On this page
Finding the best battery charger for skoolie life starts with a quiet bus at dusk, lights dimming as the house bank runs low after days off shore power. The picks here cover plug-in maintainers, a wide-range automatic charger, a solar trickle option and a phone battery charger that does not fit a house bank, so the differences matter more than the brand names. This comparison uses only what each listing states: output, battery types, protections, size and warranty terms.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Battery Tender 5 AMP Charger: 5 amp 12V charging with float mode and a 5 year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Widest Battery Support CTEK 40-658 NXT 5 Charger: lead-acid and lithium-ion support from 1.2 Ah up to 160 Ah Check price on Amazon
Smartphone Battery Option Sfmn Mobile Battery Charger: LCD screen shows connection and full charge at 5.2 volts Check price on Amazon
Solar Trickle Option POWOXI 7.5W Solar Charger: 7.5W 12V solar trickle charging with a smart controller Check price on Amazon
Basic Maintainer Battery Tender 3A Charger: 3A charger and maintainer stated in the title Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Battery Tender 5 AMP Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | CTEK 40-658 NXT 5 Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | POWOXI 7.5W Solar Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Battery Tender 3A | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Sfmn Mobile Battery Charger | 9.2/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Battery Tender 5 AMP Charger
A 5 amp 12V charger and maintainer for lead-acid, AGM, gel and lithium batteries, with float mode and a 5 year warranty stated.
Pros
- 5 amp output with automatic float mode that maintains voltage without overcharging
- Spark-proof lead connection with automatic reverse polarity detection stated
- UL, CSA, CE and BC approval stated
- 11 total feet of combined reach from a 6 ft AC cord and a 5 ft DC output cord
Cons
- Spec table states a 72 hour charge time
- No IP code is stated for the housing
- No desulphation or recondition mode is stated
- No solar panel input is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 5 amp 12V charger and maintainer for lead-acid (flooded, AGM, gel) and lithium (LiFePO4) batteries, with float mode after a full charge, ISM adaptive charging that resumes full output when battery voltage drops under load, a solid state LED light for charging status, 11 total feet of combined reach from a 6 ft AC cord and a 5 ft DC output cord, a spark-proof lead connection, reverse polarity detection, UL, CSA, CE and BC approval, a 5 year manufacturer warranty, and a 1.4 pound unit sized 1.87 by 3.86 by 8.3 inches.
Who it's for: skoolie owners with a 12V house battery bank who want a plug-in maintainer for storage periods. Who should skip it: owners who need solar-only charging, since no solar input is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 5 amp, 12V |
|---|---|
| Battery types | Lead-acid, AGM, gel, lithium (LiFePO4) |
| Reach | 11 total feet: 6 ft AC cord, 5 ft DC cord |
| Warranty | 5 year manufacturer warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL, CSA, CE and BC approval, spark-proof lead connection and reverse polarity detection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 5 year manufacturer's warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CTEK 40-658 NXT 5 Charger
A 4.3 amp 12V charger and maintainer for lead-acid and lithium-ion batteries from 1.2 Ah up to 160 Ah, with desulphation and recondition modes.
Pros
- Supports lead-acid types WET, MF, Ca/Ca, AGM, EFB and GEL plus lithium-ion LiFePO4
- Battery range from 1.2 Ah up to 160 Ah covers small and large 12V banks
- IP65 code stated for the compact robust housing, with spark-free operation and reverse polarity protection
- Automatic temperature compensation from -4 °F to 122 °F adjusts charging voltage for hot and cold conditions
Cons
- Warranty description reads LIMITED WARRANTY with no concrete term stated
- U-terminal is the only connector type named in the spec table
- No cable length is stated
- No solar input is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a fully automatic 4.3 amp 12V charger supporting lead-acid (WET, MF, Ca/Ca, AGM, EFB, GEL) and lithium-ion (LiFePO4) batteries from 1.2 Ah up to 160 Ah, with desulphation and Recond modes, automatic temperature compensation, spark-free operation, reverse polarity protection, an IP65 code for the housing, a Connect U-terminal for a permanent battery mount, CE, FCC and UL specification met, a 120 volt input and a 1.36 kg unit sized 5.91 by 11.02 by 2.36 inches.
Who it's for: skoolie owners with a mixed battery bank who want recondition modes for deeply discharged lead-acid batteries. Who should skip it: owners who want a stated warranty term on the listing, since only a limited warranty description is given.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 4.3 amp, 12V |
|---|---|
| Battery range | 1.2 Ah to 160 Ah |
| Protection | IP65 code, spark-free, reverse polarity protection |
| Temperature compensation | -4 °F to 122 °F |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 code, spark-free operation, reverse polarity protection, CE, FCC and UL stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

POWOXI 7.5W Solar Charger
A 7.5W 12V solar battery trickle charger with an intelligent charge controller, blocking diode and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- Intelligent charge controller stated
- Blocking diode against reverse charging stated
- CE stated
- 1-year warranty stated
Cons
- 7.5W is the lower solar output here
- 2.2 pounds stated
- No watt-hour figure stated
- Maintenance-only, not a fast charger
Detailed Review
The listing states a 7.5W 12V solar battery charger trickle maintainer kit with an upgrade intelligent charge controller, a built-in smart protection system with a blocking diode structure to prevent overvoltage and short circuit, and no overcharge of the battery. It states high-transparency low-iron tempered glass, an ABS+PC frame, aluminum alloy, an SAE to cigarette lighter connector, 2.2 pounds at 14.76 by 1.89 by 9.06 inches, CE, and a 1-year warranty.
