Ah sealed lead acid battery with F1 terminals Check price on Amazon

The picks

UPLUS LP12-12 12V 12Ah

UPLUS LP12-12 12V 12Ah

UPLUS NEW TECHNOLOGY BATTERY9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 12Ah AGM SLA battery with stated dimensions and a 15-month warranty, the largest capacity in this group.

Pros

  • 12Ah is the largest stated capacity in this group
  • Stated dimensions (5.95 x 3.86 x 3.74 in) help check the battery box fit
  • F2 terminals stated for standard connectors
  • 15-month warranty with a 60-day refund window stated

Cons

  • No certification or stated safety feature is listed
  • Heaviest listed build here at 7.14 lb
  • Application list centers on backup and alarm gear, not trailer house loads
  • Single-count pack only; no multi-pack option stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 12Ah AGM SLA battery with stated dimensions of 5.95 by 3.86 by 3.74 inches, a 7.14 lb build, F2 terminals, maintenance-free and leak-proof construction, and local after-sales support from a California office that responds within 12 hours. It lists a 15-month warranty with a 60-day refund window, and names Leoch Battery as the manufacturer. The spec table gives 7.1 lb where the bullets give 7.14 lb, a rounding-level difference.

Who it's for: teardrop owners who want the most stated amp-hours in this group and a stated warranty longer than a year. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated safety certification or a bigger bank than a single 12Ah unit.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity12V 12Ah
Size5.95 x 3.86 x 3.74 in
Weight7.14 lb
TerminalF2

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 15-month warranty with a 60-day refund window stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Max ML5-12F2 5Ah

Mighty Max ML5-12F2 5Ah

Mighty Max Battery9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A UL Certified 12V 5Ah SLA AGM battery with stated dimensions, F2 terminals and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • UL Certified stated on the listing
  • States dimensions, 3.1 lb weight, F2 terminal and high and low temperature performance
  • Mounts in any position and resists shock and vibration, per the listing
  • 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 5Ah is small for a trailer house battery
  • Listing is battery only; no wire harness or mounting accessories
  • No weather protection is stated
  • Spill-proof AGM claim has no further detail on the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 5Ah SLA AGM battery with F2 terminals, dimensions of 3.50 by 2.68 by 4.18 inches, a 3.1 lb build, a UL Certified marking, spill-proof maintenance-free construction that mounts in any position, and high and low temperature performance. Coverage is a 1-year warranty, and the listing is for the battery only with no wire harness or mounting accessories.

Who it's for: buyers who want a stated UL certification and full dimensions on a small 5Ah unit. Who should skip it: teardrop owners who need more than 5Ah of stated capacity.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity12V 5Ah
Size3.50 x 2.68 x 4.18 in
Weight3.1 lb
TerminalF2

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL Certified stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Max ML9-12 AGM Battery

Mighty Max ML9-12 AGM Battery

Mighty Max Battery9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-volt 9AH sealed AGM battery with an F2 terminal, UL certification and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 9AH sealed AGM with high discharge rate stated
  • UL Certified stated
  • Full one-year warranty stated in the bullets
  • Spill-proof, mounts in any position, resists shocks and vibration

Cons

  • Battery only; no wire harness or mounting accessories
  • Spec table warranty says to request it from customer service; trust the bullets' full year
  • 5.5 pounds for 9AH, heavier than the lithium picks
  • No cycle life figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12-volt 9AH sealed lead acid AGM battery with an F2 terminal, UL certification, 5.94 by 2.56 by 4.02 inches, 5.5 pounds, a high discharge rate, wide operating temperatures, long service life, spill-proof construction, mounting in any position and resistance to shocks and vibration. The bullets state a full one-year warranty while the spec table says to request it from customer service; trust the bullets.

Who it's for: buyers who want a sealed AGM with a real certification stated. Who should skip it: anyone counting grams for a kayak hatch.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity9 AH, 12 volts
Size5.94 x 2.56 x 4.02 in
TerminalsF2
RatingUL Certified, 5.5 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL Certified with spill-proof SLA stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ExpertPower 12V 7Ah SLA

ExpertPower 12V 7Ah SLA

ExpertPower9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 7Ah sealed lead acid battery with spill-proof design and a 1-year warranty stated.

