On this page
A dead bank at anchor turns a quiet night into a careful one, with every light and instrument weighed against the unknown, so the best battery monitor for sailboat use earns its place by showing what the bank holds. This roundup compares five battery monitors on stated voltage range, shunt size, display functions, protection codes and warranty terms, and ranks them with the Solar Score. The top pick shows % state of charge plus current and energy remaining, with IP55 protection stated.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Victron BMV-702 Monitor: 6.5-95 VDC, % state of charge and IP55 protection stated Check price on Amazon
Best Sealed SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor: IPX7-rated shell, buzzer alarms and power-off memory Check price on Amazon
500A Shunt Pick Renogy 500A Battery Monitor: 500A shunt with programmable alarms Check price on Amazon
100A Shunt Pick bayite 100A Battery Monitor: DC 8-100V range with a 100A shunt Check price on Amazon
Kit Pick Magnum ME-BMK Monitor Kit: monitor kit for the ME and MS series Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Renogy 500A Battery Monitor | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Victron BMV-702 Monitor | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | bayite PZEM-051 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Magnum ME-BMK Monitor Kit | 9.2/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Renogy 500A Battery Monitor
A 500A shunt battery monitor with 1% accuracy, programmable alarms and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- Up to 500A with 1% measurement accuracy stated
- High and low voltage programmable alarms
- 10 to 120V for 12, 24 and 48V systems
- 1-year material and workmanship warranty stated
Cons
- RoHS is the only certification stated
- Spec table lists both 63.9 pounds and 75 grams; trust the 75-gram item weight
- No Bluetooth or app is stated
- NiMH support is listed but unusual for a boat bank
Detailed Review
The listing states a shunt-type battery monitor with 1% measurement accuracy, up to 500A, 10 to 120V for 12, 24 and 48V systems, and support for AGM, Gel, LiFePO4, lithium-ion and NiMH batteries. High and low voltage alarms flash the backlight and voltage value to guard against over-discharge, and the display shows voltage, current, consumed power, capacity and degradation rate. It includes a transparent shunt holder and a 20-foot shielded cable, at 3.9 by 2.4 by 0.7 inches. The spec table lists both 63.9 pounds and a 75-gram item weight; trust the 75 grams. RoHS is stated, with a 1-year material and workmanship warranty.
Who it's for: boat and RV owners with big banks who want the most accurate stated monitoring and alarms here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants Bluetooth or an app.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Current | Up to 500A |
|---|---|
| Accuracy | 1% stated |
| Voltage | 10-120V |
| Cable | 20 ft shielded |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. RoHS stated, plus high and low voltage alarm functions, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year material and workmanship warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Victron BMV-702 Monitor
A high-precision 6.5-95 VDC battery monitor showing % state of charge, voltage, current and energy/time remaining, with IP55 protection.
Pros
- States 6.5-95 VDC with a 1-9999Ah capacity range
- Displays % state of charge, voltage, current and energy/time remaining
- IP55 protection stated
- VE.Direct port for a Bluetooth dongle or GX device stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Bluetooth dongle and temperature sensor are sold separately
- Spec table lists 7.87 x 7.87 x 2.36 in, which reads like a boxed size
- Listing warns that incorrect installation can be hazardous and calls for a licensed professional
Detailed Review
The listing states a high-precision battery monitor for 6.5-95 VDC systems with a 1-9999Ah capacity range, an extra input programmable for battery temperature (sensor sold separately), midpoint voltage or a second battery voltage, and a relay programmable to control other devices such as a battery protect or generator. It displays % state of charge, voltage, current, energy/time remaining and more, with a VE.Direct port for a Bluetooth Smart dongle (sold separately) or a GX device with VRM, and IP55 protection. The listing warns that incorrect installation can be hazardous and calls for a licensed professional following all applicable electrical codes.
Who it's for: sailboat owners who want % state of charge, a second-battery or midpoint input and a programmable relay in one monitor. Who should skip it: anyone who wants Bluetooth in the box or a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage range | 6.5-95 VDC |
|---|---|
| Capacity range | 1-9999Ah |
| Display | % state of charge, voltage, current, energy/time remaining |
| Protection | IP55 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP55 protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor
A 7-100V battery monitor for lead-acid AGM, LiFePO4 and ternary lithium batteries, with an IPX7-rated shell, buzzer alarms and power-off memory.
