Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Batteries and Charging

Inline Fuse Holder vs Fuse Block: Which One Should You Buy?

Inline fuse holder vs fuse block: 2 inline holders and 2 fuse blocks compared on current rating, wire gauge and stated protections.

Inline Fuse Holder vs Fuse Block: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on inline fuse holder vs fuse block: pick an inline fuse holder when a single accessory circuit needs its own fuse spliced into the wire run, and pick a fuse block when a main feed or a high current circuit needs a fixed, bolted mount with a cover. We compared 2 inline fuse holders and 2 fuse blocks on what each listing states: current rating, wire gauge, voltage, pack contents and warranty terms. The inline side wins on flexibility for single circuits; the fuse block side wins on current capacity.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Inline fuse holder vs fuse block: side by side

Inline Fuse Holder vs Fuse Block Anyongora 12AWG Fuse Holder Hamolar 300A ANL Fuse Block Bussmann HMEG Fuse Block ecocstm 16AWG Fuse Holder Amazon
Side Inline fuse holder Fuse block Fuse block Inline fuse holder
Max current 40A 300A 500A 15A
Wire gauge 12 AWG 0/2/4/8 gauge 8 AWG to 1/0 AWG 16 AWG
Voltage stated 12V/24V Not stated Not stated 12V
Pack contents 4 holders, 40 fuses 3 holders 1 holder 2 holders
Warranty 2 Year Manufacturer Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 28 October 2026.

Current rating and wire gauge

The gap in current rating is the widest gap in this group. The Anyongora inline holder is rated for up to 40A on 12 AWG wire, and the ecocstm inline holder carries a 15A blade fuse on 16 AWG wire. On the fuse block side, the Hamolar block is rated 300A and the Bussmann block is rated for up to 500A AMG fuses. Wire gauge follows the same split: the inline holders state 12 AWG and 16 AWG, while the Bussmann block accepts 8 AWG to 1/0 AWG wire and the Hamolar title lists 0/2/4/8 gauge. A circuit that draws near 40A already sits at the top of the inline side, while the fuse block side covers circuits far above that range.

What each side is built for

The inline holders are built around single circuits and accessories. The Anyongora kit includes 4 fuse holders and 40 assorted ATC/ATO fuses from 2A to 40A, and its bullets name LED light bars, amplifiers, dash cams and trolling motors. The ecocstm holder is a 2 pack with a 15A blade fuse, a 9.8 inch wire loop, and a tight-fitting cap design, pitched at car alarms, GPS units and car recorders. The fuse blocks are built around fixed, high current feeds. The Hamolar block uses solid brass, a flame-retardant ABS base with an insulating layer, and a swing-out design that allows fuse replacement without removing the fastener, pitched at inverters and audio amplifiers. The Bussmann block is a bolt-in AMG holder with an impact resistant base and an elastomer cover, sold individually.

What the listings leave unclear

The Anyongora spec table lists 12 volts while its title and bullets state 12V/24V; trust the title and bullets on that point. The Hamolar title lists 0/2/4/8 gauge while its bullets list 0/2/4 gauge, so whether 8 gauge fits is left unclear. Neither fuse block listing states a voltage, and neither states a warranty term. The Bussmann listing states no fuse as included, so treat it as a holder only. The ecocstm listing states no temperature rating, unlike the Anyongora casing, which is rated from -30 degrees Celsius to 105 degrees Celsius.

The examples

Anyongora 12AWG Fuse Holder

Anyongora 12AWG Fuse Holder

Anyongora9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4 pack of 12 AWG inline fuse holders with 40 assorted ATC/ATO fuses from 2A to 40A, an IP67 rating and a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty.

