Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Solar Deck Lights vs Rope Lights: Which One Should You Buy?

Solar deck lights vs rope lights: two step light packs and two rope light packs compared on brightness, runtime, coverage and stated warranty terms.

Solar Deck Lights vs Rope Lights: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

At dusk, when the steps and the rail need light but no outlet is nearby, solar deck lights vs rope lights is the choice between small fixed points of light and one long flexible run. Deck lights mark each step and edge where feet land, while rope lights trace a rail, a fence or a tree in one continuous line. Pick deck lights for steps and edges that need marking, and rope lights for outlines and gatherings where a long glow matters more than a marked tread. This comparison looks at two deck light packs and two rope light packs, using only what each listing states.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Solar Deck Lights vs Rope Lights: Side by Side

Solar Deck Lights vs Rope Lights Brightown 78FT 200LED Rope Brightown 39FT 100LED Color SOLPEX 20 Pack Deck Lights APONUO 16 Pack Deck Lights Amazon
Side Rope lights Rope lights Solar deck lights Solar deck lights
Length or count 78 feet, 200 LEDs 39 feet, 100 LEDs 20 lights 16 lights
Brightness stated 750 lumens Not stated 100 lumens 3 lumens each
Runtime stated 8-12 hours 8-12 hours Not stated 6-8 hours
Battery stated 1200mAh 1200mAh Not stated 300mAh
Rating stated IP65 IP65 Not stated Not stated
Warranty stated Not stated Not stated 60 days Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 28 October 2026.

Fixed points or one long run

The two sides solve different jobs. The APONUO pack holds 16 lights and the SOLPEX pack holds 20 lights, and each light mounts on its own spot along a step, a fence or a deck edge. The Brightown rope lights come as one flexible line instead: 39 feet with 100 LEDs in the multicolor pack, and 78 feet with 200 LEDs across the two-pack in warm white. A deck light marks a single tread or edge, while a rope light wraps a rail, a tree trunk or a gazebo in one run. For a stairway, the counted lights matter: a pack of 16 or 20 lights covers a set of steps one light at a time, while a rope light covers a length in feet. Neither side needs a wired outlet, since all four listings state solar power with a sensor that switches the lights on at dusk.

Brightness and runtime

Brightness separates the four more than any other figure. The warm white Brightown rope pack states 750 lumens, the SOLPEX deck pack states a 100-lumen maximum output, and each APONUO light states 3 lumens. The multicolor Brightown rope light states no lumen figure, so its brightness cannot be ranked against the rest on that figure. Runtime tells a similar story: both Brightown rope lights state 8-12 hours on a full charge, the APONUO states 6-8 hours during the night, and the SOLPEX states no runtime figure, only a 4-5 hour charge time on sunny days. A buyer who wants light late into the night should weigh the stated runtime, not the pack count, since a larger pack does not mean a longer night of light.

What the listings leave unclear

Several listings contradict themselves, and the title and bullets win over the spec table wherever they differ. The warm white Brightown two-pack states IP65 in its title and bullets, while its spec table lists Water Resistant; read it as IP65. The multicolor Brightown lists its modes with flashing named twice while claiming 8 modes, so count the modes with care. The SOLPEX spec table lists dimensions of 1 by 1 by 1 inches, which cannot describe a step light, so no size figure is used for that pack here. The APONUO bullets say the light has no switch, while its spec table lists Touch control; read it as no switch. Neither deck light states an IP figure, and only the SOLPEX states a warranty term, at 60 days. The Brightown listings offer 12-month support, which the listings do not call a warranty, so no warranty term is claimed for either rope light.

Four examples

Brightown 78FT 200LED Rope

Brightown 78FT 200LED Rope

Brightown9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A two-pack of warm white solar rope lights totaling 78 feet and 200 LEDs, with 8 lighting modes and an IP65 rating.

