On this page
A boat’s starter battery and house battery live separate lives: one cranks the engine, the other runs lights, pumps and electronics at anchor, and the best dc to dc charger for boat use is the one that moves alternator power to the house battery without draining the starter. We compared five DC to DC chargers by stated amps, input sources, certifications, protections and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes. A dual-input 30A charger with MPPT and a 3-year warranty leads, followed by a 40A alternator charger at 94% efficiency.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Renogy 30A MPPT DC-DC Charger: dual solar+alternator input, MPPT, 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
40A Pick Renogy 40A DC-DC Charger: 40A, 94% efficiency, 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Premium Pick Victron Orion XS 1400: 50A, 1400W, IP65, 98.5% efficiency Check price on Amazon
Compact Pick VEVOR 12V 20A Charger: 20A, 250W, UL listed Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Renogy 30A MPPT DC-DC Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Renogy 40A DC-DC Charger | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Victron Orion XS 1400 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | LiTime 12V 40A Charger | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | VEVOR 12V 20A Charger | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Renogy 30A MPPT DC-DC Charger
A 30A dual-input charger with stated 30V/400W solar input, MPPT and a 3-year warranty, for solar plus alternator charging.
Pros
- Dual input from 30V/400W solar and alternator stated
- MPPT with 99% tracking stated, prioritizing solar
- 8 key protections including isolation and reverse polarity stated
- 3-year material and workmanship warranty stated
Cons
- Bluetooth module sold separately
- 40A ANL fuse recommended, sold separately
- 9.6 inch length needs a dry mounting spot
- No equalization stage stated in the 3-phase charging
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 30A DC to DC charger with dual input from a 30V/400W solar panel and an alternator, MPPT with 99% tracking, 3-phase charging in bulk, boost and float, 8 key protections including isolation, over-voltage, over-current, reverse polarity and overheat, UL and CE stated, and a 3-year material and workmanship warranty. It states 3.1 pounds and compatibility with lead-acid, lithium, AGM, gel and flooded batteries.
Who it's for: boat and RV owners who want solar and alternator charging in one unit. Who should skip it: anyone who needs only a straight alternator charger.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 30A, 12V |
|---|---|
| Solar input | 30V/400W stated |
| MPPT | 99% tracking stated |
| Warranty | 3 years stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL and CE stated; 8 key protections stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 3-year material and workmanship warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Renogy 40A DC-DC Charger
A 40A 12V alternator charger at stated 94% efficiency, with LiFePO4 activation and a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 40A output at 94% efficiency stated
- Built-in alternator detection, charges only when engine runs
- LiFePO4 battery activation with one-touch control stated
- 2-year material and workmanship warranty stated
Cons
- No solar input stated
- Bluetooth module sold separately
- No certification mark stated
- Grey color only stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 40A DC to DC charger with 94% efficiency, alternator power, smart 3-stage charging, LiFePO4 activation with one-touch control, protection against overload, short circuit, over-temperature and over-voltage, smart alternator readiness and a 2-year material and workmanship warranty. It states 6 by 9.31 by 2.36 inches and compatibility with lithium, AGM, gel and flooded batteries.
Who it's for: boat owners who want a straight alternator charger at 40A. Who should skip it: anyone who wants solar input.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 40A, 12V |
|---|---|
| Efficiency | 94% stated |
| Charging | Smart 3-stage stated |
| Warranty | 2 years stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Over, short and thermal protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year material and workmanship warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Victron Orion XS 1400
A 50A 12/24V DC to DC charger at stated 98.5% efficiency, with Bluetooth monitoring and IP65 rating.
Pros
- 50A output at 1400W and 98.5% efficiency stated
- 12V, 24V or mixed systems stated
- Bluetooth monitoring with the VictronConnect app stated
- IP65 rating with RoHS, CE, FCC and IEC stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No solar input stated
- 0.52 kg stated, a small but dense unit to mount
- Blue color only stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12/24V 50A DC to DC charger with 1400W output and 98.5% efficiency, adaptive 4-stage charging, Bluetooth monitoring via the VictronConnect app, engine running detection, and RoHS, CE, FCC and IEC with an IP65 rating. It states 2.09 by 5.43 by 4.88 inches and compatibility with lithium, LiFePO4, lead-acid, AGM and gel batteries. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: boat owners who want the highest stated output with an IP65 rating. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 50A, 12/24V |
|---|---|
| Power | 1400W stated |
| Efficiency | 98.5% stated |
| Rating | IP65 stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. RoHS, CE, FCC, IEC and IP65 stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LiTime 12V 40A Charger
A 40A 12V charger with stated MPPT and a 2-year warranty, but the listing warns it is not for marine use.