Pros

  • Rated for up to 40A on 12 AWG heavy duty wire
  • Includes 4 holders plus 40 assorted fuses from 2A to 40A
  • IP67 rating with a tight dual slot rubber cap
  • Tinned copper conductors for corrosion resistance

Cons

  • Spec table lists 12 volts while the title and bullets state 12V/24V
  • 12 inches of total wire length leaves little slack on longer runs
  • No mounting hardware stated beyond the holder itself
  • Fuse assortment tops out at 40A, so higher current circuits need a different listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4 pack of 12 AWG inline fuse holders with 40 assorted ATC/ATO fuses, 4 each of 2A, 3A, 5A, 7.5A, 10A, 15A, 20A, 25A, 30A and 40A, tinned copper wire, a tight dual slot rubber cap, an IP67 rating, 12 inches of total wire length and a heat tolerant casing rated from -30 degrees Celsius to 105 degrees Celsius. The spec table lists 12 volts while the title and bullets state 12V/24V; trust the title and bullets on voltage. The warranty description is 2 Year Manufacturer.

Who it's for: owners protecting several accessory circuits up to 40A who want the fuses included. Who should skip it: anyone whose circuit needs more than 40A or a fixed, bolted mount.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Max current40A
Wire12 AWG, tinned copper
Kit contents4 holders, 40 ATC/ATO fuses
RatingIP67

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 rating, tight dual slot rubber cap and heat tolerant casing rated from -30 degrees Celsius to 105 degrees Celsius stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Hamolar 300A ANL Fuse Block

Hamolar 300A ANL Fuse Block

Hamolar9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3 pack of 300A ANL fuse holder blocks in solid brass with a flame-retardant ABS base and a swing-out design.

Pros

  • Rated 300A for high current ANL circuits
  • 3 holders in the pack
  • Solid brass construction
  • Swing-out design allows fuse replacement without removing the fastener

Cons

  • Title lists 0/2/4/8 gauge while bullets list 0/2/4 gauge, leaving 8 gauge unclear
  • No warranty term stated
  • No voltage stated
  • No box details stated despite the title mentioning a box
Detailed Review

The listing states a 3 pack of 300A ANL fuse holder blocks in solid brass with a flame-retardant ABS base, an insulating layer at the bottom, M8*1.25 bolt specification and dimensions of 4.8 x 1.46 x 1.46 inches, pitched at inverters and audio amplifiers. The title lists 0/2/4/8 gauge while the bullets list 0/2/4 gauge, so whether 8 gauge fits is left unclear. No warranty term and no voltage are stated.

Who it's for: owners running a 300A ANL feed who want a spare block on hand. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated voltage or warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Max current300A
MaterialSolid brass, flame-retardant ABS base
Bolt specificationM8*1.25
Dimensions4.8 x 1.46 x 1.46 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Flame-retardant ABS base with an insulating layer stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Bussmann HMEG Fuse Block

Bussmann HMEG Fuse Block

Bussmann9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A bolt-in AMG fuse block with cover rated for up to 500A fuses and 8 AWG to 1/0 AWG wire.

Pros

  • Rated for up to 500A AMG fuses
  • Accepts 8 AWG to 1/0 AWG wire
  • Impact resistant base
  • Elastomer cover for full access and ease of wiring

Cons

  • Sold individually, 1 pack only
  • No warranty term stated
  • No voltage stated
  • No fuse stated as included, so treat it as a holder only
Detailed Review

The listing states a fuse block with cover for bolt-in AMG fuses, accepting 8 AWG to 1/0 wire, for use with up to 500 amp AMG fuses, with an impact resistant base and an elastomer cover for full access and ease of wiring, sold individually at 3.2 ounces. No warranty term, no voltage and no included fuse are stated.

Who it's for: owners protecting a 500A main feed who want a covered, bolt-in mount. Who should skip it: anyone who wants fuses included or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 19/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Max current500A
Wire range8 AWG to 1/0 AWG
Fuse typeBolt-in AMG
Weight3.2 ounces

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Impact resistant base and elastomer cover stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ecocstm 16AWG Fuse Holder

ecocstm 16AWG Fuse Holder

ecocstm9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2 pack of 16 AWG inline fuse holders with a 15A blade fuse, a 9.8 inch wire loop and a tight-fitting cap design.

Pros

  • Includes a 15A ATC/ATO blade fuse
  • 9.8 inch wire loop with the length of each side adjustable as needed
  • Copper conductor with good electrical conductivity and bendability
  • Tight-fitting cap design for moisture, water and dust resistance

Cons

  • 16 AWG wire is thinner than the 12 AWG on the Anyongora
  • 15A limit only, the lowest rating here
  • No warranty term stated
  • No temperature rating stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2 pack of 16 AWG inline fuse holders for 12V circuits with a 15A blade fuse, a 9.8 inch wire loop, a copper conductor and a tight-fitting cap design, pitched at car alarms, GPS units and car recorders. No warranty term and no temperature rating are stated.