Pros
- IPX7-rated shell with a dustproof, fully closed build
- States 7-100V for lead-acid AGM, LiFePO4 and ternary lithium batteries
- Low and high voltage buzzer alarms plus power-off memory stated
- 15.75 in wires, double-side tape and a manual in the box
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Listing says the monitor must be set after install, or capacity always shows 100%
- Application list is broad (motorcycle, golf cart, car) with no sailboat-specific detail
- Temperature is shown in Celsius only, per the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a 7-100V battery monitor for ternary lithium, lead-acid AGM and LiFePO4 batteries (default 12V lead acid), showing voltage, remaining capacity percentage and temperature, with low and high voltage buzzer alarms and power-off memory. It lists a fully closed dustproof shell with an IPX7 code, input reverse connection protection, 15.75 in wires, double-side adhesive, and a 2.5 x 1.4 x 0.6 in, 30 g build. The listing notes the monitor must be set after install, or capacity always shows 100%.
Who it's for: sailors who want a compact sealed monitor with buzzer alarms for a small boat bank. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term or a large helm display.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage range | 7-100V |
|---|---|
| Battery types | Lead-acid AGM, LiFePO4, ternary lithium |
| Size | 2.5 x 1.4 x 0.6 in |
| Protection | IPX7-rated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX7-rated shell, dustproof build and input reverse connection protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 8-100V and 0-100A with 100A shunt included
- CE, RoHS and UL specification met
- Overload alarm with flashing backlight stated
- Stores energy data when power is off
Cons
- No wires or accessories included
- No warranty term is stated
- Basic LCD, no color screen
- 7.04 oz panel meter needs a cutout to mount
Detailed Review
The listing states a DC 8-100V, 0-100A meter with a 100A shunt, showing voltage, current, active power and energy on a large LCD, with an overload alarm that flashes the backlight and power value. It stores energy data when power is off and the backlight switches on and off manually. CE, RoHS and UL are listed as specifications met. Only the display and shunt are included; no wires. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: DIY camper builders who want a simple panel meter with stated certifications. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a full kit with wires, which this listing does not include.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Range | DC 8-100V, 0-100A |
|---|---|
| Power/Energy | 0-10kW, 0-9999kWh |
| Certifications | CE, RoHS, UL |
| Size | 3.33 x 1.75 x 0.96 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Specification met: CE, RoHS, UL, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Monitor kit for the ME and MS series stated
- 12V and 1200 mAh stated in the spec table
- Stated item size (6 x 4 x 1.7 in) and 1.7 lb weight
- Single-count package
Cons
- Listing is mostly package data; few monitor functions stated
- No display, shunt or connectivity detail stated
- No warranty term is stated
- No protection code is stated
Detailed Review
The title states a Magnum Energy ME and MS series battery monitor kit (ME-BMK). The listing gives mostly package data: 12V, 1200 mAh, a 6 x 4 x 1.7 in item size and 1.7 lb weight, with no display, shunt, alarm, protection or warranty detail.
Who it's for: owners of Magnum ME or MS series gear who want the matching monitor kit. Who should skip it: anyone who wants stated monitor functions or a warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.2/10 comes from performance 18/35, build 15/25, value 16/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 49 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage | 12V |
|---|---|
| Battery capacity | 1200 mAh |
| Item size | 6 x 4 x 1.7 in |
| Item weight | 1.7 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Xantrex LinkLITE Battery MonitorCheck on Amazon
LNEX 500A Battery Monitor with ShuntCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Monitor | Solar Score | Voltage range | Shunt | Protection | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Victron BMV-702 Monitor | 9.6/10 | 6.5-95 VDC | Not stated | IP55 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor | 9.5/10 | 7-100V | Not stated | IPX7 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Renogy 500A Battery Monitor | 9.7/10 | Not stated | 500A | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| bayite 100A Battery Monitor | 9.5/10 | DC 8-100V | 100A | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Magnum ME-BMK Monitor Kit | 9.2/10 | 12V | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery monitor, safety means protection codes and stated protections the listing actually states, and three of the five picks state none and score zero on that line. None of the five picks states a warranty with a concrete term. The Victron states IP55 protection and the SUPNOVA an IPX7-rated shell with reverse connection protection. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Victron BMV-702 Monitor | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
| SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| Magnum ME-BMK Monitor Kit | 9.2 | 18 | 15 | 16 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best battery monitor for sailboat use
Voltage range first: match the monitor to your bank
The stated voltage range is the first filter. The SUPNOVA covers 7-100V for 12, 24, 36, 48, 60, 72 and 84V batteries, the Victron covers 6.5-95 VDC, and the bayite covers DC 8-100V. The Renogy and Magnum listings state no voltage range, so match the monitor to the bank voltage before looking at anything else. For the bank side of the decision, see the best lithium battery for a boat guide.