Pros

  • Maintenance-free sealed design stated
  • Spill-proof leak-proof construction stated
  • Standard F1 terminals, no special tools stated
  • 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • No cycle life figure is stated
  • 7Ah capacity is small next to the lithium examples
  • No BMS is named
  • 4.3 pounds for 7Ah, heavier per amp-hour than lithium
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 7Ah sealed lead acid battery with F1 terminals, a maintenance-free and spill-proof design, a rugged ABS case with high-density plates, and dimensions of 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.70 inches at 4.3 pounds. It lists compatibility with alarm systems, UPS, ride-on cars and deer feeders as a drop-in replacement. The listing states a 1-year warranty that is void for misuse, abuse or neglect.

Who it's for: alarms, UPS and ride-on toys that want a simple lead acid drop-in. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated cycle life figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity12V 7Ah
CyclesNot stated
TerminalsF1
Weight4.3 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Sealed spill-proof leak-proof construction stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Power Sonic PS-1250F1 5Ah

Power Sonic PS-1250F1 5Ah

Power Sonic9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 5Ah sealed lead acid battery rated 5.0Ah at 20 hr and 4.5Ah at 10 hr, with F1 terminals and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • States both 5.0Ah at 20 hr and 4.5Ah at 10 hr
  • Maintenance-free SLA/AGM construction that mounts in any position
  • Stated dimensions (3.54 x 2.76 x 4.21 in) for fit checks
  • 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Bullets say 3.50 lb while the spec table says 1.8 lb
  • No certification is stated
  • Compatible-vehicle field says ATV, not trailer use
  • 5Ah suits small loads; larger trailer setups need more capacity
Detailed Review

The title states 5.0Ah at the 20-hour rate and 4.5Ah at the 10-hour rate, with F1 terminals, dimensions of 3.54 by 2.76 by 4.21 inches, maintenance-free SLA/AGM construction that mounts in any position, and a 1-year warranty. The bullets give 3.50 lb while the spec table gives 1.8 lb for the weight, so trust the bullets and treat the 1.8 lb figure as a listing error.

Who it's for: owners of small loads who value dual discharge-rate figures and a mount-anywhere build. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated certification, or more than 5Ah of stated capacity.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity12V 5.0Ah at 20 hr, 4.5Ah at 10 hr
Size3.54 x 2.76 x 4.21 in
Weight3.50 lb
TerminalF1

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Battery Solar Score Capacity Size Terminal Warranty Amazon
UPLUS LP12-12 12V 12Ah 9.6/10 12V 12Ah 5.95 x 3.86 x 3.74 in F2 15 months View on Amazon
Mighty Max ML5-12F2 5Ah 9.5/10 12V 5Ah 3.50 x 2.68 x 4.18 in F2 1 year View on Amazon
Power Sonic PS-1250F1 5Ah 9.4/10 12V 5Ah 3.54 x 2.76 x 4.21 in F1 1 year View on Amazon
Mighty Max ML9-12 9Ah 9.5/10 12V 9Ah Not stated F2 Not stated
ExpertPower EXP1270 7Ah 9.5/10 12V 7Ah Not stated F1 Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a trailer battery, safety means certifications and stated protections the listing actually states, and four of the five picks state none and score zero on that line. Three of the five picks state a warranty term, from 1 year to 15 months, and the Mighty Max 5Ah is the only pick with a stated UL certification. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
UPLUS LP12-12 12V 12Ah 9.6 32 21 20 0 3
Mighty Max ML5-12F2 5Ah 9.5 26 20 20 5 2
Power Sonic PS-1250F1 5Ah 9.4 26 19 20 0 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best 12v battery for teardrop trailer use

Capacity first: match amp-hours to your loads

Stated capacity is the first split in this group: the UPLUS LP12-12 states 12V 12Ah, the Mighty Max ML9-12 states 12V 9Ah, the ExpertPower EXP1270 states 12V 7Ah, and the Mighty Max ML5-12F2 and Power Sonic PS-1250F1 each state 12V 5Ah. List the loads you plan to run off the battery, then compare that list against the stated amp-hours instead of guessing from the battery’s size. Trailers that run a fridge or a fan through the night need the top of this range more than trailers that only light an LED strip.

