On this page
Finding the best power inverter for hot tub setups starts at the cabin at dusk, with the tub steaming and no outlet in reach for the pump, the controls and the lights. A good inverter turns battery DC into the AC your gear expects. We compared each inverter on what its listing states: watts, waveform, outlets, protections and warranty. Full-data listings lead on stated detail, and the title-only listings trail.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall STANLEY PI500S 500W: Pure sine wave 500W with ETL listing and dual AC outlets Check price on Amazon
Best Display YSOLX 300W Inverter: LED display with 65W USB-C and dual AC outlets Check price on Amazon
Basic 500W Option BESTEK 500W Inverter: Modified sine wave 500W unit, 12V to 110V Check price on Amazon
Smallest Option BESTEK 150W Inverter: Compact 150W unit for the smallest loads Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | STANLEY PI500S 500W | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | BESTEK 150W Pure Sine | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | YSOLX 300W Inverter | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | BESTEK 500W Modified Sine | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

STANLEY PI500S 500W
A 500W pure sine wave inverter with dual AC outlets and dual USB ports, ETL listed, connecting by battery clamps or a 12V adapter, with battery protection warnings.
Pros
- Pure sine wave output stated
- Dual 120V AC outlets and dual 3.1A USB ports
- ETL listed
- Battery clamps and 12V DC adapter included
Cons
- Manufacturer Limited Warranty states no term
- Peak output of 500W leaves no surge headroom stated
- No display stated
- Only two AC outlets
Detailed Review
The listing states 500 watts continuous from 12V input, pure sine wave output at 120V, dual AC outlets and dual 3.1A USB ports. It connects by battery clamps or a 12V DC adapter, and lists an ETL mark, battery protection warnings and over-voltage protection. The spec table gives 8.5 by 4 by 2 inches, 1.3 pounds and a 500W peak that matches the continuous rating, so no surge headroom is stated. Warranty is listed as Manufacturer Limited Warranty with no term, and the 50 Hz frequency in the spec table is worth a look if your gear expects 60 Hz.
Who it's for: a buyer who wants pure sine wave output and an ETL mark in a 500W unit with two ways to connect. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated surge rating, a display, or a 60 Hz output on the label.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Watts | 500W continuous, 500W peak |
|---|---|
| Waveform | Pure sine wave |
| Outlets | 2 AC, 2 USB |
| Certification | ETL |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Pure sine wave, the only one of the five
- 18-month warranty stated in the listing
- 92 percent conversion efficiency stated
- 360W peak against 300W rivals
Cons
- 2.1A and 1A USB against the 3.1A FOVAL
- 50 hertz against 60-hertz rivals
- 5.7 by 3.1 by 2.2 inches, the largest of the five
- 150W continuous against the 200W FOVAL
Detailed Review
The listing states a 150W car power inverter with 360W peak, pure sine wave, 50 hertz, dual USB ports at 2.1A and 1A, 92 percent conversion efficiency, a built-in cooling fan with auto-shutdown, 5.7 by 3.1 by 2.2 inches, 5.28 ounces, and an 18-month warranty.
Who it's for: laptops that need pure sine wave from a lighter socket. Who should skip it: buyers who need 4 USB ports or 200W.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Continuous | 150W |
|---|---|
| Surge | 360W |
| Waveform | Pure sine |
| Efficiency | 92% |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Cooling fan and auto-shutdown protection stated in the listing, so safety scores 5 of 10. 18-month warranty stated in the listing. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

YSOLX 300W Inverter
A 300W modified sine wave car inverter with an LED display, dual AC outlets and fast-charging USB-C ports, in a 5.45 by 2.9 by 1.38 inch body.
