Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Battery Monitors and Accessories

Best Battery Monitor for Boat: 5 Shunt and Smart Picks Compared

Five battery monitors for boats compared on current range, state-of-charge display, Bluetooth, weather rating and warranty terms.

Best Battery Monitor for Boat: 5 Shunt and Smart Picks Compared
On this page

Two days at anchor and the fridge starts cycling, and the only gauge is a vague voltage number on the panel, which is why the best battery monitor for boat banks is worth fitting before the season. We compared five battery monitors, from a Bluetooth app unit to 500A shunt meters, on current range, state-of-charge display, Bluetooth, weather rating and stated warranty terms. Three count coulombs through a shunt, one watches from your phone, and one keeps it simple with volts and alarms.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Renogy 500A Battery Monitor
    Best Overall Renogy 500A Battery Monitor: 500A shunt monitor with alarms and 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • ANCEL BM300 Pro Monitor
    Best Bluetooth ANCEL BM300 Pro Monitor: monitors 4 batteries with 72-day history Check price on Amazon
  • SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor
    Best Sealed SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor: IPX7 monitor with temperature and buzzer alarms Check price on Amazon
  • AILI TR16 500A Monitor
    Best Big-Bank AILI TR16 500A Monitor: 500A shunt with 999Ah capacity display Check price on Amazon
  • AILI 100A Battery Monitor
    Best Small-System AILI 100A Battery Monitor: 100A shunt monitor for sub-100A setups Check price on Amazon

The picks

Renogy 500A Battery Monitor

Renogy 500A Battery Monitor

Renogy9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 500A shunt battery monitor with 1% accuracy, programmable alarms and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Up to 500A with 1% measurement accuracy stated
  • High and low voltage programmable alarms
  • 10 to 120V for 12, 24 and 48V systems
  • 1-year material and workmanship warranty stated

Cons

  • RoHS is the only certification stated
  • Spec table lists both 63.9 pounds and 75 grams; trust the 75-gram item weight
  • No Bluetooth or app is stated
  • NiMH support is listed but unusual for a boat bank
Detailed Review

The listing states a shunt-type battery monitor with 1% measurement accuracy, up to 500A, 10 to 120V for 12, 24 and 48V systems, and support for AGM, Gel, LiFePO4, lithium-ion and NiMH batteries. High and low voltage alarms flash the backlight and voltage value to guard against over-discharge, and the display shows voltage, current, consumed power, capacity and degradation rate. It includes a transparent shunt holder and a 20-foot shielded cable, at 3.9 by 2.4 by 0.7 inches. The spec table lists both 63.9 pounds and a 75-gram item weight; trust the 75 grams. RoHS is stated, with a 1-year material and workmanship warranty.

Who it's for: boat and RV owners with big banks who want the most accurate stated monitoring and alarms here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants Bluetooth or an app.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
CurrentUp to 500A
Accuracy1% stated
Voltage10-120V
Cable20 ft shielded

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. RoHS stated, plus high and low voltage alarm functions, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year material and workmanship warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ANCEL BM300 Pro Monitor

ANCEL BM300 Pro Monitor

ANCEL9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Bluetooth battery monitor for 6V/12V/24V systems that tracks up to 4 batteries with 72-day history.

Pros

  • Monitors up to 4 batteries at once
  • Bluetooth 5.3 with 72-day trend analytics
  • IP67 sealing stated
  • Reverse polarity and short-circuit prevention stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 6V supports voltage and SOC only
  • Accuracy and range figures are maker claims
  • App-dependent; no onboard display
Detailed Review

The listing states a Bluetooth 5.3 battery monitor that auto-detects 6V, 12V and 24V systems (6V limited to voltage and state-of-charge), monitors up to 4 batteries at once with phone alerts for voltage drops, charging failures and weak cranking, and keeps 72-day trend analytics at over 99.6% stated accuracy. The reinforced composite shell resists heat, vibration and corrosion with IP67 sealing, and installation has reverse polarity protection and short-circuit prevention at 1 milliamp draw. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: multi-battery boats, RVs and trucks where phone alerts beat a fixed display. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term or a shunt-based current reading.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Systems6V, 12V and 24V auto
BatteriesUp to 4 at once
AppBT 5.3, 72-day history
Weather ratingIP67 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 sealing and reverse polarity and short-circuit prevention stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor

SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor

SUPNOVA9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An IPX7 voltmeter-style battery monitor with temperature and buzzer alarms for 7-100V systems.