Small-capacity picks still earn a place when the job is small: a 5Ah unit suits a single light circuit or a phone charging station, while the 12Ah pick covers longer evenings. For a second opinion on small-format picks, see the best 12v battery for kayak and best 12v battery for caravan guides.

Check the stated box fit before you order

Three of the five listings state dimensions, and two state none at all. Measure the battery tray or box in the trailer, then compare against the table below before ordering.

Battery Stated size Terminals
UPLUS LP12-12 12V 12Ah 5.95 x 3.86 x 3.74 in F2
Mighty Max ML5-12F2 5Ah 3.50 x 2.68 x 4.18 in F2
Power Sonic PS-1250F1 5Ah 3.54 x 2.76 x 4.21 in F1
Mighty Max ML9-12 9Ah Not stated F2
ExpertPower EXP1270 7Ah Not stated F1

Terminals and the wiring they meet

F2 and F1 terminals take different connector sizes, so match the terminal on the listing to the connectors already on the trailer harness. The UPLUS and both Mighty Max picks state F2 terminals, while the Power Sonic and ExpertPower picks state F1 terminals. A battery box for RV sized to the stated dimensions keeps the terminals covered and the battery from shifting on rough roads.

Read the warranty lines before you buy

Warranty terms split this group: the UPLUS states 15 months with a 60-day refund window, the Mighty Max 5Ah and Power Sonic each state 1 year, and the two picks with the thinnest listings state no term. A stated term shows the maker backs the battery for a defined period, which matters on a trailer that vibrates down rough roads. For the chemistry side of the decision, see lithium vs lead acid battery for RV and LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for trolling motor.

Sizing Notes

  • Match stated amp-hours to the loads you plan to run; this group runs from 5Ah to 12Ah.
  • Check stated dimensions against the battery box or tray before ordering: 5.95 x 3.86 x 3.74 in for the UPLUS, 3.50 x 2.68 x 4.18 in for the Mighty Max 5Ah.
  • Match the terminal type to the connectors on the trailer harness: F2 on the UPLUS and both Mighty Max picks, F1 on the Power Sonic and ExpertPower.
  • Three of the five picks state a warranty term; read the warranty lines before you buy.
  • Use the cable gauge and fuses the trailer manual gives.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which battery here states the most amp-hours?

The UPLUS LP12-12, listed at 12V 12Ah. The Mighty Max ML9-12 states 12V 9Ah, the ExpertPower EXP1270 states 12V 7Ah, and the Mighty Max 5Ah and Power Sonic picks each state 12V 5Ah.

Which pick states a safety certification?

The Mighty Max ML5-12F2, whose listing states UL Certified. None of the other four picks states a certification.

Why do the Power Sonic weight figures disagree?

The bullets give 3.50 lb and the spec table gives 1.8 lb. Trust the title and bullets over the spec table, so use 3.50 lb.

Can these batteries be mounted in any position?

The Mighty Max and Power Sonic listings state their batteries mount in any position. The UPLUS listing does not state that.

Which picks state a warranty term?

The UPLUS states 15 months with a 60-day refund window, and the Mighty Max 5Ah and Power Sonic each state 1 year. The Mighty Max 9Ah and ExpertPower listings state no warranty term.

UPLUS LP12-12 12V 12Ah
Still deciding? Our top pickUPLUS LP12-12 12V 12Ah
Check price on Amazon

See every Deep Cycle and RV Batteries guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see the best 12v battery for kayak guide. Also see the best 12v battery for caravan guide. Also see the best battery box for RV guide. Also see the LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for trolling motor guide. Also see the lithium vs lead acid battery for RV guide. Also see the best small battery charger guide. Also see the best battery monitor for camper guide.

More picks: the Renogy 100Ah Core Mini LiFePO4 (12.8V, 100A BMS, IP65-rated casing, 5-year warranty), the EverExceed 12V 12Ah LiFePO4 (15A BMS, 3000+ cycles, 1-year warranty), the UPLUS 79Ah group 24M dual-purpose AGM marine battery (550CCA, 2-year warranty) and the Mighty Max MM-G24M 90Ah dual-purpose marine AGM (550 CCA, 700 MCA, 145 RC, two-year limited warranty) sit outside this roundup for trailers with bigger power needs; compare options in the 12V lithium battery guide.