Pros
- 40A output with built-in MPPT at 99% tracking stated
- Emergency reverse charging from the auxiliary battery stated
- FCC, CE and RoHS stated
- 2 years warranty stated
Cons
- Listing warns it is not suitable for marine environments such as boats
- Output voltage conflict: 14.6V in bullets, 15.4V in spec table
- 50A Anderson connector on a 40A charger, per the listing
- Black color only stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 40A DC to DC charger with built-in MPPT at 99% tracking, up to 93% conversion efficiency, emergency reverse charging, over-voltage, reverse polarity, over-temperature and charging timeout protection, FCC, CE and RoHS, and a 2 years warranty. It warns that the charger is not suitable for marine environments such as boats, ships and yachts. It states 2.4 pounds.
Who it's for: RV, camper, trailer and off-grid owners who want MPPT in a 40A charger. Who should skip it: boat owners, per the listing's own warning.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 18/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 40A, 12V |
|---|---|
| MPPT | 99% tracking stated |
| Efficiency | 93% stated |
| Warranty | 2 years stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. FCC, CE and RoHS stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 years warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VEVOR 12V 20A Charger
A 20A 12V 250W on-board charger with multi-stage charging, UL stated, for smaller battery banks.
Pros
- 20A output at 250W stated
- Multi-stage charging: 2-stage for LiFePO4, 3-stage for lead-acid stated
- Lithium battery activation for deeply discharged batteries stated
- UL stated with aluminum alloy housing
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 20A, the lowest stated output here
- No efficiency figure is stated
- Single port stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 20A DC to DC charger at 250W with smart multi-stage charging, lithium battery activation, protection against over and under voltage, high temperature and reverse polarity, an isolated input and output, and UL stated. It states 2.7 pounds and 6.5 by 5.7 by 3.3 inches. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: smaller boats and vehicles that need a compact 20A charger. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 20A, 12V |
|---|---|
| Power | 250W stated |
| Protection | Over/under voltage, reverse polarity |
| Cert | UL stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Renogy REGO 12V 60A DC-DC PlugCheck on Amazon
Renogy REGO 12V 20A DC-DC Battery ChargerCheck on Amazon
VEVOR 12V 60A DC to DC Battery ChargerCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Charger | Solar Score | Output | Input | Certifications | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Renogy 30A MPPT DC-DC Charger | 9.7/10 | 30A, 12V | Solar + alternator | UL, CE stated | 3 years | View on Amazon |
| Renogy 40A DC-DC Charger | 9.6/10 | 40A, 12V | Alternator | Protections stated | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| Victron Orion XS 1400 | 9.6/10 | 50A, 12/24V | Alternator | RoHS, CE, FCC, IEC, IP65 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| LiTime 12V 40A Charger | 9.4/10 | 40A, 12V | Solar + alternator | FCC, CE, RoHS | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| VEVOR 12V 20A Charger | 9.4/10 | 20A, 12V | Alternator | UL stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance (stated amps, input sources, charging stages), build (size, weight, materials), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a boat charger, safety means stated certifications and electronic protections; all five state at least one. Three state a warranty term: the Renogy 30A at 3 years, the Renogy 40A at 2 years and the LiTime at 2 years. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Renogy 30A MPPT DC-DC Charger | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| Renogy 40A DC-DC Charger | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| Victron Orion XS 1400 | 9.6 | 33 | 22 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| LiTime 12V 40A Charger | 9.4 | 18 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| VEVOR 12V 20A Charger | 9.4 | 28 | 19 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best dc to dc charger for boat
Dual input or alternator only
Dual-input chargers charge from solar panels and the alternator: the Renogy 30A states a 30V/400W solar input with MPPT that prioritizes solar when both inputs are active, and the LiTime states DC, solar or hybrid charging with built-in MPPT. Alternator-only chargers charge while the engine runs: the Renogy 40A states built-in alternator detection, and the Victron states engine running detection. A boat that sits at anchor between short runs benefits most from solar input; a boat that runs its engine daily may not need it.