Pros
- LED display showing voltage, current and power
- 65W USB-C fast charging stated
- Dual AC outlets plus two USB-C and two USB-A ports
- CSA energy specification stated
Cons
- Modified sine wave, not pure sine wave
- Warranty description is a bare '1' with no unit
- 300W continuous suits small loads
- Two AC outlets only
Detailed Review
The listing states 300 watts continuous with 600 watts peak, modified sine wave output, two 110V AC outlets, two USB-C ports switching between 24W and 65W, and two 24W USB-A ports. An LED display shows voltage, current and power, and the energy specification is listed as CSA. The bullets describe simultaneous charging of a tablet, a phone, a laptop and a small refrigerator, and the unit measures 5.45 by 2.9 by 1.38 inches. Note a contradiction: the bullets describe the unit as weighing 10 oz while the spec table gives 11.2 ounces; we go with the bullets' 10 oz.
Who it's for: a driver who wants a display and fast USB-C charging for phones, tablets and laptops on the road. Who should skip it: anyone who needs pure sine wave output or more than 300W continuous.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Watts | 300W continuous, 600W peak |
|---|---|
| Waveform | Modified sine wave |
| Display | LED |
| USB | 2x USB-C, 2x USB-A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CSA energy specification stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BESTEK 500W Modified Sine
A 500W modified sine inverter with a car plug and battery clamps for road use.
Pros
- 500W continuous and 1000W peak with 2 AC outlets and dual 2.4A USB ports
- ETL listed with 2x40A fuses, and 2 spare fuses are included
- Cigarette lighter plug plus alligator battery clamps for the 12V battery
- 18-month warranty is stated
Cons
- Modified sine wave, less suited to sensitive electronics than the pure sine picks
- 500W continuous limits larger loads
- Fan noise varies with load and temperature, per the listing
- Red is the only finish stated
Detailed Review
BESTEK lists a 500W modified sine wave inverter with 1000W of peak power, 2 AC outlets and 2 USB ports at 4.8A dual. The listing states ETL listing, a smart cooling fan, protection against overheating, under/over voltage charging, overload and short circuiting, and a 2x40A fuse setup with 2 spares. A 27.5-inch cigarette lighter plug and 24-inch alligator battery clamps are included, and the warranty is stated as 18 months.
Who it's for: road trips and car use where the plug-and-clamp setup matters most. Who should skip it: anyone powering a console, where the pure sine picks are the stated safer match.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Continuous | 500W |
|---|---|
| Peak | 1000W |
| Outlets | 2 AC, 2 USB (4.8A dual) |
| Waveform | Modified sine |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed; protection against overheating, under/over voltage charging, overload and short circuiting is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 18 Months Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
BESTEK 2000W Pure Sine InverterFor larger loads needing 2000W continuous with 12 months warranty.Check on Amazon
OLTEANP 5000W Power InverterFor big off-grid setups with 5000W and a 12-month warranty.Check on Amazon
WZRELB 2000W 48V InverterFor 48V battery systems needing pure sine wave output.Check on Amazon
HQST 1000W Pure Sine InverterFor RV and off-grid use with GFCI protection and 12-month warranty.Check on Amazon
LiTime 2000W ATS InverterFor RV backup with automatic transfer switch and 2-year warranty.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Inverter | Solar Score | Watts | Waveform | Outlets | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STANLEY PI500S 500W | 9.6/10 | 500W | Pure sine wave | 2 AC, 2 USB | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| YSOLX 300W Inverter | 9.5/10 | 300W | Modified sine wave | 2 AC, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| BESTEK 500W Inverter | 9.5/10 | 500W | Modified sine wave | Not stated | Not stated | |
| BESTEK 150W Inverter | 9.6/10 | 150W | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an inverter, safety means stated protections and certifications; the STANLEY’s ETL listing and the YSOLX’s CSA mark are the only certifications stated here, and a unit that states none scores zero on that line. No listing here states a concrete warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STANLEY PI500S 500W | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| YSOLX 300W Inverter | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best power inverter for hot tub
Match the watts to the load
Continuous watts decide what the inverter can run without shutting down. The listings here state 150W, 300W and 500W continuous, with the YSOLX adding a 600W peak figure for short bursts. The STANLEY’s peak matches its 500W continuous rating, so it states no surge headroom at all. Check the load’s stated watts against the inverter’s continuous watts, not the peak, and leave margin for startup surges the listing does not describe. For a closer look at bigger units, see best inverter.