Who it's for: anyone maintaining a parked 12V battery who wants a controller and a stated warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more solar watts.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 7.5W, 12V |
|---|---|
| Controller | Smart, blocking diode |
| Frame | ABS+PC, tempered glass |
| Size | 14.76 x 9.06 in, 2.2 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 6V and 12V switchable stated
- Float mode maintainer stated
- UL/CSA, CE and BC approved stated
- 5-year warranty stated
Cons
- 3A, slower than the 5A and 20A picks
- 1.4lbs but 11.1 inches wide
- No LCD display stated
- No desulfator stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 3A charger and maintainer switchable between 6V and 12V, for lead-acid/AGM/gel/lithium batteries, with float mode, ISM adaptive charging, spark-proof connection, reverse polarity detection, 11ft of reach, 1.4lbs, UL/CSA/CE/BC approval, and a 5-year warranty.
Who it's for: cars and bikes that need long-term maintenance. Who should skip it: anyone who needs fast charging.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Current | 3A |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 6V or 12V switchable |
| Mode | Float maintainer |
| Reach | 11ft |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL/CSA, CE and BC approved stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 5-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Sfmn Mobile Battery Charger
A mobile universal battery charger with a USB port and an LCD screen that indicates connection and full charge, for smartphone batteries.
Pros
- LCD screen indicates connection and full charge
- Charging stops automatically when the battery is fully charged
- Built-in protection circuit prevents overcharging, with a safety cut out circuit stated
- Compact size of 2.2 by 3.9 by 1 inches and weight of 2.4 ounces
Cons
- Output of 5.2 volts suits smartphone batteries, not a 12V skoolie house battery
- Input of 240 volts is stated, with no 120 volt figure in the listing
- No warranty term is stated
- No battery chemistry list is stated beyond smartphone batteries
Detailed Review
The listing states a mobile universal battery charger with a USB port for smartphone batteries, a 5.2 volt output, a 240 volt input, 400 milliamps, an LCD screen, automatic stop at full charge and a built-in protection circuit against overcharging, sized 2.2 by 3.9 by 1 inches at 2.4 ounces, with no battery included in the package.
Who it's for: skoolie owners who also want a spare charger for a phone battery on the road. Who should skip it: owners shopping for the main house battery charger, since the 5.2 volt output does not match a 12V bank.
Its Solar Score of 9.2/10 comes from performance 16/35, build 15/25, value 15/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 50 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 5.2 volts, 400 milliamps |
|---|---|
| Input | 240 volts |
| Display | LCD screen, connection and full charge |
| Size | 2.2 by 3.9 by 1 inches, 2.4 ounces |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Safety cut out circuit and built-in protection circuit against overcharging stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Charger | Solar Score | Output | Battery types | Protection | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Battery Tender 5 AMP Charger | 9.7/10 | 5 amp, 12V | Lead-acid, AGM, gel, lithium | UL, CSA, CE, BC; spark-proof, reverse polarity | 5 years | View on Amazon |
| CTEK 40-658 NXT 5 Charger | 9.7/10 | 4.3 amp, 12V | Lead-acid and lithium-ion, 1.2 Ah to 160 Ah | IP65 code, spark-free, reverse polarity | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Sfmn Mobile Battery Charger | 9.2/10 | 400 milliamps, 5.2V | Smartphone batteries | Overcharge protection circuit | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| POWOXI 7.5W Solar Charger | 9.7/10 | 7.5W, 12V solar trickle | Not stated | CE stated in title | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Battery Tender 3A Charger | 9.7/10 | 3A | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 28 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery charger, safety means stated protections and approvals such as reverse polarity detection, spark-proof or spark-free connection, and codes such as UL, CSA, CE or IP65. Only the Battery Tender 5 AMP pick states a warranty term, so the remaining picks get no warranty points. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Battery Tender 5 AMP Charger | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 4 |
| CTEK 40-658 NXT 5 Charger | 9.7 | 30 | 22 | 20 | 9 | 0 |
| Sfmn Mobile Battery Charger | 9.2 | 16 | 15 | 15 | 4 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best battery charger for skoolie
Match voltage and battery chemistry before output
A skoolie house bank is a 12V bank, so the charger output voltage has to match it before output current matters. The Battery Tender 5 AMP pick lists lead-acid, AGM, gel and lithium batteries, while the CTEK pick lists lead-acid types WET, MF, Ca/Ca, AGM, EFB and GEL plus lithium-ion LiFePO4, with support from 1.2 Ah up to 160 Ah. The Sfmn pick states a 5.2 volt output for smartphone batteries, so it cannot serve as a house bank charger even though it carries an LCD screen and an overcharge protection circuit. For a closer motorhome comparison, see the best battery charger for motorhome guide.