Amps, efficiency and certifications
| Charger | Stated output | Stated efficiency | Certifications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Renogy 30A MPPT DC-DC Charger | 30A, 12V | MPPT 99% tracking | UL, CE |
| Renogy 40A DC-DC Charger | 40A, 12V | 94% | Protections stated |
| Victron Orion XS 1400 | 50A, 12/24V | 98.5% | RoHS, CE, FCC, IEC, IP65 |
| LiTime 12V 40A Charger | 40A, 12V | 93% conversion | FCC, CE, RoHS |
| VEVOR 12V 20A Charger | 20A, 12V | Not stated | UL |
Match the charger’s stated amps to the house battery’s needs: the Victron states 50A and 1400W for 12 or 24V systems, the Renogy 40A and LiTime state 40A, the Renogy MPPT states 30A and the VEVOR states 20A. Note the LiTime listing’s own warning: it says the charger is not suitable for marine environments such as boats, so it fits RV and off-grid use instead. For the battery on the other end, see our lithium batteries for boats.
Protections and the warranty lines
Marine electrical systems punish weak protection. The Renogy 30A states 8 key protections including isolation, over-voltage, over-current, reverse polarity and overheat. The Victron states an IP65 rating for dual battery systems. Read the warranty lines closely: the Renogy 30A states 3 years, the Renogy 40A states 2 years, the LiTime states 2 years, and the Victron and VEVOR state no warranty term. For inverter-charger alternatives, see our inverter chargers for RVs.
Sizing Notes
- Match stated amps to the house battery bank: 20A to 50A here.
- Check the input voltage: the Victron handles 12V, 24V or mixed systems; the rest state 12V.
- Plan the cable run: the Renogy 30A listing recommends a 40A ANL fuse, sold separately.
- Mount in a dry, ventilated spot; the LiTime states it is not for marine environments.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which charger here states the most certifications?
The Victron states RoHS, CE, FCC, IEC and an IP65 rating. The Renogy 30A states UL and CE, the VEVOR states UL, and the LiTime states FCC, CE and RoHS.
Which chargers take solar input?
The Renogy 30A states a 30V/400W solar input with MPPT, and the LiTime states DC, solar or hybrid charging with built-in MPPT. The Renogy 40A, Victron and VEVOR state alternator input.
Which of these is not for boats?
The LiTime listing warns that the charger is not suitable for marine environments such as boats, ships and yachts. It fits RV, camper, trailer and off-grid use.
Do any of these state a warranty?
The Renogy 30A states a 3-year warranty, the Renogy 40A states a 2-year warranty, and the LiTime states a 2-year warranty. The Victron and VEVOR state no warranty term.
Related guides
See every DC to DC Chargers guide and all Inverters and Controllers guides. Also see our best lithium battery for a boat. Also see our best battery charger for deep cycle battery. Also see our best dc to dc charger for campervan. Also see our best dc to dc charger for power station. Also see our best dc to dc charger for rv. Also see our best dc to dc charger for van. Also see our best dc to dc charger for truck. Also see our best dc to dc charger under 100. Also see our best dc to dc charger for trailer. Also see our best dc to dc charger for jeep. Also see our best rv power converter charger. Also see our best dc to dc charger with mppt. Also see our best dc to dc charger for rv under 200. Also see our solar powered gable fan. Also see our dc to dc converter example. Also see our best dc to dc charger for jeep wrangler. Also see our best dc to dc converter under 25. Also see our buck converter step down. Also see our converter with 24 to 12v. Also see our best dc to dc charger for ram 2500. Also see our best 24v to 12v converter under 25. Also see our 12 volt dc rv lights. Also see our dc to dc converter usb c. Also see our best dc to dc charger for suv.
More picks: inverter chargers for RVs, lithium batteries for inverters and battery monitors for campers.





