On this page
The best solar tree lights under $40 turn a yard tree into the evening centerpiece without running a cord. We compared what each listing states: form, lumens, weather codes, run time and warranty terms. The Elywan spot lights lead on certifications; the Joomer ground lights lead on pack size and IP68; the FORUP is the true tree ring light.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Elywan 4-Pack Spot Lights: 500 lumens, IP65 with CE/FCC/RoHS, 3 modes Check price on Amazon
Ground Pick Joomer 16-Pack Ground Lights: 16-pack IP68 ground lights, 6-8 hours Check price on Amazon
Tree Ring Pick FORUP Tree Ring Light: 360-degree ring uplight, 180-day warranty Check price on Amazon
Fairy Pick Huacenmy 100 LED Fairy Lights: 100 multicolor LEDs on 39 ft, 8 modes Check price on Amazon
Hanging Pick GIGALUMI Hanging Lanterns: 12-piece color-changing lanterns Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Elywan 4-Pack Spot Lights | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Joomer 16-Pack Ground Lights | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | FORUP Tree Ring Light | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Huacenmy 100 LED Fairy Lights | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | GIGALUMI Hanging Lanterns | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Elywan 4-Pack Spot Lights
A 4-pack of spot lights with 60 LEDs, 500 lumens, IP65, CE/FCC/RoHS and 3 modes.
Pros
- 500 lumens stated
- IP65 with CE, FCC and RoHS stated
- 3 brightness modes stated
- 1200mAh battery with 8-16 hours stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Warm white only
- 1.1W panel is small
- 4-pack only, no single option stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4-pack of solar spot lights with 60 LEDs, 500 lumens in warm white, 3 brightness modes, a 1200mAh battery giving up to 8-16 hours, a 1.1W polycrystalline panel and IP65 with CE, FCC and RoHS. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: owners who want certified spot lights for trees and paths. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Lumens | 500 |
|---|---|
| Pack | 4-pack |
| Modes | 3 |
| Weather | IP65, CE, FCC, RoHS |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65, CE, FCC and RoHS stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Joomer 16-Pack Ground Lights
A 16-pack of IP68 ground lights with 8 LEDs each, dusk-to-dawn and 6-8 hours of light.
Pros
- 16-pack stated
- IP68 stated
- 8 LEDs per light stated
- 6-8 hours of light stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No lumen figure stated
- NI-MH battery, not lithium
- Ground only, no stake or hang option
Detailed Review
The listing states a 16-pack of solar ground lights with 8 LEDs per light, IP68, an NI-MH rechargeable battery, automatic dusk-to-dawn operation and 6-8 hours of light on a full charge. No warranty term or lumen figure is stated.
Who it's for: owners lighting paths around trees in bulk. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated lumen figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pack | 16-pack |
|---|---|
| LEDs per light | 8 |
| Run time | 6-8 h |
| Weather | IP68 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP68 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FORUP Tree Ring Light
A 360-degree tree ring uplight with 6000K, IP44, 3 dimming levels and 180-day warranty.
Pros
- 360-degree ring uplight stated
- 3 dimming levels stated
- 6.56 ft cable stated
- 180-day warranty stated
Cons
- IP44, the lowest code here
- 6000K cool white only
- 8-10 hour run only on low mode
- 180 days, a short term
Detailed Review
The listing states a solar tree ring light with 360-degree uplighting, 6000K cool white, 3 dimming levels, a 5.5V 5W panel, a 6.56 ft cable, 6-8 hours of charging for 8-10 hours on low and IP44. It states a 180-day warranty.