Weigh plug-in output against solar trickle charging
Plug-in maintainers suit a bus parked near an AC outlet, while a solar trickle charger suits a bus parked in the sun with no outlet nearby. The Battery Tender 5 AMP pick states a 5 amp output with float mode, the CTEK pick states a 4.3 amp output with desulphation and Recond modes for deeply discharged lead-acid batteries, and the Battery Tender 3A pick states a 3A output in its title. The POWOXI pick states 7.5W of solar trickle charging with a smart controller, which is a maintaining current rather than a fast recharge current.
| Charger | Output | Battery types |
|---|---|---|
| Battery Tender 5 AMP Charger | 5 amp, 12V | Lead-acid, AGM, gel, lithium |
| CTEK 40-658 NXT 5 Charger | 4.3 amp, 12V | Lead-acid and lithium-ion, 1.2 Ah to 160 Ah |
| Sfmn Mobile Battery Charger | 400 milliamps, 5.2V | Smartphone batteries |
| POWOXI 7.5W Solar Charger | 7.5W, 12V solar trickle | Not stated |
| Battery Tender 3A Charger | 3A | Not stated |
Read protection and warranty lines closely
Protection wording separates the full-data picks from the thin listings. The Battery Tender 5 AMP pick states a spark-proof lead connection, reverse polarity detection and UL, CSA, CE and BC approval, and the CTEK pick states spark-free operation, reverse polarity protection and an IP65 code for the housing. The Sfmn pick states a safety cut out circuit and a built-in protection circuit against overcharging, while the POWOXI pick states CE in its title and the Battery Tender 3A pick states no protection figure at all. On warranty, only the Battery Tender 5 AMP pick states a term, a 5 year manufacturer warranty, while the CTEK listing gives a limited warranty description with no term and the remaining listings state no term. For trickle options, see the best battery trickle charger guide.
Check size, reach and input before ordering
Physical fit matters in a converted bus, where charger storage space sits near the battery bank and an AC outlet. The Battery Tender 5 AMP pick measures 1.87 by 3.86 by 8.3 inches at 1.4 pounds, with 11 total feet of combined reach from a 6 ft AC cord and a 5 ft DC output cord, and a 120 volt input. The CTEK pick measures 5.91 by 11.02 by 2.36 inches at 1.36 kg, with a 120 volt input and a Connect U-terminal for a permanent battery mount. The Sfmn pick measures 2.2 by 3.9 by 1 inches at 2.4 ounces, with a 240 volt input. The POWOXI pick and the Battery Tender 3A pick state no size, weight, cable or input figures, so plan placement from the stated figures of the full-data picks. For charging questions tied to a converter setup, see the RV converter charger vs inverter charger comparison.
Sizing Notes
- Match charger output voltage to house bank voltage: the plug-in picks here state 12V, while the Sfmn pick states 5.2 volts.
- Match battery chemistry to the charger list: lead-acid, AGM, gel and lithium are named across the Battery Tender and CTEK listings.
- Match cable reach to parking layout: the Battery Tender 5 AMP pick states 11 total feet from a 6 ft AC cord and a 5 ft DC cord.
- Match charger capacity range to bank size: the CTEK pick states support from 1.2 Ah up to 160 Ah.
- Check warranty and protection lines before ordering: only the Battery Tender 5 AMP pick states a 5 year warranty term in this group.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick here charges a 12V skoolie house battery from an AC outlet?
The Battery Tender 5 AMP pick and the CTEK pick state 12V output with a 120 volt input, so either one fits a plug-in charging routine for a 12V bank.
Which picks here support lithium batteries?
The Battery Tender 5 AMP pick lists lithium batteries including LiFePO4, and the CTEK pick lists lithium-ion LiFePO4 batteries from 1.2 Ah up to 160 Ah.
Can the Sfmn pick charge a skoolie house battery?
No. The listing states a 5.2 volt output for smartphone batteries, which does not match a 12V house bank.
What does the POWOXI pick offer for a parked bus?
A 7.5W 12V solar trickle charger with a smart controller stated in the title, with no further specs given in the listing.
Which pick states a warranty term?
Only the Battery Tender 5 AMP pick, with a 5 year manufacturer warranty stated. The CTEK listing gives a limited warranty description with no term, and the remaining listings state no term.
Related guides
See every Battery Chargers and Maintainers guide and all Batteries and Charging guides.
More picks: best battery charger for pop up camper, best battery charger for sailboat and best battery charger for camper trailer.