Pros

  • 78 feet and 200 LEDs across two packs for long runs
  • 750 lumens stated, the highest output figure in this group
  • 8 lighting modes stated, including fireflies, waves, fading and chasing
  • IP65 rating stated for outdoor use

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated; the listing offers 12-month support instead
  • No charge time figure is stated
  • Warm white only; no multicolor option in this listing
  • Sold as a two-pack only
Detailed Review

The listing states a two-pack of warm white solar rope lights totaling 78 feet and 200 LEDs, a 1200mAh battery, 8-12 hours of runtime on a full charge, 8 lighting modes, a 2700 Kelvin color temperature, 750 lumens and an IP65 rating. The spec table lists 100 light sources and 39 feet, which read as per-pack figures against the 200-LED and 78-foot totals, and it lists Water Resistant while the title and bullets state IP65; the title and bullets win, so read it as IP65.

Who it's for: buyers who want one long warm white run for a fence, a deck or a tree line with the highest stated output here. Who should skip it: buyers who want multicolor light or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length78 feet total, 2 packs
LEDs200 total
Brightness750 lumens
Runtime8-12 hours

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brightown 39FT 100LED Color

Brightown 39FT 100LED Color

Brightown9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 39-foot multicolor solar rope light with 100 LEDs, 8 lighting modes and an IP65 rating.

Pros

  • 100 LEDs over 39 feet for wrapping trees, fences and gazebos
  • Multicolor output with 8 lighting modes
  • IP65 rating stated
  • 8-12 hours of runtime on a full charge stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated; the listing offers 12-month support instead
  • No brightness figure in lumens is stated
  • The mode list names flashing twice while claiming 8 modes
  • No charge time figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 39-foot multicolor solar rope light with 100 LEDs, a 1200mAh battery, 8-12 hours of runtime on a full charge, 8 lighting modes and an IP65 rating, for indoor and outdoor use. Its mode list names flashing twice while claiming 8 modes, so count the modes with care. No lumen figure is stated for this pack.

Who it's for: buyers who want a multicolor line for parties, weddings and holiday decoration with a stated IP65 rating. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated lumen figure or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length39 feet
LEDs100
Runtime8-12 hours
RatingIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SOLPEX 20 Pack Deck Lights

SOLPEX 20 Pack Deck Lights

SOLPEX9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20-pack of warm white solar deck lights with a 100-lumen maximum output and a 60-day warranty.

Pros

  • 20 lights in the pack, the largest count here
  • 100 lumens maximum output stated
  • Hard ABS shell, stated to withstand rain, wind and small snowy days
  • 60-day warranty stated

Cons

  • No runtime figure is stated; only a 4-5 hour charge time
  • Spec table lists dimensions of 1 by 1 by 1 inches, which cannot describe a step light
  • Warm white only
  • No IP rating figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 20-pack of warm white solar deck lights with a 100-lumen maximum output, a 3000 Kelvin color temperature, 3.7 volts, 1.7 pounds, deck mounting and a 4-5 hour charge time on sunny days, with a 60-day warranty. The spec table lists dimensions of 1 by 1 by 1 inches, which cannot describe a step light, so no size figure is used for this pack. The sensor switches the lights on at dusk and off at dawn.

Who it's for: buyers who want the largest pack count here plus the only stated warranty term in this group. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated runtime figure or a stated IP rating.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack20 lights
Output100 lumens
Charge time4-5 hours
Warranty60 days

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 60 days warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

APONUO 16 Pack Deck Lights

APONUO 16 Pack Deck Lights

APONUO9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 16-pack of warm white solar step lights at 3 lumens each, with tape or screw mounting and 6-8 hours of night runtime.

Pros

  • 16 lights for steps, fences and pathways
  • 6-8 hours of night runtime stated
  • Mounts with tape or the included screws
  • Small size blends along deck edges, per the listing

Cons

  • 3 lumens each is the dimmest output here
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Bullets say no switch while the spec table lists Touch control
  • No IP rating figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 16-pack of warm white solar step lights at 3 lumens each, a 2700 Kelvin color temperature, a 300mAh battery, 1.2 volts, 1.6 pounds and 1.77 by 1.73 by 3.14 inches, with a sensor that switches the lights on at dusk and off at dawn and 6-8 hours of night runtime. The bullets say the light has no switch, while the spec table lists Touch control; the bullets win, so read it as no switch. The spec table also lists 2 light sources against a 16-light pack.