When 500W is not enough
The largest unit in the main list states 500W continuous. If the load’s stated watts run higher, the More picks below the article list larger inverters: the HQST 1000W pure sine wave unit with GFCI protection, the BESTEK 2000W and the WZRELB 2000W for 48V systems, the LiTime 2000W with an automatic transfer switch, and the OLTEANP 5000W for big off-grid setups. Each states its own watts, waveform and warranty terms, so match them to the load the same way: continuous watts first, waveform second, outlets third.
Pure sine wave or modified
The STANLEY PI500S listing states pure sine wave output, while the YSOLX and BESTEK 500W listings state modified sine wave. The BESTEK 150W listing states no waveform. For tub gear with sensitive electronics, the pure sine wave listing is the safer match. The waveform is the one spec that decides which loads are safe to plug in. Our pure sine vs modified sine inverter for RV guide walks through the difference.
Outlets and USB
Count the plugs before you buy. The YSOLX lists two AC outlets, two USB-C ports and two USB-A ports; the STANLEY lists two AC outlets and two USB ports. USB ports cover phones and tablets; AC outlets cover everything else. The title-only listings state no outlet count. Tally the plugs the load needs before you buy. For the cable side, see best battery cable for inverter.
| Inverter | Watts | Waveform | Outlets |
|---|---|---|---|
| STANLEY PI500S 500W | 500W | Pure sine wave | 2 AC, 2 USB |
| YSOLX 300W Inverter | 300W | Modified sine wave | 2 AC, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A |
| BESTEK 500W Inverter | 500W | Modified sine wave | Not stated |
| BESTEK 150W Inverter | 150W | Not stated | Not stated |
Protections and certifications
The STANLEY lists an ETL mark with battery protection warnings and over-voltage protection; the YSOLX lists a CSA energy specification and voltage protection. The title-only listings state no protections and no certifications. A stated certification is the one checkable safety fact on a listing, so it carries weight in the score. If the inverter will live in a damp equipment shed, the lack of any stated water resistance rating matters more than the watt figure.
Sizing Notes
- Match the inverter’s continuous watts to the load’s stated watts; the listings here state 150W, 300W and 500W continuous.
- Check the waveform the listing states: pure sine wave for sensitive electronics, modified sine wave for basic loads.
- Count AC outlets against the plugs you need: two are stated on the STANLEY and YSOLX, none on the title-only listings.
- Use the cable gauge and fuses as the manual gives, and keep the inverter dry and ventilated.
- Check the input connection the listing states: battery clamps or a 12V adapter.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a 500W inverter run a hot tub heater?
The listings here state 150W to 500W continuous. Match the inverter’s stated continuous watts to the load’s stated watts before you buy, and remember that heaters are the heaviest loads on the list. If the numbers do not line up, the larger units in the More picks below are the next place to look.
What is the difference between pure sine wave and modified sine wave?
The STANLEY PI500S listing states pure sine wave output; the YSOLX and BESTEK 500W listings state modified sine wave. The BESTEK 150W listing states no waveform.
Do any of these state a warranty term?
No. The STANLEY lists a Manufacturer Limited Warranty with no term, the YSOLX lists a bare ‘1’ with no unit, and the others state nothing. A warranty only scores when the listing gives a concrete term in years, months or days.
Which inverter has the most outlets?
The YSOLX, with two AC outlets, two USB-C ports and two USB-A ports. The STANLEY lists two AC outlets and two USB ports. The title-only listings state no outlet count, so confirm the plugs on the listing before ordering.
Can these get wet?
No listing here states a water resistance rating, so keep every unit dry and ventilated, and store it indoors between uses.
Related guides
See every Power Inverters guide and all Controllers and Inverters guides. Also see our best inverter. Also see our best power inverter for road trip. Also see our pure sine vs modified sine inverter for RV.
More picks: 500 watt inverter for truck, power inverter for boat and pure sine wave inverter for mini split.