Who it's for: owners who want a true tree ring uplight. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a higher weather code.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Form | 360° ring uplight |
|---|---|
| Color temp | 6000K |
| Run time | 8-10 h on low |
| Weather | IP44 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP44 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 180-day warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 0 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 100 multicolor LEDs stated
- 39 ft total length stated
- 8 modes stated
- Built-in rechargeable battery stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No weather code is stated
- No lumen figure is stated
- Multicolor only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 39 ft string of 100 multicolor C6 strawberry LED fairy lights with 8 modes, a built-in rechargeable battery, a light sensor and a 5W panel. No weather code, lumen figure or warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: owners decorating trees for parties and holidays. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated weather code.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 63 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 100 multicolor |
|---|---|
| Length | 39 ft |
| Modes | 8 |
| Panel | 5W |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 12-piece set stated
- Color changing stated
- 6-8 hours of light stated
- Crackle glass decor stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No weather code is stated
- No lumen figure stated
- 8-12 hour charge is slow
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12-piece set of solar hanging lanterns with color changing, crackle glass, 8-12 hours of daytime charging for 6-8 hours of night light and automatic on/off. No weather code, lumen figure or warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: owners who want hanging decor for trees and patios. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated weather code.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 22/35, build 18/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 59 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pieces | 12 |
|---|---|
| Effect | Color changing |
| Run time | 6-8 h |
| Style | Crackle glass |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Tree Light | Solar Score | Lumens | Weather | Run Time | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elywan 4-Pack Spot Lights | 9.5/10 | 500 | IP65 | 8-16h | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Joomer 16-Pack Ground Lights | 9.5/10 | Not stated | IP68 | 6-8h | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| FORUP Tree Ring Light | 9.5/10 | Not stated | IP44 | 8-10h on low | 180 days | View on Amazon |
| Huacenmy 100 LED Fairy Lights | 9.3/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| GIGALUMI Hanging Lanterns | 9.3/10 | Not stated | Not stated | 6-8h | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety here means a stated weather code or mark: IP68 on the Joomer, IP65 with CE, FCC and RoHS on the Elywan, IP44 on the FORUP, and nothing stated on the Huacenmy and GIGALUMI. Only the FORUP states a warranty term, 180 days. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elywan 4-Pack Spot Lights | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| Joomer 16-Pack Ground Lights | 9.5 | 24 | 19 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| FORUP Tree Ring Light | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| Huacenmy 100 LED Fairy Lights | 9.3 | 24 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| GIGALUMI Hanging Lanterns | 9.3 | 22 | 18 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar tree lights under $40
Uplight, spot or string
The FORUP wraps a 360-degree ring around the trunk; the Elywan spots aim up from the ground; the Huacenmy strings hang through branches; the Joomer disks line the path. For uplighting ideas, see our best solar lights for uplighting trees guide.
Brightness
Only the Elywan states a lumen figure: 500 lumens. The rest state LED counts and run times instead, so compare within the stated figures you have.
Weather codes
The Joomer states IP68, the Elywan states IP65 with CE, FCC and RoHS, and the FORUP states IP44. The Huacenmy and GIGALUMI state no code. For garden strings, our best solar string lights for garden guide covers more.
Run time
The Elywan states up to 8-16 hours, the FORUP 8-10 hours on low, the Joomer 6-8 hours and the GIGALUMI 6-8 hours. Match the run time to how late you stay outside.
Sizing Notes
- Match the form to the tree: ring, spot, string, hanging or ground disk.
- Check the weather code: IP68 on the Joomer, IP65 on the Elywan, IP44 on the FORUP.
- Match the pack to the job: 4 to 16 lights per purchase here.
- Note the warranty: 180 days stated only on the FORUP.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which states a lumen figure?
Only the Elywan, at 500 lumens.
Which has the best weather code?
The Joomer states IP68; the Elywan states IP65.
Which is a true tree ring light?
The FORUP, a 360-degree ring uplight with 3 dimming levels.
Which states a warranty term?
Only the FORUP, at 180 days.
Which is best for hanging in branches?
The Huacenmy 100 LED fairy string or the GIGALUMI 12-piece lanterns.
Related guides
See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar garden lights for trees and best solar string lights for trees.
More picks: the Brightown 4-pack (132FT 400LED, IP65, 8 modes stated) also fits this niche; see our best solar lights for uplighting trees guide.