Who it's for: buyers who want small step markers that mount with tape or screws and stay on 6-8 hours at night. Who should skip it: buyers who want a bright area light, a stated IP rating or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack16 lights
Output3 lumens each
Runtime6-8 hours
Size1.77 x 1.73 x 3.14 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For deck and rope lights, safety means a stated IP rating or another protection the listing names; both rope lights state IP65, and neither deck light states an IP figure. Only one of the four states a warranty term: the SOLPEX at 60 days. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Brightown 78FT 200LED Rope 9.7 32 21 22 7 0
Brightown 39FT 100LED Color 9.6 30 21 21 7 0
SOLPEX 20 Pack Deck Lights 9.5 29 21 21 0 2
APONUO 16 Pack Deck Lights 9.4 26 20 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar deck lights vs rope lights

Start with the shape of the light

For steps, a deck light pack fits the job: the APONUO pack mounts along any edge with tape or the included screws, and the SOLPEX pack mounts on decks, fences and steps. For rails, fences, trees and party spaces, a rope light fits better: the Brightown lines wrap shapes and lines in one run, with 8 lighting modes for gatherings. A related guide to best solar lights for deck steps covers step lighting in more depth.

Match brightness to the job

Step markers need only a small pool of light: each APONUO light states 3 lumens, which suits a tread edge. A patio or a gathering space wants more: the SOLPEX pack states 100 lumens maximum, and the warm white Brightown rope pack states 750 lumens. The multicolor Brightown states no lumen figure, so judge it on its 100 LEDs and 39 feet rather than on brightness. For porch lighting ideas, see the best solar lights for front porch guide.

Check runtime and charging

Both Brightown rope lights state 8-12 hours on a full charge, and the APONUO states 6-8 hours during the night. The SOLPEX states a 4-5 hour charge time on sunny days but no runtime figure, so its night length is unstated. Match the stated runtime to the hours the lights must stay on, and place the panel where it receives direct sunlight, as the APONUO listing directs.

If you need Look at
Marked steps and edges APONUO 16 Pack Deck Lights or SOLPEX 20 Pack Deck Lights
A long outline or party glow Brightown 78FT 200LED Rope or Brightown 39FT 100LED Color
The highest stated output Brightown 78FT 200LED Rope, 750 lumens
A stated warranty term SOLPEX 20 Pack Deck Lights, 60 days

Sizing Notes

  • Match the run to the stated length or count: 39 feet for the multicolor rope pack, 78 feet across the warm white two-pack, or 16 or 20 lights per deck light pack.
  • Match brightness to the job: 3 lumens each for APONUO step markers, 100 lumens maximum for the SOLPEX pack, 750 lumens for the warm white rope pack.
  • Check runtime against the night: 6-8 hours stated for APONUO and 8-12 hours for both Brightown rope lights; SOLPEX states no runtime figure.
  • Check the stated rating and warranty: IP65 on both rope lights, no IP figure on either deck light, and a 60-day warranty on SOLPEX only.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do solar deck lights or rope lights shine brighter?

It depends on the listing. The warm white Brightown rope pack states 750 lumens, the SOLPEX deck pack states 100 lumens maximum, and each APONUO light states 3 lumens. The multicolor Brightown rope light states no lumen figure.

How long do these lights run at night?

Both Brightown rope lights state 8-12 hours on a full charge, and the APONUO states 6-8 hours during the night. The SOLPEX states a 4-5 hour charge time on sunny days but no runtime figure.

Can rope lights mark steps as well as deck lights?

Rope lights trace rails, fences and trees in one run, while deck lights mount one per spot along steps and edges. For marking treads, a deck light pack fits the job; for outlining a space, a rope light fits better.

Which of these lights state an IP rating?

Both Brightown rope lights state IP65. Neither the APONUO nor the SOLPEX deck light states an IP figure.

Which light here states a warranty?

Only the SOLPEX, at 60 days. The Brightown listings offer 12-month support, which the listings do not call a warranty, and the APONUO states no warranty term.

Brightown 78FT 200LED Rope
Still deciding? Our top pickBrightown 78FT 200LED Rope
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides.

More picks: best solar lights for outdoor patio, best solar lights for a deck, best solar lights for garden path, best solar lights for driveway entrance.