Shunt size and what the display shows
Two picks state a shunt: the Renogy at 500A and the bayite at 100A. The display is the other half of the choice, and only two listings describe one: the Victron shows % state of charge, voltage, current and energy/time remaining, and the SUPNOVA shows voltage, capacity percentage and temperature.
| Monitor | Stated range | Shunt | Display |
|---|---|---|---|
| Victron BMV-702 Monitor | 6.5-95 VDC | Not stated | % state of charge, voltage, current, energy/time remaining |
| SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor | 7-100V | Not stated | Voltage, capacity %, temperature |
| Renogy 500A Battery Monitor | Not stated | 500A | Not stated |
| bayite 100A Battery Monitor | DC 8-100V | 100A | Not stated |
| Magnum ME-BMK Monitor Kit | 12V | Not stated | Not stated |
Protection for the marine environment
Salt air and spray punish unsealed electronics, so the stated protection code matters on a boat. The Victron states IP55 protection and the SUPNOVA an IPX7-rated, dustproof, fully closed shell with input reverse connection protection. The Renogy, bayite and Magnum listings state no protection code at all. A battery box for boat adds another layer of defense for the bank itself. See also the best battery monitor for boat guide.
Alarms and connectivity
Alarms catch a low bank before it becomes a problem. The SUPNOVA states low and high voltage buzzer alarms with power-off memory, and the Renogy states programmable alarms. The Victron takes a different route: a programmable relay that can control other devices such as a battery protect or generator, plus a VE.Direct port for a Bluetooth Smart dongle (sold separately) or a GX device with VRM. For app-based monitoring, see the best 12v battery monitor bluetooth guide and the best battery monitor for LiFePO4 guide.
Sizing Notes
- Match the monitor’s stated voltage range to the bank: 7-100V for the SUPNOVA, 6.5-95 VDC for the Victron, DC 8-100V for the bayite.
- Match the shunt to the highest current the bank will carry: 500A on the Renogy, 100A on the bayite.
- Check the stated protection code against where the display will sit: IP55 on the Victron, IPX7-rated shell on the SUPNOVA.
- Confirm what the display shows before buying: % state of charge and energy/time remaining on the Victron, voltage, capacity percentage and temperature on the SUPNOVA.
- Use the cable gauge and fuses the manual gives.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which monitor here states a protection code?
The Victron BMV-702 states IP55 protection, and the SUPNOVA states an IPX7-rated, dustproof, fully closed shell with input reverse connection protection. The other three picks state no protection code.
Which monitors state a shunt?
The Renogy states a 500A shunt and the bayite a 100A shunt. The Victron, SUPNOVA and Magnum listings state no shunt.
Do any of these state a warranty term?
No. None of the five listings states a warranty with a concrete term; the Victron spec table’s warranty field contains only the word “Warranty”.
Which monitor covers the widest voltage range?
The SUPNOVA at 7-100V, listing 12, 24, 36, 48, 60, 72 and 84V batteries. The Victron covers 6.5-95 VDC and the bayite DC 8-100V.
Does the Victron BMV-702 include Bluetooth?
No. The listing states a VE.Direct port for a Bluetooth Smart dongle sold separately, or a GX device with VRM for monitoring anywhere.
Related guides
See every Battery Monitors and Accessories guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see the best battery monitor for boat guide. Also see the best battery monitor for LiFePO4 guide. Also see the best 12v battery monitor bluetooth guide. Also see the best lithium battery for a boat guide. Also see the best battery box for boat guide. Also see the best battery monitor for camper guide.
More picks: the Xantrex LinkLITE, which reads the bank like a fuel gauge, and the LNEX 500A shunt monitor (8-120V, IP54, 16 ft cable, programmable high and low alarms) sit outside this roundup for boats with bigger banks; compare options in the battery monitor for camper guide.