Who it's for: owners adding protection to a single 15A accessory circuit on 12V. Who should skip it: anyone whose circuit needs more than 15A or a heavier gauge wire.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Max current15A
Wire16 AWG, copper
Voltage12V
Wire length9.8 inches, loop

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Tight-fitting cap design for moisture, water and dust resistance stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For circuit protection, safety means stated features such as an IP67 rating, a flame-retardant base, an impact resistant base or a protective cover; all 4 listings state at least one such feature. Only the Anyongora listing states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Anyongora 12AWG Fuse Holder 9.7 30 21 21 8 3
Hamolar 300A ANL Fuse Block 9.6 29 21 20 7 0
Bussmann HMEG Fuse Block 9.6 30 21 19 6 0
ecocstm 16AWG Fuse Holder 9.4 24 19 19 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Inline fuse holder vs fuse block: which should you choose?

Choose an inline fuse holder if you are protecting one accessory circuit and want the fuse in the wire run itself: the Anyongora kit suits circuits up to 40A with its 40 assorted fuses, and the ecocstm suits a 15A circuit on 16 AWG wire. Choose a fuse block if the circuit is a main feed or a high current load: the Hamolar suits a 300A ANL circuit with its 3 pack and swing-out design, and the Bussmann suits a 500A AMG circuit with its bolt-in mount and cover. If the listing states no voltage, check the fuse and wire ratings against your system before ordering.

If you need Look at
A single accessory circuit Anyongora 12AWG Fuse Holder, 40A, 40 fuses
A 15A circuit on lighter wire ecocstm 16AWG Fuse Holder, 15A
A 300A feed with easy fuse changes Hamolar 300A ANL Fuse Block, swing-out design
A 500A bolt-in main feed Bussmann HMEG Fuse Block, 500A AMG

For related reading, see the best fuse for battery cable guide and the ANL fuse vs Class T fuse comparison.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the fuse rating to the circuit: 40A on the Anyongora, 15A on the ecocstm, 300A on the Hamolar and 500A on the Bussmann.
  • Match the wire gauge to the holder: 12 AWG and 16 AWG on the inline holders, 8 AWG to 1/0 AWG on the Bussmann, and the 0/2/4/8 gauge title claim on the Hamolar.
  • Match voltage to the listing: the Anyongora title and bullets state 12V/24V and the ecocstm states 12V, while the Hamolar and Bussmann listings state no voltage.
  • Check pack contents before ordering: 4 holders plus 40 fuses, 3 holders, 1 holder and 2 holders in this group.
  • Note the warranty picture: only the Anyongora listing states a term, a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can an inline fuse holder protect a high current main feed?

Not in this group. The inline holders here are rated 40A and 15A, while the fuse blocks here are rated 300A and 500A, so a main feed belongs on the fuse block side.

What wire gauge do these fuse holders accept?

The Anyongora states 12 AWG and the ecocstm states 16 AWG. The Bussmann accepts 8 AWG to 1/0 AWG wire, and the Hamolar title lists 0/2/4/8 gauge while its bullets list 0/2/4 gauge.

Does the Anyongora kit include fuses?

Yes. The kit includes 4 fuse holders and 40 assorted ATC/ATO fuses from 2A to 40A.

Which listing here states a warranty?

Only the Anyongora, with a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty. The ecocstm, Hamolar and Bussmann listings state no warranty term.

Do all four listings state a voltage?

No. The Anyongora title and bullets state 12V/24V and the ecocstm states 12V, while the Hamolar and Bussmann listings state no voltage.

Anyongora 12AWG Fuse Holder
Still deciding? Our top pickAnyongora 12AWG Fuse Holder
Check price on Amazon

See every Batteries and Charging guide.

More picks: best RV battery fuse block, best DC fuse block for RV, best inline fuse holder under 10, best DC fuse for solar system.