Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Best Solar Lights for Railings (2026): 5 Compared by Spec

Five solar deck lights for railings compared on lumens, pack counts, runtimes, weather ratings and warranty terms, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Solar Lights for Railings (2026): 5 Compared by Spec
On this page

A deck railing at dusk, the boards already dark while the sky still holds some light, is where the best solar lights for railings prove their worth. We compared five solar deck lights on what their listings actually state: pack counts, stated lumens, runtime, weather ratings and warranty terms. Every figure below comes from the listing, and where a listing contradicts itself we say so in the review. The VOLISUN 12-pack leads on post-cap fit, IP64 and a 2-year service term, with the Herzila 12-pack close behind on stated lumens and warranty.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • VOLISUN 12-Pack Post Lights
    Best Post Caps VOLISUN 12-Pack Post Lights: 12 post cap lights with IP64 and a 2-year service term Check price on Amazon
  • Herzila 12-Pack Deck Lights
    Best 12-Pack Value Herzila 12-Pack Deck Lights: 100 lumens, 3000K and a 1-year warranty with screws and tape Check price on Amazon
  • SUNFACE 6-Pack Deck Lights
    Dual Mode SUNFACE 6-Pack Deck Lights: warm white plus 7-color changing with IP55 Check price on Amazon
  • GIGALUMI 20-Pack Deck Lights
    Biggest Pack GIGALUMI 20-Pack Deck Lights: 20 lights with all-night light stated, IP44 and IP65 Check price on Amazon
  • PATIOWIN 12-Pack Deck Lights
    Brightest with Remote PATIOWIN 12-Pack Deck Lights: 200 lumens with a remote control in a 12-pack Check price on Amazon

The picks

VOLISUN 12-Pack Post Lights

VOLISUN 12-Pack Post Lights

VOLISUN9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Twelve solar post cap lights for 4x4 posts with 26 lumens, IP64, 10 to 12 hour runtime and a 2-year service term.

Pros

  • Post cap design for 4x4 wooden and vinyl posts with 2 bases and 12 screws
  • IP64 rating stated
  • 6 to 8 hour charge with 10 to 12 hour runtime stated
  • 2-year service term stated

Cons

  • 26 lumens is among the lowest stated brightness here
  • Spec table states 2. 5 year against 2 years in the bullets; we trust the bullets
  • 3.5 pounds does not say whether it covers one light or the pack
  • Post caps only fit 4x4 posts
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12-pack of solar post cap lights for 4x4 wooden and vinyl posts with 26 lumens, 3000K warm white, an IP64 rating, 6 to 8 hour charge, 10 to 12 hour runtime, two bases, 24 screws and plastic sleeves, 4.3 by 4.3 inches and a 2-year service term. The spec table states 2. 5 year against 2 years in the bullets; we trust the bullets. No per-light LED count is stated.

Who it's for: owners with 4x4 posts who want cap lights with the longest stated service term here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs brighter light or flat-surface mounting.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack12 lights
Brightness26 lumens
RatingIP64
Fit4x4 wooden and vinyl posts

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP64 rating stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. full 2-year service. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Herzila 12-Pack Deck Lights

Herzila 12-Pack Deck Lights

Herzila9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Twelve solar deck lights with 100 lumens, 3000K warm white, up to 10 hour runtime, screws and adhesive, and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 100 lumens stated with 3000K warm white
  • Screws and adhesive pads both included, 24 screws and 12 pads
  • Up to 10 hour runtime with an 8-hour first charge stated
  • 1-year manufacturer warranty stated

Cons

  • No IP code is stated, only sealed ABS weather resistance
  • No battery capacity figure is stated
  • No per-light LED count is stated
  • Warm white is the only color stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12-pack of solar deck lights with 100 lumens, 3000K warm white, a monocrystalline panel, an 8-hour first charge, up to 10 hour runtime, sealed ABS housing, screws and adhesive pads, 3 by 2.2 by 1.3 inches and a 1-year manufacturer warranty. No IP code is stated, only sealed ABS weather resistance. No battery capacity or per-light LED count is stated.

Who it's for: railing owners who want a 12-pack with both screws and adhesive in the box. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated IP rating.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 4/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack12 lights
Brightness100 lumens
Color3000K warm white
RuntimeUp to 10 hours

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Sealed ABS housing stated; no IP code, so safety scores 4 of 10. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUNFACE 6-Pack Deck Lights

SUNFACE 6-Pack Deck Lights

SUNFACE9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Six solar deck lights with warm white and 7-color changing modes, IP55, up to 8 hour runtime and no stated warranty.