Pros

  • IPX7 rating, submersible per the listing
  • Temperature display with high/low voltage buzzer alarms
  • 7 to 100V covering 12 through 84V banks
  • Mounting bracket, tape and screws included

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Voltmeter-style, no shunt or current measurement
  • Percentage needs manual setup or it reads 100%, per the listing
  • 23.62-inch wires limit mounting distance
Detailed Review

The listing states a digital battery monitor for 7 to 100V systems (12, 24, 36, 48, 60, 72 and 84V), covering ternary lithium, lead-acid, AGM and LiFePO4 batteries, with a color LCD showing voltage, remaining capacity percentage and temperature in Celsius. It has settable high and low voltage buzzer alarms, reverse connection protection, power-off memory and a fully closed shell rated IPX7, with a 72-hour soak claimed. The kit includes a bracket, double-sided tape, screws and 23.62-inch wires at 2.4 by 2.4 by 1.5 inches. The listing warns the percentage must be set up or it will always read 100%. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: boat and cart owners who want a simple sealed gauge with alarms at a glance. Who should skip it: anyone who needs shunt-based current or state-of-charge counting.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Voltage7-100V
DisplayColor LCD, temp
AlarmsBuzzer, high/low voltage
Weather ratingIPX7 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX7 rating and reverse connection protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AILI TR16 500A Monitor

AILI TR16 500A Monitor

HENGSHAN9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 500A shunt battery monitor with 999Ah state-of-charge display for 8-120V systems.

Pros

  • Up to 500A with 350A/500A precision shunt
  • State of charge to 999Ah with 0.1Ah programming
  • 50 to 60 microamp standby draw stated
  • Complete kit: meter, 2M cable, shunt, bracket, manual

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated (30-day returns only)
  • No certification or protection is stated
  • Display is meter-only, no Bluetooth
  • Spec table lists 120 volts and 400 grams with no context
Detailed Review

The listing states a shunt battery monitor reading state of charge, voltage, charge and discharge current and remaining capacity to 999Ah in real time, with a 350A/500A precision shunt, 8 to 120V for 12, 24, 36 and 48V systems, and support for LiFePO4, lithium-ion, AGM, Gel and lead-acid batteries. The backlit LCD is readable in any light, standby draw is 50 to 60 microamps, memory survives power-off, and the kit includes the meter, a 2-meter cable, the shunt, a bracket and a manual with 0.1 to 999Ah programming. No warranty term and no certification are stated.

Who it's for: off-grid and RV banks that need 500A coulomb counting on a simple display. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or weather rating.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
CurrentUp to 500A
Voltage8-120V
Capacity displayTo 999Ah
Standby50-60 uA stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AILI 100A Battery Monitor

AILI 100A Battery Monitor

HENGSHAN9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 100A shunt battery monitor for smaller 8-120V systems with 999Ah display.

Pros

  • 100A precision shunt for sub-100A systems
  • Same 999Ah programming and memory as the big unit
  • 50 to 60 microamp standby draw
  • Complete kit at 200 grams

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No certification or protection is stated
  • 100A ceiling rules out big inverter banks
  • Near-duplicate of the TR16 at lower current
Detailed Review

The listing states a shunt battery monitor with a 100A precision shunt for smaller systems, reading state of charge, voltage and current to 999Ah in real time on 8 to 120V for 12, 24, 36 and 48V systems, with LiFePO4, lithium-ion, AGM, Gel and sealed lead-acid support. The backlit LCD, 50 to 60 microamp standby draw, power-off memory, 2-meter cable and 0.1 to 999Ah programming match its bigger sibling, in a 3.86 by 2.13 by 0.82 inch, 200-gram kit. The listing positions it for caravans, camper vans, small solar setups and portable power stations. No warranty term and no certification are stated.

Who it's for: smaller banks under 100A that want the same coulomb counting as the big unit. Who should skip it: anyone with an inverter-fed house bank over 100A.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Current0-100A
Voltage8-120V
Capacity displayTo 999Ah
Weight200 g kit

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Monitor Solar Score Current range Display Weather rating Warranty Amazon
Renogy 500A Battery Monitor 9.7/10 Up to 500A Backlit HD, 1% accuracy Not stated 1 year View on Amazon
ANCEL BM300 Pro Monitor 9.7/10 6V, 12V and 24V App, 72-day history IP67 Not stated View on Amazon
SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor 9.5/10 7-100V Color LCD IPX7 Not stated View on Amazon
AILI TR16 500A Monitor 9.5/10 Up to 500A Backlit LCD, 999Ah Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
AILI 100A Battery Monitor 9.4/10 0-100A Backlit LCD, 999Ah Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery monitor, safety means the weather rating and protection features the listing actually states; a monitor that states no certification scores zero on that line. Only one of the five listings states a warranty term, and two state a weather rating. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Renogy 500A Battery Monitor 9.7 32 21 21 7 3
ANCEL BM300 Pro Monitor 9.7 32 21 21 8 0
SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor 9.5 27 20 20 7 0
AILI TR16 500A Monitor 9.5 30 21 21 0 0
AILI 100A Battery Monitor 9.4 28 20 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best battery monitor for boat banks

Shunt or Bluetooth

Three of these count current through a shunt for a true state-of-charge reading: the Renogy, and both AILIs. The ANCEL skips the shunt and watches voltage, temperature and cranking from your phone over Bluetooth 5.3, and the SUPNOVA is a voltmeter-style display with alarms. Shunts suit big house banks; Bluetooth suits starting batteries and multi-battery boats. See our best 12 volt deep cycle battery for RV guide for the bank side.