Pros

  • Warm white and 7-color changing dual modes stated
  • IP55 rating with ABS housing and acrylic cover stated
  • 4 to 5 hour charge with up to 8 hour runtime stated
  • Screws and anchors included for vertical or flat mounting

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated; the warranty description states only 1
  • 10 lumens is the lowest stated brightness in this group
  • No battery capacity figure is stated
  • No per-light LED count is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 6-pack of solar deck lights with warm white and 7-color changing modes, a honeycomb acrylic lens, 10 lumens, 3000K, a light sensor, 4 to 5 hour charge, up to 8 hour runtime, an IP55 rating, screws and anchors, 3.7 by 2.3 by 2.9 inches and 5.28 ounces. The warranty description states only 1 with no unit, so no warranty term is stated. No battery capacity or per-light LED count is stated.

Who it's for: owners who want color changing modes on a short railing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a warranty term or brighter light.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack6 lights
ModesWarm white and 7-color
Brightness10 lumens
RatingIP55

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP55 rating stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GIGALUMI 20-Pack Deck Lights

GIGALUMI 20-Pack Deck Lights

GIGALUMI9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Twenty solar deck lights with IP44 and IP65 in the spec table, warm white, all-night light and no stated warranty.

Pros

  • 20-pack, the largest pack count in this group
  • IP44 and IP65 water and dust resistance stated in the spec table
  • 4 to 5 hour charge with all-night light stated
  • 3M tape or screws included

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 3 lumens is among the lowest stated brightness here
  • No runtime hours or battery capacity is stated
  • No per-light LED count is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 20-pack of warm white solar deck lights with a hard ABS shell, 4 to 5 hour charge, all-night light, 3M tape or screws, 4.5 by 4.5 by 8.7 inches. The spec table states 3 lumens and IP44 and IP65 water and dust resistance; we report the figures as the spec table states them. No warranty term, runtime hours or battery capacity is stated.

Who it's for: owners who want the most lights in one purchase for a very long railing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a warranty term or a stated runtime.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 20/25, value 22/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack20 lights
Brightness3 lumens, spec table
RatingIP44 and IP65, spec table
RuntimeAll night stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP44 and IP65 water and dust resistance stated in spec table, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PATIOWIN 12-Pack Deck Lights

PATIOWIN 12-Pack Deck Lights

PATIOWIN9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Twelve solar deck lights with 200 lumens, a remote control, 4 to 5 hour charge and no stated warranty or IP code.

Pros

  • 200 lumens stated, the highest title figure in this group
  • 12-pack with a remote control included
  • 4 to 5 hour charge stated
  • 5.71 by 4.73 by 3.55 inch size stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No IP code is stated, only rain, wind and light snow resistance claimed
  • Spec table lists tabletop mounting and voice control against the deck-light title; we trust the title and bullets
  • No runtime figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12-pack of solar deck lights with 200 lumens, warm white, a remote control, 4 to 5 hour charge, a hard ABS shell, screws, 5.71 by 4.73 by 3.55 inches. The spec table lists tabletop mounting, voice control and a unit count of 1 against the deck-light title and 12-pack bullets; we trust the title and bullets and treat those lines as listing artifacts. No warranty term, IP code or runtime figure is stated.

Who it's for: owners who want a 12-pack with a remote control. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a warranty term, an IP rating or a stated runtime.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack12 lights
Brightness200 lumens
ControlRemote control
Charge4-5 hours

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Rain, wind and light snow resistance claimed; no IP code stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Light Solar Score Pack Weather rating Run time Warranty Amazon
VOLISUN 12-Pack Post Lights 9.6/10 12 pack IP64 10-12 hours 2 years View on Amazon
Herzila 12-Pack Deck Lights 9.6/10 12 pack Not stated Up to 10 hours 1 year View on Amazon
SUNFACE 6-Pack Deck Lights 9.5/10 6 pack IP55 Up to 8 hours Not stated View on Amazon
GIGALUMI 20-Pack Deck Lights 9.5/10 20 pack IP44/IP65 All night stated Not stated View on Amazon
PATIOWIN 12-Pack Deck Lights 9.5/10 12 pack Not stated Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For deck lights, safety means the ingress ratings the listing actually states; three picks state one IP code from IP55 to IP64, the GIGALUMI states IP44 and IP65 in its spec table, and two state weather resistance without any IP code. Two of the five state a warranty term, from 1 year to 2 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
VOLISUN 12-Pack Post Lights 9.6 28 21 21 6 4
Herzila 12-Pack Deck Lights 9.6 28 21 21 4 4
SUNFACE 6-Pack Deck Lights 9.5 26 21 20 5 0
GIGALUMI 20-Pack Deck Lights 9.5 24 20 22 5 0
PATIOWIN 12-Pack Deck Lights 9.5 29 20 21 3 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar lights for railings