Match the current range to the bank

The Renogy and AILI TR16 handle up to 500A, which covers inverter-fed house banks. The AILI 100A tops out at 0 to 100A and its listing positions it for caravans, camper vans and small solar setups. The ANCEL and SUPNOVA do not measure current at all, so size them by voltage range instead: 6 to 24V for the ANCEL, 7 to 100V for the SUPNOVA.

Monitor Current range Voltage range Standout feature
Renogy 500A Battery Monitor Up to 500A 10-120V 1% accuracy, alarms
ANCEL BM300 Pro Monitor Not stated 6V, 12V and 24V 4 batteries, 72-day history
SUPNOVA IPX7 Battery Monitor Not stated 7-100V IPX7, buzzer alarms
AILI TR16 500A Monitor Up to 500A 8-120V 999Ah display
AILI 100A Battery Monitor 0-100A 8-120V Sub-100A systems

Alarms and weather protection

On a boat, the monitor has to shout before the bank dies. The Renogy has high and low voltage alarms with a flashing backlight, the SUPNOVA has high and low voltage buzzer alarms plus temperature, and the ANCEL sends phone alerts for voltage drops and weak cranking. For weather, the ANCEL states IP67 and the SUPNOVA states IPX7; the shunt monitors state no weather rating, so mount their displays somewhere dry. Our best battery charger for a boat guide covers the charging side.

Read the warranty lines

Only the Renogy states a warranty term: 1-year material and workmanship. The AILIs note 30-day returns, and the ANCEL and SUPNOVA state no term at all. A stated term with a concrete length is the only kind that counts in the score.

Sizing Notes

  • Match current range to the bank: 500A shunts for big house banks, the 100A AILI for sub-100A systems.
  • Confirm the voltage range: 6V to 120V is covered across these five, so check your bank before ordering.
  • Check standby draw: the AILI lists 50 to 60 microamps and the ANCEL 1 milliamp, both near zero.
  • Count the warranty: 1 year on the Renogy is the only stated term here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which monitor here handles the most current?

The Renogy and the AILI TR16, both up to 500A. The AILI 100A tops out at 100A, and the ANCEL and SUPNOVA do not measure current.

Which monitors use Bluetooth?

The ANCEL BM300 Pro, with an app, 72-day history and up to 4 batteries at once. The other four use wired displays.

Which listings state a weather rating?

The ANCEL states IP67 and the SUPNOVA states IPX7. The Renogy states RoHS, and the AILIs state no certification.

Which listing states a warranty term?

The Renogy, with a 1-year material and workmanship warranty. The others state no term, though the AILIs note 30-day returns.

Do any of these work on 6V systems?

The ANCEL auto-detects 6V, 12V and 24V, with 6V limited to voltage and state-of-charge monitoring. The rest start at 7 to 10V.

Renogy 500A Battery Monitor
Still deciding? Our top pickRenogy 500A Battery Monitor
Check price on Amazon

See every Battery Monitors and Accessories guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best 12 volt deep cycle battery for RV. Also see our LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for RV. Also see our best battery monitor for camper. Also see our best battery monitor for windows. Also see our best 12v battery monitor bluetooth. Also see our best 12v battery monitor cigarette lighter. Also see our best bus bar for battery bank. Also see our best battery box for lithium battery. Also see our best bus bar for solar system. Also see our best battery box for boat. Also see our best bus bar under 30. Also see our solar trickle charger vs plug in charger. Also see our best battery monitor for sailboat. Also see our best battery box for solar batteries. Also see our best battery monitor for van. Also see our best battery monitor with shunt. Also see our best watt meter. Also see our bus bar vs ground bar. Also see our group 24 vs group 31 rv battery. Also see our steel vs aluminum battery box. Also see our best battery box for tiny house. Also see our best battery monitor with shunt under 60. Also see our best watt meter under 20. Also see our battery disconnect switch rv. Also see our battery box vent. Also see our copper vs aluminum bus bar. Also see our battery terminal protector cover. Also see our best battery terminal cleaner under 10. Also see our best dc fuse block for van. Also see our rv battery connectors. Also see our battery tray dual. Also see our best battery box for fish house. Also see our best bus bar for sailboat. Also see our anl fuse vs class t fuse. Also see our battery cable fuse. Also see our best battery hold down under 10. Also see our best battery cable connectors under 10. Also see our best bus bar for tiny house. Also see our best battery monitor for motorhome. Also see our fuse block vs terminal block. Also see our battery terminal cleaner vs wire brush. Also see our best dc fuse block for camper. Also see our best dc fuse block for sailboat. Also see our best marine battery quick connect under 15.

More picks: ANCEL BM300 Bluetooth battery monitor, smart battery monitor with temperature alarm, 500A battery monitor with color screen, LiTime 500A Bluetooth battery monitor.