Match the mount to the railing

Railing mounts split two ways. The SUNFACE and GIGALUMI state screws, adhesive tape, or both. The Herzila states screws and adhesive pads. The VOLISUN is different: post cap lights that sit on 4×4 wooden or vinyl posts with two included bases and 12 screws. The PATIOWIN states screws. For area lighting beyond railings, see our solar flood lights guides.

Compare stated runtimes

Only four listings state a runtime, so the table below covers just those with a stated figure.

Light Runtime Charge needed
VOLISUN 12-Pack Post Lights 10-12 hours 6-8 hours
Herzila 12-Pack Deck Lights Up to 10 hours 8 hours first charge
SUNFACE 6-Pack Deck Lights Up to 8 hours 4-5 hours
GIGALUMI 20-Pack Deck Lights All night stated 4-5 hours

The PATIOWIN states no runtime at all, which costs it in scoring. For deck-focused comparisons, see our deck step lights and deck railing lights picks.

Read the weather rating

The VOLISUN states IP64 and the SUNFACE states IP55. The GIGALUMI spec table states IP44 and IP65 together. The Herzila and PATIOWIN claim weather resistance without any IP code, so they score lower on safety whatever their lumens.

Count lights per railing

Pack counts run from 6 (SUNFACE) to 20 (GIGALUMI), with 12 from VOLISUN, Herzila and PATIOWIN in between. A long deck railing needs a light every few feet, so the 20-pack covers big railings in one purchase while the 6-pack suits a short porch rail.

Post caps are the exception to pack math: the VOLISUN set covers twelve 4×4 posts, one cap per post, so count your posts rather than your railing length.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the stated runtime to your nights: 10 to 12 hours (VOLISUN), up to 10 hours (Herzila), up to 8 hours (SUNFACE); the GIGALUMI states all-night light and the PATIOWIN states no runtime.
  • Match the stated charge time to your sun: 6 to 8 hours (VOLISUN), 4 to 5 hours (SUNFACE, GIGALUMI, PATIOWIN); the Herzila states an 8-hour first charge.
  • Match pack count to railing length: 20-pack (GIGALUMI), 12-packs (VOLISUN, Herzila, PATIOWIN), 6-pack (SUNFACE).
  • Check the stated weather rating against exposure: IP64 (VOLISUN), IP55 (SUNFACE), IP44 and IP65 in the GIGALUMI spec table; the Herzila and PATIOWIN state no IP code.
  • Check the mount against your railing: post caps fit 4×4 posts (VOLISUN); the rest state screws, adhesive tape, or both.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which states the highest IP rating?

The GIGALUMI spec table states IP65 alongside IP44, the highest code named here. The VOLISUN states IP64 and the SUNFACE states IP55; the Herzila and PATIOWIN state no IP code.

Which states the most lumens?

The PATIOWIN at 200 lumens. The Herzila states 100, the VOLISUN states 26, the SUNFACE states 10, and the GIGALUMI spec table states 3.

Which state a warranty?

The VOLISUN states a 2-year service term and the Herzila states 1 year. The other three state no warranty term.

Which are made for posts?

The VOLISUN: 12 cap lights sized for 4×4 wooden or vinyl posts, with two bases and 12 screws in the box. The rest mount to flat surfaces with screws or tape.

Do any offer color choices?

The SUNFACE states warm white plus 7-color changing. The rest are single-color.

How do these mount to railings?

With screws, adhesive tape, or both, per the listings. The VOLISUN caps sit on 4×4 posts, and the GIGALUMI and Herzila listings note tape suits smooth surfaces while screws suit rough ones.

VOLISUN 12-Pack Post Lights
Still deciding? Our top pickVOLISUN 12-Pack Post Lights
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides.

More picks: SOLPEX 12-pack deck lights, Peasur 8-pack fence lights, COOZAMING 16-pack deck lights, AUDERWIN 16-pack step lights, Consss deck lights.